Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving away in new car

• 27-04-2016 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

I've a new car on order, still a while (4/6 weeks) off on delivery, but will wait until 1st July and reg it as a 162.

Now, i've to travel from Dublin to Sligo that very day for a wedding.
    Transferring the insurance from current car to new car wont be an issue, but whats the jazz with tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You can *probably* tax it in Dublin if you have the logbook etc and get disc over the counter. Ring and check if they'd be ok with this as it's not strictly kosher.

He won't have the log book as that's sent out in the post.

op everyone who buys a new car drives around for a period with no tax and no insurance disc and you never hear of anyone having hassle. Just have something to show you just bought it and will be taxing it asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Slattsy wrote: »
    I've a new car on order, still a while (4/6 weeks) off on delivery, but will wait until 1st July and reg it as a 162.

Now, i've to travel from Dublin to Sligo that very day for a wedding.
    Transferring the insurance from current car to new car wont be an issue, but whats the jazz with tax?

Its in the post..

I cant see it being an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You'll get an RF100 from the dealer which is used for first taxation. Can either go in to the tax office with this document completed, or tax it online using the last 6 digits of the chassis number as the PIN.

You can't tax a car on-line on the same day as it's registered. I'm not sure if you can call in to the tax office and do it there and then on the same day that it's registered - never tried.

Realistically, you won't have any bother. There will be no hiding that it's a brand new car as you'll have the 162 plate on the front. Carry the RF100 with you (shows the date of registration), drive up to Sligo and log on to motortax.ie on Saturday 2nd July to apply for tax, and have the disc the following Tuesday/Wednesday.

If you get stopped, it's probably because they want a look at the shiny new motor rather than to cause any hassle.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I've taxed new cars on the same day as first registration. Online using the last 6 digits of the chassis no.

It's pretty simple tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

the offense is for non display though.
    I can't see any guard actually doin that on a day old car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

OP, the dealer will give you your copy of the SIMI sales docket, it's a large yellow document. Keep that with you to show the Gardai that the car is only a few days old. Just try not to park it on a public street where a traffic warden could give you a ticket for non-display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

colm_mcm wrote: »
    the offense is for non display though.
    I can't see any guard actually doin that on a day old car.

Technically no one could even drive to the tax office or drive off the garage lot if that was enforced fully

there is always a grace period given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Cheers lads.

If it can be done as same day as registration I'll do it, thats not a problem. I know there's a grace period on previously taxed cars, i just wanted to know how that applies to a car that has never been taxed.

ROR has said "You can't tax a car on-line on the same day as it's registered"

Henry Ford 3 has said "I've taxed new cars on the same day as first registration. Online using the last 6 digits of the chassis no."

But once i know there wont be any hassle or legal issues for the first day or two it'll be grand.

Can dealer realistically do anything in advance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I've taxed new cars on the same day as first registration. Online using the last 6 digits of the chassis no.

It's pretty simple tbh.

When was the last time you did that? Can't even declare vehicles off the road on the same day they are registered - think there is an overnight database update to the central vehicle file.
    Slattsy wrote: »

Can dealer realistically do anything in advance?

Have the car PDI'd, cleaned and ready for the plates to be screwed on.

Hope you aren't planning on setting off really early, as the online registration system quite often has issues on the 1st July with everyone rushing to register everything.

R.O.R wrote: »
    When was the last time you did that? Can't even declare vehicles off the road on the same day they are registered - think there is an overnight database update to the central vehicle file.

Have the car PDI'd, cleaned and ready for the plates to be screwed on.

Hope you aren't planning on setting off really early, as the online registration system quite often has issues on the 1st July with everyone rushing to register everything.

I sure am :D

OSI wrote: »
    Yeah had to wait till the next day for the site to recognise the new car after it was registered.

So basically the cops will know this and let you have the few days grace. :)