Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you wear overalls?

• 29-03-2016 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭

Dont wear them here at all, wear waterproof trousers and a hoodie top.

Do you wear overalls/boilersuit? 70 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    38% 27 votes
    other
    61% 43 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Had a lovely Delaval pair until somebody made a scarecrow out of them. :mad:
    Pull ups & hoodie now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Dont wear them here at all, wear waterproof trousers and a hoodie top.
    Same as you waterproofs when I'm at calves. OH wouldn't leave the house without overalls on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »
    Same as you waterproofs when I'm at calves. OH wouldn't leave the house without overalls on.
    Does the muck not still come through the overalls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

I youst to wear them but then whenever I would take them off I would be frozen and take to long for me to put them on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Does the muck not still come through the overalls?
    Doesn't seem to much. He has 4 or 5 pairs so there are alwalys one or two clean.

always reminded me of buttoning a baby's babygrow:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Got helly hansen bib and brace wet gear. Grand and warm. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I can't figure how people work in them things, they serve no purpose as the sh1t and smell will go straight through them.

always reminded me of buttoning a baby's babygrow:rolleyes:
    There was an ould fella that used to work in our local town co op, word was that he was balls naked under his overalls :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Weather dictates in my case.
    Cold/windy weather = overalls + rigger boots
    Rain/wet = waterproofs + wellies
    Mild = jeans and hoody + boots/rigger boots

Edit: also smell of sh1te or silage won't go through overalls unless a man was to roll around in the stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

pull ups an odd time and just let the sh1t build up till it scrapes off otherwise. usually end up rushing around in the evenings and landing home from work and straight out with the working boots and snickers gear. most eveningsi say i shouldnt get dirty but something always happens usually calf scour if your stuck to go somewhere its important to be reasonably clean.

Had a lad working here and he had john deere hat, overalls, bodywarmer and socks, i assume everything else was jd too:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Dungarees during calving season, and jeans and hoodies rest of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Mascot trousers and a hoddy for me, overalls are too restrictive. Could never see the point in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mascot trousers and a hoddy for me, overalls are too restrictive. Could never see the point in fairness.

Exactly the same only snickers trousers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Waterproof trousers and jacket for both milkings and leave them on during the winter and mornings this time of the year. I'm very picky on what sort of wet gear tho, the stuff I get is reasonably lightweight and fairly comfy. Only get about 3months max outa a set, but they only cost about 70 for the jacket and pants when on sale. Just stay the hell away from any sorta barb wire obviously ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Longford Leader

Snickers type trousers and tee-shirt when dry. Wet gear when wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Cheap denim trousers. Plenty of cheap Tesco ones ready to wear. Heavy yellow fluorescent jacket and baseball type cap. Waterproof leggings for calving only. Yard is on top of a hill and you'd get fair battered in the winter months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Lidl overalls, the ones with the straps over the shoulders. Find them great as you dont cook in them if you doing something physical and all the stuff stays in the overall pockets rather the jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭visatorro

Wear overalls, not heavy ones. I find them great. Also have dungarees for were days and calving feeding calves. Also wear them if moving cattle or testing.
    Wear apron in the parlour. If cow was calving of calf had to be lifted or something I'd run into parlour and get the apron if I'd nothing else with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

Wear the overalls when I need to throw something over the workclothes before /after work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I'd wear overall during the spring with a tracksuit pants on. During the summer snickers work pants and boots. I don't know how people can wear jeans when working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I'd only wear overalls on a cold day, normally its tracksuit bottoms and a jacket but jeans when fencing
    water proofs are essential when working with wet sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Czhornet

Flexothane wet gear when wet, there is a bit of a stretch in them, jeans and jumper when dry, maybe a fleece if cold enough. No overalls, I used to but ended up wearing them with the sleeves tied around my waist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭FineFilly

oh skinny jeans are as handy(don't recommend on a man though :rolleyes: ), legs just slides in to the wellies and a good warm hoody ,depends on the weather I would layer up with a few tshirts and a good warm jacket ,a good wooly jd hat aswel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Wear overalls for the winter time but once weather gets better leave them off.for the cold weather I find those Canterbury rugby base layer shirts great for keeping warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

FineFilly wrote: »
    oh skinny jeans are as handy(don't recommend on a man though :rolleyes: ), legs just slides in to the wellies and a good warm hoody ,depends on the weather I would layer up with a few tshirts and a good warm jacket ,a good wooly jd hat aswel

any chap wearing skinny jeans is asking to be castrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

Got a winter overall in Lidl/Aldi yrs ago and its the business for going out checking cows at night and when the its very cold. .It will be parked up now til next January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭FineFilly

ganmo wrote: »

I agree but does the username not give away that I'm all woman :p

FineFilly wrote: »
    I agree but does the username not give away that I'm all woman :p

Don't think boiler suits are suited to women at all unless you are exceptionally tall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

2 words: charity shops. Pick up a pair of jeans for 3 or 4 euro. wear them for a couple of months and then in the bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

ganmo wrote: »

Real men don't wear skinny jeans!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Real men don't wear skinny jeans!!

Real men can't wear skinny jeans!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Wear the best pair of jeans I got out the yard (ok that's not saying much) and then when I need to go somewhere I need to be clean I just wash them and away I go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I wear overalls from Nov to April for an extra layer and to keep some way clean. What a dull garment,baring some of the machinery trade ones or the DeLaval one,with the waterproofing which lasts about a week and cost an arm and a leg. Couldn't someone make one with a splash of colour, a dash of red or green or yellow maybe,a bit like the Carlow gaa colours.:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I wear overalls from Nov to April for an extra layer and to keep some way clean. What a dull garment,baring some of the machinery trade ones or the DeLaval one,with the waterproofing which lasts about a week and cost an arm and a leg. Couldn't someone make one with a splash of colour, a dash of red or green or yellow maybe,a bit like the Carlow gaa colours.:D

Here you go
    http://products.fristadskansas.com/article/listdetails?articleId=240717&isOrphanStyle=False

This stuff used to be good 20 odd years ago when it was made in Denmark, triple stitched, very comfortable. Now I think it's made in India and the quality has slipped a bit.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

In wimter i wear tracksuit bottoms and a hoodie flexothane trousers and a big warm jacket with wellingtons. In decent weather ,old runners tracksuit bottom and a hoodie (just wear an oul shirt when its warm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Love my overalls. Keep ya clean and warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I'm geared out fully in tweed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Real men can't wear skinny jeans!!!!!
    got a pair of tommy hilfigure jeans sent over from america, put them on and realised they were skinny jeans. took me about ten minutes to get the f**kers off. the wife came in and was in stitches laughing and has begged me to wear them.
    A young lad that works with me arrived to work in a pair of chinos one morning. i told him we had to get cattle in before we went and i put him chasing weanlings up a hill. they had split from front to back, im delighted he doesnt wear them in anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

For winter time I've a pairs of O'Neill training bottoms which are shower proof but not fully waterproof iykwim, which I wear over my trousers. Very comfortable, have zips all the way up outside of the leg so very easy to put on/off. Wellies / boots as required, an Offaly Co.Co. bomber jacket (dont ask) and beanie hat.

As weather improves, jeans, top & a sleeveless jacket. Summertime, light pants t shirt and baseball hat /straw hat (folically challenged here) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

would melt in overalls in the coldest day

wet - oil suit goes on

dry and cold - started wearing baselayers last winter and found them a great job in cold weather ( twould want to be biting cold tho)

picked up a pair of craghoppers trousers in TK Snacks and they were ideal for last summer, lighter than jeans and durable enough....so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Usually wear overalls. Except now one pair of overalls the buttons won't close and keep popping open. If I was handling steel the overalls keep your clothes from getting black.
    When i'm milking I wear a full length waterproof coat with a hood. Can put the hood up if a cow relieves herself.:p
    I bought it down in kilmore quay where the fishermen buy their waterproofs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Shop coat. Yes l like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The grandfather was a great man for them, usually only dairy farmers wear them nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

The grandfather was a great man for them, usually only dairy farmers where them nowadays.

And mart drovers!

Donkey coats seem to be gone out with the flood, miley Byrne was a great man for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Donkey coats seem to be gone out with the flood, miley Byrne was a great man for them.

they are now a fashion accessory, doubt Miley would approve.

I find the overalls handy when working on machinery, keep you warm when you mightn't be moving about as much. Not a hope using them herding, you'd melt, have them half off tied at the waist but they'd keep getting loose the more you move.