Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

unemployed Thinking of a move to Dublin

• 07-04-2016 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭

Myself and my partner are unemployed , I have been unemployed nearly 4 years now ,and he is unemployed since losing his job of 6 months last year I am thinking of moving from where we are now Limerick to maybe Dublin or Cork ,and if not there maybe even England It justs seems like we will never get work here in Limerick we have literally applied for every job. He doesn't even hear back from jobbridge applications .

We have a two year old who we feel we really need start doing more for , so anyone tips on applying for work

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What did you both work at previously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭celligraphy

I had just worked part time as cleaner , fast food worker he had worked as a customer call centre advisor . We both have fetacs in bookkeeping . It's just at 25 and 24 we should be really doing more for our daughter and our future

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭edbrez

Where are you going to stay in Dublin with a kid? Even couples with jobs can't afford to rent there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Zenify

I had just worked part time as cleaner , fast food worker he had worked as a customer call centre advisor . We both have fetacs in bookkeeping . It's just at 25 and 24 we should be really doing more for our daughter and our future

This is going to be challenging but by the sound of your attitude you are up for it and fair play to you guys. You really seem to be trying the best for your family.

There are jobs in Limerick and I don't think your fist step should be to move to Dublin. Have you had any advice on how to apply for jobs? Do you have any idea of what you would like to do?

With a fetac qualification in bookkeeping you could try and get a job as a receptionist. This would be something good to go into as you could move up into something else. it would have better prospects for your family than a cleaner (nothing against cleaners).

Have a look around and when you find something you think you're interested in post it up and I'll help you with a cover letter if you want. I think most people are failing at getting jobs because they are just handing a generic cv to everyone. you need a specific tailored cover letter.

edbrez wrote:
    Where are you going to stay in Dublin with a kid? Even couples with jobs can't afford to rent there.

My partners uncle lives in Dublin and would have no problem putting us up for a few months, I'm just feeling very down about it as a qualofed adult under my partners claim I'm now entitled to jobbridge ce courses or fas. It's really a downer we are both applying non stop , it could be the way maybe I do my cover letters m not sure I use Dear sir/madam to start with
    So if anyone can give tips on cover letters it would help thank you.

I just really want to have a better life financially for my family , we can't afford to go back to college , we just want to both work ,

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

My partners uncle lives in Dublin and would have no problem putting us up for a few months, I'm just feeling very down about it as a qualofed adult under my partners claim I'm now entitled to jobbridge ce courses or fas. It's really a downer we are both applying non stop , it could be the way maybe I do my cover letters m not sure I use Dear sir/madam to start with

I just really want to have a better life financially for my family , we can't afford to go back to college , we just want to both work ,
    What's your c.v. like? Has anyone reviewed that?

What sort of jobs are you applying for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Makood

Myself and my partner are unemployed , I have been unemployed nearly 4 years now ,and he is unemployed since losing his job of 6 months last year I am thinking of moving from where we are now Limerick to maybe Dublin or Cork ,and if not there maybe even England It justs seems like we will never get work here in Limerick we have literally applied for every job. He doesn't even hear back from jobbridge applications .

We have a two year old who we feel we really need start doing more for , so anyone tips on applying for work

Celligraphy, I'm not sure how it all works exactly but if you can manage to get a job of some sorts you are allowed to claim FIS. Anything to get you or your partner started. One job, even low paying will lead to another better paid job, so do not despair! Many of us have been in your position. The will you have to get out and better yourself is admirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

It's really a downer we are both applying non stop , it could be the way maybe I do my cover letters m not sure I use Dear sir/madam to start with

Are you getting as far as phone screen or interview? If not, then it could well be that your CV and/or cover letter needs some tweaking.

Search the forum for advice on cover letters, but I think the main thing is that while you can have a CV that you might change slightly to suit the job you're applying for, a cover letter should be far more customised to the job and company you're applying for.

Personally I think this is a bit of an extreme example, but check out how specific it is to the company.

I think it would probably be best to move to a different forum to start going into cover letters.

But I remember how I got a job after months of applying everywhere. I saw a job advertised that I was really interested in on a job website. I always tried to address the cover letters with a name rather than sir etc. the job advert didn't have one but it had a contact email with a first name. i went onto the company's website and it had profiles of all their staff and I was able to see the contact x's full name. I applied via an email and then contacted the company, asked to speak to x and just asked them if they could tell me more about the position and that I had already sent an email application and to confirm they received it.

This made me stand out compared to maybe hundreds of applicants. I got the job. I ended up hating the job and quit soon after but that's another story....

It's stuff like that you should be thinking about IMO. everyone has a different strategy and some will work with some companies and not with others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You're better off staying put. Rents up here are 1200 pm plus and then you'll have childcare costs.
    Get your CVS sorted and find work in limerick.
    You can get FIS which us means tested and back to work family dividend. This is the 29.80 you get for you daughter for 3 years (reduced) while you work.
    Contact social welfare to see if there is a jobs club to help you with your CV etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭edbrez

You won't get a better life in Dublin. It costs a fortune to live and travel about. Move to Claremorris and buy one of these apartments for €12K: http://www.daft.ie/mayo/apartments-for-sale/claremorris/apartment-7-park-house-the-square-claremorris-mayo-1197332/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I don't mean to be offensive here but judging by the way you've written the posts on this thread, you could do with someone looking over your paperwork. Your paragraphs are strewn with spelling and punctuation errors. Your sentences are rambling and running into each other. Now I don't claim to be any sort of grammar expert but if I got a cover letter written in the same style as what you've given us here, it'd be binned on the spot.

This isn't what the op needs right now. People write very differently on boards compared to formal documents. Simple advice like get your cv checked would have been a little nicer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

We will have to agree to disagree here. I've identified an issue, based on how she writes on this thread. It's something that may be causing her and her partner to fall at the first hurdle. If they both write impeccable cover letters and CVs then they're free to discard my observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

We will have to agree to disagree here. I've identified an issue, based on how she writes on this thread. It's something that may be causing her and her partner to fall at the first hurdle. If they both write impeccable cover letters and CVs then they're free to discard my observation.

I would agree with this. A company may receive quite a few CV's for a job and a poorly written CV may not even get read properly let alone considered for the job.
    I'm not saying the OP's CV or cover letter are poorly written by there were a few spelling/grammar mistakes in their posts.
    Also when looking through CV's employers sometimes look out for certain words or phrases. If these are or aren't there the CV may not stand out from the rest and go straight in the bin. For example putting the term "hardworking" on a CV is a huge mistake if you don't provide evidence to back it up.
    Another thing a lot of people don't do is get in contact with the company after sending their CV. All it takes is a phone call to ask for more information about the job and it shows the employer that you are genuinely interested in the job and also shows you are motivated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭snowey07

I had just worked part time as cleaner , fast food worker

never say you have JUST worked as a cleaner and fast food worker

from those jobs you have proven experience in working to a dead line, you have dealt with customers in a fast moving environment, you pay attention to detail with accurate results....

I know someone who got a job by explaining they did a budgets at home on a spreadsheet... the job spec said it was desirable if someone had budgeting experience, it never said it had to be in paid employment so think outside the box. Alternatively can you get a few hours volunteering somewhere? that always look good, you learn new skills and you never know who you might meet.

concentrate on what skills you can show using your previous experience and highlight these in your cover letter. If anything this might get you an interview

best of luck

Thanks for all the advice , I think I should put more effort into my cover letters I 'll post an example in a minute of applying for a cafe team member job . I must agree I do seem to type abit too fast which makes me spell badly so I think I need to concentrate more on the spelling and the wording

One thing thy i find helps check spelling etc is is print out stuff rather than try to check it onscreen

Dear Mrs.****,

I am applying for the role of full time team member for the C**** Coffee cafe in the ****** shopping centre ,Limerick that was advertised on *****.ie. I think I would be an ideal candidate for this vacancy , I have great customer care experience, enjoying keeping a work area tidy ,and of course I love coffee.

I live in R**** which is quite near to the ****** in fact only a few minutes car ride away , I am currently hoping to get my foot on the career ladder again after raising my daughter which will explain my break in my C.V, and I find C**** Coffee would be the best place to help me since its a widely known workplace and always has such a friendly hardworking staff attitude.

I have attached my C.V and hope to hear from you soon.

Regards

Ms.Celligraphy

Please note I took the time to actually find out the name of the hiring manager from linkedin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭snowey07

I hope you dont mind but Ive Ive rewritten below what I would recommend writing. I dont think there is any need to mention you live near by.

You really really need to focus on what skills you have in the cover letter - that is what will get them to read your cv with added interest rather htan glance over it.

I havent seen the ad but what ever is mentioned in it as a skill , you must back up in the cover letter. So if it says you must be living locally , by all means mention you are only a few minutes away

Dear Mrs.****,

I am applying for the role of full time team member for the C**** Coffee cafe in the ****** shopping centre ,Limerick that was advertised on *****.ie.

I believe I would be an ideal candidate for this vacancy. I have extensive customer service experience having formerly worked in a fast paced food environment. I am a dedicated and friendly worker and enjoy new challenges and interacting with people.

I live in R**** which is quite near to the ****** in fact only a few minutes car ride away ,

I am currently seeking to return to the workplace after a break raising my daughter.

I believe C**** Coffee would be an ideal place to work in since it is widely known and renowned locally for the friendly hardworking staff .

I have attached my C.V and look forward to meeting you and discussing the role further.

Regards

Ms.Celligraphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

have you tried looking into doing a course in Limerick?

you might be entitled to back to education allowance and if you find a course that offers supports like doing your linkedin and CV etc if might help you get back into employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I'd use the manager's first name, and I would certainly use my own first name when signing off. Do not use Mrs. Surname to refer to yourself, it sounds very stuffy.
    and I find C**** Coffee would be the best place to help me since its a widely known workplace and always has such a friendly hardworking staff attitude.

That's why the job would be good for you. I would focus more on why you would be good for them. The living nearby thing could be useful if you can work in to the letter that as a result, you know a few regulars and the place quite well, so you feel you'd be able to fit in quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

I was once told by a career guidance counselor that if you have children there is no need to mention it unless it's directly asked as something that would disrupt the time you can give to the job.

I know it's not right, but mentioning that you have a young family clearly shows that you have priorities and could count against you as you can't commit to the job as much as someone who has no responsibilities.

I would look in to leaving that off your cover letter and then saying it in the interview if you wish. It's harder to say no to someone once they've met you, heard your story, and have a proper understanding of what type of person you are.

Best of luck with the job search for both of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

Sounds like you may benefit from living somewhere like Wexford town. Cheap rent, good people and plentiful enough job wise.

Your boyfriends experience would almost definitely land him a role in eishtec back at customer service and there is also a costa coffee here which seems to hire a good bit. In my opinion you should try find your job first as, like I said, he would almost definitely get a role in eishtec as they are crying out for any experience. We have a lot of night courses here too if you wish to further yourself whilst working.

Most importantly, good luck on the search and keep positive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Toobz wrote: »
    Sounds like you may benefit from living somewhere like Wexford town. Cheap rent, good people and plentiful enough job wise.

Your boyfriends experience would almost definitely land him a role in eishtec back at customer service and there is also a costa coffee here which seems to hire a good bit. In my opinion you should try find your job first as, like I said, he would almost definitely get a role in eishtec as they are crying out for any experience. We have a lot of night courses here too if you wish to further yourself whilst working.

Most importantly, good luck on the search and keep positive!

Surely there is call centres around Limerick . Wexford is a great area to live but I wouldn't recommend Eistech to anyone . Also Apple are looking for people at the moment and you work from home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

What about Waterford ?. There is like 3 or 4 call centres down there and there always looking for staff. There is a job got both of you there. Then plenty of coffee shops around the city as well.

Rent is also stupid cheap down there. 700 a month would get you a fairly ok 2 bedroom apartment or house.

Not the worst place to live in the world notting much to do there but its grand like and deep down i kind of miss living there as everything you could walk to as the place isn't that big at all. People are fairly ok as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 beentothetop

You need to do the figures, if you have somewhere to stay for a while, great. If Limerick is not working, then you just have to go for it. To be honest, there are jobs in Limerick, you just need to portray yourself as the best candidate for them and apply creatively. How about you guys focus on getting one of you hired first, then the other? Lets say, you focus on getting your partner work, he can apply anywhere in the country. You open up a whole lot more opportunities that way. Get him into a job and a few paychecks later you will have had time to find the right home to move into and the money to finance it. Get settled and find a job yourself then. If you are going to move to Dublin, you need some serious dosh for rent or a very well paying job. Whatever you do, do something different to what you are doing now. Make something happen for your future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Cork is another place that's booming in jobs especially in IT and Pharma.
    I took a job in Cork in IT and every second week I get an agency ringing me. All contract work though mainly 1 year contracts although I'm into my 3rd year in the same job.

Update after partner editing his cv and cover letter he got a job in arise call centre starts middle of May so time to get stuff sorted and I got funded a care of elderly course by social welfare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 beentothetop

Brilliant, well done

Just wanted to update this thread, I finally have found work as a bookkeeper thanks again for all the advice ,just shows that you can get a job if you try hard and show that you are determined! I haven't been employed since 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭PMBC

Just wanted to update this thread, I finally have found work as a bookkeeper thanks again for all the advice ,just shows that you can get a job if you try hard and show that you are determined! I haven't been employed since 2012

As a newbie to this thread it was great to see all the effort posters put in to helping. As important it gives to lie to the critics of u emp.oyed people that theyare not interesyed in working.
    Congratulations OP and very well done. Im out of work atm but then ive worked without a cv break for 40 years. I m stillin the hunt, though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭line console zero

Well done celligraphy and may it be the beginning of a bright future. You are both very young. I went back to college in my mid 20's after being made redundant from retail and having no qualifications whatsoever in mid recession Ireland. I completed a couple of fetacs and some industry certs and now just 4 years later I have a great job, my wife and I are living comfortably and the future is looking very bright. The begrudgers and doubters will always be there, pay no attention to them. Best of luck!