Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Go Safe "Safety Camera"

• 02-04-2016 10:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭

This cash van may have got me leaving a 50K zone into a 60 today. He was in the 60 and I was obviously speeding up into the 60. However what really f-ing annoyed me was on my way back I got him on my dashcam (and passenger witness) on his mobile! Any where I can report this etc? I have included pictures. I have pictures and video of him. Thanks, Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Lovely, email it to all the papers.

Nice to see somebody watching the watchmen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭friedcircuits

On his phone while driving. As I said I have video of him driving past me on the phone and a passenger to confirm!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I can't see that he is on the phone from the picture. I get that you're pissed about getting a possible fine but you'd look silly reporting him tbh. I doubt very much that the gardai would be even remotely interested.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Off topic but do you mind me asking what dash cam you have?

The speed camera driver is likely an ex Garda and who ever you'll complain to will say that the picture is not clear enough, he could just be itching his ear lope. Now you could ask to tally the drivers phone call records with the time on your dash cam, but that would be using commin sense.

Just grind your teeth and carry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

It can be anything in his hand from these pictures.

You really want to go report this van and its driver, just because they crossed your path??

Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Dia1988 wrote: »

The speed camera driver is likely an ex Garda and who ever you'll complain to will say that the picture is not clear enough, he could just be itching his ear lope. Now you could ask to tally the drivers phone call records with the time on your dash cam, but that would be using commin sense.

Ex Garda? Is this what they do when they retire?

mickeyk wrote: »
    I can't see that he is on the phone from the picture. I get that you're pissed about getting a possible fine but you'd look silly reporting him tbh. I doubt very much that the gardai would be even remotely interested.

As I said I have the video and a witness beside me that was pissed off I may get a fine but more pissed off that this asshole clearly drove past us on his phone! So I may get get 3 points but he should definitely get 3.

You really want to go report this van and its driver, just because they crossed your path??

Jesus.
    Alan will do.. I (We) KNOW WHAT WAS IN HIS HAND.

mickeyk wrote: »

Jesus.

Evening officers!

LOL I was just thinking myself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,890 ✭✭✭✭ted1

A tabloid may go with it , but nothing else will happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Hopeful2016

As I said I have the video and a witness beside me that was pissed off I may get a fine but more pissed off that this asshole clearly drove past us on his phone! So I may get get 3 points but he should definitely get 3.

He's an asshole cos he was on the phone or because he may have caught you speeding? Just because he may be doing something wrong doesn't make what you did right. Difference is you may have got caught and he may not. If you get 3 points, learn the lesson and get over it. Have you ever used your phone while driving? Ever?

No, I'm not an officer... Or a speed van operator or anything even remotely related to one. You're just coming across as bitter that you got caught speeding.

Why do you think you will get a speeding ticket?
    As far as I'm aware, these vans only operate a camera when they are parked up?

So if he was driving towards you, then you are not going to get a ticket?

He's an asshole cos he was on the phone or because he may have caught you speeding? Just because he may be doing something wrong doesn't make what you did right. Difference is you may have got caught and he may not. If you get 3 points, learn the lesson and get over it. Have you ever used your phone while driving? Ever?

No, I'm not an officer... Or a speed van operator or anything even remotely related to one. You're just coming across as bitter that you got caught speeding.

I am bitter because he was on the phone. There is no camera for that only what I got on mine. If he got me fine - I drive 6 days out of 7 (5 for my job). I don't speed and definitely not through towns/villages. I have handfree phone..so no.

ted1 wrote: »
    A tabloid may go with it , but nothing else will happen

I'd say it's a sackable offence in his position. You can't be screwing people for a few km over a farcical speed limit then drive home on your phone, hypocrite of the highest order. Hope he gets his ass fired.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Why do you think you will get a speeding ticket?
    As far as I'm aware, these vans only operate a camera when they are parked up?

So if he was driving towards you, then you are not going to get a ticket?

bubblypop read my original post up top.

If he was driving towards you he didn't get you speeding.
    Happy now??

If he was driving towards you he didn't get you speeding.
    Happy now??

No.. Are reading my first post at all?????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Certain people in this country are above the law, this much I know.

bubblypop read my original post up top.

Oh OK, so that van may have caught you speeding ' up into a 60 ' earlier.
    Then later you saw a go safe van driving, and the driver was on his phone?

Bitterness!!!!
    If you got caught speeding, tough.
    You can't speed up to a 60!! You can go 60 when in a 60! You can't speed up to one, when in a 50!
    How do you know it's the same van?
    Would you be so quick to report it if you hadn't been caught speeding earlier?

Sorry OP, just sounds like sour apples to me.
    You were complaining a month ago that you didn't see any of these speed checks on the road, now you did. What do you want?

Certain people in this country are above the law, this much I know.

Explain frosty? The reason I'm pissed off is - If I was speeding fine however I don't think I was but he past me on my journey home on the phone. I just cant get past that he was "catching" people for 8 or so hours "speeding" then drives off on his mobile to the next "trapping" place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Send it to AGS and cc some newspapers if you really want to be the arsehole that your post indicates you're trying to be.

Unfortunately, that particular driver doesn't deserve to be fired; he deserves three points and a fine like anyone else. They're just earning a living. The problem with speed vans is the stupid people who have made the decisions to put them in some of the ludicrous places where they are; and with those who decide speed limits, who have very few brain cells.

There's no point in potentially putting another family on the breadline just because you're displeased.

Oh OK, so that van may have caught you speeding ' up into a 60 ' earlier.
    Then later you saw a go safe van driving, and the driver was on his phone?

Bitterness!!!!
    If you got caught speeding, tough.
    You can't speed up to a 60!! You can go 60 when in a 60! You can't speed up to one, when in a 50!
    How do you know it's the same van?
    Would you be so quick to report it if you hadn't been caught speeding earlier?

Sorry OP, just sounds like sour apples to me.
    You were complaining a month ago that you didn't see any of these speed checks on the road, now you did. What do you want?

Clap clap. You now know the story. As I have said if I was "caught" fine it just pisses me off that he was on a mobile while driving. By the way it was the same guy as per my route. And I tried to email the company but it was returned so yes i tried to report it - I came on here to find a GoSafe (myarse) email. My email to spectra.ie failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭xabi

Lots of high horses out tonight I see. OP, report him.

I am bitter because he was on the phone. There is no camera for that only what I got on mine. If he got me fine - I drive 6 days out of 7 (5 for my job). I don't speed and definitely not through towns/villages. I have handfree phone..so no.

You're not even sure you got caught speeding. Plus it wasn't because that speed van driver was on the phone that made you break the law and speed, there's no correlation.

The image isn't clear either.

what you want to happen, have him lose his job and him to go home to his wife and young children, where he is the sole earner?

What make/model is your dash cam?

Clap clap. You now know the story. As I have said if I was "caught" fine it just pisses me off that he was on a mobile while driving. By the way it was the same guy as per my route. And I tried to email the company but it was returned so yes i tried to report it - I came on here to find a GoSafe (myarse) email. My email to spectra.ie failed.

Ooh sarcasm!!??
    Anyway, you were caught speeding. Take your fine ( if you get one)
    If you want to report a breach of the RTA then do that, but you have to be willing to go to court.

Sure if you don't speed you're grand, no need to worry about any points. There are people on their phones while driving all the time. It's not right but it goes on. Some get caught, some don't. Are you bitter about everyone else on their phones or just him in particular?

You're not even sure you got caught speeding. Plus it wasn't because that speed van driver was on the phone that made you break the law and speed, there's no correlation.

The image isn't clear either.

what you want to happen, have him lose his job and him to go home to his wife and young children, where he is the sole earner?
    What make/model is your dash cam?

LOL indeed I'm not sure - that is NOT my point!!!!! I accepted I may have a fine on the way. My point is the same asshole on my WAY BACK. I have clear VIDEO those stills but quality reduced to upload to boards are taken from it. It's a HD Cam don't worry things are very clear.

And no - I won't lose my job - he should not either but he should get 3 points and fine. And if I get them fine but I feel my point is being lost.

xabi wrote: »
    Lots of high horses out tonight I see. OP, report him.

I don't see many high horses here, just people saying to take the points if you get them and get over it. We all know the vans are out there, if you speed you might get points. Crying over spilt milk comes to mind.

The OP is delussional and will be laughed out of court if he thinks that that image will get him off a speeding fine.

Advice: if you get a speeding fine pay it on time and continue living a bitter free life.

What's the make/model of your dash cam?

Ooh sarcasm!!??
    Anyway, you were caught speeding. Take your fine ( if you get one)
    If you want to report a breach of the RTA then do that, but you have to be willing to go to court.

I'll go to court. I'm going to wait two weeks now to see will this thing come with my number plate in a picture. He'll have a picture of my plate? - I have his face, plate, etc in my video on the phone.

The OP is delussional and will be laughed out of court if he thinks that that image will get him off a speeding fine.

Advice: if you get a speeding fine pay it on time and continue living a bitter free life.

So evidence is no longer used in a court? (Video and witness. Image is a "snapshot" from video) Advice: Stop talking **** and go to bed.

LOL indeed I'm not sure - that is NOT my point!!!!! I accepted I may have a fine on the way. My point is the same asshole on my WAY BACK. I have clear VIDEO those stills but quality reduced to upload to boards are taken from it. It's a HD Cam don't worry things are very clear.

And no - I won't lose my job - he should not either but he should get 3 points and fine. And if I get them fine but I feel my point is being lost.

Would you accept 3 points on the basis that a member of the public, not an on-duty Garda, caught you committing a motoring offence? Would you speed camera footage be admissible in court? Can you use video footage you obtained without their consent as evidence?

I'll go to court. I'm going to wait two weeks now to see will this thing come with my number plate in a picture. He'll have a picture of my plate? - I have his face, plate, etc in my video on the phone.

I'd advise you to take the fine if you get it.
    Having a pic of someone else on their phone won't forgive you your offence!

Go to court against him, if you think you can prove he is on his phone. Can you?
    Have you brought any other people to court for being on their phone?
    Maybe you could use your dash cam for catching rogue drivers on their mobile phones??....

Would you accept 3 points on the basis that a member of the public, not an on-duty Garda, caught you committing a motoring offence? Would you speed camera footage be admissible in court? Can you use video footage you obtained without their consent as evidence?

Are you a solicitor? Does a picture not paint a thousand words? F sake are ye all guards on this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Did the OP mention the make/model of the dashcam yet?

I don't think he wants off any potential fine, in my opinion he should report the speed van driver.

Go to court against him, if you think you can prove he is on his phone. Can you?
    Maybe you could use your dash cam for catching rogue drivers on their mobile phones??....

And then blackmail them, OP you'd make a fortune .... Or else get a hiding....

Lol was it you? I'm finished here its going on youtube and everywhere else where they will look and not get you to question yourself. Night.

So evidence is no longer used in a court? (Video and witness. Image is a "snapshot" from video) Advice: Stop talking **** and go to bed.

Of course you can use appropriate and consentually accepted evidence in court.

But really, you will have had to have the drivers consent as a means of a deciding factor in the case. Then, the driver could just turn around and say i was using a dummy phone because I knew friedcircuits would see me and get really angry and annoyed, and waste all his money on pointless legal cases just because he is bitter that I caught him doing a criminal act.

Are you a solicitor? Does a picture not paint a thousand words? F sake are ye all guards on this thread?

Would you just get over it?! If you weren't speeding, refuse to pay the fine and go to court. If you were speeding, pay the fine and take the points. What ever you do, get over it.

NO I won't get over it. I install intruder alarms etc for a living so it would be like me installing an alarm and then going back to rob the place.

Thought you were gone for the night....

I was going then two things - your comment and you only registered this year so. So good night and kiss my ass.

No, its absolutely nothing like that!!
    What about your thread a month ago, giving out because you didn't see speed cameras in operation?
    Do you only want other people caught for speeding & not you??

degsie wrote: »
    Did the OP mention the make/model of the dashcam yet?

Sorry - NextBase 512G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

AFAIK you'll be alright. The van can only record your speed as you pass them.
    According to an ex employee the laser comes out the bottom of the van at most a 45° angle.
    Only the photos are taken out the back of it.
    So of the van was in the 60 k/m zone you're grand

No, its absolutely nothing like that!!
    What about your thread a month ago, giving out because you didn't see speed cameras in operation?
    Do you only want other people caught for speeding & not you??

For f sake I'm not giving out about my fine or not fine......

gammygils wrote: »
    AFAIK you'll be alright. The van can only record your speed as you pass them.
    According to an ex employee the laser comes out the bottom of the van at most a 45° angle.
    Only the photos are taken out the back of it.
    So of the van was in the 60 k/m zone you're grand

You need to read the OP

I was going then two things - your comment and you only registered this year so. So good night and kiss my ass.

VERY mature! I for one hope you get the points! Not sure what me registering this year has to do with anything? I didn't register tonight.

And for the record, I actually re-registered this year under a new username as I like to ensure I maintain anonymity on public Internet forums but I'm not actually a new member.