Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ZZ Top?

• 18-03-2016 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭

I grew up having to listen to these chaps and I have to say I still don't understand their popularity. Can someone explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

The power of the beard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Sharp dressed man has awesome opening - great driving song.

Nice Solos in it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I grew up having to listen to these chaps and I have to say I still don't understand their popularity. Can someone explain?

That was a terrible end, but near the beginning things were much better....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

They had beards before they were cool - hipsters squared.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The only member of ZZ Top who doesn't have a beard is their drummer....called Frank Beard. True story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

People like what they like.

I personally like them but then again guitar driven bluesy rock would be 1 of my fave genres.

I don't see the appeal of modern rap, Adele or any of the rubbish currently in the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Nodin wrote: »
    That was a terrible end, but near the beginning things were much better....

Now that's cool.:) Never heard it played like their later stuff was through the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Don't know what you're talking about....

Seriously though, did you see them the last two summers in Cork? They're feckin brilliant live, Im hoping they'll be back again this year. Also, €35 a ticket for a quality show, hard to beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

The prosecution in the Pistorius trial started their case with that song.

True story.

Now that's cool.:) Never heard it played like their later stuff was through the 80s

Some guy on one of the old pirate radio stations used play that with a comment along the lines of 'This was zz top back when they were good' - ye won't get that now.

The prosecution in the Pistorius trial started their case with that song.

True story.

Better that than "Pearl Necklace".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Be careful with that song if you work in a hospital by the way.

Especially near the amputee ward.

They can get really tetchy if you play it on repeat.

While skateboarding through the ward.

Not that they can catch you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I liked the spinning guitars. And also the juxtaposition of the drummers hirsuteness - mullet and tash against the relatively short hair but long beards of the main two buckos.

Be careful with that song if you work in a hospital by the way.

Especially near the amputee ward.

They can get really tetchy if you play it on repeat.

While skateboarding through the ward.

Not that they can catch you.

I will heed that warning :D

That 'Yeah' @ 0:17 and the single most beautiful guitar I have ever seen.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Schwiiing wrote: »
    That 'Yeah' @ 0:17 and the single most beautiful guitar I have ever seen.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

:D:pac: coz they are

Not many buachaills who could look effortlessly cool with pink fluffy guitars.

Any excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

All their songs from the 80s sound like the same song.

But it's a good song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

C'mon woman they were funky

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Great Band, gimme all your loving is about blowjobs too!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

ZZ Top were a staple on Fab Vinny's MT USA RTE Sunday afternoons- ah those were the days ! Quirky band but cool videos !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

No mention of La Grange? Has a great solo in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Cheap sunglasses is one of their better songs.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CkiQCE7sFxw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

a8ba041cdc92dc5007c6e0c38aca4d4f.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Fcuked if I can understand the attraction to their music.

I thought they were sh1te years ago and I haven't changed my mind.

Some decent women in the videos but I still think they are crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

mzungu wrote: »
    The only member of ZZ Top who doesn't have a beard is their drummer....called Frank Beard. True story!

Their hillbilly credentials are pretty impeccable as well. Not only have they a band member called Dusty Hill but he also accidentally shot himself in the stomach with his own gun. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Their hillbilly credentials are pretty impeccable as well. Not only have they a band member called Dusty Hill but he also accidentally shot himself in the stomach with his own gun. :)

Dusty is also related to Hank Hill :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Justin Bieber exists and you have trouble understanding the popularity of ZZ Top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

I always saw them as 'murica's version of Quo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Always saw them as a bit of a gimmicky band, who'd have you bored to death 20mins into their set.

Hits were catchy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The videos were shown all the time on MTV, if they did not make those videos they would not have sold nearly as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I came here to post this, good work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭dasdog

That little old band from Texas released some great albums over the years and Billy Gibbons is a quite unique guitar player which is a very rare quality. It's unashamedly blues rock which just works. Great show in Cork a few years ago and playing Glastonbury this year I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Probably the best ZZ Top song imo.. over and above every tune on Tres Hombres, its from 1970

There is a long intro but its worth the wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Isn't Billy good for blues heritage etc.

He was instrumental I believe in getting Muddy Waters' old cabin saved and but into the museum in Clarkesdale.

I think he also had a guitar made from some of the wood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

topper75 wrote: »
    Isn't Billy good for blues heritage etc.

He was instrumental I believe in getting Muddy Waters' old cabin saved and but into the museum in Clarkesdale.

I think he also had a guitar made from some of the wood.

Hendrix said that Gibbons was his favourite guitar player at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭ceekay74

Some great stuff from the 70's, tacky crap from the 80's