Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

April Fool's Day Threads

• 01-04-2016 9:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭

Are they really necessary?

Including this one before somebody else says it!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Some People seem to think it's still funny. It's juvenile if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

They're compulsory. New EU law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

People cant have a laugh anymore?

That's not what the leaders of 1916 fought for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

My one is funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Are they really necessary?

Including this one before somebody else says it!!!
    I was going to say it but you beat me too it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Eh I don't get much positive energy out of annoying people, and I certainly don't appreciate being annoyed, so I just give the good old Yankee middle finger to the whole day. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Speedwell wrote: »
    Eh I don't get much positive energy out of annoying people, and I certainly don't appreciate being annoyed, so I just give the good old Yankee middle finger to the whole day. :)

That's just because you fell for the "broadband company rang me about my porn usage" thread!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

MadDog76 wrote: »
    That's just because you fell for the "broadband company rang me about my porn usage" thread!!! :D

I still think it's a serious issue, whether the OP raised it to be a w@nker or not. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

Thread closed and OP banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

It's my birthday today (Genuinely) and it's been an affliction every year. I even got refused from the pub when I turned 18 as they thought it was a joke.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    It's my birthday today (Genuinely) and it's been an affliction every year. I even got refused from the pub when I turned 18 as they thought it was a joke.

Not falling for that one!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

seen this April fools day pranks this morning, and it was literally the best one I've seen in years. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Today reminds me how miserable people are with jokes, no matter how shítty they might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

My son is always going on about Anonymous, you know your man that does all the hacking? anyway I'm in the bathroom this morning when I rang the landline and pretended to be him - deep voice and all. He got totally freaked out and is not talking to me. He's only 9 in fairness. Feel bad now.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭John T Carroll

Marty Morrissy to be become Sir Marty Morrissy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    My son is always going on about Anonymous, you know your man that does all the hacking? anyway I'm in the bathroom this morning when I rang the landline and pretended to be him - deep voice and all. He got totally freaked out and is not talking to me. He's only 9 in fairness. Feel bad now.....

That's a good one.

I told my son the star player at our local GAA club had signed for Chelsea. My son reckons this guys will be brilliant for Chelsea's defence. He might be right.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Wouldn't it be really **** to be a journalist and find some crazy, barely believable, story today?

Nobody would believe it.

I hate today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,380 ✭✭✭timmyntc

I hate today.

Watch some videos with Snoop Dogg to cheer yourself up

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Google's April fool joke seems to have gone a bit awry

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-35941806

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I told my 10 year old son this morning that his Mother was born a man ......... his reply (genuine) was "well, the joke's on you then" ........ kids today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Ah ha that €50 note is fake, April fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

one I did in Gigs and Events in 2010.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65193035

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

seen this April fools day pranks this morning, and it was literally the best one I've seen in years. :D
    Sorry, clumsy me, think I may have pressed it too many times.
    Could you email me the gist of it.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Itzy wrote: »
    Some People seem to think it's still funny. It's juvenile if you ask me.

Only if you prank a young offender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Today reminds me how miserable people are with jokes, no matter how shítty they might be.

I can be a bit shifty/****ty here and there, especially living in Dingle.

Two Irishmen walk into a pet shop in Dingle.

They head to the bird section and Gerry says to Paddy, "Dat's dem". The owner comes over and asks if he can help them. "Yeah, we'll take four of dem dere little budgies in dat cage up dere," says Gerry. The owner puts the budgies in a cardboard box.

Paddy and Gerry pay for the birds, leave the shop and get into Gerry's truck to drive to the top of the Connor Pass.

At the Connor Pass, Gerry looks down at the 1,000 foot drop and says, "Dis looks like a grand place." He takes two birds out of the box, puts one on each shoulder and jumps off the cliff. Paddy watches as the budgies fly off and Gerry falls all the way to the bottom, killing himself stone dead.

Looking down at the remains of his best pal, Paddy shakes his head and says, "Fook dat. Dis budgie jumping is too fook'n dangerous for me!"

Wait there's more.

Moment's later, Seamus arrives at Connor Pass. He's been to the pet shop too and walks up to the edge of the cliff carrying another cardboard box in one hand and a shotgun in the other. "Hi, Paddy. Watch dis." Seamus says. He takes a parrot from the box and lets him fly free. He then throws himself over the edge of the cliff with the gun.

Paddy watches as halfway down, Seamus takes the gun and shoots the parrot. Seamus continues to plummet down and down until he hits the bottom and breaks every bone in his body. Paddy shakes his head and says, "And I'm never trying dat parrotshooting either!"

It's not over yet ...

Paddy is just getting over the shock of losing two friends when Sean appears. He's also been to the pet shop and is carrying a cardboard box out of which he pulls a chicken. Sean then takes the chicken by its legs and hurls himself off the cliff and disappears down and down until he hits a rock and breaks his spine.

Once more Paddy shakes his head. "Fook dat, lads. First dere was Gerry with his budgiejumping, den Seamus parrotshooting. . . And now Sean and his fook'n hengliding! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Weather Underground had a good one: next time the NOAA flies a plane in to the eye of a hurricane, they'll be sponsored by Maybelline.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray