Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I missed my flight home :(

• 28-03-2016 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭

Ok lads...

I was meant to fly back into Dublin this afternoon after having not been home in 6 months (am an emigrant). There was a ****ing crash at the airport exit on the motorway and I was stuck for 3 hours when is theoretically 15 mins from the airport... Watched the flight leave from the car

I was looking forward to seeing my pals and family, but also some tayto, an easter egg or two, a chicken fillet roll, bulmers and a chinese.. But I'm here on my todd back in the apartment ready to go to work tomorrow now instead

The upcoming flights in the next few days are un-payable

I look forward to your condolence posts and also possible food descriptions of what I'm missing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Did you have travel insurance?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If you'd walked you might have caught it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Sorry dude, hard luck, hope you get another flight soon and get tayto and pints of bulmers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

gandalf wrote: »
    Did you have travel insurance?
    Nope... Gutted.

Was with Ryanair too so €300 on flights gone, had a car booked with Hertz and had to pay a €45 cancellation fee. Got to cancel my accommodation along the west coast as I booked it a bit more expensive with free cancellation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Where are you stuck at?

This info is crucial, before Alf dishes out sound advice mate.

Where are you stuck at?

This info is crucial, before Alf dishes out sound advice mate.
    Nice on Alf, but fear not! I have organized to fly in on Saturday next week instead. Cost me a bit but sher feck it.

Am flying in from Germany...

I am working as a cutting edge accountant in Frankfurt and everyone else is a peasant and I eat in Michellin star restaurants and I am better than ever....

Oh wait... That's that Aengus lad :D

Living in Southern Germany seriously, but did manage to book flights back next weekend! Still, don't know how I'm going to face work tomorrow... Might head in a half day. Have had a few jars and kinda mauling it over... Could be having that chinese now ye'know with the lads having teh craic :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Missed Departure Fee
    n/a
    €100 / £100
    Only available at less than 40 mins before and up to 1 hour after flight departure time. Also available to customers who arrive at the ticket desk up to an hour after their flight departure to move to the next available flight. The fee is charged per passenger per sector.

What time you get to Airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Drakares wrote: »
    Nope... Gutted.

Was with Ryanair too so €300 on flights gone, had a car booked with Hertz and had to pay a €45 cancellation fee. Got to cancel my accommodation along the west coast as I booked it a bit more expensive with free cancellation.

Can you cancel the return leg and get something back on that?

mansize wrote: »
    Missed Departure Fee
    n/a
    €100 / £100
    Only available at less than 40 mins before and up to 1 hour after flight departure time. Also available to customers who arrive at the ticket desk up to an hour after their flight departure to move to the next available flight. The fee is charged per passenger per sector.

What time you get to Airport?
    ****... Is that from Ryanair? Got there 10 mins after the flight left.

Yes. It used only be €40, did you ask Ryanair?

josip wrote: »
    Can you cancel the return leg and get something back on that?
    Called Ryanair and the Indian chap told me in polite terms to go **** myself if I want to cancel. Modifying is no problem for a price of more than what the flight cost though... :pac:

Yes. It used only be €40, did you ask Ryanair?
    No, got there, checked online to see the flight wasn't delayed then saw it take off from the car.

Shame more people don't know about this

Would have still been handy but considering the next possible flight was €420 quid maybe would have no changed the outcome. But good to know. Cheers man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

You should email Ryanair tomorrow. If you missed your flight, you are entitled to some of the fees back. It isnt a whole load, but it is still something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Called Ryanair and the Indian chap told me in polite terms to go **** myself if I want to cancel. Modifying is no problem for a price of more than what the flight cost though... :pac:

Can you still get the tax back?

Would have still been handy but considering the next possible flight was €420 quid maybe would have no changed the outcome. But good to know. Cheers man

No, its €100, and its the next flight Ryanair have a free seat on.

Can you still get the tax back?

Government Tax Refund Administration Fee
    Per Passenger
    n/a
    €20 / £17

newacc2015 wrote: »
    You should email Ryanair tomorrow. If you missed your flight, you are entitled to some of the fees back. It isnt a whole load, but it is still something.

Only Government Tax

No, its €100, and its the next flight Ryanair have a free seat on.
    If I'm understanding it right it's €100 off their next flight? in this case €320. Or am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Or am I missing something?

Just flights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Happened me before with Aer Lingus going from London to Dublin - they just put me on the next flight an hour later with no extra charge which I thought was pretty nice of them :)

If I'm understanding it right it's €100 off their next flight? in this case €320. Or am I missing something?

No, its pay €100 an you are accommodated on their next available flight

PARlance wrote: »
    Just flights!

Burn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

know that thing people say... 'oh but everything happens for a reason'

do the German lotto tomorrow or something OP, or if you go in to work tomorrow you might be suddenly promoted to a higher paying job etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

Shame more people don't know about this

Shame the customer service people at Ryanair don't tell more people about this. It being a customer service and all.
    Sorry for your troubles OP.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Happened me before with Aer Lingus going from London to Dublin - they just put me on the next flight an hour later with no extra charge which I thought was pretty nice of them :)

On low-fare or Plus fare, its €75, otherwise its free.

They may have waived it for you

https://www.aerlingus.com/support/fees/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I'm assuming you booked with a credit card. Double check that they don't have some form of travel insurance in place for missed flights.

Shame the customer service people at Ryanair don't tell more people about this. It being a customer service and all.
    Sorry for your troubles OP.

If you miss your flight and go to their Desk, they do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

OP....ring this number 1850 715815 at 1.45pm today

If you miss your flight and go to their Desk, they do!

Ah - the OP said he got to the airport 10 minutes after the flight left. I assumed the first thing he did was go talk to the staff at the desk to see what could be sorted. Why didn't you go there OP, why?? All of us worried boardsies could be sleeping soundly right now if you had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Isn't this what happened 100 years ago.
    "Sorry lads, stuck in ze Berlin airport, have a good rising without us."

Ah - the OP said he got to the airport 10 minutes after the flight left. I assumed the first thing he did was go talk to the staff at the desk to see what could be sorted. Why didn't you go there OP, why?? All of us worried boardsies could be sleeping soundly right now if you had!

I don't think he even went into the airport from my reading of it, he saw his plane take off, and went home.

I called them, airport parking is a bollocks and the lads on the phone told me to gtfo basically :confused:

So back to ****e customer service then! Michael will not be amused. He's trying real hard to push the 'touchy feely' 'new' Ryanair (against his better judgment I'd say). Write to them and explain your getting fobbed off when you should have been offered a €100 change option. Probably won't get you anywhere, but you'd never know.

Well he wasn't at the airport desk, he just phoned them! When did you call them?

Were you in your own car?
    Could you not park up somewhere & walk to airport seeing as it was only 15 mins away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Nice on Alf, but fear not! I have organized to fly in on Saturday next week instead. Cost me a bit but sher feck it.

Am flying in from Germany...

I am working as a cutting edge accountant in Frankfurt and everyone else is a peasant and I eat in Michellin star restaurants and I am better than ever....

Oh wait... That's that Aengus lad :D

Living in Southern Germany seriously, but did manage to book flights back next weekend! Still, don't know how I'm going to face work tomorrow... Might head in a half day. Have had a few jars and kinda mauling it over... Could be having that chinese now ye'know with the lads having teh craic :(

Alfs advice, drink German beer likes there's no facin tomorrow mate (that shīts hangover proof, right?) Then root as many Fräulein's as you can!

See, if you were stuck in somewhere like Bath in the UK, I'd be recommendin you go drink Luke warm ale in a wetherspoons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Steve The Barman

why are you going to work the day after your flight? had you not them booked off??