Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What weird or strange things have you seen in shops or shopping centres?

• 01-04-2016 2:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

I will start. I was in a shop the other day a fairly big store and one of the managers in it was wearing what looked like a VR headset. What is that about?
    Another day I was in a shop there was a women in there with her skirt on backwards at least it looked like that to me.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't think I can beat those. Well done OP :D

When I was in a supermarket last weekend, a man was there wearing a T-shirt printed with 'If In Doubt, Ask Yourself; What Would Jesus Do?'

So when I was asked if I needed a bag, I asked myself if Jesus would need a bag. And I decided he would.

Jesus would, indeed, need a bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I was in Nashville once and in a shopping centre there one of the original munchkins from the Wizard of Oz had a stand selling his autographs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I was in a supermarket last Friday and a chap in there told me he couldn't serve me drink because it's a "good friday" whatever the **** that means.

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    I was in a supermarket last Friday and a chap in there told me he couldn't serve me drink because it's a "good friday" whatever the **** that means.

You should have told him that every Friday is a good Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Candie wrote: »
    You should have told him that every Friday is a good Friday.

Retail workers don't like that kind of talk. :(

They don't count tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Standing in line in McDonald's in the Swan centre, Rathmines, and a toddler pulled down her pants and took a dump in the middle of the floor.
    Walked out, never went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

In a shop a while back and as part of the shopping there was were some packs of Panadol etc. He wouldn't sell all of them to me, legislation etc etc. He nearly had a conniption when I handed the extra to my wife who paid for them separately. Go figure.

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Menas wrote: »
    I was in Nashville once and in a shopping centre there one of the original munchkins from the Wizard of Oz had a stand selling his autographs.

That's just sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Standing in line in McDonald's in the Swan centre, Rathmines, and a toddler pulled down her pants and took a dump in the middle of the floor.

Did her parents not do anything to stop her or what where they at?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

AMKC wrote: »

Her mum was trying to keep another toddler entertained, and juggling that job with nursing a baby while trying to order, etc.
    She looked round, saw what had happened, sighed, and collared a teenage member of staff and asked for a dust pan and broom.
    The staffer looked horrified. Training course probably hadn't prepared him for such an eventuality!
    Smell hit me and I had to flee....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I saw a woman trying on bras in Dunnes a couple of years ago. Just casually walking around, topless, between the displays of different bras and trying on one or two. She looked oblivious to the fact that people might find this behaviour unusual.
    Same branch of Dunnes where the 'largest lingerie department in Ireland' episode of Fr Ted was filmed, coincidentally!

When I was in a supermarket last weekend, a man was there wearing a T-shirt printed with 'If In Doubt, Ask Yourself; What Would Jesus Do?'

So when I was asked if I needed a bag, I asked myself if Jesus would need a bag. And I decided he would.

I dunno. He had, like, 12 other dudes that could always carry sh1t for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

dee_mc wrote: »
    I saw a woman trying on bras in Dunnes a couple of years ago. Just casually walking around, topless, between the displays of different bras and trying on one or two. She looked oblivious to the fact that people might find this behaviour unusual.
    Same branch of Dunnes where the 'largest lingerie department in Ireland' episode of Fr Ted was filmed, coincidentally!

Queue for the bus to Ennis starts here ==========>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

AMKC wrote: »
    Honestly, rather than berate the parent for not noticing, I'm more impressed that the child pulled down their pants instead of sh*tting in them. The mother was probably glad of it too.

Young children have this incredible knack of ignoring the need to go to the toilet until it's urgent.

If one child was being a nightmare for 15 or 20 seconds, that would easily be enough time for the other child to realise they need to sh1te, fail to get the parent's attention and decide they needed to drop trou right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Lunchtime concert by turn of he century Irish Rapper Luke Thomas (attended by two people)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Worked in shopping centres til recently. I've seen a few...

People from a certain ethnic minority shopping in nothing but a plunge bra, ass bearing shorts and flip flops.

A man walking through the centre while sh!tting himself - diarrhea.

Few drunk women p!ssing on the floor.

Guy working on the Sky concession stand having his trousers pulled down.

Old women smoking while walking through the centre - security eventually spotted and threw them out.

Kids running into windows.

Drunks/junkies sitting on the benches in the centre drinking.

Fist fights.

Parents punching and kicking their children.

Parents leaving their kids behind, only to come back an hour later to find the Gardai with the kids.

Couple of people collapsed.

Woman let go of her baby's buggy on the top of a travelator. It rolled quickly the whole way down, missing my concession stand by inches because I ran and grabbed it.

Great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 dm2978

Seen this while Christmas shopping, thought it was funny at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,870 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I also have worked in a shopping centre and you do see some crazy stuff over time:

- Woman calmly squatting down to take a dump, while waiting in the queue for the self service checkouts. Couldn't believe it was happening; even as was happening.

- A group of people, from a particular ethnic minority, engaging in all out brawl over a sweeping brush.

- A few heart attacks.

- And epileptic fits.

- A guy literally getting some of of teeth punched out. He'd insulted some stranger's wife - for no reason, under his breath, while passing them out - and had got punched straight in the face for it. Normally, I wouldn't condone violence, but this fellow deserved it. He was a weaselly little pest, a regular customer in the centre, who would constantly say inappropriate or nasty things to people; in the assumption that they couldn't hear him. He obviously wasn't well, but he'd been warmed numerous times about his behavior and it hadn't changed his carry on; so to see a few of his teeth in mid-air, immediately after he got his mouth smacked, was a pleasure that felt long overdue.

- Vomit. Though that was so regular that you'd barely blink at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

dm2978 wrote: »
    Seen this while Christmas shopping, thought it was funny at the time.
    That reminded me of this I took last Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The Diceman (RIP) dressed as a carton of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

People of Walmart

Nothing else to be said really :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Seen in Dunnes Stores Tralee many years ago a sign at the meat counter for for Lion Chops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I once saw a convicted pedophile in the toilets of a shopping center in donegal.

Was scary to think that kids would've been in there too.

I later heard he was banned from the center

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Aineoil wrote: »
    Seen in Dunnes Stores Tralee many years ago a sign at the meat counter for Lion Chops.

I'd say they did a roaring trade :D:D

I was youngish at the time.The parents passed on the lion chops. I reckon there must have been a roaring trade as people

had tummies that were growling with hunger that weekend.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

If anyone was in the Omni in Santry today they would have seen me having a race with my daughter. A proper 'on yer marks' sprint against each other.

I lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I was youngish at the time.The parents passed on the lion chops. I reckon there must have been a roaring trade as people

had tummies that were growling with hunger that weekend.

You should have pride in that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I love this post. Made me laugh. I kind of read it in a Daragh O'Briain voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

one direction condoms in a 2 euro shop.

zerks wrote: »
    You should have pride in that post.

A pride of lions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Women wearing pyjamas and dressing gowns. Roxboro Tesco looks like a hospital ward sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Not strange but made me laugh when a toddler in the shop the other day was sitting in the trolley and a little girl said to her mother, "awh look at him, he's sooooo cute". This infuriated the toddler and he replied by shouting back "IM NOT CUTE, IM NOOOT CUTE". The little girl was walking away to the end of the aisle and he was still shouting at her, disgusted, "IM NOT CUTE"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Many moons ago I worked in Penneys and one Saturday coming close to Christmas, had an 'ethnic minority' group in the shop. A gang of girls aged about 16 went into the fitting room where one of them proceeded to s**t in a changing cubicle and wipe her a**e on the curtain :mad:

At least the toddler had an excuse of sorts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

'ethnic minority'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

A middle aged woman lying dead in front of the meat counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

A middle aged woman lying dead in front of the meat counter.

Sounds like an euphemism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I actually fainted in a shopping centre. Must be over a decade ago now. Did npt know where I was when I came around lol thought I was after being abducted lol.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Seen in Dunnes Stores Tralee many years ago a sign at the meat counter for for Lion Chops.

I saw that in superquinn too and in a butchers last week.

It's catchin on that exotic lion meat.

I saw two women tearing the hair out of each other in crazy prices the square over the last special offer lump of bacon