Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

will the silage back door do?

• 26-03-2016 5:42pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭

must go the the quarry to get about 10 tonne of stone. have an 18ft brougham silage trailer with the top side off to collect it. will the silage back door do or will I need to put on the grain door do ye think. its just the hassle of changing doors is nearly half a day. the back silage door has a flap down thebotton of about a foot which is what I am worried about.
    if the stone is kept near the top would it be alright do ye think? need to go about 7-8 miles and the ground is flat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Have you got any photos of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

IH784man wrote: »
    Have you got any photos of it
    Might want to mark the thread as 'not safe for work' if people are going to start posting pictures of their silage back doors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

f140 wrote: »
    must go the the quarry to get about 10 tonne of stone. have an 18ft brougham silage trailer with the top side off to collect it. will the silage back door do or will I need to put on the grain door do ye think. its just the hassle of changing doors is nearly half a day. the back silage door has a flap down thebotton of about a foot which is what I am worried about.
    if the stone is kept near the top would it be alright do ye think? need to go about 7-8 miles and the ground is flat

Drop a big square bale of straw inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

It must be a fairly complicated door on the broughan, ours is two 1/2"bolts to take off .
    Maybe get a bit of an 8 by 4 sheet of ply a foot deep n tekscrew it onto the tail door or even the rubber?

enricoh wrote: »
    It must be a fairly complicated door on the broughan, ours is two 1/2"bolts to take off .
    Maybe get a bit of an 8 by 4 sheet of ply a foot deep n tekscrew it onto the tail door or even the rubber?
    yes but its the fecking weight of them and getting the digger to lift them along with the grain door being away in the back of the shed as I never really use it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Can you borrow a dumper trailer, if you warp the silage door you'll be kicking yourself.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

I have a 13x7 trailer here with 2ft high sides. It will take 10t at a push. Heaped up alright but nothing major. You have a Twin axle trailer possibly 20ft long and a ft wider. Keep the load forward and I'd say there wont be much at the back door. Sheet of ply and some tek screws or bolts and plates through the mesh should be fine. Keep it simple.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Can you borrow a dumper trailer, if you warp the silage door you'll be kicking yourself.
    ya, I will just put on the grain door now and it will solve all. better be safe than sorry. Thanks lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

throw a plank across the back prior to filling and the stone will hold it in place tight against the door. ive done it a few times and no hassle. you wont have any major pressure on it only when loading. just make sure the lad on the shovel isnt a clown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

RealJohn wrote: »
    Might want to mark the thread as 'not safe for work' if people are going to start posting pictures of their silage back doors.
    What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭massey woman

why would you go to all that bother get it delivered x quarry €8/tonne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Dawggone wrote: »
    Drop a big square bale of straw inside.

Ya can't beat a auld dawg for the hard road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

IH784man wrote: »
    What?

Get quote
    Get delivered better value