Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Total irresponsibility

• 10-05-2016 8:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭

I just want to send out a message to the procession of "racers" who passed my home yesterday (Monday) afternoon, on the Glengarrif to Kenmare road Between 10 and 15 cars passed my home at very high speeds, travelling in convoy. They were obviously some sort of "meet" as they mostly all had souped up exhausts. I heard them coming from quite a distance and thought at first that they were motorbikes.

The road twists and bends quite a bit and has various concealed entrances/exits on it, not to mention the occasional deer wandering onto it.

I could only see the rooftops whizzing by above the foliage in my front garden, but they mostly seemed to be of the Japanese variety.

If any of these drivers read this, I would ask them to consider their actions and their mortality.

Driving at excessive and dangerous speeds does not make you a good driver, it makes you a reckless, dangerous and inconsiderate road user.

I dread to think what the outcome would have been if the lead car was involved in an accident going into one of the many blind bends on this road.

Think about what you're doing. Behaving like this is not the way to earn any respect or admiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Truth be told, they don't care what anyone else thinks and they only want respect and admiration from others like them. The general population means nothing to them. They use the Ballymac roundabout outside Dundalk for sport. It's 3 lanes wide and quite busy as it's at the northern entrance to town for traffic from Carlingford area and the M1/N1 but they couldn't care less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Japanese rooftops are the worst rooftops. Imperial navy wraps on the roof was it?

No boy racers have Japanese cars anymore. They're all VAGboys now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Yeah, it's usually Sundays on that road. I mostly hear bikes, lads out for a weekend spin, but from what I can see they're more responsible. I hate hearing the boy racers, as said above they don't give a sh1t about other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Contact local Garda in advance if you know when the racers usually show up.
    A few of them nabbed by Garda will cool the jets of the others, or at least make them go drive somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

They were all exotics.
    Some kind of Gumball rally I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

"To all the boy racers with their wheelies and apple lattices"

Facebook awaits your bleeding heart.

My guess: it's that mob of supercars that was posted in hwist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

And you think said boy racers are sitting on boards.ie of all places? :eek:

I understand the concern, but they're hardly on here :o

If it does turn out to have been the supercars spotted at the weekend, then the Japanese guess was fairly far off lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

Japanese rooftops are the worst rooftops. Imperial navy wraps on the roof was it?

Thank you for that clarification. But regardless of my inaccuracy, the facts remain the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭g6fdyotp5nj2l7

Been able to tell make of car from a quick glance of its roof whizzing by is an art in itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Surely to God you couldn't think a "supercar" sounded like a motorbike?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Soarer wrote: »
    Surely to God you couldn't think a "supercar" sounded like a motorbike?!

Love the sound of a 1.9TDI supercar. Music to my ears...;)

sogood wrote: »
    Thank you for that clarification. But regardless of my inaccuracy, the facts remain the same.

Would time travel be a possibility here? Did any of these rooftops look like they might be rolling on tsw venoms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Loud exhaust =/ high speed

Cheensbo wrote: »
    My guess: it's that mob of supercars that was posted in hwist.
    Lols, pure "jap scrap" the lot of them :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was this around the time of the Boards Motor Forum Meet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭robbiew

I just want to send out a message to the procession of "racers" who passed my home yesterday (Monday) afternoon, on the Glengarrif to Kenmare road Between 10 and 15 cars passed my home at very high speeds, travelling in convoy. They were obviously some sort of "meet" as they mostly all had souped up exhausts. I heard them coming from quite a distance and thought at first that they were motorbikes.

The road twists and bends quite a bit and has various concealed entrances/exits on it, not to mention the occasional deer wandering onto it.

I could only see the rooftops whizzing by above the foliage in my front garden, but they mostly seemed to be of the Japanese variety.

If any of these drivers read this, I would ask them to consider their actions and their mortality.

Driving at excessive and dangerous speeds does not make you a good driver, it makes you a reckless, dangerous and inconsiderate road user.

I dread to think what the outcome would have been if the lead car was involved in an accident going into one of the many blind bends on this road.

Think about what you're doing. Behaving like this is not the way to earn any respect or admiration.

Define high speed, was it the noise that gave the impression of speed or do you have a speed gun, also do you mention souped up exhaust, as in stainless or just pipe with no box on it, because i can tell you my stainless exhaust sounds loud and it has 2 back boxes, but when travelling at the speed limit it sounds like 2 harleys mating..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

biko wrote: »
    Was this around the time of the Boards Motor Forum Meet?

Yes because Kenmare is near the Pheonix park :p

Distance is immaterial to roaming gang of time bandits who have fast forwarded from the 20th century in their petrol Japanese cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

What about the children? Were there any children about? If so, was anybody thinking of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

Racers my eye, I passed them earlier on yesterday, they were middle aged guys in UK reg Porches, ferraris, Mercs and Beemers. Nothing there with sub 350BHP, and I very much doubt they were doing rings up the county bounds in them either

I can see how you got the roof on a 911 mixed up for the one of a 20v corolla though, easy mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Lol. I'd say 50% of your posts here are having a go a VAG cars. It's like a nervous tick at this stage. Did an evil one run over you as a child or something? :pac:

I'm stating an obvious trend over the last few years. There is no bias one way or the other in that post toward VAG cars. Touch a nerve did I? A little over sensitive yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'm stating an obvious trend over the last few years. There is no bias one way or the other in that post toward VAG cars. Touch a nerve did I? A little over sensitive yeah?

Nope. Not at all. It's quite humorous. :pac:

Nope. Not at all.

Go ahead caller, how bad does it make you feeeeeel when internet posters point out undeniable facts? Ye ye ye go onnnn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

they were WHIZZING joe. It's a fupping disgrace, I thought they were MOTORBIKES joe. I thought CARS were MOTORBIKES. That's how souped up the exhausts were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

OXTAIL SOUP JOE

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Was there any IS250's in the convoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

kceire wrote: »

I saw a tale of woe from that Poster, he sold the IS250 and got a Merc CL55 and got burnt with a few pricey things that needed to be fixed.
    Last I saw he had bought a H6 Legacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Phil.x

I love Japanese style roofs, much better than your average slate job.

Phil.x wrote: »
    I love Japanese style roofs, much better than your average slate job.

A pagoda is it caller? Ye ye ye go onnnnnnnn

robbiew wrote: »
    Define high speed, was it the noise that gave the impression of speed or do you have a speed gun, also do you mention souped up exhaust, as in stainless or just pipe with no box on it, because i can tell you my stainless exhaust sounds loud and it has 2 back boxes, but when travelling at the speed limit it sounds like 2 harleys mating..

It was the rate of progress/velocity/forward motion that indicated to me (as opposed to giving an impression) the fact that these cars, whatever their pedigree, country of origin or materials employed in the manufacture of their exhaust systems, were travelling excessively fast, on a narrow, twisting, two lane road, very popular with cyclists, occasional walkers, despite the absence of a footpath and with the added risk of wandering deer.

I'm just asking that those responsible, act in a more responsible way, if by any chance, any of them frequent this forum.

Be as pedantic as you like. You weren't there, you didn't see or hear them, I did.

If you justify this sort of driving, then so be it. That's your right, right or wrong, as it is my right to object to such potentially dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

they were WHIZZING joe. It's a fupping disgrace, I thought they were MOTORBIKES joe. I thought CARS were MOTORBIKES. That's how souped up the exhausts were.

I thought your post was fantastic and deserves more than my solitary like :)

narrow, twisting, two lane road, very popular with cyclists, occasional walkers, despite the absence of a footpath and with the added risk of wandering deer.

Well isn't that just a fantastic place for a nice walk or cycle... I'd be more p*ssed at people wandering around narrow roads than cars driving "fast" on said road. I love how you can tell they where speeding yet all you could see was the roofs of the cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

shietpilot wrote: »
    Well isn't that just a fantastic place for a nice walk or cycle... I'd be more p*ssed at people wandering around narrow roads than cars driving "fast" on said road. I love how you can tell they where speeding yet all you could see was the roofs of the cars.

FFS.

Not your ornery onager

shietpilot wrote: »

I give up. I didn't realise that so many people lack any sense of perspective, spatial awareness, to the extent that you see a car, or part of a car, like for example the roof line, passing by your house, in a blur. Unlike the many other considerate, sensible drivers who pass my house at a respectable, safe speed, relative to the road conditions.

And yes, maybe people shouldn't be free to walk their locality, if they run the risk of inconveniencing idiot drivers.

It's not rocket science to know that a car is going fast or slow, especially when I see cars using the same stretch of road all the time. Some of us just have more consideration than others I suppose.

Anyway, I made a simple point and a simple request, but as usual, the hijackers moved in.

Goodnight all......................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Speed ramps will be the only thing that would slow them down. I understand where you're coming from as I live in the countryside and also have fast young drivers and nothing seems to slow them down.

I give up. I didn't realise that so many people lack any sense of perspective, spatial awareness, to the extent that you see a car, or part of a car, like for example the roof line, passing by your house, in a blur. Unlike the many other considerate, sensible drivers who pass my house at a respectable, safe speed, relative to the road conditions.

And yes, maybe people shouldn't be free to walk their locality, if they run the risk of inconveniencing idiot drivers.

It's not rocket science to know that a car is going fast or slow, especially when I see cars using the same stretch of road all the time. Some of us just have more consideration than others I suppose.

Anyway, I made a simple point and a simple request, but as usual, the hijackers moved in.

Goodnight all......................

You had a legitimate gripe but completely undermined it by describing what was most likely very affluent middle aged men in high end cars as boy racer hooligans with "Japanese rooftops"
    There's a lesson to be learned here.
    Sayonara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

There's a waterfordwhispers article here somewhere...

"Absolute maniacal bastrads try to enjoy shporty automobiles right outside MY residence".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...a narrow, twisting, two lane road...

Sounds fantastic. All the ramblers, velcro warriors, mid-life crisis merchants and savage-boo-laaad types should get the hell off of it and leave it to the Fireblades. Git-DAAAHN!! :D

NickDunne wrote: »
    There's a waterfordwhispers article here somewhere...

"Absolute maniacal bastrads try to enjoy shporty automobiles right outside MY residence".

I had to read that in a D4 accent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Ye are letting the side down here, lads.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »

Letting down what side? A poster came on and made a Liveline post about "souped up exhausts" and Japanese roofs. In their last post the cars were going by so fast the Japanese roofs were a "blur".

There's no indication that they were, in fact, speeding at all, much less boy racers in '94 Civics. In fact the indications are that the cars were high end models, and loud. So is the loudness equate with speed, I know I've seen people do that.

To top it all off, the poster responds with the most Joe Duffy-esque of comments " regardless of my inaccuracies, the facts remain the same"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I can't abide dangerous driving in packs, muppets drifting on public streets should have their differentials removed without anaesthetic, but it was the Daily Mail style reporting of it that got people's backs up. It's not entirely the OP's fault either, it is that too often and for too long the Irish motorist of all types has been shafted by BS especially in the media(which all too often the gov listen to), so it tends to make the enthusiasts among us anger up. Doubly so when it's always the young lads that are targeted.

I don't condone the sniping at the OP, but I do understand it. - Middle aged proud owner of a 90's Japanese performance car. Standard exhaust.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Middle aged proud owner of a 90's Japanese performance car. Standard exhaust.
    May I interest you in a vinyl for your rooftop?

$_12.JPG

BANZAI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

kceire wrote: »

He was at the front of the convoy. They were all following him.

Sure he was probably trying to lose the lad in the Focus who was eyeing up his car :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

I'm quite partial to a bit of vag whenever I get the chance.
    Does that make me a vagboy?

galljga1 wrote: »
    I'm quite partial to a bit of vag whenever I get the chance.
    Does that make me a vagboy?

This is, in fact, an issue of orthoepy. Unfortunately, the written word does not allow for differentiation of hard and soft consonants, particularly when the words in question are, at best colloquialisms, and at worst, not actual words at all.

In fact, hard and soft consonants do not follow a strict rule even in correct English, however the following vowels (sometimes incorrectly referred to as 'hard' and 'soft' themselves) give the best indication of pronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Esel wrote: »

Yeah, it's making the rest of us responsible billionaire LaFerrari drivers look bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Can confirm it was most likely the cars I posted in HWIST. They landed in cork on Monday and did the WAW through west cork to Killarney on Monday.

I'll also say that most of them sounded like they were doing 80 as they crawled into the car park. The Ferrari 360 CS and the morgan could be heard from space at idle.

I've doubt they were tardy on that road (I know I wouldn't!!) but there's not many sections on that road where high straight line speeds are possible.