Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cost of hedge contractor

• 26-03-2016 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭

Hi, whats typical per hour for a hedging contractor to charge per hour? My dad gets his land done for 25euro an hour in tipp for both flailing and heavier stuff but got quoted 65 an hour from a lad up in north county dublin when trying to get a granduncles land done. Hasnt been looked after in fairness and probably would require more sawwork than if it had been done regularly but his quote came to 3k to do about50 acres.
    Ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Between €40 and €50 for flail cut and €50 for saw (north Kerry) per hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

fepper wrote: »
    Between €40 and €50 for flail cut and €50 for saw (north Kerry) per hour

same here + vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭brianiac

rangler1 wrote: »
    same here + vat

Thanks for the responses. In fairness my dads price is cash so it appears the dublin guy isnt a million miles off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

I think its extortionate the prices it cost to cut hedges every year or 2nd year.

And it also depends how fast/slow the contractor is.

Neighbour gets his hedges along the road cut every year and the contractor spends all day cutting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,543 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I think its extortionate the prices it cost to cut hedges every year or 2nd year.

And it also depends how fast/slow the contractor is.

Neighbour gets his hedges along the road cut every year and the contractor spends all day cutting them.

Try paying the insurance for hedge cutting or getting a hedgecutter balanced or repaired. Then you would be charging that money too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭brianiac

Thanks to that replied. Related to hedgecutting, who is responsible for the roadside hedge? Farmer or council? Again going on my dads land he just has 100 yard of road frontage so council always do it but not sure it is generally the case that they will. Is it county to county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

brianiac wrote: »
    Thanks to that replied. Related to hedgecutting, who is responsible for the roadside hedge? Farmer or council? Again going on my dads land he just has 100 yard of road frontage so council always do it but not sure it is generally the case that they will. Is it county to county?

Galway CoCo did ours a few weeks back, only cost me two pints and a phonecall.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

€40 an hour here (Westmeath) the lad is sound and flys it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Who in north county Dublin have you that quote?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Lads cut the absolute sh1te out of hedges these days.
    Cattle have no shelter with miserable little ditches.
    The countryside looks very bare with them too.
    I know they are cut low to let the sun in further but in fairness how much of a difference does it make?
    Especially in this era of crap farm gate prices. Is it worth it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

20silkcut wrote: »
    I know they are cut low to let the sun in further but in fairness how much of a difference does it make?

Your not a morning person, are you:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭padraig.od

totally agree. neighbour brutalised their hedges yesterday, they look awful.

padraig.od wrote: »

As of the 1st march that was even illegal wasn't it, no hedgecutting allowed now until 1st september

Where I am the wind keeps pushing the hedges out towards the fields and roads if they get too tall so they are kept at a manageable height and width

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭padraig.od

As of the 1st march that was even illegal wasn't it, no hedgecutting allowed now until 1st september

1st of April I thought. Sure who'd report them?

I got reported on the 25th aug two years ago and was the second person to be reprted on the cul de sac where i have the outfarm.......theres always a jobsworth around to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

What I've seen is worse - "hedge laying' using a bucket digger under Glas. Absolute joke. Hedges were mashed to bits - this is what a laid hedge us supposed to look like :mad:

http://www.mendiphillsaonb.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Laid-Hedge.jpg

gozunda wrote: »
    What I've seen is worse - "hedge laying' using a bucket digger under Glas. Absolute joke. Hedges were mashed to bits - this is what a laid hedge us supposed to look like :mad:

http://www.mendiphillsaonb.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Laid-Hedge.jpg

Digger bucket makes a great stock proof fence and the trees grow like weeds after it and huge shelter for wildlife, would be cheaper build a wall than the laid hedge you showed there.

Ye didn't see the job the mucka did on that hedge. Mashed it out of existence. A properly laid hedge ain't expensive. It's also stock proof from word go so you don't have to wait for it to grow back either or spend lots of cash fencing the destruction until / if it grows back. I knew I've done a few and there some job.

gozunda wrote: »
    Ye didn't see the job the mucka did on that hedge. Mashed it out of existence. A properly laid hedge ain't expensive. It's also stock proof from word go so you don't have to wait for it to grow back either or spend lots of cash fencing the destruction until / if it grows back. I knew I've done a few and there some job.

Laying is a fantastic job but you wouldn't have the time to do it if farming as well,slow as f%%k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

You see Rangler if you were in NI, you would be fine. It seems the birds must stop nesting there earlier. Must ask Heather is it?

In Cork, council do feck all.
    I think I paid €45/Hr. Very good at it, though. As I say, he could shave a gooseberry.

fepper wrote: »
    Laying is a fantastic job but you wouldn't have the time to do it if farming as well,slow as f%%k

Did and have done. Proper hedge laying only done in winter and a short stretch at a time. It's made out to be more work than it actually is. If u can use a chainsaw you can do this fairly easy & quickly.

I have to laugh at some boys who will say they can do the same job with a bucket digger. Whatever they do - it's not hedge laying and some of those fellas wouldn't know a bush from a rock imo.

Done properly it will give an immediate tidy stock proof fence.