Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interclub results 2016

• 23-04-2016 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭

It can be difficult to know how the other clubs around on the draw sheets of various interclub competitions are getting on so making it difficult see who your team is potentially playing if you make it through the 1st round. So here goes Blessington lakes won 3 2 against Dublin Mountain in the Barton cup by the skin of their nose winning at the 1st playoff hole.We lost our 1st Rd match of the All Ireland Fourball against Craddockstown and finally we beat Baltinglass 3 2 in the Duggan cup (OVER 50'S). Out today in the Provincial Towns v Tullfarris gc.......Mods feel free to move if there is a more appropriate thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Moate won 5-4 v Mullingar in the Provincial Towns and also beat Rathcore in the Mixed Foursomes this weekend.

We lost to Longford in the Barton Cup and to Mullingar in the Duggan Cup the weekend before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

Blessington Lakes were beaten by Tulfarris 5 4 in the Provincial Towns with both teams winning all their home matches. Just goes to show how important home advantage is. We are playing Mount Wolsley next in the Barton Cup and Nebridge in the Duggan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Lucan beat the K Club in the Barton Cup. Citywest next up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Does anyone know where I can find a list of the interclub events and the suitable handicaps for playing these?

I have a vague memory of a post on here outlining these but can't find it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Those ******** ******* ****** Spanish point scraped through the Clare final this morning against shannon. Won 3-2 with fourth match winning the par 5 18th in ennis with a six.
    Poor young lad from shannon missed a 2 footer to bring it up 18.

Won my own match on Saturday but just lost out to shannon and we both only had one goal and that was to play Spanish point. Hopefully someone beats then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Those ******** ******* ****** Spanish point scraped through the Clare final this morning against shannon. Won 3-2 with fourth match winning the par 5 18th in ennis with a six.

Won my own match on Saturday but just lost out to shannon and we both only had one goal and that was to play Spanish point. Hopefully someone beats then ******

No sour grapes there then:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Ballykisteen beat Carrick on Suir 4/1 in the Tipperary final of the Bruen this morning. Due to meet the Waterford winners next I think.

On Saturday afternoon Moate had a 2nd rd win in the Provincial Towns v New Forest. Finished 5-3 with one game called in when we were 2up with 2 to play. Great performance in winning 3 matches away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Lucan beat Citywest last weekend and play Castlewarden next who beat Carton House. Lucan were beaten this weekend by Clontarf in the Metro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭jtown

Killarney beat Kanturk 3-2 in the final yesterday.
    Ceann Sibeal beat Dooks 4-1 in the other section

Killarney play Ceann Sibeal venue/date TBA

jtown wrote: »
    Killarney beat Kanturk 3-2 in the final yesterday.
    Ceann Sibeal beat Dooks 4-1 in the other section

Killarney play Ceann Sibeal venue/date TBA

Great win by Killarney to beat the hosts, if i was a betting man I'd put a few quid on them to go all the way;):pac:.

Was nail biting! Yes was always going to be tough against the hosts!
    Was playing myself with Killarney - We have a great mix of players. Young team

Was nail biting! Yes was always going to be tough against the hosts!
    Was playing myself with Killarney - We have a great mix of players. Young team

And ye have the secret weapon, Chompy!!!;)

:D:rolleyes::D:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Does anyone know where I can find a list of the interclub events and the suitable handicaps for playing these?

I have a vague memory of a post on here outlining these but can't find it

Here are a few off the top of my head

GUI National ones are

Senior Cup, 5 Singles off scratch (No H/C limits)
    Barton Shield 2 Foursome pairs off Scratch (No H/C limits

Junior Cup 5 Singles, Lowest H/C previous year 5+, off scratch

Jimmy Bruen 5 Foursome pairs, Min H/c 6, Min Combined H/C 17
    Pierce Purcell 5 Foursome pairs, Min H/c 12, Min Combined H/C 27

All Ireland Four Ball (new 2016) 5 Fourball Pairs, Min H/C 16, Min Combined 36, Age 30+

Leinster/Local:

Barton Cup: 5 Foursomes pairs, Min combined 14
    (Fitzgibbon Cup/Garden Trophy are local precursors played off same H/C)

Provincial towns/Metropolitan 9 singles (5/4 Home/Away) Min H/C 9

Darcy Cup (senior cup/barton shield warm up) 2 Foresome pairs + 3 Singles all off scratch, No H/C limits

Bloom: 5 Fourball pairs 14/15+ H/C played of H/C of the Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jonrambo

Won my own match on Saturday but just lost out to shannon and we both only had one goal and that was to play Spanish point. Hopefully someone beats then ******

everyone hates a winner!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jonrambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

jonrambo wrote: »

Ah to be fair I like Spanish point as a club, I just don't agree that a couple of the players on their team are honest golfers and that's well publicised. They played the best golf over the weekend (although the golf wasn't the greatest) and deserved the win.

Not sure who they play next but castletroy won the Limerick section so that should be a cracking match and hope the Clare side keep going through

Lucan beat Carton House 4-1 in the 3rd round of the Irish Mixed Foursomes last night

Blessington lakes qualified in 3rd spot at the Castlewarden section of the regional Qualifiers of the Junior Cup. We are playing Newlands in the semi this coming Sunday. We lost 3 2 to Mount Wolsley in the Barton cup. Playing Newbridge in the Duggan this coming Friday evening, have 3 away so gonna be tough.

Lucan beat Castlewarden yesterday to advance to the last 16 of the Barton Cup

Next up is either the Castle or Bray

:D:rolleyes::D:rolleyes::D

I see Chompys charges bottled under the pressure in the Purcell at the weeekend:p:pac::pac::cool::P

Yip they did alright - pity with the Bruen doing so well

Yeah great win against Ceann Sibeal, in Tralee right?, have the potential and backing to go all the way now!!!.... if Chompy can contain himself:D

Yip thats correct - A great win

Need to put in the practice now for Semi Final in July

Yip thats correct - A great win

Need to put in the practice now for Semi Final in July

Yeah you should utilize Dave Keating and Co., presumably that will be available to all interclub team members complimentary?.
    Any news on who ye are playing yet and where is it on?

Yeah you should utilize Dave Keating and Co., presumably that will be available to all interclub team members complimentary?.
    Any news on who ye are playing yet and where is it on?

Douglas

Semi Finals - Provincial
    Start Date:17/07/2016 End Date:17/07/2016
    Final

We are playing the South Munster Winners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 salad_man

Lucan beat Castlewarden yesterday to advance to the last 16 of the Barton Cup

Next up is either the Castle or Bray

Castle beat Bray on Thursday

salad_man wrote: »
    Castle beat Bray on Thursday

Cheers

Douglas

Semi Finals - Provincial
    Final

We are playing the South Munster Winners

Best of luck, I might travel up and have a look if not doing anything else!:pac::D

Moate beat Birr in the Diageo Mixed Foursomes over the weekend but lost in the Central Towns v Co. Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭WheresMyPar

Cill dara beat the the Royal Curragh 5-4 play Moate next round

^ Provincial Towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭mickelson

Cill dara beat the the Royal Curragh 5-4 play Moate next round

the spanish point of leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

mickelson wrote: »
    On what basis ..........................
    Please explain ?????????????

mickelson wrote: »

?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

?????

Spanish Point is a nice 9 hole course in Munster. Cill Dara its Leinster equivalent. Unless I'm mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

PARlance wrote: »
    Spanish Point is a nice 9 hole course in Munster. Cill Dara its Leinster equivalent. Unless I'm mistaken.

No that is right. I would consider it very like Corballis but 9 hole.

Cill Dara beat Moate earlier in the Provincial Towns. We won 2 away which was probably unexpected but they won 3 away which was also unexpected!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Cill Dara beat Moate earlier in the Provincial Towns. We won 2 away which was probably unexpected but they won 3 away which was also unexpected!

Great match finely contested, was great to meet you. Gentleman !
    Wish you all the best for the rest of this year and more especially next year Mr Captain.

Likewise mafc, all the best for the remainder of the competition :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Anyone got results from playoffs ? Westmanstown in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

GUI website usually updated quick enough

https://www.golfnet.ie/results/297/aig-pierce-purcell-shield

Or try looking up the clubs playing on clubapp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Some impressive scoring there ok. Big spread between the teams too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

Anyone got results from playoffs ? Westmanstown in particular.

The play-offs are next Sunday (June 12th)

Hollywood Lakes v Westmanstown
    Hollystown v Black Bush

Any result in the Provincial Towns between Balbriggan and Greenore?

We've to play the winner in the next round so trying to find out how far we'll have to travel for it!!

gman127 wrote: »
    Any result in the Provincial Towns between Balbriggan and Greenore?

We've to play the winner in the next round so trying to find out how far we'll have to travel for it!!

Balbriggan won 5-4

Exactly wrote: »
    Balbriggan won 5-4

Thanks, at least that's a 40 minute journey for me instead of 90+ minutes!

mafc wrote: »
    Great match finely contested, was great to meet you. Gentleman !
    Wish you all the best for the rest of this year and more especially next year Mr Captain.
    Well Done Cill Dara, very strong club at this level, gotta fancy them to take back the the trophy. Edmonstown beat ourselves Blessington Lakes in the Michael Moore. Our next interclub is this coming Saturday, the Pierce Purcell in Tulfarris with yours truly managing. My team message is "right lads today the par of the course is 90, give me 4 level pars". Jimmy Bruen Qualifiers the following Sat at Lisheen.

Moate are out next weekend in Pierce Purcell qualifier over in Castle Barna and Jimmy Bruen qualifier at Moyvalley.