Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Masonic Square and Compass

• 26-04-2016 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭

I saw something a little unusual yesterday on my commute home... Well, perhaps not unusual but unique for me as in I've never seen it before.

In short, ahead of me in traffic while merging on to the N4 was a 141 BWM 5 Series with a Masonic Square and Compasse symbol printed on his rear registration plate. It was quite small but distinctively recognizable as the Masonic Square and Compasses. It was placed in the same general location that the diplomatic letters 'CD' are placed.

Has anyone else seen this on an Irish car on the roads and given the various activities the Freemasons get up to, what possible purpose could having this symbol on their car perform? Special treatment? From whom? etc.....

Anyhow. Interesting to me none the less...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Has anyone else seen this on an Irish car on the roads and given the various activities the Freemasons get up to, what possible purpose could having this symbol on their car perform? Special treatment? From whom? etc.....

It's got a special chip in it that opens secret passages so you can avoid traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was the car illuminated?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You should have done the secret car crash to let them know you recognized them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

I saw something a little unusual yesterday on my commute home... Well, perhaps not unusual but unique for me as in I've never seen it before.

In short, ahead of me in traffic while merging on to the N4 was a 141 BWM 5 Series with a Masonic Square and Compasse symbol printed on his rear registration plate. It was quite small but distinctively recognizable as the Masonic Square and Compasses. It was placed in the same general location that the diplomatic letters 'CD' are placed.

Anyhow. Interesting to me none the less...

I am a Master Mason, and I can tell you it's just a Mason letting others know he is a Mason. Some Mason's prefer to keep their membership private, and others are more public about it.
    One can purchase Masonic car stickers on Ebay if that is one's preference.
    Some of us do it in other ways, such as wearing cufflinks, tiepins, lapel pins; etc.
    But one can also do it in more subtle ways, such as giving someone the Masonic grip (secret handshake) when one shakes hands.
    Or simply asking someone if they are a Mason.
    Having a car sticker doesn't entitle any Mason to get preferential treatment from the Garda Traffic Corps etc.
    It's no different to someone having a GAA county team sticker in the car window.
    Mason's do help each other down though, so say he was broken down or had a puncture etc, then a fellow Mason would stop and help if he saw the sign.
    The car sticker/numberplate sticker thing seems to be more popular in America though.
    Mason's in Ireland generally keep it more private; but of course there are exceptions to the rule and some really go on for all the regalia and Masonic bling such as rings.
    Each to their own.

poa wrote: »
    I am a Master Mason, and I can tell you it's just a Mason letting others know he is a Mason. Some Mason's prefer to keep their membership private, and others are more public about it.
    Some of us do it in other ways, such as wearing cufflinks, tiepins, lapel pins; etc.
    But one can also do it in more subtle ways, such as giving someone the Masonic grip (secret handshake) when one shakes hands.
    Having a car sticker doesn't entitle any Mason to get preferential treatment from the Garda Traffic Corps etc.
    It's no different to someone having a GAA county team sticker in the car window.
    Mason's do help each other down though, so say he was broken down or had a puncture etc, then a fellow Mason would stop and help if he saw the sign.
    The car sticker/numberplate sticker thing seems to be more popular in America though.
    Mason's in Ireland generally keep it more private; but of course there are exceptions to the rule and some really go on for all the regalia and Masonic bling such as rings.
    Each to their own.

Hahaha Hahaha Hahaha Hahaha.... You're cracking me up here!

biko wrote: »
    Was the car illuminated?

Good one.
    Its funny how many people think the Masons/Illuminati/New World Order are connected.
    The Bavarian Illuminati copied some Masonic ritual and degrees.
    As did Joseph (and his brother Hiram) Smith when they founded the Mormonism.
    The Illuminati died out in the 18th century, contrary to what conspiracists would like to believe.

That's exactly what the Illuminati would say!

Get him boys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

smash wrote: »

Get him boys!

Pfff the Illuminati are small fry, Everyone knows it's the reverse vampires in conjunction with the saucer people.

Hahaha Hahaha Hahaha Hahaha.... You're cracking me up here!

One member in my lodge really goes in for all the bling.
    Lapel pin, cufflinks, ring, tie pin.
    As far as I know he wears it all at work as well, not just at lodge meetings.
    Personally I think it is over the top.
    Funnily enough he doesn't have a car sticker though, I must suggest it as I am sure he would love that.
    I have a pair of Masonic cufflinks and a small lapel pin; that is enough for most Mason's.

Get him boys!

Have a read of the Bavarian Illuminati Wiki page.
    Very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,640 ✭✭✭cml387

Do they have to drive their car with one window rolled down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Each to their own.

Da fuq is a master mason? Do you organise those orgies like in Vanilla Sky?

cml387 wrote: »
    Do they have to drive their car with one window rolled down?

I often get funny looks when I get out of my car at a petrol station with my left shirt sleeve and right trouser leg rolled up.
    I must get one of those number plate stickers off Ebay.
    Maybe a Masonic baseball cap to go with it to complete the look.
    Pump number 3, I am looking for a square deal on the level for 20 litres of petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

bear1 wrote: »
    Da fuq is a master mason? Do you organise those orgies like in Vanilla Sky?

There are 3 degrees of Freemasonry;
    Entered Apprentice
    Fellow Craft
    Master Mason
    The top Mason in a lodge is called the Worshipful Master.
    The top Mason in Ireland is called the Grand Master.
    You are mistaken, Stanley Kubrick's film Eyes Wide Shut was the one with the Masonic orgies (not Vanilla Sky).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

bear1 wrote: »
    You know the thread will go to **** when someone gives a Wikipedia page to back up something.

The wiki article says that the Illuminati is dead. He's not backing up anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

How did you get involved in this society? It's men only I assume?

There are 3 degrees of Freemasonry;
    Entered Apprentice
    Fellow Craft
    Master Mason
    The top Mason in a lodge is called the Worshipful Master.
    The top Mason in Ireland is called the Grand Master.
    You are mistaken, Stanley Kubrick's film Eyes Wide Shut was the one with the Masonic orgies (not Vanilla Sky).
    Do you enjoy paddling new recruits?

The wiki article says that the Illuminati is dead. He's not backing up anything.

Deleted the comment :)

MagicIRL wrote: »
    How did you get involved in this society? It's men only I assume?

Freemasonry is a fraternity; so yes, it's men only.
    In the UK they have Co-Freemasonry which accepts women, and in France they have the Grand Orient.
    There are 2 ways one can apply to join;
    Grand Lodge's website freemason.ie
    Or one can ask a Mason if one knows one.
    One needs to be 21 or over, of good character, with no criminal record.
    It's as simple as that really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

I am a Master Mason.

Is your last name Bates?

Do you enjoy paddling new recruits?

The only thing I enjoy paddling, is my kayak.
    Each to their own though.
    I often think when someone thinks up something like paddling a new recruit, it comes from their own subconscious desire.
    So, do you fantasise about paddling new recruits?

HensVassal wrote: »
    Is your last name Bates?

No, but I did work as a baker.

In the UK they have Co-Freemasonry which accepts women, and in France they have the Grand Orient.
    Do you share the costs of hookers or do you pay as you go?

Well I just show them my Masonic cufflinks for a freebie (as I don't have one of those cool numberplate stickers from Ebay).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Would you conceder doing a thread on the Ask Me Anything forum?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭VictorRomeo

Well I just show them my Masonic cufflinks for a freebie (as I don't have one of those cool numberplate stickers from Ebay).

Sorry you've been subjected to the nonsense here.... I appreciate your rational and genuine feedback....

OldGoat wrote: »
    Would you conceder doing a thread on the Ask Me Anything forum?

I don't know what conceder means, but I assume its predictive text misspelling consider.
    So would I consider it? Well I have, and it's of no interest to me.
    I am not here to talk up Freemasonry, or convince anyone to join; each to their own.
    If one wants to believe the myth and misinformation on the internet, that's their prerogative.
    I don't really care either way to be honest with you.
    Being a Mason, you get used to all the usual slagging; and stupid questions.
    The funny thing is, often men join to find out what is truth and what is myth about it all. And when one does actually find out, its actually quite boring to realise Freemasons are not connected to the Illuminati or some New World Order etc.
    I do find threads like this one amusing though, someone sees a Masonic symbol on a numberplate and is curious what does that mean?
    Does that Mason get preferential treatment like a diplomat etc?
    Yes, everything you read on the internet is true; we are special people that get preferential treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

But one can also do it in more subtle ways, such as giving someone the Masonic grip

Ha

Sorry you've been subjected to the nonsense here.... I appreciate your rational and genuine feedback....

My advice to anyone that wants to separate the fact from fiction is to look at the Grand Lodge website; freemason.ie
    One will see there is very little secret about Freemasonry.
    Or the other thing I would recommend is to take one of the daily tours of Grand Lodge in Molesworth Street at 2.30pm. It costs 2 Euro and is very informative.
    The tours are open to all, women included. Often its tourists wanting to see inside a lodge for the first time.
    Hardly a secret when its open to the public daily is it? No.
    So you see there is loads of bull**** by on the internet, but most of it is myth and fiction.
    The only things Mason's keep secret are; the ritual, grips (secret handshakes), and words (passwords).
    Everything else can be found on the internet these days, but its hard for non-Masons to separate fact from fiction.
    The truth is, often the fact is quite boring, and the fiction is much more exciting. And we all like some salacious stories and fantasies of orgies etc. Much more interesting than hearing about lodge meetings to raise money for charities etc.

The only things Mason's keep secret are; the ritual, grips (secret handshakes), and words (passwords).

Except you can google this stuff and find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Why are graphic designers and web designers not allowed to join the Free Masons?

Except you can google this stuff and find out.

One can indeed. So it's hardly the secret society or illuminati conspiracists would like to believe.
    The secrecy was just because Freemasonry wasn't always as accepted as it is now. For example the Catholic Church is against Freemasonry, and even now Masons are banned from attending mass. But in reality this isn't enforced and we have Catholic Masons that marry, attend masses, funerals, communions, etc.
    Catholics are free to join Freemasonry, but Mason's can't attend Catholic masses. It's a double standard really.
    So the secret grips, and words; were just a way of keeping it low key that's all. These days its more open than ever.
    Grand Lodge made a new website to make it more accessible to the internet generation, and they haven't done as Prince did; paying a company to delete all internet conspiracy content on Youtube etc.
    Its not big deal really, if one wants to find out the secrets, one will Google. Some will believe the myth, and some won't. That's the way it is.
    Before I joined, I Googled and looked at Youtube video's etc. Now I realise that much of the information online is actually myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

It's for the M50 toll cameras, Worshipful and Grand Masters are exempt from paying tolls.

Effects wrote: »
    Why are graphic designers and web designers not allowed to join the Free Masons?

As far as I know, the website was done voluntarily by a member. I don't think they were paid anything for doing it.
    So its a case of; never look a gift horse in the mouth. I have seen better websites, but you know yourself; one gets what one pays for with regards to websites.
    I suppose its OK for a free effort.

As far as I know, the website was done voluntarily by a member. I don't think they were paid anything for doing it.
    So its a case of; never look a gift horse in the mouth. I have seen better websites, but you know yourself; one gets what one pays for with regards to websites.
    I suppose its OK for a free effort.
    That's not an answer to what he asked you.

ectoraige wrote: »
    It's for the M50 toll cameras, Worshipful and Grand Masters are exempt from paying tolls.

I wonder if putting a Masonic symbol in my car tax disc holder would exclude me from paying it?
    Or maybe send a Masonic business card stapled to my Irish Water and TV Licence.
    Surely there must be some perks or me being a member of the Freemasons/Illuminati/New World Order/Orange Order etc?
    I mean, we do run the country/world don't we?
    I must give the TV licence inspector the secret grip when he calls, see if it works.

That's not an answer to what he asked you.

OK, here is an answer to what he asked me.
    They aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

I wonder if putting a Masonic symbol in my car tax disc holder would exclude me from paying it?
    Or maybe send a Masonic business card stapled to my Irish Water and TV Licence.
    Surely there must be some perks or me being a member of the Freemasons/Illuminati/New World Order/Orange Order etc?
    I mean, we do run the country/world don't we?
    I must give the TV licence inspector the secret grip when he calls, see if it works.

Nope, the only benefit is the M50 toll exemption, but you have to be above Master Mason level.
    Although if you ask for an extra gherkin in a Wendy's restaurant they'll give it for free. Well worth it.

OK, here is an answer to what he asked me.
    They aren't.

They aren't what? Allowed to join or they aren't NOT allowed to join?

OK, let me break it down to a simpler level that you can understand.
    He was taking the p.iss saying web designers can't join.
    I.e: the website is crap.
    But you didn't get that did you? You took it literally.
    Any man over 21 years of age, of good character, without a criminal record, can join.
    Graphic designers, web designers, included.
    Got it now? Yes, they can join.

This is After Hours dude, not "Everything You Wanted To Know About Masons"

OK, let me break it down to a simpler level that you can understand.
    He was taking the p.iss saying web designers can't join.
    I.e: the website is crap.
    But you didn't get that did you? You took it literally.
    Any man over 21 years of age, of good character, without a criminal record, can join.
    Graphic designers, web designers, included.
    Got it now? Yes, they can join.

What about atheists?

This is After Hours dude, not "Everything You Wanted To Know About Masons"

Coming from the guy who needed it explained twice can web designer join?
    I bet you're great craic at parties lad.

What about atheists?

Next you will be asking; is water wet?
    Let me Google that for you.
    Seriously lad, I think you are trolling at this stage.
    Or maybe you are just simple.
    Then you mock the OP for asking about Freemasons, when you are doing just the same.
    Ironic.
    And before you ask me 3 times, no; atheists cannot join.
    Freemasons have to believe in God. That can be the God of any religion you like, or any way you see God you like.
    You could see God as evolution or nature for example; it's all good and doesn't matter.
    Th reason being, much of Freemasonry ritual is based in the Old Testament.
    And sometimes we swear an oath over the Holy Bible.
    Craft Freemasonry is based on the building of the Temple of Solomon. Royal Arch Freemasonry is based on the restoration of the Temple of Solomon.
    Atheists don't believe in God, so if one was an Atheist Freemason it would be contradictory.
    Having said that, we have Catholic Mason's and the Catholic Church bans Masons which is ironic.
    Religion and politics are both off-limits topics of conversation in Masonic lodges anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

What about atheists?

you have to believe in a higher power so that probably excludes atheists.

All I've really taken from this thread is that masons appear to be fond of lists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

If its so open, why the need for secret handshakes and passwords?
    Also, why do you swear on the bible when you can believe in any 'god' , not necessarily the biblical one who also said don't.swear on the bible in the first instance?