Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit a Pedestrian

• 15-04-2016 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

So a couple of days ago I was coming out from a carpark in midmorning traffic. As soon I was out on the road a minibus started reversing in the middle of the road in front of me to get into a school across the road. Once the bus was gone I moved off as usual(with very angry drivers behind me due to waiting for the bus). There was a traffic jam on the other side of the road that blocked my view of the path. As I was going along a young guy 18 or so ran out from behind a van on the opposite side of the road. It was near(not on) a pedestrian crossing but the lights were green for me to go. when I saw him I breaked and swerved but when he saw me he ran in the direction I swerved and he hit the driver side of my car (and took my wing mirror off).

I was in shock and didnt move but the guy just got up and walked off. My brother was in the car with me and got out of the car and ran after him while I pulled into the bus lane. The guy said he was fine and how was my car and I said dont worry about my car. I could tell the guy was in shock and just wanted to get out of there.

before I could give him my info a van pulls up and an oul fella gets out. He says he saw everything and it was my fault. He then tells the young fella to get away from me and wraps his jacket around him. He tells me he's calling the gards and puts the guy in his van and he tells me to wait. Which I obviously was going to do anyway.

So the gards show up with an ambulance tell the old guy he can go, asks me what happened, asks the guy what happened. the guy goes in the ambulance. I'm in a worse state than the guy I hit!Can't stop shaking and the gards are just saying accidents happen and luckily everybody's ok.. They take a few pictures of my car and make small talk with me and my brother. they also joke about how the other guy might not make it :L The guy comes out of the ambulance, speaks to the gards for a minute then walks off. The gards then say he's fine and he's going to college and I can go. They said they'll follow up with me.

I havent heard anything from the garda or the guy. I didnt get any of his info because of the old guy.
    So I just wanted to know What should I expect to come of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ForstalDave

Nothing the old guy was probably trying to make him claim off your insurance in the hope of getting something but the young guy doesn't seem interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

The guy in the van turns it into a scene from Better Call Saul.

I'd be looking for compensation for my wing mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Had a cyclist do similar and a car drove over with this one screaming it turned out they were famoly and looking for a claim.

It was a set up but caught tjem out lovely and never heard again after the 1st contact.

Keep record of everything op and if possible take pics of the road and mark out where he ran out.

Quite possible claim could be put in.

People really need to take responsibility for their own terrible actions.

Hopefully you hear nothing op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

You mentioned the oul' fella got out of a van. Was it the same van the young guy ran out from behind? Or two different vans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 To Be Confirmed

No I'm not sure where the old guy came from, He wasnt directly behind me when it happened, but it wasn't the van the young fella came out from behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Paddysnapper

My advice..Fit a dashcam..they don't cost much, easy to install. The silent witness!

I'm planning to next payday! Everything happened so fast I wish I had had one to see exactly what happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it was a scam the young fella would have acted hurt.
    Perhaps the old fella was just trying to help him or he coulnd't see properly what was happening.

I don't foresee anything coming from it, people have accidents every day and nothing comes from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Nothing comes out of it if nothing happens.

But what if hypothetically a pedestrian was hurt?
    Would OP still be responsible considering pedestrian was running from behind a van next to pedestrian crossing which had red light for pedestrians?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

CiniO wrote: »

Would OP still be responsible considering pedestrian was running from behind a van next to pedestrian crossing which had red light for pedestrians?

Yes. Be extra careful near pedestrian crossings even when you are green lighted. When the opposite side is jammed, people have a habit of not waiting for green man. Some driver may also have stopped on the crossing, so people are crossing beside it. It maybe be lemming behaviour, but you need to be cautious of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Aongus Von Heisenberg

You and your brother should both write notes including as much detail as possible about everything (events, location, speed, time, visibility, weather, description of all parties, what was said by all parties, extent of injuries or lack of) while your memories are fresh. Make sure your recollections are consistent with one anothers'.

Thankfully the lad seems alright and to be taking a reasonable approach. Hopefully you'll never hear anything about this again. However he can make an injury claim up to two years from now. That's why making the notes would be advised.

The old man was probably just a passing eejit but you cannot rule out an orchestrated scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Green light means proceed with caution for vehicles and red means nothing if you aren't a motorist.

I know 2 people who drunkenly fell off a footpath in front of cars and got payouts. In this country the motorist always looses.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Green light means proceed with caution for vehicles and red means nothing if you aren't a motorist.

I know 2 people who drunkenly fell off a footpath in front of cars and got payouts. In this country the motorist always looses.

I was expecting that kind of answers...

Sad but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭5500

I've noticed a good few kamikaze pedestrians around lately, making a run for it at busy roads even though the light is red for them and traffic moving quick, or a big set of headphones on them oblivious to the surroundings.

Is it a case though that the car driver is always at fault if they get hit?

Thanks for all the replies. I've been driving myself nuts the last 3 days not knowing what could happen. I'll just have to wait and see. Hope that I don't hear anything.

Hope you won't.

It's frightening in what country we live. Perfectly safe and cautious driver doing everything by the book, might encounter some kamikaze suicidal pedestrian, and end up in jail if he's unlucky engough that pedestrian is killed or severely injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

You and your brother should both write notes including as much detail as possible about everything (events, location, speed, time, visibility, weather, description of all parties, what was said by all parties, extent of injuries or lack of) while your memories are fresh. Make sure your recollections are consistent with one anothers'.

Thankfully the lad seems alright and to be taking a reasonable approach. Hopefully you'll never hear anything about this again. However he can make an injury claim up to two years from now. That's why making the notes would be advised.

The old man was probably just a passing eejit but you cannot rule out an orchestrated scam.

And possibly inform your insurance company of the incident as well . They will take all the details just in case. 2 years is a long time for the pedestrian to claim off you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,059 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

9935452 wrote: »
    And possibly inform your insurance company of the incident as well . They will take all the details just in case. 2 years is a long time for the pedestrian to claim off you

I would say definitely inform them.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,055 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

9935452 wrote: »
    Esel wrote: »
    I would say definitely inform them.

Dont say a word to the insurance company, even if nothing comes of it it they'll use it as an excuse.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Thargor wrote: »
    Dont say a word to the insurance company, even if nothing comes of it it they'll use it as an excuse.

And if something comes of it?

Not your ornery onager

Then they'll find out about it anyway like every other claim.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Thargor wrote: »
    Then they'll find out about it anyway like every other claim.

No repercussions from not reporting?

Not your ornery onager

Such as? If the guy that got hit makes a claim they'll just treat it like every other claim, there wont be some special punishment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

I have sympathy (spell check thinks thats right?) for anyone in this situation, Right or wrong, it's going to to feck you up.

i would recommend using it as a reason to finally get that dash cam installed that you kept thinking would have been a great idea, It's honestly piece of mind. But always report it, it shows you that you were thinking about it instead of dismissing it as some people may do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Would any of the insurance company people on here be able to confirm / deny whether the fact of reporting an incident such as this changes one's risk profile?

Skatedude wrote: »
    I have sympathy (spell check thinks thats right?) for anyone in this situation, Right or wrong, it's going to to feck you up.

i would recommend using it as a reason to finally get that dash cam installed that you kept thinking would have been a great idea, It's honestly piece of mind. But always report it, it shows you that you were thinking about it instead of dismissing it as some people may do so.

But what would a dashcam help, if during car-pedestrian collision, it's always driver's fault anyway, no matter what pedestrian did.

No.
    not according to a hell of lot of Russian dash cam videos, But Jay walking for instance is a crime in this country, just not widely prosecuted,.

If someone runs across a road against a pedestrian light?

No.
    not according to a hell of lot of Russian dash cam videos, But Jay walking for instance is a crime in this country, just not widely prosecuted,.

If someone runs across a road against a pedestrian light?

It was established on this forum, that if you hit pedestrian while he/she is jaywalking or running through the red light, it's still your fault.

So what would dashcam help?
    It could prove that pedestrian was jaywalking, but it still would be your fault, wouldn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

The motorist is always at fault on a pedestrian crossing; near to it I'm sure a higher % of contributory negligence would be applied to the pedestrian but a motorist should always expect someone to dart out.

CiniO beat me too it :)

The motorist is always at fault on a pedestrian crossing; near to it I'm sure a higher % of contributory negligence would be applied to the pedestrian but a motorist should always expect someone to dart out.

CiniO beat me too it :)

On that note, Dosent a pedestrian crossing have to have both flashing amber lights as well as road markings to be legal?

Not nitpicking, actually curious to know for sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,099 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

On that note, Dosent a pedestrian crossing have to have both flashing amber lights as well as road markings to be legal?

Not nitpicking, actually curious to know for sure?

That's for a zebra crossing, which I don't think I've seen apart from in the ROTR. Doesn't matter anyway as the motorist always gets blamed.