Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair Pay in Sport.

• 22-03-2016 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭

Raymond Moore CEO of Indian Wells ( no idea ) reackons women tennis players should get down on their knees for players like Federer and Nadal for carrying the game,they don't make any decisions and made comments about attractive players coming through.
    They get payed the same as men in the top tournaments at least,but not sure any other sport does this.
    Does he have a hint of a point in that the womens sport sometimes gets a higher profile and prize money because of the popularity of the mens game?
    The bloke resigned of course,can't say those things in this day and age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

In Tennis I reckon the womens games are actually more competitive and less predictable than the mens sport.
    Same with Running and athletics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought it was one of the most equal sports in the world for media exposure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

kneemos wrote: »
    women tennis players should get down on their knees for players like Federer and Nadal

Don't they do that already? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

kneemos wrote: »
    Raymond Moore CEO of Indian Wells ( no idea ) reackons women tennis players should get down on their knees for players like Federer and Nadal
    Would make Tennis more interesting at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Menas wrote: »
    In Tennis I reckon the womens games are actually more competitive and less predictable than the mens sport.

The issue is not with competitiveness but prize money due to marketability. When there are womens only tournaments the income generated through marketing and advertising is significantly less so the prize pool they can offer is much less than in joint tournaments where the income from the mens marketability is effectively subsidising the womens prize pool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Mens sports attract more interest from the public, the sponsors, tv etc etc
    That goes for pretty much any sport you can think of. It's hardly unfair to pay them more for producing what the vast majority would consider to be a better spectacle and for generating more income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

There's a video on the Guardian website.

He's some tulip, the eejit. He went on to say that the WTA has a handful of 'very attractive prospects, very attractive'. When a journalist gave him a chance to dig himself out of the hole and asked him to clarify whether he meant competitively attractive or physically attractive, he said: 'both, I mean both'.

What a gobshíte :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I think higher pay for mens tennis perfectly fine given they play more tennis!

The men play far more sets and attract far more viewers.

Do more, get more. It's not a difficult concept.

http://metro.co.uk/2016/03/21/novak-djokovic-is-right-male-tennis-players-do-deserve-to-be-paid-more-than-female-stars-5765546/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

If the Bible has taught us nothing else, and it hasn't, it's that girls should stick to girl's sports, such as hot oil wrestling, foxy boxing, and such and such.

maudgonner wrote: »
    There's a video on the Guardian website.

He's some tulip, the eejit. He went on to say that the WTA has a handful of 'very attractive prospects, very attractive'. When a journalist gave him a chance to dig himself out of the hole and asked him to clarify whether he meant competitively attractive or physically attractive, he said 'Both, I mean both'.

What a gobshíte :)

What he said was in essence correct. Making intentionally innuendo ridden comments like 'attractive' and 'get down on their knees' is just asking for trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There's a chicken-and-egg scenario with this.

The mens' events receive more coverage and more funding. Which makes sports a more attractive pursuit for young men than young women. Which means the mens' events get more coverage and more funding, and so on. It's a constant feedback loop.

People will remark that the mens' events are more competitive, more impressive, that's why they're more popular. But that's part of the same feedback loop. Mens' event are more competitive because there are more people taking part, a much greater challenge to rise to, and far more money in it for coaches and sportspeople, therefore their training brings them to a higher level.

My belief is that all gender barriers should be lifted across sports at all levels. End any segregation, but start at the amateur levels first. A local football team can field as many teams as they want, and if the "A" team happens to be all boys because they're the best, so be it. But don't have a girls' and boys' team; then you're setting the girls up to fall behind.

Most professional sports are still inherently sexist at the top levels. Even though tennis is touted as the most equal sport in terms of coverage and pay, women still play shorter games than men. For no reason. Just like when women were banned from running marathons because it was believed they couldn't run that far, the womens' tennis tournaments are formatted in the belief that women aren't capable of playing as long as men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

If I was ten times world tiddlywinks champion by the logic of female tennis players I should be earning tens of millions, since I'm the best at my sport. The fact is the men's game earns significantly more money through sponsorship and merchandise than the women's, therefore the male players get more money. It's nothing to do with sexism. In professional sport money is the ONLY thing that matters. The men make more so they get more.

seamus wrote: »
    There's a chicken-and-egg scenario with this.

The mens' events receive more coverage and more funding. Which makes sports a more attractive pursuit for young men than young women. Which means the mens' events get more coverage and more funding, and so on. It's a constant feedback loop.

People will remark that the mens' events are more competitive, more impressive, that's why they're more popular. But that's part of the same feedback loop. Mens' event are more competitive because there are more people taking part, a much greater challenge to rise to, and far more money in it for coaches and sportspeople, therefore their training brings them to a higher level.

My belief is that all gender barriers should be lifted across sports at all levels. End any segregation, but start at the amateur levels first. A local football team can field as many teams as they want, and if the "A" team happens to be all boys because they're the best, so be it. But don't have a girls' and boys' team; then you're setting the girls up to fall behind.

Not sure who you're trying to wind up with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think we need to start with banning Lingerie Rugby Football
    A "sport" invented by **** and watched by ****.

Portraying women is "sexy" alternatives to "real" sports is not only demeaning, it's sexist and helps keep women's lib back.

Not sure who you're trying to wind up with that.
    But you're assuming I'm trying to wind someone up?

After Hours has made you terribly cynical. :D

gramar wrote: »
    What he said was in essence correct. Making intentionally innuendo ridden comments like 'attractive' and 'get down on their knees' is just asking for trouble.

Well the language he used was so ridiculous that it's impossible to take him seriously. Who thought it was a good idea to let that man within an asses roar of a camera?

But I don't think what he said was correct either. What Djokovic said is different - that's something that can definitely be argued. But to say that the women players should be thankful Federer and Nadal were born because they're riding their coat tails is ridiculous.

If you ask anyone to name a handful of tennis players I think you're as likely to hear about the Williams sisters as you are Federer and Nadal. Steffi Graf and Martina Navratilova as Boris Becker and Bjorn Borg. Tennis is one of the very few sports where the women's profiles are as high as the men's.

The viewing figures is definitely worth looking at. I wonder if it's partly because the mens finals are traditionally on Sundays, the final day of tournaments. I'd imagine viewing figures for all sports are higher on Sundays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

gramar wrote: »
    Mens sports attract more interest from the public, the sponsors, tv etc etc
    That goes for pretty much any sport you can think of.

Would women's beach volleyball not have a larger following than men's beach volleyball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

You simply can't have mixed-gender competition in many sports, biologically women are at an overall disadvantage when it comes to strength and size. Plus it would probably have the opposite effect of driving more girls away from sport - knowing they couldn't realistically compete with their male counterparts.

I think in competitions where mens and womens tournaments are run together, (Grand Slams, Indian Wells) the prize money should be equal. Sponsors can pay individuals (men or women) whatever they want, as can individual tournaments run respectively by the WTA or ATP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Menas wrote: »

Yes they are more competitive and less predictable (constant breaks of serve), but it's the pace of the game that lets it down (like most other female sports).

People watch the sports for the power and sheer strength. The men are more marketable because of this.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Would women's beach volleyball not have a larger following than men's beach volleyball?

I said pretty much any sport but if it does have a higher following you'd have to question the motives of those watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

To the absolute casuals during the Olympic Games yes, in the long run with 90% of the fans, no, it's not even close. People watch for the class, not the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Yes,but there's bikinis involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

biko wrote: »

Portraying women is "sexy" alternatives to "real" sports is not only demeaning, it's sexist and helps keep women's lib back.

Their body their choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    I think in competitions where mens and womens tournaments are run together, (Grand Slams, Indian Wells) the prize money should be equal. Sponsors can pay individuals (men or women) whatever they want, as can individual tournaments run respectively by the WTA or ATP.

See that's all well and good until the sponsors say "well 10 million people watch this men's game so I'll give you X amount for this ad slot, while 7 million watch the women's equivalent so you're only getting Y amount for that slot." It really is all down to money. Men's body make-up means that they will always be the fastest, strongest and most skillful examples of any sport. People watch professional sport to see the best of the best. Therefore people want to see the men's more than the women's games. It's really as simple as that. No sexism, just the fact that men will always be the ones who are the very best at any sport.
    Almost every woman I know who's into sport is overwhelmingly more into the men's version of their particular game, be it rugby, soccer, golf, tennis, whatever. So how is that sexism?

You simply can't have mixed-gender competition in many sports, biologically women are at an overall disadvantage when it comes to strength and size. Plus it would probably have the opposite effect of driving more girls away from sport - knowing they couldn't realistically compete with their male counterparts.
    Assumptions.

It has always been the assumption that women wouldn't be able to compete. So they haven't. Which means they can't.

I'm not going to deny that men on average are going to be bigger and stronger. But in how many sports is that an absolute deciding factor? So in some events, this fact means that by default more men will arrive at the top level than women - 100m sprint, boxing, wrestling, etc. Even then, there's a competitive issue; if a women can make the requirements to qualify for a men's heavyweight boxing bout, why shouldn't she compete?

But there are other events where gender makes basically no difference. Where 99% of the game is tactics and technique, not raw strength. Shooting. Tennis. Soccer.

Why do we still maintain gender separation for these, right from the very start when a child starts out?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Why do we still maintain gender separation for these, right from the very start when a child starts out?

Won't speak for the rest but when I played Gaelic as a kid, teams were mixed up until U-12s. It was pretty obvious at that stage that it wasn't an equal playing field so to speak and made sense to have separate teams/streams.

Assumptions.

It has always been the assumption that women wouldn't be able to compete. So they haven't. Which means they can't.

Even then, there's a competitive issue; if a women can make the requirements to qualify for a men's heavyweight boxing bout, why shouldn't she compete?

Why not indeed.

But you're assuming I'm trying to wind someone up?

After Hours has made you terribly cynical. :D
    Assumptions.

I'm not going to deny that men on average are going to be bigger and stronger. But in how many sports is that an absolute deciding factor? So in some events, this fact means that by default more men will arrive at the top level than women - 100m sprint, boxing, wrestling, etc. Even then, there's a competitive issue; if a women can make the requirements to qualify for a men's heavyweight boxing bout, why shouldn't she compete?

But there are other events where gender makes basically no difference. Where 99% of the game is tactics and technique, not raw strength. Shooting. Tennis. Soccer.

Should be a laugh when we do your idea, have no segregation and the girls get beaten again and again. I'm sure that'll increase female participation.

As for Tennis and Soccer being examples where you think parity could be almost reached, well, I'll just leave you to mull that over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Karsten Braasch was ranked 203 in the world when he played the Williams sisters in a two set match. They were 17 and 16. Venus was in the top 10 of the world. Braasch was somewhat well-known for smoking during changeover breaks.

He beat Serena 6-1 and then Venus 6-2.

I'll agree with you on the shooting. I have sometimes been beaten by a woman when target shooting.

But come on, are you seriously saying that women are on par with men in tennis and soccer? Get real.

I'll agree with you on the shooting. I have sometimes been beaten by a woman when target shooting.

But come on, are you seriously saying that women are on par with men in tennis and soccer? Get real.

I've been beaten by women at plenty of things but I'm not an elite athlete.
    Top male athletes in virtually any discipline will beat women. Darts sport or not but again top male players are well ahead of women and it could hardly be less physical.

osarusan wrote: »
    Karsten Braasch was ranked 203 in the world when he played the Williams sisters in a two set match. They were 17 and 16. Venus was in the top 10 of the world. Braasch was somewhat well-known for smoking during changeover breaks.

He beat Serena 6-1 and then Venus 6-2.

US women's team had a practice match against the U-17 national men's team. 8-2.

As for "technique" being important, of course it is, but it doesn't exist in a vacuum.

Assumptions.

It has always been the assumption that women wouldn't be able to compete. So they haven't. Which means they can't....

...But there are other events where gender makes basically no difference. Where 99% of the game is tactics and technique, not raw strength. Shooting. Tennis. Soccer.

It's not assumptions, it's basic human physiology. Males have much greater muscle mass and circulating testosterone - even hypogonadal males have higher levels than women with PCOS.

Shooting, darts, bowls, snooker - yes. Tennis and soccer no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

biko wrote: »

I had no idea this sport existed until now.Thank you for spreading the gospel of this wonderful sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The issue isn't whether female tennis players can compete with male tennis players.

It's whether or not they generate the same revenue through tv, marketing etc.

Although what Moore said isn't probably politically correct an he'd have been better of to stay quiet he is right.There is no doubt female tennis players benefit from their connection to the mens game .

Tennis is the most high profile female sport by far but I'd imagine if the biggest events of the year were not played alongside the men the status of the womens game would diminish significantly.

Seeing as the mens game generates more money and ticket prices for the mens grand slam finals are higher which indicates that the organizers consider them more important , it's a bit odd that the male players don't get more money for their efforts .

I don't particularly care about the women being paid proportionally more for grand slam events but it's just strange that there never seem to be any calls for equality when inequality benefits women.

It's not assumptions, it's basic human physiology. Males have much greater muscle mass and circulating testosterone - even hypogonadal males have higher levels than women with PCOS.

Shooting, darts, bowls, snooker - yes. Tennis and soccer no.

Men are taller in general than women. So would being tall be an advantage in darts and snooker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What are the chess rankings like these days?

Men are taller in general than women. So would being tall be an advantage in darts and snooker?

Women have even stuggled against men in those sports which require low levels of physicality.

I think men are more suitable to sport psycholigically simply because they are more likely to become completely obsessive about something trivial than women, and being obsessive is a large part of what makes a successful sportsperson.

No, not so much - as long as you aren't a dwarf, these games are nearly 100% skill.

Basketball on the other hand.

No, not so much - as long as you aren't a dwarf, these games are nearly 100% skill.

Basketball on the other hand.

Darts, someone tall is closer to the dart board and therefore has a marginal advantage.

Snooker, a tall person can reach more shots without stretching or resorting to the rest.

These are only fractional advantages but in sport that can make all the difference.

Women have even stuggled against men in those sports which require low levels of physicality.

I think men are more suitable to sport psycholigically simply because they are more likely to become completely obsessive about something trivial than women, and being obsessive is a large part of what makes a successful sportsperson.
    There's a number of reasons, but that sort of amateur psychology bullsh1t wouldn't be one of them.

Lower numbers participating at the grassroots would be the most important IMO.

Darts, someone tall is closer to the dart board and therefore has a marginal advantage.

Snooker, a tall person can reach more shots without stretching or resorting to the rest.

These are only fractional advantages but in sport that can make all the difference.
    A couple of cms won't make much difference over 6ft.

Top snooker players rarely need to use the rest or stretch because their skill level means they don't end up in those positions. Any height advantage is minimal unless you're playing a small child.

There's a number of reasons, but that sort of amateur psychology bullsh1t wouldn't be one of them.

You can only play against what is in front of you.

You can't blame men for being better at most sports because most women aren't interested. There are a significant number of top class female athletes and not many of them come close to beating men when they are competing against each other.

Although what Moore said isn't probably politically correct an he'd have been better of to stay quiet he is right.There is no doubt female tennis players benefit from their connection to the mens game .

Tennis is the most high profile female sport by far but I'd imagine if the biggest events of the year were not played alongside the men the status of the womens game would diminish significantly.

Seeing as the mens game generates more money and ticket prices for the mens grand slam finals are higher which indicates that the organizers consider them more important , it's a bit odd that the male players don't get more money for their efforts .

I don't particularly care about the women being paid proportionally more for grand slam events but it's just strange that there never seem to be any calls for equality when inequality benefits women.

There's definitely truth in that. But I believe that when the prize money was equalised the reason give was that it was to kick-start a move towards making the women's game more equal in stature to the men's.

That's obviously something that doesn't happen overnight and as was mentioned upthread there is a bit of chicken and egg to it - if women's championships are always perceived as inferior then they will never get as big a market share. So they will have smaller viewing figures and be treated as inferior. But if the tennis governing bodies start to treat them more equally it can help break that cycle.

Tennis is one sport where there is definitely potential to change the imbalance. Many people like to watch the women's games because they don't have as much power, so it becomes less about brute force serves (and nothing is more boring than a game that's just ace after ace). The players have similar levels of public profile.

Is it fair? Maybe not. But it's not going to be fair either way.

Maybe but I would say is a certain truth to it and studies say that men tend to be naturally more competitive than women.

There should be no real reason more women wouldn't be able to compete at a level close to men in a sport like darts or snooker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Should men's tennis have a bigger prize pot than women's absolutely. Longer games for one, increased viewing figures and associated incomings too should mean they warrant a bigger cut of the pie.

I've said before though, I'd love to see a mixed gender golf tournament, they could even trial it at one of the Pro-Am events like the Dunhill Links,

maudgonner wrote: »
    There's definitely truth in that. But I believe that when the prize money was equalised the reason give was that it was to kick-start a move towards making the women's game more equal in stature to the men's.

That's obviously something that doesn't happen overnight and as was mentioned upthread there is a bit of chicken and egg to it - if women's championships are always perceived as inferior then they will never get as big a market share. So they will have smaller viewing figures and be treated as inferior. But if the tennis governing bodies start to treat them more equally it can help break that cycle.

Tennis is one sport where there is definitely potential to change the imbalance. Many people like to watch the women's games because they don't have as much power, so it becomes less about brute force serves (and nothing is more boring than a game that's just ace after ace). The players have similar levels of public profile.

Is it fair? Maybe not. But it's not going to be fair either way.
    The women's 100m world record has been the same since the 80s, set by someone who died at a young age having retired when it was announced random testing would be introduced. In almost 30 years no woman has matched her. There are dozens (likely hundreds) of footballers in their early 20s who could beat that record. But it's all about participation.

As for tennis, IMO the women's game has gotten extremely boring, it's not as powerful as the men's game yet they seem to be focusing far more on power the last while.