Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you be consuming alcohol today?

• 17-03-2016 2:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭

I saw a similar poll on the journal. So are you drinking today?

If so how many?

I'm working but wouldn't be anyway :pac:

How much will you be drinking today? 214 votes

No alcohol
    0%
    Yes: 1 pint
    63%
    entropitony 2 tonepaddymanSarnrainbow kirbyHoward the Duckapplehunter[Deleted User]Mick Shrimptonenglanderm5ex9oqjawdg2ic - 13THEZAPPANarcissusGordon GekkoRiesen_MealCrookedJack[Deleted User]Kurtosisdotsman 136 votes
    Yes: 2-4 pints
    3%
    ShenshendmapreludeAsianDub[Deleted User]dark crystaldaniels.ducksmonkeysnapper 7 votes
    Yes: 5-8 pints
    14%
    Gonzobytethe_sycoomahaidSleepyKevIRLSparkoBeardySiRoryMacThat_GuySuperS54mookishboyCruelCoinirelandroverClashCityRockerjackwiganMcChubbinHerb Powelljack presleyriffmongous 31 votes
    Yes: 9-12 pints
    6%
    Krusty_Clownweldonyermandanwillowthewispdmca77Inspector CoptoorSlipperyPeopleold_aussieLETHAL LADYhellyeahDuckworth_LuasfussyonionTim the Enchanter[Deleted User] 14 votes
    Yes: 12+ pints
    1%
    [Deleted User]B.A._BaracusStigura 3 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    3%
    foggy_ladSEPT 23 1989Kenny Powersbrummytomdmc17plastik90mooseknunkle 7 votes
    Yes: half bottle wine
    2%
    ElWalrusgrizzlyadamsAnesthetizefancy pigeonSantaClawNuw 6 votes
    Yes: full bottle wine +
    1%
    runawaybishop[Deleted User]yellow76Books4you 4 votes
    Yes: spirits
    2%
    howamidifferentbadabing106daisybelle2008roy rodgersfox_1973prinzeugen 6 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Couldn't think of anything I'd rather do less. And I do enjoy a pint now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Not a drop. Went for pints last night. Today is for relaxing and tidying and going out for a walk - standard boring (yet kinda enjoyable) stuff. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

Not a hope in hell, just back from a ten mile walk with the dog, feet and paws up for the rest of the day and plenty of tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I'll have a few sociable libations when I'm finished my shift at 20.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Yes...

Already I've had 2 coffees and now I'm enjoying a glass of water.

Can't wait to get home as I've a nice bottle of milk chilling in the fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Dunno, probably have a couple when watching Liverpool finish the job against United later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Nope, only non alcoholic beverages will I be drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

I added a poll folks, hope that helps.

Personally I gave up alcohol consumption about 5 months ago. It was extremely tough in the beginning and every now and again when big events come up.

Saying that it's only my decision and I have no problem with anyone getting hammered with me on a night out. Everyone for themselves :p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I refuse to go to the pub today. Will be full of Cheltenham idiots this afternoon, and this evening the Mancs scum will descend to cheer on their team against Liverpool

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I'll be having a a few guinness after boxing training, I'm looking forward to it, haven't been to an Irish pub in months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Not finished work till 9.30. If my friends are still in he pub by then I might pop in for 1 or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

We've got some beers in the fridge, I might have one with dinner.
    Other than that, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I refuse to go to the pub today. Will be full of Cheltenham idiots this afternoon, and this evening the Mancs scum will descend to cheer on their team against Liverpool

Charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

So far my St Patrick's day holiday has been unusually late getting up (having said that, I'm generally up at 6.45 for work anyway so I wake up at that time now :D), cuppa coffee, laundry, cuppa coffee, discovering my laptop's battery is thoroughly dead and has sneakily updated itself to Win 10 and now the volume button isn't working, sigh. Washing up, thorough houseclean including beating the rugs outside...cuppa coffee.

Yeah, more interested in coffee than alcohol! Although there's a Kopperberg in the fridge that's been there for a few weeks. It'll get drank at some stage, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Nope. Am off booze for lent anyway but battling a chest infection so I'm on two doses of antibiotics and they're upsetting my tummy so no way I want to introduce booze into that equation.

sullivlo wrote: »
    Nope. Am off booze for lent anyway but battling a chest infection so I'm on two doses of antibiotics and they're upsetting my tummy so no way I want to introduce booze into that equation.

Erk, hope you're well soon then! Chest infections are manky to live with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I'll head out for a few at around 5 or 6 but I'll be off home once the Man United/Liverpool game starts. Fear it'll be a bit messy.

So, on an Irish website on St Patrick's Day, over seventy per cent say they're not drinking. We're letting our stereotypes down! Or possibly the people that will be going out drinking are already out and thus not posting on Boards, I guess! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I chose to provide support cover so the junior guys could have the day off as I've always found Paddy's Day a tedious holiday full of drunken eejits making a show of themselves.

I have the whole office to myself and it's wonderful. Spotify playlist on and getting tons done. Will have a few beers at home with Mrs Sleepy tonight but more because it's a Thursday and we always have a few on a Thursday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

I'll be off my bol****s when I get out of work at 7 after working in the sun all day!

Student life has its beauty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I'm on antibiotics, so only a fee whiskeys for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

Had a lovely glass of red wine at home a while ago, a big one, and that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

I'm a recovering alcoholic, so no! Was in town for a while earlier, lots of drunk 13 year olds stumbling around the place. Can't say I felt any temptation to join them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Yes: half bottle wine
    A smidgeon of craft beers as I cycle between pubs on my fixie bike

I had one delicious pint of Guinness and was tempted to stay out for more but refrained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I had one delicious pint of Guinness and was tempted to stay out for more but refrained.

Is your avatar small... or really far away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

F****

Did'nt see Atari Jaguar option. I voted the first option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I was gonna go for one or two after work as one of the old guys had arranged his leaving do this evening. I was then kindly reminded by MrsTeal that I had to drive to the airport to collect her sister. That's way more fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

No I won't be drinking today and even if I was, I don't think I'd bother going to a pub. Passing by today on the way home from the parade and the pubs were packed out the door.

Was invited out, didn't fancy Dublin city centre, and my Wicklow friends aren't around. So although it does feel a bit anti climatic I'm still happy to sit in and watch TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Thought I would but didn't bother and I'm delighted, had a lovely day with my family enjoying a day together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Spent the day in Kilkee with my family, at the beach and along the cliffs.

We are all pretty tired but I do have one bottle of beer in the fridge which I'll probably have later.

Definitely won't be going out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Would have been one of the zero drink but we were in a nice group watching parade and we all had one pint of the black.

Then went for long walk with kids as ques for bouncy castles and the cold drafty place they had them in was cutting .

But in general there was nice atmosphere and pubs were quiet enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Nope. Pregnant.

Himself is having a few though and he wouldn't be a big drinker. He hasn't had a drink since Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

None for me today! Hate town on days like today- way too busy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Having a glass of wine. May have another. May not. Nothing to do with the day though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Deep Six

Drank from 11:30-6, sober again now and regretting not going to off licence for more stock. At least it's not **** Friday for another week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

Had a great day in kilkenny with the kids, had a glass of wine when I came home, and am still drinking wine now, in my pjs on the couch I know illl be sorry in the morning but I dont care im enjoying myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Pablodreamsofnew

Don't drink. I couldn't imagine anything worse than being in a packed pub right now, with a load of drunk idiots. I used to love going out and drinking in my early 20s and after a few years the hangovers got worse and worse and I just thought, what's the point? It helps my husband doesn't drink either.

I'm an old fart now (31)

Well, turned out I did have a drink, if you count a Bailey's coffee as drinking :D

Was very nice too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Sitting at home, slightly regretting not going out? Watch this to bring all the atmosphere of Temple Bar into your living room.

Yeah, you're glad you're at home now, aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

63% not drinking?

hmmm.

Beginning to wonder if Boards polls are of any actual use re snapshot of the general population...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

None for me. Had enough last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Working today, working tomorrow, so only had two bottles of cider whilst playing ARMA3 with the lads.

Do I miss this; http://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,110 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Small bottle of beer before dinner and a jigger of brandy after.
    Very agreeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ArtSmart wrote: »
    63% not drinking?
    The poll is biased; 63% of people not in a pub are not drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

the_syco wrote: »
    The poll is biased; 63% of people not in a pub are not drinking.
    Well I'd assume that Boardies know how to translate pub measure (i.e, the pint) into non-pub measures (i.e, the pint glass or pint)

But...ye never know. :D

63% Of a group of Irish people not drinking on Paddy's day?

Not a typical group methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I don't drink at all as I don't like drinking alcohol myself. But I don't mind people drinking it while in moderation. My mum suggested though that herself and I should have went to the pub earlier today even she doesn't drink the stuff. No big loss as we didn't go after all. Probably all for the best on a day like Paddy's day.

Yes: full bottle wine +
    Saving ourselves for the weekend here. Never really did like midweek drinking. Big house party planned. Wine beer Cocktails and insane quantities of meat and food. BBQ and garden pizza. Music. Jacuzzi. Big screen projector ready for the rugby. Probably be a 36 hour party session all told before people start collapsing into sleeping positions or heading home. Wohoo.

Do not drink much myself - especially as being the host I can not get too out of it - but I will likely allow myself above average for the weekend :)