Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hulk Hogans awarded $115m after sex tape published

• 19-03-2016 10:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭

No, I don't have a link!!

But seriously,

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-35849140

Its the first I've heard of this. $115m! I'm sure the leak of the tape was hard to take and may have affected his career but that'll certainly soften the blow.

As a side note, if anyone wants to pay me $115m I'll make a sex tape, not a bother!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Hogan knows best

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Americans really love sueing one another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

$115 million?
    What about the poor bastards who watched it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

But seriously,

Its the first I've heard of this. $115m! I'm sure the leak of the tape was hard to take and may have affected his career but that'll certainly soften the blow.

As a side note, if anyone wants to pay me $115m I'll make a sex tape, not a bother!

It's one of those weird American jury payouts that will get heavily cut down on appeal. Look at Apple v Samsung, Apple wanted $2 billion but in the end, they barely covered their own lawyer fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Great news :)
    Hopefully Gawker media, who are shameless hypocrites about this stuff and in general just a bit nasty, go bankrupt on the back of this.

Yeah the payout is high but its meant to be a legitimate company and there wasn't any attempt to make the story "news", not even asking him for comment before they released it.

I don't buy the belief that this is a change in public perception on privacy, more that Gawker seriously overstepped the line.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

Real porn stars don't even get paid that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Was Enda Kenny in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Was Enda Kenny in it?

No. It's a well known fact that Enda has no willy, or testicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

But seriously,

The weird thing is, the tape was made without his knowledge - his dj mate made it of him shagging the dj mates wife (open relationship or something). When he left yer man came into the room and said something like "you know we could retire on that" to the missus. Very shitty stuff.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    No. It's a well known fact that Enda has no willy, or testicles.

...or spine, nor any of the features commonly associated with humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Wait, why is he getting 115million?
    Is it compensation or is he a porn star now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭ongarite

It's one of those weird American jury payouts that will get heavily cut down on appeal. Look at Apple v Samsung, Apple wanted $2 billion but in the end, they barely covered their own lawyer fees.

It's going to be hard for Gawker to appeal.
    By having the trial in Florida, they will be forced to put up a 50M dollar bond if they want to appeal.
    The Gawker company don't have anywhere near those kind of liquid assets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Was Enda Kenny in it?

I'm suing you for that image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Does he have a tiny willy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

I don't seem to remember it hurting his career at all.

On the other hand, when he was caught on tape using the dreaded N-Word, that was effectively the end of his career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yikes. I just saw his photo. Is this a fetish porn thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Has anyone here seen it?

Not interested in watching it but I'd imagine he wears a little yellow bandana on his helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭bridgettedon

Nodin wrote: »
    The weird thing is, the tape was made without his knowledge - his dj mate made it of him shagging the dj mates wife (open relationship or something). When he left yer man came into the room and said something like "you know we could retire on that" to the missus. Very shitty stuff.

I know, who needs enemies when you have friends like that. I think it's despicable to record something like this without someone's knowledge. And then to distribute this online where millions can see. I think whoever did this to him deserves to be punished. It might stop other people taking videos without someone's permission or stop the publishing of a leaked sex tape. It is total invasion of someone's privacy. He tried to stop the publishing of the tape but Gawker ignored his requests.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I can see a future South Park episode about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Firewalkwithme

I love how the BBC article keeps referring to him as Mr. Hogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Was Enda Kenny in it?

Wasn't it reported that the dail servers that accessing porn was the 3rd on the list of google searches, explains a lot on why i heard Leprachaun Porn was high on Pornhub.

Look at Erin Andrews got $75m for someone putting in a peephole into her hotel room!!

I know, who needs enemies when you have friends like that. I think it's despicable to record something like this without someone's knowledge. And then to distribute this online where millions can see. I think whoever did this to him deserves to be punished. It might stop other people taking videos without someone's permission or stop the publishing of a leaked sex tape. It is total invasion of someone's privacy. He tried to stop the publishing of the tape but Gawker ignored his requests.

Indeed. Yer man was some bollix. It's a shame he didn't get hit for some cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

It will obviously be much lower upon appeal, but it couldn't have happened to a worse entity.

Gawker & the rest of the "Gawker-verse" is about as bad as 'internet news' gets.

(Though Deadspin/Foxtrot Alpha have some good articles).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭bridgettedon

Wasn't it reported that the dail servers that accessing porn was the 3rd on the list of google searches, explains a lot on why i heard Leprachaun Porn was high on Pornhub.

Look at Erin Andrews got $75m for someone putting in a peephole into her hotel room!!

She didn't get 75 million for someone putting a peephole in her room. She was stalked by a man and the hotel told this man when she would be staying at the hotel and gave him a room beside her. Its a lot of money but the majority will pay for legal costs. The man spent time in jail for posting this video online and for stalking her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

She didn't get 75 million for someone putting a peephole in her room. She was stalked by a man and the hotel told this man when she would be staying at the hotel and gave him a room beside her. Its a lot of money but the majority will pay for legal costs. The man spent time in jail for posting this video online and for stalking her.

I meant to say, she sued for $75 million, but i dont think she got the whole lot.
    How long has this court case being going on? as she was a pitchside reporter for Fox Sports & if she wasn't well known, she certainly is now!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 171 ✭✭JimmySnails

A JURY HAS awarded Hulk Hogan $115 million after his court case against Gawker Media.

Hogan, whose given name is Terry Bollea, sued Gawker for posting the edited video showing him having sex with his then-best friend’s wife.

The former wrestler has said he didn’t know he was being filmed when the video was made.

Gawker’s editors contended the video and an accompanying post was a newsworthy commentary on the ordinariness of celebrity sex videos.

The jury sided with Hogan and awarded him $55 million in economic injuries and $60 million for emotional distress.

http://www.thejournal.ie/hulk-hogan-lawsuit-2668840-Mar2016/

Highest paid porn star of all time? One movie. $115 million. Surely that's Gawker dead in the water and out of business too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

It's basically revenge porn so proper order, although the sum will probably be reduced...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

Birneybau wrote: »

26 hours: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=99109595&postcount=218

Then again, I'm a wrestling fan, so naturally I'd be one of the first to hear about it.

Snailspost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The amount is pretty high, but apparently Gawker went out of there way to piss off the court, so I can understand this.

Also, it should be pointed out that Gawker are massive hypocrites, when other celeb nudes were stolen, Gawker were happy to jump on there high horse, and criticism other web sites, but when they did the exact same thing, they were suddenly all about free speech, when they were frankly no better than the web sites they criticized.

Having said all that, they really have only themselves to blame, they could have settled this a long time ago, but now it looks likely they may go bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Apparently Hulk got screwed big time in his divorce. Funny at how that happens with high earning men.

Gawker are going under and this 115 million awarded to him will never be paid to him in full. You can't get blood out of a stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

wes wrote: »
    The amount is pretty high, but apparently Gawker went out of there way to piss off the court, so I can understand this.

Also, it should be pointed out that Gawker are massive hypocrites, when other celeb nudes were stolen, Gawker were happy to jump on there high horse, and criticism other web sites, but when they did the exact same thing, they were suddenly all about free speech, when they were frankly no better than the web sites they criticized.

Having said all that, they really have only themselves to blame, they could have settled this a long time ago, but now it looks likely they may go bankrupt.

Who in under feck is gawker and how is it sensible to award anyone that sort of money. Has America gone mental again???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

timthumbni wrote: »
    Who in under feck is gawker and how is it sensible to award anyone that sort of money. Has America gone mental again???

You can surely google Gawker, there a media group, and main site Gawker is a gossip site.

As for the award, I do agree, that it is way, way over board, but if you read about the case, they basically ignored a court order, where they were suppose to take down the story on the sex tape, and basically acted really, really stupid in front of jury. The more I read about this, the more I believe they brought the crazy high amount on themselves.

wes wrote: »
    You can surely google Gawker, there a media group, and main site Gawker is a gossip site.

As for the award, I do agree, that it is way, way over board, but if you read about the case, they basically ignored a court order, where they were suppose to take down the story on the sex tape, and basically acted really, really stupid in front of jury. The more I read about this, the more I believe they brought the crazy high amount on themselves.

Aw fair enough. I thought gawker was a porn site. I don't care what they did 115 million dollars is an obscene amount of money. I really think America has lost the run of itself.

This is full on crazy ****, even more ridiculous than wrestling itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Bit more complexity to the breakdown of the settlement amount than just "America" or "America gone crazy" I'd say. Huge country with many different jurisdictions.

The sum does seem disproportionate, but what a bunch of unethical arseholes Gawker are.

It's not an obscene amount. It's mostly based on lost earnings and he has lost a lot of stuff because of the video. The guy has another 20+ years where this video could very plausibly cause -$5m / year.
    If you don't understand that, you probably think crashing into a Ferrari is the same as crashing into a Lada.

Also, the 115m figure is before punitive damages as well which could run very high because Gawker flat out ignored two court orders requiring them to take down the video and even posted an article proud of the fact they were doing it.

The court also found the owner and chief editor personally responsible so they could lose a lot.

And in Florida, $50m has to be put in a bond before they can even appeal, which they'd likely lose because of their conduct and they definitely don't have that much anyway.

One insane part was the chief editor during a disposition being asked what celebrity sex videos he wouldn't release. He said children. When asked how young, he replied "under four". Fuk him. I hope the settlement goes to a billion and wipes out the dickhead owner's 300m personal fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It's an obscene amount of money and a sign that various systems need to correct themselves

smurgen wrote: »
    It's an obscene amount of money and a sign that various systems need to correct themselves

If you knew for a fact that his lost earnings would come to that, would you call it obscene?

It's not an obscene amount. It's mostly based on lost earnings and he has lost a lot of stuff because of the video. The guy has another 20+ years where this video could very plausibly cause -$5m / year.
    If you don't understand that, you probably think crashing into a Ferrari is the same as crashing into a Lada.

Also, the 115m figure is before punitive damages as well which could run very high because Gawker flat out ignored two court orders requiring them to take down the video and even posted an article proud of the fact they were doing it.

The court also found the owner and chief editor personally responsible so they could lose a lot.

And in Florida, $50m has to be put in a bond before they can even appeal, which they'd likely lose because of their conduct and they definitely don't have that much anyway.

One insane part was the chief editor during a disposition being asked what celebrity sex videos he wouldn't release. He said children. When asked how young, he replied "under four". Fuk him. I hope the settlement goes to a billion and wipes out the dickhead owner's 300m personal fortune.

I can assure you it is a very obscene amount of money. Methinks the yanks are getting carried awAy with themselves again..

If you knew for a fact that his lost earnings would come to that, would you call it obscene?

I'm not smurgen but I would call it an obscene amount of money. Lost earnings my arse. Anyone who doesn't think that amount isn't obscene must be a complete clown.

So that means you think a man earning that much is obscene.. Not the settlement? Because my question to smurgen took Hulk Hogan out of the equation and just took it back to the basics.

It's quite clear that if a victim loses that money in earnings, they should be compensated. If you're saying that they shouldn't, you should give a reason.

So that means you think a man earning that much is obscene.. Not the settlement? Because my question to smurgen took Hulk Hogan out of the equation and just took it back to the basics.

It's quite clear that if a victim loses that money in earnings, they should be compensated. If you're saying that they shouldn't, you should give a reason.

First world problems mate. It's no wonder everyone laughs at the American legal system. I think it's bad over here but jaysus we are but amateurs compared to the yanks.

What's a first world problem? This has nothing to do with America. Lost earnings is a huge part of any country's legal system.

If you were a doctor and I somehow caused you to be unable to work, would you sue me and my insurance for your doctor's salary or minimum wage?

You need to start giving some answers or reasons here or simply admit that you don't understand the concept.

What's a first world problem? This has nothing to do with America. Lost earnings is a huge part of any country's legal system.

If you were a doctor and I somehow caused you to be unable to work, would you sue me and my insurance for your doctor's salary or minimum wage?

You need to start giving some answers or reasons here or simply admit that you don't understand the concept.

Well let me be clear here. I don't give a flying feck all squared about some yank fake wrestler with an inflated sense of his own importance.

Are you one of those clowns that go to wrestlemania and shout at the bad guy because like its so real dude???

Well let me be clear here. I don't give a flying feck all squared about some yank fake wrestler with an inflated sense of his own importance.

Are you one of those clowns that go to wrestlemania and shout at the bad guy because like its so real dude???

You win. You're right. You are the better debater. You should be proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

The first think Gawker did was post the video again so fcuk them I say. Not because I give a **** about Hulk Hogan (fcuk him too tbh) but they only have themselves to blame with their ****ty attitude.