Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclocross bike

• 29-04-2016 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

I am currently looking at 2 different cyclocross bikes for a mix of on road 30k to 40k 1 to 3 times a week mixed with off road forest trails.
    I hope to do a few do a few beginner cyclocross races at the end of year.
    The bikes I am looking at are under €1000 for bike to work scheme. They are the Claud Butler Alto cx 11 at €970
    and the Genesis cda 10 €900
    I would appreciate any advice or any other bike suggestions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Homer1798

Go for the Boardman cx team, 2014 model, Halfords are selling them off for €809.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 pdoc

I was ready to buy the Boardman cx team but Halfords are not registered with the bike to work scheme so my company would not do business with them.
    The Boardman was my first preference

I know plenty of people who have gotten bike to work scheme bikes through Halford's. Have they withdrawn participation very recently or something?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

glasso wrote: »
    I know plenty of people who have gotten bike to work scheme bikes through Halford's. Have they withdrawn participation very recently or something?
    No retailer "participates" in the BTW scheme. Your employer can buy from any EU-based retailer, but equally they can specify particular retailers. Not for discussion here, but check out the BTW Megathread linked in the FAQs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 pdoc

Halfords are paid for the bike through the one for all vouchers and My company is not registered with one for all. They told me I wouldn't be able to buy from Halfords as they're not on list of bike shops registered on bike to work. Sorry I was unclear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭davef1000

pdoc wrote: »
    Halfords are paid for the bike through the one for all vouchers and My company is not registered with one for all. They told me I wouldn't be able to buy from Halfords as they're not on list of bike shops registered on bike to work. Sorry I was unclear

Say what now? My GF has just got her BTW bike in Halford's, and there was no mention of One4All vouchers. I didn't get my BTW bike there, but I did look at a few bikes there and again, heard no mention of One4All.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭goose banker

I hope to do a few do a few beginner cyclocross races at the end of year.

Definitely give it a go - great craic. Expert Cycles in Rathfarnham have done a fantastic job organising a summer 'cross race in the village the last 2 years, think it was late July or August. Atmosphere was fantastic and lots of people seeing the sport for the first time. Keep an eye out if it's run again this year if you fancy sampling 'cross a little sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Homer1798

Quite a few people I know in work have got their bikes from Halfords on the BTW (Liffey Valley if that makes any difference?). Cross racing is brilliant, short, hard, technical races, and The Expert sponsored event in Rathfarnham is excellent to spectate at if you are not inclined to do CX races during the road season. It's also great for training in the winter when the weather is shi....normal, I live near a canal and can do mega spins for hours on end when it's icy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Zen0

Ah Jaysus! Did ye not hear the guy, his employer doesn't do Halfords. Give him some credit for intelligence.

OP, I'm afraid I'm unfamiliar with either of the bikes you mention. If you can stretch to €1,149 Cyclesuperstore have the CAADX Sora at that price. Harry's Bikes might also stock it. It's a great frame and the bike to work scheme allows you to go over the thousand if you pay the balance yourself.