Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

all the extra bills to before

• 01-05-2016 11:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭

was going to put this on after hours but probably would get every sort of response so I will keep it for the farming community.

Was looking today at all the monthly bills which need to be paid in the house. currently 4 mobile bills to be paid. one landline bill. broadband bill of €40. Netflix which they watch in the house is another €10 or something.

Luckily I don't have any loans and mortgage is paid for but just looking at all the above monthly bills which weren't there 10/20 years ago. if they were all ditched one would have a nice bit of extra savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

f140 wrote:
    Was looking today at all the monthly bills which need to be paid in the house. currently 4 mobile bills to be paid. one landline bill. broadband bill of €40. Netflix which they watch in the house is another €10 or something.

You should be able to bundle at least one of the mobiles on to your land line / broadband perhaps? Might save you a few quid?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

jd wrote: »
    You should be able to bundle at least one of the mobiles on to your land line / broadband perhaps? Might save you a few quid?
    it was more or a moan that I put up the tread rather than how to save money. Just got a shock at all the extras there is nowadays compared to before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

You forgot your property tax :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

Kovu wrote: »
    You forgot your property tax :p

And the water bill..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Not an extra bill, but car insurance in general skyrocketing this year uggghhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

f140 wrote: »
    was going to put this on after hours but probably would get every sort of response so I will keep it for the farming community.

Luckily I don't have any loans and mortgage is paid for but just looking at all the above monthly bills which weren't there 10/20 years ago. if they were all ditched one would have a nice bit of extra savings.

You could certainly make savings by reducing and eliminating bills. The only problem is when there is more than one person in the house and they want to hold onto this and that.

Timmaay wrote: »

Stop depressing me, will you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Jaysus if you don't have a mortgage what the f are you complaining about!?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Timmaay wrote: »

Between everything here over 15k a year going on insurance.
    The dd that goes out every month would service a fairly nicely sized mortgage but it's something you simply can't go without would of been cleaned out here on a couple of occasions only for having good cover, theirs a serious claim culture in this country and courts love giving out massive awards for minor claims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

jaymla627 wrote: »
    The dd that goes out every month would service a fairly nicely sized mortgage but it's something you simply can't go without would of been cleaned out here on a couple of occasions only for having good cover, theirs a serious claim culture in this country and courts love giving out massive awards for minor claims

15 k on insurance .....jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dont mind the monthly payments , its the unexpected bills that really annoy me. On a small scale cant understand why the kids school cant send a letter out in September of approx amounts that are due when. Got a letter from eldest lads school a few weeks ago that junior cert fees had to be paid within the next 3 days 109 euro:eek: girl in the bank said everyone was complaining of the short notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

jaymla627 wrote: »

Can't understand why there is not more outrage over this issue.

It's all very well people getting big payouts but that money has to come from somewhere and it's breaking people.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Dont mind the monthly payments , its the unexpected bills that really annoy me. On a small scale cant understand why the kids school cant send a letter out in September of approx amounts that are due when. Got a letter from eldest lads school a few weeks ago that junior cert fees had to be paid within the next 3 days 109 euro:eek: girl in the bank said everyone was complaining of the short notice

Ah Jaysus Whelan €109 is only pittance to a woman of your means :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

And there is the 'voluntary' payments that schools ask for!

My eldest is getting a share in an apartment for college next year and has just told me needs a deposit of E300 next week! She is looking for a job for the summer now!!!! bank of Mum is hitting the rocks as my car is in dire need of a helping hand somewhere in the region of E500. There was no car in this house when I was growing up, the 135 was our only transport - my father put a seat on the back and was able to carry 3 of us at a pinch. Don't think I'd get away with that though now a days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus Whelan €109 is only pittance to a woman of your means :D
    not in the middle of March...... its not the amount of money its the short notice that you are expected to produce it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

howdee wrote: »
    And the water bill..

that's a bill I am paying twice for. I am paying it once because I have my own well and I need to run that. I am paying then a second time because my tax is paying for those people who get free water to their house and who don't pay their water charges.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Health insurance, and loan 'protection' insurance are another couple.

On an annual basis there's nct, doe test for the jeep which weren't there 20 yrs ago.

It all adds up compared to our parents' generation.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

blue5000 wrote: »
    Health insurance, and loan 'protection' insurance are another couple.

On an annual basis there's nct, doe test for the jeep which weren't there 20 yrs ago.

It all adds up compared to our parents' generation.

Yup there are a rake of middle men type things that take your money that just weren't around years ago