Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children in back seat with no seatbelts!

• 28-04-2016 8:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭

On the commute to work today I notice a car infront of me (red nissan micra 00 reg) with 2 children around the age of 5 kneeling on the seat facing out the back window. Not a car in the world for the male driver. there was a child in the front too but I couldn't determine if there was a belt being used or not.

I was fuming but didn't know what to do? do I pull up and let the driver have it and risk a punch up in the street? do I ring the guards and give them the description (im pro gardai but this doesn't strike me as something they would entertain unless sitting in the same line of traffic when it's pointed out to them)

I turned right and they turned left... those kids would have stood a chance if the car was involved in a RTC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

You should of drove past nodding your head disapproving of his ignorance for his kids safety he would of pulled over feeling guilty as hell and swore to himself he would never do it again........or you could of called the cops.

The second option would be best tho. I guess people do stupid things and having the kids in the car like that is pretty stupid. I once seen a woman place an infant in her front seat and off she went driving without a care. Pretty stupid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

No, you mind your own business. There could be a myriad of reasons for this situation in which it mightn't have been as bad as it seemed. There's a level of righteousness about some people I find disconcerting. I'm not saying you're like that OP but please just get on with your own life and try and stop concentrating on others so much.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I have reported someone over this.
    I shouldn't have to care more about someone's kids than they do!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59013979&postcount=22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Jesus. wrote: »
    No, you mind your own business.

As long as stupidity of adults affects only their safety, I am cutting them a slack. But the moment their ignorance affects others, it should not be tolerated.
    There could be a myriad of reasons for this situation in which it mightn't have been as bad as it seemed.

Like what?

Sometimes I wonder if you're talking seriously or just seriously trolling.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

No, you mind your own business. There could be a myriad of reasons for this situation in which it mightn't have been as bad as it seemed. There's a level of righteousness about some people I find disconcerting. I'm not saying you're like that OP but please just get on with your own life and try and stop concentrating on others so much.
    In fairness, the cost of an RTA fatality is said to be well over a million euro so it does affect everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

If car is not equpiied with seatbelts on rear seat, then children occupying that seat don't have to wear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I think when people put children at risk, it's everyone's business.
    Should people mind their own business if we see a child being badly beaten?
    Children can't make all the decisions to ensure their safety - that's why adults take care of them. When guardians fail their children, society should step in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

"Jesus" is a good user name for you as I'd say most of us don't believe you're for real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭honreal

CiniO wrote: »
    If car is not equpiied with seatbelts on rear seat, then children occupying that seat don't have to wear it.

You tell me what nissan micras dont come with safety belts.... rediculous comment, almost as bad as Jesus. post above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

In Ireland the fitting is mandatory since 1992.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/roads_and_safety/seatbelts_when_motoring_in_ireland.html

kbannon wrote: »
    I have reported someone over this.
    I shouldn't have to care more about someone's kids than they do!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59013979&postcount=22

I seriously regret not taking the reg. There wasn't much time between me seeing the car in front and we both taking opposite turns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

TBH, Its carless and dangerous to the children. They don’t have the ability to determine the consequences of something going wrong and this responsibility lies with the guardian.

On the other hand I do see where Jesus is coming from (not heaven:)) in the sense that people need to mind their own business at times.

The correct thing to do is report the incident as it is illegal, but as many of us know it will most likely go on deaf ears, therefore this exercise is virtually pointless.
    This kind of this is very hard to ignore, especially when you are a parent.. Maybe a friendly reminder to the driver as opposed to a disapproving one is a better approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

I have reported a driver doing the same a few years ago. Three kids in back seat - no belts or proper seats and one in the front who was obviously too small to be there.

I wasn't going to risk a confrontation at the traffic lights as the driver didn't look like the type of guy who would appreciate some friendly advice.

I called the traffic watch number and gave them the details etc. I received a call that evening thanking me from the local station and confirming that they had managed to intercept the driver. I didn't get any more information.

I am of the opinion that society as a whole has a responsibility to look out for those who can't look out form themselves - especially children. Just because they are not your kids does not mean that you ignore the obvious risk to their health and safety.

I think when people put children at risk, it's everyone's business.
    Should people mind their own business if we see a child being badly beaten?

Yes like that's a fair equivalence :rolleyes:. This is the kind of dramatic reaction I'm talking about.

Most of us are old enough to remember having our head stuck in between the seats talking to our folks on a journey when our siblings were hopping around like Monkeys in the back. Of course things had to change but are you saying your folks were akin to child beaters?!

I just think people tend to get carried away a bit at times. And the 'citizen on patrol' thing leaves me cold because I know the type of people who live their lives like that. The person driving the car may have a million things on their mind and for once they forgot to strap the kids in. Okay a mistake but he'll pay for it if the Cops pull him over. No need for people to be patrolling the streets like Perfect Peters because once that begins there's no knowing where it stops.

I just think people tend to get carried away a bit at times. And the 'citizen on patrol' thing leaves me cold because I know the type of people who live their lives like that.

you are now twisting the discussion from someone observing something that is quite obviously wrong to people who are out on patrol looking for things to report.

Yes we all remember the good auld days, when daddy would pile five or six kids in to the back of the Mark I Cortina, head out to the beach and throw the kids in the sea with no care in the world .. head for fish and chips, drink 6 or seven pints and pile all the kids back in and head for home .. maybe stopping off for another couple of pints on the way home while the kids drink fizzy orange and eat tayto.

So .. do you reckon it would still be alright for daddy to guzzle a heap of pints and drive around the place?

Just because something was acceptable back in the day .. does not mean it is now.

Also; as a parent .. regardless of what is going on in my head my kids are the first concern especially when I am about to drive off with them

Yes like that's a fair equivalence :rolleyes:. This is the kind of dramatic reaction I'm talking about.

Most of us are old enough to remember having our head stuck in between the seats talking to our folks on a journey when our siblings were hopping around like Monkeys in the back. Of course things had to change but are you saying your folks were akin to child beaters?!

This doesn't make it OK to do now and was just down to a lack of education on the risks/dangers back then. Everyone now knows how serious it could be and is illegal.. Parents also drank and drove back then.
    I just think people tend to get carried away a bit at times. And the 'citizen on patrol' thing leaves me cold because I know the type of people who live their lives like that. The person driving the car may have a million things on their mind and for once they forgot to strap the kids in. Okay a mistake but he'll pay for it if the Cops pull him over. No need for people to be patrolling the streets like Perfect Peters because once that begins there's no knowing where it stops.

Generally I would agree with the "mind your own business" sentiment, but when it comes to children's safety, I believe you are obliged to do something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

also a mistake they will pay for if there is an accident and children get thrown around like ragdolls because they aren't strapped in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Your poor parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

Or to quote the late great Prince:

"Somebody tell that cat to chill"

I can't believe a poster just tried to offer the opinion that the driver might of had a other things on his mind over his own kids lives... I think it's time to close this thread before we have to endure more garbage like this.

It was no mistake because he turned around once or twice to talk to the kids so he was well aware of the situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

honreal wrote: »
    I can't believe a poster just tried to offer the opinion that the driver might of had a other things on his mind over his own kids lives... I think it's time to close this thread before we have to endure more garbage like this.

It was no mistake because he turned around once or twice to talk to the kids so he was well aware of the situation

Before we close the thread just a quick question: If you saw the driver of a car smoking a cigarette or a pipe with some kids in the back would you report them for endangering their children?

Similar issue. What would you do?

Madd Finn wrote: »
    Before we close the thread just a quick question: If you saw the driver of a car smoking a cigarette or a pipe with some kids in the back would you report them for endangering their children?

The topic is sliding even more now. There's a big difference between somebody smoking around children in a car and children kneeling unrestrained in a moving vehicle where there is a danger of that car being involved in an RTC

Madd Finn wrote: »

Both illegal, but not similar. Mammy and Daddy can smoke in the house

I don't know why people are detracting from the original post in an attempt to justify their point of "mind your own business" when we are discussing the safety of children in a dangerous situation.

watch this video before posting nonsense.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGUK1BqPANI

and bear in mind these occupants are restrained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

You tell me what nissan micras dont come with safety belts.... rediculous comment, almost as bad as Jesus. post above

No, I'm not saying that micra had no seatbelts.

I'm just saying that if car was not equipped with seatbelts, then there is no obligation to wear them or use child restraint systems.

It was just a side note on a discussion.

whippet wrote: »
    Yes we all remember the good auld days, when daddy would pile five or six kids in to the back of the Mark I Cortina, head out to the beach and throw the kids in the sea with no care in the world .. head for fish and chips, drink 6 or seven pints and pile all the kids back in and head for home .. maybe stopping off for another couple of pints on the way home while the kids drink fizzy orange and eat tayto. So .. do you reckon it would still be alright for daddy to guzzle a heap of pints and drive around the place?
    This doesn't make it OK to do now and was just down to a lack of education on the risks/dangers back then. Everyone now knows how serious it could be and is illegal.. Parents also drank and drove back then.
    Why do people only read what they want to read and blank out the rest?
    Of course things had to change but are you saying your folks were akin to child beaters
    whippet wrote: »
    you are now twisting the discussion from someone observing something that is quite obviously wrong to people who are out on patrol looking for things to report.
    I am twisting nothing. They're generally one and the same people. I'd bet its the same folks again and again who just happen to be 'observing' everyone else and reporting often, mostly for irrelevant misdemeanors.

They're generally one and the same people. I'd bet its the same folks again and again who just happen to be 'observing' everyone else and reporting often, mostly for irrelevant misdemeanors.

incorrect.

As I have stated; I am one of these people who stumbled across children at risk in a car; I wasn't snooping around looking for it .. but when your stuck in traffic and the car beside you has kids hopping around in it .. it's hard not to notice.

Using your logic we should turn a blind eye to what we see happening around us as we might be considered nosey or citizens on patrol. Isn't that what happened when venerable children were being systematically abused all over the country in the not so distant past. It was a mindset like yours which made sure the abusers could carry on regardless and abuse more children.

Society has a responsibility .. being part of that society means you have a responsibility .. this might not sit too comfortably on your shoulders but that is up to you to decide on. But I know where my thoughts lie

I can't believe a poster just tried to offer the opinion that the driver might of had a other things on his mind over his own kids lives
    Yes because they were hanging off the edge of a cliff and he was otherwise occupied.
    The topic is sliding even more now. There's a big difference between somebody smoking around children in a car and children kneeling unrestrained in a moving vehicle where there is a danger of that car being involved in an RTC

You've just accused another poster of what you're doing yourself man. False equivalencies. Your statement above is just as OTT as the smoking scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

No, I'm not saying that micra had no seatbelts.

I'm just saying that if car was not equipped with seatbelts, then there is no obligation to wear them or use child restraint systems.

It was just a side note on a discussion.

OP stated it was a 00 Micra.

It had seatbelts.

You knew that.

Does to role of professional contrarian pay well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OTT bickering closed this thread