Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 6 Episode 1 The Red Woman thread "Non book readers"

• 23-04-2016 6:49pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Pre empting the upcoming episode post by including some highlights from the charter. I'll try to set up each episode in advance each week; thread will be unlocked on Sunday evening.

This is ONLY about the specific episode shown on TV! No information from any other source, interviews etc. are allowed to be posted with the one exception that SPOILER tagged lore from the DVD releases and interviews will be allowed in the thread. Such information has to directly relate to the episode however and be clearly marked as for example "DVD lore from Season X relating to matter Y"
    Lore and conclusions go here

This means book readers are allowed to post but they can not reference ANYTHING from the books.

In addition anyone picking up 3 yellow cards will be banned from the forum for the current season; in case of serious enough transgressions the ban may come earlier than 3 cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

Its on at 2am on sky Atlantic won't get to watch it myself but mite be good to some that will b up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

found a site that is streaming it :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Doggy wants out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,474 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Miracast you legend lol

ramsey grieving, thats a change

Grieving lol
    Rats is the true king

The flayed man on their shield looks like the Union Jack

nearly feel sorry for Cersei..

Well that escalated quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

What. The. Fúck?

someone forgot to put on their anti aging cream... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

Nothing happened in that episode...feck all Ted

Filler in a ten episode season is wierd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭seandotcomm

I still would...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Well that's the quickest I've ever lost an erection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

What's happening with Arya Stark...seriously. What a load of shïte...Same for the red witch...what?! What?!?

Good episode though, I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

As usual so much going on, I don't know who should be killed first

Makes sense that her illusions apply to herself
    Reminds me of the authorin stories

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

Anyone else think the writing wasnt great?

''We'll have a think about it and get back to you"
    ....just sounds off, too modern or something.

assumme arya is being punished for her indiscretion, as for Mellisandre, looks like they have copied the story of Tir na Nog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sand snakes.

Some bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Anyone else think the writing wasnt great?

''We'll have a think about it and get back to you"
    ....just sounds off, too modern or something.

If they're trying to delay Jon Snow's revival then it's pretty shoddy. Hiding in a room, really? It wouldn't be hard to barge through and slay then all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

I still don't really get why Davos is guarding Jon's body so zealously? The other lads in the room know what happens with dead bodies up there as well so I'm not sure why they're not hurrying to burn him either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

So who didn't we get an update on? Jon's fat friend, the wildlings, Bran, the Iron Islanders, ...anyone else?

I watched Brienne's fight scene twice but I couldn't see what happened to those dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

When it went back to Dorn I said to myself, "Finally, yerman from Star Trek is going to get something to do, flesh out his character. Maybe the Sand Snake crap from last season might serve a purpose. We're going to get whole new thriving culture with a power struggle and intrigue, another Kings Landing".

Stab.

"Previously, on 'Xena Warrior Princess'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭leonil7

mirror mirror on the wall who's the fairest of them all ;)

5f3iduirjrvcdl66g.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Good to see Maester Aemon back.

Not sure about the tits though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

The Dothraki's 'top 5' squabble reminded me of this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

The Dothraki's 'top 5' squabble reminded me of this:

Mixed with this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

i liked the episode, everything in Castleblack was gripping- including the lil twist at the end with Melisandre showing her true self.
    Guessing she is going to die of old age in her sleep now
    which leads us to: who, if anyone, is gonna bring back Jon :(

Hopefully Ghost rips the ****e outa Olly

Dorne... well Dorne was Dorne- they butchered it last season and this was a clean up attempt, although killing of 3 of the more interesting characters down there and keeping the Powerpuff Girls. whoop de do...

I'm liking Theon, Sansa, Brienne and Pod altogther- although what happened the hounds, i don't remember them being killed, they were in Sansa's face one minute and then gone..

the opening episode to every season is usually rather slow but this was one of the better ones imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭PIORUN

ok so , hes definitely dead, is this what we're taking from this? It seems the red woman has now relinquished her "powers" so she aint bringing him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭golfball37

A load of cack, same as last year. Running out of ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

golfball37 wrote: »
    A load of cack, same as last year. Running out of ideas.

If only there were some great books they could pull some ideas from instead of making stuff up themselves ;)

PS, not seen the episode myself yet, but the interest is gone when I am reading the reaction here first before watching.

What exactly happened at the end? Was Arya blinded in the last season? What was that fight with the other girl all about? More tests I assume?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

What exactly happened at the end? Was Arya blinded in the last season? What was that fight with the other girl all about? More tests I assume?
    Season 5, episode 10 with spoiler explaining why
    as punishment for taking a life not for her to take.
    . Below clip shows the scene in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

The many faced God picks out who they are meant to kill. Killing for revenge like arya did is a big no no and she was published by being blinded. The other girl is from the same group and is now going to make arya daredevil.

Their whole thing is about being no one and a blind girl begging us pretty good at being ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

I just figured it out!!

why are they hiding in a Room??? because its a reference to Jesus before he was resurrected when his apostles hidin a room waiting to decide what to do! Martin loves his little historical/mythical references, and i think that's what this is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

that ending gave me a negative erection :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

ricero wrote: »
    that ending gave me a negative erection :eek:

What it created a mangina?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

shane9689 wrote: »
    I just figured it out!!

why are they hiding in a Room??? because its a reference to Jesus before he was resurrected when his apostles hidin a room waiting to decide what to do! Martin loves his little historical/mythical references, and i think that's what this is

I think he will be reborn in the Pyre, they need to burn him to stop him becoming a Wraith. I think the Red Women will burn her self along with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I remember at the end of season 4, I wanted Dorne/the Martells to destroy the Lannisters as revenge for Oberyn.

Start of season 6 and I just want Cersei to wipe Dorne out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,276 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Grand episode, just checked in on some characters to see where they at and refresh any memories.

Pretty certain Jon is now going to be resurrected for sure anyway considering the castle black stuff and the red witch (eww)

The one thing I really didn't like, was the dogs, where did the dogs go? Didnt see them get killed or anything and it stands to reason that as soon as the guy holding them let go they were gonna tear something to shreds!

Good to have it back, don't expect epics each week, looking forward to next week :)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,474 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Is the red lady a whitewalker ???. She looks like one at the end.

I thought davos would be angry and sad over the burning of the princess ?.

So Jon snow is going to be like Jesus and come back or is he dead. Fearing we will have to wait til episode 8/9 to find out

Already hate the dorne women and I hope there killed. I fear they will end up slaying the mountain

How is denereys going to escape being isolated in the widows temple ??

Can see ur man turning into a stone man very soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Initial thoughts are that it wasn't a great episode. I think they should have wrapped up the "is he or isn't he dead" thing. Instead i can see this running on for another one or two episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭leonil7

reek's got his confidence back i guess after his fresh kill. and now that sansa is accepting pledges of loyalty, bannermen will soon form in line to form a new army of the north.

the queen of the north!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I don't buy it with Theon - something's still off there. (his cock yeah, but ye know what i mean)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Was an OK episode imo. Not boring not exciting somewhere in the middle. Looking forward to next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I don't buy it with Theon - something's still off there. (his cock yeah, but ye know what i mean)

It did cross my mind that in Sansa, Pod, Theon and Brienne they have 4 "good guys" all grouped together - that can never be a good sign ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Sand snakes.

Some bunch of lads.

I'm guessing things like the spear through the (back of?) the face were in reaction to all the mockery of their handslapping games etc last season. Still, they set up Dorne so unbelievably poorly (first time the show has really squandered any group/area as best I can remember. Some didn't like Qarth but I loved the weirdness of the place personally, even if the end of the warlocks was a bit weak) that it's going to take a lot of work to fix it.

Hopefully they get away from the 'GRL POWWWAAAA!' aspect of it, or at least being so heavy handed in getting that over, but I'm not holding my breath with lines like "you weak men cannot rule us" or "you were always so greedy!" after said face-spearing (both not direct quotes, I was half asleep long before the show started and need to rewatch during the week).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

The one thing I really didn't like, was the dogs, where did the dogs go? Didnt see them get killed or anything and it stands to reason that as soon as the guy holding them let go they were gonna tear something to shreds!
    We noticed that too! I reckon it was down to "aaawww, doggies. People love doggies. Oh sh*t wait, we can't have one of our few 'good guys' killing dogs, especially not a Stark since they're tied in with wolves (e.g. dogs). Let's pretend they just ran off."

Which doesn't make sense for attack dogs, but I can kind of see why they did it. Still liked that scene, was interested to see Pod has picked up some competency and was nice/unexpected that he got his own kill. Still think Brienne should have been made to murder the f*** out of everyone a little quicker though, they seem intent on making her struggle in some battles a little much possibly because she is a woman, but she's meant to be one of the biggest badasses with a sword in hand on the whole show. Wouldn't mind having a few more scenes where she butchers smaller groups that size, kind of like we've seen the likes of The Hound do previously (if I recall).

Was I the only one faintly hoping though that rather than Brienne, the Brotherhood Without Banners were going to come flying in? Quick mystery arrow through the eye of the main fella followed by them emerging seemingly out of nowhere type of thing. Really want to see more of that group coming into it, hopefully Brienne, Sansa, Theon & Pod run into them at some point soon.