Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anxious fliers?

• 24-03-2016 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭

Any other nervous fliers?

I have yet another flight tomorrow and I always can barely eat for days before it with very little sleep.
    Part of the anxiety is the taking off and being in the air, but also panic about missing my flight due to unforeseen circumstances.
    I am leaving at 5am tomorrow as its the earliest I can but it only leaves me 2hours leeway.

I don't want to hear "You are more likely to die in a car accident on the way to the airport than by flying" - of course the logical side of my brain knows that, but its the illogical side where phobia's and fear come from, so fat luck it does anything :p

Anyone have any tips?
    And good luck if anyone else is flying over Easter.

Have not seen a thread about this recently so apologies if I am mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Try to take your mind of it, watch something on a tablet or laptop or read a good book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

I hope your flight goes well and doesn't crash.

Just don't forget to most important pre flight ritual of them all - the obligatory picture of an alcoholic drink at the airport bar for Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Ronald Wilson Reagan

Shout allah akhbar as the "tighten your seatbelt sign" comes on, they'll soon forget their fear of flying.

Yep. I'm a very nervous flier. Absolutely hate taking off. Total panic. Once I'm in the air I'm ok.

Also will not sleep the night before because I'm convinced I'll miss the flight!

Wouldn't stop me going anywhere mind you. My mam just won't get on a plane end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Freddiestar

Ask your GP for something to ease the stress, you'll be sorted, and no you won't become a junkie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

After you get where you're going, take off your shoes and your socks then walk around on the rug bare foot and make fists with your toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Xanax

I have no fear of flying, BUT I do get very stressed beforehand , as a result of having to pack for the family, lock up the house, run to neighbor with keys etc, plus get to airport on time, park etc.

What I do is take a spray of Bachs rescue remedy. Might be all in the head but it really calms me down without making me drowsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

And try not to think of this

30,000 different parts

Every single one made by the company who said they could do it the cheapest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭geez

I am a nervous flier too. Usually try to distract myself. Find one drink but no more can take the edge off. Still try not to let it stop me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Just remember, if all does go wrong and worse comes to worst, it's not the crash that'll kill you. You'll be long dead before the plane hits anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I always have an aul sharpener before flying.

The co-pilot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I used to be a great flyer but a very bad turbulence experience (person beside me started praying aloud in Polish) has made me a very bad flyer. I have to say a glass of vino does wonders for me. I never tried tablets as I have visions of a Bridesmaid episode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I hate flying so much. I hate taking off, being in the air and landing. It feels like my whole body is being squashed downwards. Sometimes I throw up and sometimes I get headaches so bad that I feel like my head will explode.

The only way I can get through a flight is if I bring a book with my and lean over it when I'm reading it.

Good luck with your flight :) I hope it'll be okay for you!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

And try not to think of this

30,000 different parts

Every single one made by the company who said they could do it the cheapest.

If you saw the price of even the most simple aircraft grade bolt you wouldn't think that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

If you saw the price of even the most simple aircraft grade bolt you wouldn't think that was the case.

But it's still true :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I couldn't care less about the actual flying part. That's fine. I've more chance being killed on the m50 on the way to the airport.
    It's being trapped in an aisle at the back of the plane with people each side of me, with the doors locked at me not being able to get out that sends me into a panic.
    Usually results in me taking sleeping pills that don't even work because I'm so nervous I fight the falling asleep part so I end up groggy, stoned, and nervous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Get yourself a Fast Pass (5.95 on the DAA website) for expedited security and lounge access (around 25 euros) if you want a little more quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Not a nervous flyer but still not looking forward to my 11 hour flight tomorrow. Planning to arrive at the airport super duper early, security theatre will be at an all time high this weekend, especially as I'm flying from Frankfurt! :o

You'll be grand! :) That's what I tell myself anyways! I usually have a few drinks in the airport first then a few on the plane, then I drift off. Also I have ear-balancing headphones which are a godsend!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

failinis wrote: »
    Any other nervous fliers?

I have yet another flight tomorrow and I always can barely eat for days before it with very little sleep.
    Part of the anxiety is the taking off and being in the air, but also panic about missing my flight due to unforeseen circumstances.
    I am leaving at 5am tomorrow as its the earliest I can but it only leaves me 2hours leeway.

I don't want to hear "You are more likely to die in a car accident on the way to the airport than by flying" - of course the logical side of my brain knows that, but its the illogical side where phobia's and fear come from, so fat luck it does anything :p

Anyone have any tips?
    And good luck if anyone else is flying over Easter.

Have not seen a thread about this recently so apologies if I am mistaken.

leave at 5 still alive through the raging sky.
    gone insane in the plane and he surely knows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You need to get over to the Aviation forum.

They have gone through everything and it is nothing to worry about.

They are mostly air crew/pilots, and to be honest they are really helpful when it comes to asking about this kind of thing.

Check out that forum and ask them what they recommend.

As for my OH. Xanax and Valium together. + white wine normally knocks the socks off any worries. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Anyone have any tips?

buy yourself a copy of Microsoft Flight Simulator.

You will get used to pre flight checks and noises etc.
    You will first-hand have to learn all the little computer screens and buttons
    and why it wont go into first gear if the smoking like is on.
    computer checks fails, ah its a boring as ****.

And finally if anything does go wrong, you will be able to fly the plain ;):cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Try to take your mind of it, watch something on a tablet or laptop or read a good book.

Interestingly when I did a fly fearless course, it's maths problems are the best distraction. Try to work out your 17 times tables!

You need to get over to the Aviation forum.

They have gone through everything and it is nothing to worry about.

They are mostly air crew/pilots, and to be honest they are really helpful when it comes to asking about this kind of thing.

Check out that forum and ask them what they recommend.

As for my OH. Xanax and Valium together. + white wine normally knocks the socks off any worries. LOL.

I was flying to Los Angeles a few years ago, had some Xanax. Took one, felt nothing. Took another. Took a third. Boom out like a light. All well and good til I started having a weird dream about floating off on a balloon and getting stuck in a tree. I was dreaming some kids were shooting arrows at my balloons keeping me afloat and I woke up just as I flung my arms out to stop myself falling.

Hitting a can of coke off the girls tray next to me, spilling it all over her.
    No more Xanax for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Get a seat near the front around row 6, it's much more comfortable if you cant stand turbulence during the flight.

Play a few games or have a few pints it will pass the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Chill out tonight and watch final destination or cast away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I ain't gettin on no plane. Fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Yeah I have my sketch book and a novel with me to read, its only an hour and 30mins. I can distract myself for about an hour by drawings or reading but the last 30mins is just pure fear again!
    Yep. I'm a very nervous flier. Absolutely hate taking off. Total panic. Once I'm in the air I'm ok.

Also will not sleep the night before because I'm convinced I'll miss the flight!

Wouldn't stop me going anywhere mind you. My mam just won't get on a plane end of.

Yeah, it does not stop me flying, I just bloody dread every second.
    The days before hand, the take off, some of the actual flying (I relax into the noises after a bit) is what kicks me off.
    Landing is fine, I can't wait for that part!
    Ask your GP for something to ease the stress, you'll be sorted, and no you won't become a junkie

I always say I will go see a GP but I don't - I have a few weeks before I am back on the plane again so when I am home I will for the return flight.
    Even if she gives me a placebo - if it works, it works eh.
    geez wrote: »
    I am a nervous flier too. Usually try to distract myself. Find one drink but no more can take the edge off. Still try not to let it stop me
    I can't (and don't) drink. If I did this whole flying malarkey would be easy :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Today a goose sized bird hit my plane while decending in towards the runway, missed the engine so all was grand! Scary things can happen! It's generally grand though, good luck tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

im guessing it might be the lack of control. there's no ''stop,i want to get off'', you're on that plane for the duration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I was flying to Los Angeles a few years ago, had some Xanax. Took one, felt nothing. Took another. Took a third. Boom out like a light. All well and good til I started having a weird dream about floating off on a balloon and getting stuck in a tree. I was dreaming some kids were shooting arrows at my balloons keeping me afloat and I woke up just as I flung my arms out to stop myself falling.

Hitting a can of coke off the girls tray next to me, spilling it all over her.
    No more Xanax for me!

My OH says the trick is to take one Xanax. Sip a glass of wine and chew some wine gums.

Then take a half dose of the recommended Valium or whatever the feck it's called now. And another sip of wine.

Chilled out then, and I am happy too cos it worked for OH.

Each to their own, and whatever gets you through the flight!

Your description of the hallucinations was hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

The nervous flyers posting cant sleep the night before in case they miss the flight :confused:

Would that not be a good thing for yous :)

OP,
    Have you even been in to visit the Pilots in the flight deck? I find this helps a huge amount with nervous flyers, 99% of pilots are only delighted to say hello( time permitting) and seeing the faces and speaking to the actually people working away in there can really help put nerves at ease !
    My tip, board as early as you can, speak to the crew, see if you can pop into the flight deck and say hello, ask a question etc.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    The nervous flyers posting cant sleep the night before in case they miss the flight :confused:

Would that not be a good thing for yous :)

I am normally awake the whole night before a flight so if you don't sleep, can't miss it. :(
    (I still set my alarm clock and my phone alarms to be safe)

Locker10a wrote: »
    OP,
    Have you even been in to visit the Pilots in the flight deck? I find this helps a huge amount with nervous flyers, 99% of pilots are only delighted to say hello( time permitting) and seeing the faces and speaking to the actually people working away in there can really help put nerves at ease !
    My tip, board as early as you can, speak to the crew, see if you can pop into the flight deck and say hello, ask a question etc.

I am not someone who can't step foot on a plane, I get on, sit down, start praying (which I never do), and end up with a book/magazine on my lap with my hands over my ears and eyes shut for most of it :pac:
    SO its not severe but I do get paralysed with some odd fear.

Edit: Also, I doubt they would let me, its a small plane as well.

OP,

Are you posting from September 10th 2001?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

where the f*** are people getting all this xanax from.

i want some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

back to back episodes of seconds from disaster and air crash investigation should sort ya

Are you posting from September 10th 2001?

You do realise visitors are allowed into the flight deck, the restrictions apply only inflight, hence my advice being board early so this can be achieved.......

I am not someone who can't step foot on a plane, I get on, sit down, start praying (which I never do), and end up with a book/magazine on my lap with my hands over my ears and eyes shut for most of it :pac:
    SO its not severe but I do get paralysed with some odd fear.

Edit: Also, I doubt they would let me, its a small plane as well.

Where are you off to?

Home :) so it is something to look forward to the landing side of things at least.

back to back episodes of seconds from disaster and air crash investigation should sort ya

The ones who watch those programmes have the biggest fear of flying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

I always pull all nighters if I have an early flight. This is easy if you get out of your house where you're more likely to sleep. I go to a 24 hour cafe, then travel by bus to dublin airport.

I also use sleeping tablets for a long journey. Just in case I cant sleep after pulling an all nighter. I don't know what's happening as im heavily sedated and if the plane was to crash and we all die, at least I would be asleep.

where the f*** are people getting all this xanax from.

i want some.
    Not too hard to find to buy without script although it's a script only medication so obviously ask your doctor for it.
    My old housemate had a never ending supply of Valium, he'd sell for a fiver a pill, or give them to me for free if I asked nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Phil.x

Have 3 pints before, works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

I love the takeoff and the reassurance of humanity's design and engineering skill to get so much thrust out of those engines.
    My wife is a clammy cold handed flyer who has little choice but to fly when she wants to go home.