Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Questions and Queries about Cabin Crew.

• 26-03-2016 6:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

Hello There,
    I have posted similar posts about this but I have to make a new one to be more accurate about my questions and stuff.
    Some information I give here may seem irrelevant or whatever but here I go..

So I have just turned 18 last week, I'm a male and am really interested in becoming cabin crew for Aer Lingus.
    The reason I say Aer Lingus is because from what I hear about Ryanair - I heard they are an absolutely dreadful company to work for (not my opinion just what I heard) I also should let you guys know that my auntie knows lots of cabin crew and she said whatever you do , do NOT go near Ryanair!.

Research that I have done and here's what I found:
    1. You need to be able to swim.
    2. You need at least 2 years customer service experience.
    -that's what I don't have!

Ryanair say you need to be 18 or older
    Aer Lingus say you need to be 19 (at least)

Now, I am absolutely certain that I want to enter this career but I can't swim and I certainly do not have any customer service experience so I'm going to get swimming lessons once my leaving certificate is complete as I'm still in school :(

My auntie has told me that you DO NOT need customer service experience they don't ask you all you need is be able to swim...
    So the customer service bit is just there for the craic?? I don't know ..

Anyone here that has/is working for Ryanair or Aer Lingus please feel free to tell me the facts.

Thanks so much in advance, much appreciated! :) x

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

This sounds very like some previous new posters.

I'm going to steer you towards these threads were others have had discussions about cabin crew recruitment.

As for a little bit of advice:
    -Swimming is a must, cant swim then no job. No getting around that.
    -Dont go with what your Auntie tells you, unless she is or was crew herself, or is friendly with crew. No offense to her but lots of people in life consider themselves experts. So you are doing right but looking online.
    -Do some research on both companies (what about Ethiad, EMirate or Virign?) Aer Lingus might seem 'better' but FR might offer more varied experience, a chance to get experience before moving elsewhere. Dont knock a starting job in an industry you are interested in.
    And by research I mean searching and reading up yourself rather than just aking for people to give you the information. Initiative and self confidence is a bit part of dealing with the public.
    -Customer Service experience is not essential, however it does help. It shows you can deal with the public if you attend for interview and have had experience working in a bar/cafe/restaurant. Keep in mind that you are effectively competting with 100's of others for the positions when you attend open interviews. If they have the chance between yourself and another candidate WITH experience the chances are the other candidate will get the position. It's all about being able to show the interviewer that you have the ability to deal with certain situations. So no, its not just there for the craic

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057306527

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057558592

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭jamie124

Tenger wrote: »
    This sounds very like some previous new posters.

I'm going to steer you towards these threads were others have had discussions about cabin crew recruitment.

As for a little bit of advice:
    -Swimming is a must, cant swim then no job. No getting around that.
    -Dont go with what your Auntie tells you, unless she is or was crew herself, or is friendly with crew. No offense to her but lots of people in life consider themselves experts. So you are doing right but looking online.
    -Do some research on both companies (what about Ethiad, EMirate or Virign?) Aer Lingus might seem 'better' but FR might offer more varied experience, a chance to get experience before moving elsewhere. Dont knock a starting job in an industry you are interested in.
    And by research I mean searching and reading up yourself rather than just aking for people to give you the information. Initiative and self confidence is a bit part of dealing with the public.
    -Customer Service experience is not essential, however it does help. It shows you can deal with the public if you attend for interview and have had experience working in a bar/cafe/restaurant. Keep in mind that you are effectively competting with 100's of others for the positions when you attend open interviews. If they have the chance between yourself and another candidate WITH experience the chances are the other candidate will get the position. It's all about being able to show the interviewer that you have the ability to deal with certain situations. So no, its not just there for the craic

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057306527

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057558592

That's great thanks so much! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭alane20

I think a lot of people use ryanair as a stepping stone towards the big flag carriers, BA/aer lingus/ Emirates ect, both cabin crew and flight crew, if you are interested in this line of work I wouldn't rule out ryanair, I believe all their cabin crew are agency hires now,

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Agreed. I know quite a few people who worked for both 'main' Irish airlines as cabin crew. There are advantages to both. I also know people who worked abroad and used that experience to get employment with EI.

You aunt's friends may be bias towards FR due to their employment status themselves.

alane20 wrote: »
    I think a lot of people use ryanair as a stepping stone towards the big flag carriers, BA/aer lingus/ Emirates ect, both cabin crew and flight crew, if you are interested in this line of work I wouldn't rule out ryanair, I believe all their cabin crew are agency hires now,
    Thanks so much! :)
    Just to put it out there, I was reading a few things on Facebook about Ryanair and a few crew (a few) said that it is a horrible airline to work for , you are treated like crap and all you are is a number to them and I also read that the crew had to stay in hostels and pay themselves! Don't know how true this is but there you are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

A lot of people start out in aviation in Ryanair, whether they're engineers, pilots building hours or cabin crew. You have to be willing to be based where they need crew so that could be anyehere in Europe. The training is self-funded. The starting pay isn't great from what I hear.

I'd say do your leaving cert, don't rule out college, get some customer service experience and learn to swim.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

jamie124 wrote: »
    Thanks so much! :)
    Just to put it out there, I was reading a few things on Facebook about Ryanair and a few crew (a few) said that it is a horrible airline to work for , you are treated like crap and all you are is a number to them and I also read that the crew had to stay in hostels and pay themselves! Don't know how true this is but there you are...

Working for Ryanair is a lottery...... Your whole experience will depend on your base........you can NOT choose your base!
    I know severel people who lasted 6 months, on the other hand I know people who survived 6 years! Where you're based will impact this, it will affect your roster, pay, job satisfaction!

Locker10a wrote: »
    Working for Ryanair is a lottery...... Your whole experience will depend on your base........you can NOT choose your base!
    I know severel people who lasted 6 months, on the other hand I know people who survived 6 years! Where you're based will impact this, it will affect your roster, pay, job satisfaction!

Thanks for that! :)
    Just as a matter of interest , I would love to be based in Dublin but obviously now I know that I can't choose :( , if they place you lets just say in Poland , is it up to you to pay for your own housing/accommodation? Or do Ryanair pay for that for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

Just as a matter of interest , I would love to be based in Dublin but obviously now I know that I can't choose :( , if they place you lets just say in Poland , is it up to you to pay for your own housing/accommodation? Or do Ryanair pay for that for you?

What do you think...? :rolleyes:

They pay for your flight to the base they choose for you, once you get off the aircraft you're literally on your own! The only saving grace is that you might have a group from your training course all going together and that way can sort out rental properties etc, together

Thanks for the information I really appreciate it!
    Omg I would never have thought that :( that sounds like a nightmare , grand for them to pay for the flight and all but for gods sake , they should have a place for cabin crew to stay since they are demanding you to go to a base you don't want to go to! It would be aw much easier if you could just be based in Dublin (where your from and will be living)

I might be repeating myself here but what about Aer Lingus? Is there any chance that I would be able to apply to them straight away and avoid Ryanair?
    Do they even pay for their cabin crews accommodation - I'm assuming you can choose your base with them if you apply in Dublin?
    Thank you, you're a star! :)

Thanks for the information I really appreciate it!
    Omg I would never have thought that :( that sounds like a nightmare , grand for them to pay for the flight and all but for gods sake , they should have a place for cabin crew to stay since they are demanding you to go to a base you don't want to go to! It would be aw much easier if you could just be based in Dublin (where your from and will be living)

I might be repeating myself here but what about Aer Lingus? Is there any chance that I would be able to apply to them straight away and avoid Ryanair?
    Do they even pay for their cabin crews accommodation - I'm assuming you can choose your base with them if you apply in Dublin?
    Thank you, you're a star! :)

There is nothing to stop you applying to Aer Lingus, they require you to select a base and generally you will then be based there! If you choose Dublin you're more or less guaranteed to get it ! Smaller bases they try to chop and change you from time to time but it's rare, Aer Lingus like experience dealing with the public so have that before you apply

Excellent! Thank you so much! :):):)

I think I'll bring this up too.
    So I was in contact with an Aer Lingus cabin crew member on a social media app who was very happy to answer my questions.
    In relation to the swimming and safety training training here's what she said:

"For the most part of it you're in a life jacket! Dragging your pal around the pool and huddling into groups to keep warm etc!!! You do have to do a length of the pool without a life jacket though so, you should try to cram in some lessons over the next year. You don't need to be doing handstands! Just able to swim a length and manoeuvre in a life jacket."

She also said " About the customer service, when I joined Ryanair I was only just out of college!!!! And I didn't have 2 years experience. I got two years with them though and hopped over to EI(harder then it sounds haha!!) Ryanair was great for experience it's non stop, sometimes 6 flights a day, and it's really tough. So if you're up for it, and Ei falls through, defiantly try Ryanair!!!"

I think that's good information to have :)
    Is there anything else involved when it comes to the swimming pool in the training?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

They don't really pay for your flight, they give you a seat on one of their flights which costs them zero...;)