Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle4DSI Lap De Gaps 14-May

• 04-05-2016 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭

I know a lot of boardsies gave this a go last year, so here's your annual reminder of a great sportive being run by a great club for a great charity starting in Blessington.

WHAT: A charity cycle event in aid of Down Syndrome Ireland, run by Reservoir Cogs CC

ROUTE: 50k (around Blessington Lakes) or 100k (Lakes, Sally Gap and Wicklow Gap)

WHEN: Saturday May 14th 2016. Registration between 8am and 10am.

WHERE: Blessington GAA Club, Blessington Inner Relief Road, Blessington Co. Wicklow

And all for 25 quid (€27 non-CI).

Full details at at www.cycle4dsi.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Enjoyed this last year and the reverse route is very welcome just to avoid Luggala from the Roundwood side :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Looking forward to this as a training spin for Wicklow 200. Did the haul de naul a fww months back and lovely people organising it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Hoping to make this, having missed it a few years in the past, but as (bad!) luck would have it I'm flying back in from a work trip to India the Saturday morning, so God only knows what state I'll actually be in to attempt it!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Was planning to do this but a little put off by the starting arrangement. Could end up solo for the 100k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Signed up for this. Missed it last year so looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

detones wrote: »

What's the story with the start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

How does the start work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

loinnsigh wrote: »
    ... Registration between 8am and 10am...
    10am start??

I'm already registered so I presume I can arrive close to 10am?

ezra_ wrote: »
    How does the start work?
    10am start??

I'm already registered so I presume I can arrive close to 10am?

Reasonably sure it's not a mass start, and you set off whenever you've registered (on the day, as opposed to online), much like the Wicklow 100/200, as opposed to a lot of other sportives. Open to correction on that, but I do remember from last year that the numbers involved necessitated a staggered start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Did this last year, lovely spin. Hope to do it this year too.

If any of the organisers are reading this thread can I humbly suggest that where the 50/100KM part (Valleymount turn?) could the marshal this year be at least 200m from the actual turn rather than last year. It was fairly hairy at that point having people going straight for the 50 and a left turn across them for those doing the 100.

I know I am probably exaggerating here but the marshal was about 20/30 feet from the turn when telling people.

A bit more time for people to get into position for the turn would be a lot safer.

Still, was a great day out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭loinnsigh

cython wrote: »
    Reasonably sure it's not a mass start, and you set off whenever you've registered (on the day, as opposed to online), much like the Wicklow 100/200, as opposed to a lot of other sportives. Open to correction on that, but I do remember from last year that the numbers involved necessitated a staggered start.

Correct. You register between 8 am and 10am then set off at your leisure. No mass start. The Gardaí have asked us to do it this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭loinnsigh

Did this last year, lovely spin. Hope to do it this year too.

If any of the organisers are reading this thread can I humbly suggest that where the 50/100KM part (Valleymount turn?) could the marshal this year be at least 200m from the actual turn rather than last year. It was fairly hairy at that point having people going straight for the 50 and a left turn across them for those doing the 100.

I know I am probably exaggerating here but the marshal was about 20/30 feet from the turn when telling people.

A bit more time for people to get into position for the turn would be a lot safer.

Still, was a great day out!

Great suggestion, we'll take that on board, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Blessorider

detones wrote: »

The reason we start it this way now is because of the large numbers. The first two years 2013 & 2014 it was a mass start. But last year under direct instructions from Gardaí we had to go with staggered start and it will be the same this year and going forward. Thanks

If pre-registered, do I have to 'check in' at the GAA club or can I just start when I arrive? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Blessorider

If pre-registered, do I have to 'check in' at the GAA club or can I just start when I arrive? Thanks.

Hi. You do need to check in, it only takes a few seconds. You will be given your number for the event, emergency numbers contact card with also doubles up as your BBQ voucher for when you return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

A great ride, for a great cause.

As a result of some tough Judo competitions late last year I'd to nurse some injuries over the winter and didn't get in a whole lot of cycling so I won't make it this year.

And just after the first anniversary of Aidan Lynam's death I'm raging I'll be missing it. RIP ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

I should be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Cb12345

Just entered it.
    Hopefully not bitten off more than I can chew. Ah well , looking forward to it ..... I think......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

doing this with a group from work, will be my first sportive in a few years and am well looking forward to it!

Cb12345 wrote: »
    Just entered it.
    Hopefully not bitten off more than I can chew. Ah well , looking forward to it ..... I think......

You'll be grand, 'tis not a race. And even if you registered for the 100km you can change your mind and take the 50km route.

Its a good spin, you'll enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Cb12345

You'll be grand, 'tis not a race. And even if you registered for the 100km you can change your mind and take the 50km route.

Its a good spin, you'll enjoy it.

Thanks for the encouragement.

If there is an equivalent to "buyers remorse" for entering events, that's a bit like I'm feeling now. Instead of "do I really need it', it's "what have I let myself in for".
    No doubt that will fade as excitement builds.

Thanks for the encouragement.

If there is an equivalent to "buyers remorse" for entering events, that's a bit like I'm feeling now. Instead of "do I really need it', it's "what have I let myself in for".
    No doubt that will fade as excitement builds.

You'll be grand, and don't worry about being nervous that's natural ~ and nerves are just another word for 'excited' :D

I'd love to be joining you all but like I said, a few tough Judo competitions late last year caused a few injuries which I'd to rehab over the winter. Then in Feb I got a bad grade II tear in my pec which is causing me a lot of trouble, I can cycle my hybrid but not my road bike as the pressure on my chest/shoulder is too much.

Anyway, you'll have a ball :D

Booked in for the 100k

Just entered it.
    Take it easy on the first part around the lakes. The road there is tougher than it looks in the profile as it goes up and down constantly and can sap you energy before reaching the longer climbs. You'll see loads of lads hammering it along here, like greyhounds out of the traps, only to fade miserably on the climb to the Sally Gap.

Anyone have a link to the 100km route, the 47km is coming up when I select the 100 on the website

100km link on the website works for me: https://ridewithgps.com/routes/3764846

Been having issues lately on that PC thanks

Think this should be right if anyone wants to sync to a garmin. If someone also wouldnt mind doublechecking it as i just created it https://connect.garmin.com/modern/course/12302055

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Is there a food stop during the 100k?
    Thinking of signing up and wondering if I need to bring some dosh and feed myself!

terrydel wrote: »
    Is there a food stop during the 100k?
    Thinking of signing up and wondering if I need to bring some dosh and feed myself!
    Food stop in Laragh.

Cheers.
    For once I wont have to remortgage the house for lunch in Laragh :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

I'm not hugely into cycling but have a decent enough road bike bought on the cycle to work scheme. I do have a son with Down Syndrome though and would like to do something like this to support the charity.
    Would something like this (the 50km route)be only for the more serious cyclist?.
    I am fairly fit as I run a lot..marathons etc

Casey78 wrote: »
    I'm not hugely into cycling but have a decent enough road bike bought on the cycle to work scheme. I do have a son with Down Syndrome though and would like to do something like this to support the charity.
    Would something like this (the 47km route)be only for the more serious cyclist?.

Looking at the shorter route, if you're in any way fit you'll get thru it no bother.
    Different to running but general fitness will see you thru.
    Get signed up!

Would something like this (the 50km route)be only for the more serious cyclist?....
    Not at all. Many of those doing the 50k route and the 100k route have a direct connection with Down's Syndrome. There is a great atmosphere on this sportive which will carry anyone through. Regarding 'serious cyclists', the 50k route would not be considered to be difficult but is there for those who may not be as experienced but who wish to support the cause. Go for it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Would something like this (the 50km route)be only for the more serious cyclist?.

If you run marathons you'll breeze through 50k for an enjoyable spin and would most likely get through the 100k ok taking a leisurely pace.

I'd agree with the comments so far, the 50km should be fine for you, and to be honest I know of a guy in a similar situation who did an 80km section of the same route with a group of us on a good hybrid, and he was well able to keep up with and pass regular cyclists who would be eyeing up the 100km route for this, with the one exception of downhills, where the upright position just caught him out.

Main things I would say to you if you don't cycle over distance much are:
    1. Make sure and use your gears - you'll have a lot of aerobic fitness from running, but if you're grinding a hard gear your legs may tire quicker, especially those muscles that are more specific to cycling. Keeping a higher cadence (but not ridiculous, think of keeping the legs going around slightly quicker than once per second) tends to put the load on your lungs rather than your legs. That being said you'd probably be fine regardless, but you'll likely enjoy it more this way!
    2. If you haven't cycled 50km or near to it before, you may discover new aspects of your saddle that are uncomfortable :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

smacl wrote: »
    If you run marathons you'll breeze through 50k for an enjoyable spin and would most likely get through the 100k ok taking a leisurely pace.

Thanks. I suppose I meant was it a serious type of event like more of a road race for proper cyclists.
    Good to know it can be taken as a spin rather than a race.

Thanks to everyone else for your replies also.

cython wrote: »
    [*]If you haven't cycled 50km or near to it before, you may discover new aspects of your saddle that are uncomfortable :)

excellent point, make sure you have either a nice soft saddle or padded shorts unless you want to revisit nappy rash :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

A nice little preview video of some of the roads that you'll be cycling...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpBlpYNzVY4&feature=youtu.be

terrydel wrote: »
    Cheers.
    For once I wont have to remortgage the house for lunch in Laragh :P

Food stop is here at the Brockagh Center in Laragh. Come down off Glenmac come through the village and there will be marshalls just after the lower shop, opposite the heather. Word of warning, it's a tiny uphill into the Brockagh so click your gears before turning off the road :)

https://goo.gl/maps/t5nHTRPtsTr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Looks amazing, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

Apologies if this has already been asked and answered. Can you just register on the morning or do you have to prereg online in advance?

Cheers

Hi Crocked,

You can register on the morning as well. Registration is open between 8-10 and you can roll out anytime once you've registered.

It looks like a route in Spain / Italy. Great video.

What time will most people be leaving at?

Hard to say but last year it seemed the majority went out between 8:30 and 9:30. There was a good trickle from 8 onwards and then it got very quite from 9:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Signed up for the 50k, but considering the 100k after last weekend's spin over the gaps.

convert wrote: »
    Signed up for the 50k, but considering the 100k after last weekend's spin over the gaps.

if you're able for those 2 climbs then imo you'd be fine for the 100k. sure between the climbs and descents you're probably looking at 50km of the route! biggest thing is eating & drinking regularly and not going out too fast ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

if you're able for those 2 climbs then imo you'd be fine for the 100k. sure between the climbs and descents you're probably looking at 50km of the route! biggest thing is eating & drinking regularly and not going out too fast ;)

That's what everyone keeps telling me! It's only another 25k on top of last week's spin, so I'm almost convinced.... :eek: