Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Youtube while driving

• 25-04-2016 9:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭

Well lads what's the law with regards having YouTube on your phone while driving? Not for watching just for listening to music. In a cradle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The law says it's fine*

* there is no law for this but if you're just listening it's like the radio innit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Nice one. What if the guards try and say I could be watching the video, even if I'm very sure I'm not?

Then you'd be in trouble.
    I suggest you download the music onto your phone as mp3 and listen instead.
    Or leave phone on the passenger seat face down.

I think it's safer to have the phone in a cradle though. I wouldn't want to be unsafe now. And do the guards not have to prove that I was watching the TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,640 ✭✭✭cml387

Any distraction is a danger while driving, and Youtube is a visual distraction

Why can't you just download the music beforehand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Nice one. What if the guards try and say I could be watching the video, even if I'm very sure I'm not?

If you are the only person in the car and you are showing a video, as distinct from Spotify etc, then who do you think is watching it?

No one's watching it. I'm listening to it.

I think it's safer to have the phone in a cradle though. I wouldn't want to be unsafe now. And do the guards not have to prove that I was watching the TV?
    You having a screen glaring on in a cradle is proof enough to a Garda you were watching it, and I would agree.

Can you cover the screen somehow? If screen is dark there is no ambiguity.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

No one's watching it. I'm listening to it.

If your phone is mounted on the window playing a video this can easily become a distraction so I personally think this is unwise and getting the MP3 for this is the only way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I think there are apps that let you just play the audio only on youtube videos. That way they load faster and don't use up data on videos either

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I did a 90 minute drive on Friday playing a foreign radio station via tune in radio & bluetooth to the car's speakers. Phone was face down on the passenger seat.

Worked a treat. Nice music and no distractions.

Playing youtube in a cradle is asking for trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

i'd say you would be exposing yourself to a dangerous driving charge if you can see the screen from the driver's seat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭NeverWaining

Why not just ring the guards and ask them? There's not much point in telling them that JohnnyOTooleBigBalls from Boards.ie told you it would be grand if they pull you up.

Because guards lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Kepler 186f

The offence is "holding a mobile phone while driving", nowhere in that is there a requirement to prove the phone was being used or not, simply that it's being held while driving. In your case and based of it being in a cradle you won't be committing an offence IMO

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2006/act/23/section/3/enacted/en/html

However I'm sure there would be another offence if you were seen to be watching videos on your phone while driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

The offence is "holding a mobile phone while driving", nowhere in that is there a requirement to prove the phone was being used or not, simply that it's being held while driving. In your case and based of it being in a cradle you won't be committing an offence IMO

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2006/act/23/section/3/enacted/en/html

However I'm sure there would be another offence if you were seen to be watching videos on your phone while driving

Holding a phone and using a phone to send or read a sms, mms or e-mail are the only offences in relation to a phone so you can use it for anything else once you don't actually hold the phone or cradle it with any part of your body, however, an offence of driving without due care and consideration can be applied!

seen to be watching videos on your phone while driving

Grand so. I won't be seen. The video will be on but I won't be watching it and An Garda Síochána will have no evidence to the contrary.

Good luck with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Cianmcliam

You could no doubt be prosecuted for driving without due care and attention if it is the opinion of the Gardaí that what you are doing is affecting your ability to drive safely. It doesn't have to be specified in law about watching a screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Grand so. I won't be seen. The video will be on but I won't be watching it and An Garda Síochána will have no evidence to the contrary.

If the screen is visible the word of a Garda is evidence that you where driving without due care. What's on YouTube that you can't get on the multitude of music streaming apps?