Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who was the weird kid in your school and what did they do that made them so?

• 16-03-2016 10:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

/\ /\ /\ What is this??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

treefrail wrote: »
    This biracial guy came to our school at the start of 2nd year. He seemed normal. Two week later there was a rumor that he was a satanist. Apparently he told someone that he should ask the devil for help in his exam. I was stunned but still wanted to befriend the lad.

Then another rumor came that he had attempted to change his sex as he was unhappy being a man. This now made me wary of him. I didn't know whether to think that it was just boys making BS stories or him being very weird.

I talked to him and he seemed nice and polite.......Then he asked me in German for a blowjob. I decided tell him to come to the bathroom to see if he was really joking or not. Not to make fun of him (I never spread rumors about him, but to see if he was just an attention seeker or really just weird). I then started pretending to unzip my pants. I was waiting for a "stop dude......I'm joking" but he had a smile on his face. So I immediately said " You didn't think I was serious did you?" and he proceeded "Well".....

We're still good friends and he stopped being weird at around 5th year. And he's currently working for Google.

Need to work on the ends of your anecdotes dude.

Just like that young lad's day, your story was a bit anti-climactic.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

So he asked you for a blowie and you unzipped.
    That's just rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I was the weird kid everyone made fun of and got made to do stupid ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

The weird one in our school turned out to be a rapist who is just out after a long stretch behind bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 ifritzero

hmm , I came into this thread expecting to hear stories of kids maybe eating leaves or bugs but all I read was blow jobs and rapists :'(

So he asks for a blowjob and you think he wants to blow you? Some one is weird, might not be him.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Not weird per say, but back in the mid 70's a German family bought a farm locally and their son came to our national school. He had no English and needless to say, no-one had any German. He was the best climber I ever saw. If the teacher displeased him (common enough occurance) he would bolt from the classroom and outside. In a flash he would shin up the gutter downpipe to the roof, run up the roof and sit on the ridge, refusing to come down untill 3pm.
    We thought he was brilliant, the sight of our battle-axe of a teacher outside begging and pleading with him to come down was priceless.
    Urus Angermann, where are you now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I'm gonna put on me serious hat for this one mate.

Two or three kids that stood out as being "weird" back in my day, were prob misdiagnosed back then.

Two guys in particular spring to mind, one in me class, very quiet an socially awkward, but super intelligent, and another used to be be uber obsessive about particular shít.

Roll on twenty/thirty years now, and I've kids of me own, and am increasingly seeing kids in their classes, one relative, and one close neighbour that have been diagnosed with aspergers, or being autistic.

Looking back now, I'm almost bloody sure that, that's what those kids had back then also, but back then we as kids hasn't been made aware of any such conditions. (Lack of education and awareness)

Kinda feel like a bit of a dick now looking back for making them kids the butt of so many jokes, and generally rippin the piss out of them.

But hey, in hindsight we were only kids back then ourselves, and there's no denying the fact, kids can be cruel little sadistic bastards.

I often wonder how them guys faired out in life. I hope as time went by they got the help they obviously needed back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

treefrail wrote: »
    So I immediately said " You didn't think I was serious did you?" and he proceeded "Well"......

So he gave you one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Well one who was socially arkward but seemed harmlessly odd, Was in the Sunday World on Sunday gone and will be spending the next 5 years(which aint enough) in Portlaoise

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Don't recall too many TBH. I recall one lad in the year below me who was later diagnosed as schizophrenic, but outside of a couple of one off episodes he wasn't that weird really. He seemed to "grow out of it" too as I bumped into him years later and he appeared fine. Looking back I only knew one guy who was probably autistic spectrum/aspergers, but he was largely left alone as he was very quiet. Painfully shy if you did put the talk on him, but nice type of a chap. One guy was weird alright. Probably some condition or other. Ended up being a priest I believe.

That was an all boys school. When I repeated the leaving cert in a mixed environment with a larger catchment area there were a couple more who were odd. But one thing that really stood out for me(and peers who'd gone to all boys schools) was a larger percentage of young women with emotional/mental problems. Obviously a minority, but it was more prevalent, or at least obvious(suicide attempts, anxiety, depression, ED's and the like). This was back in the 80's, so mental illness/conditions were lot less obvious than it appears to be today, but then maybe we were all nuts and hadn't been told yet. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

*cough* Well, honestly, I was the weird one! I was painfully shy and a bit of a dreamer, so I'd be off in my own little world half the time. Loved reading, disliked sports, especially team sports. Slow to mature as a young teenager, and I was at the younger end of the class anyway. In some ways I was probably two-three years ahead of most of the rest and in other ways, I was a good three years behind. Bad experience with a gang of young fellas that decided to have a go at a lone kid which made me very wary of males in general which probably kept me a bit apart from the rest when they were talking about going out and shifting some young fella and all the rest. I had a little group of misfits, including one girl who was put in with us without any explanation of her learning difficulties or why she spoke and moved like she did (I still don't know what was wrong with her.) And just on occasion if I got really pent up (and I was socially anxious and very self-conscious), I'd blow up and yell at someone, including a teacher once or twice, so that likely didn't help.

I was also inclined to take the back of any even weirder ones that were being picked on and defend them. But most of them left over time and so I ended up on my own with a few people in every year that would have a go at me. No-one was particularly inclined to defend a weirdo so overall my school years weren't the happiest of my life.

Still, once I went to college I came out of my shell and had a blast. But even now when I visit home the old habits start to creep over me (bar the explosions)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I was the weird one and I was damn proud of it.

Bit like the above I'd be really quite and shy and then out of nowhere go ape **** at a teacher.
    I loved being weird though and did lots of other weird ****. I had terrible hygiene as well which added to it

Most of the other kids were cool with me though. They seemed to enjoy my antics and were even a bit protective if someone was being an asshole.

I did have a few mental health issues that I'm only understanding and sorting out now, which would explain the negative aspects of my weirdness. The positive aspects just make me interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Not weird per say, but back in the mid 70's a German family bought a farm locally and their son came to our national school. He had no English and needless to say, no-one had any German. He was the best climber I ever saw. If the teacher displeased him (common enough occurance) he would bolt from the classroom and outside. In a flash he would shin up the gutter downpipe to the roof, run up the roof and sit on the ridge, refusing to come down untill 3pm.
    We thought he was brilliant, the sight of our battle-axe of a teacher outside begging and pleading with him to come down was priceless.

Have you looked on the roof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

The guy who was in to cos-playing and dressing up as cats. In an all-boys school it was pretty far-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

He pulled down his pants frequently and shat down a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

There was a kid in my school that brought hummus and crackers and weird-ass vegetables for his lunch.
    Nobody knew what to make of him, with our sangwiches of corned beef on pat the bakers bread with way too much butter.
    His mammy was waaayyyy ahead of her time :D

Yep, one of the more grotesque ones.

The weird kid in our school did 6 years for some pretty depraved attacks on young boys during his late teens.

He was 4 or 5 years older than me. When I was about 10 I was in his house one night with another friend and he wanted us to come with him to his swimming pool. My friend's father insisted on accompanying us, saying it was dangerous. I wonder, looking back, if he sensed something. Anyway, may well have spared us from some very dark episodes and memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

ifritzero wrote: »
    hmm , I came into this thread expecting to hear stories of kids maybe eating leaves or bugs but all I read was blow jobs and rapists :'(

This would be in the early 80's - believe or not as suits.

Came round the corner towards the area where the lads in the year above used to have a smoke, to be nearly trampled to death by a mass scatter. Apparently they'd all been standing there when one of their crowd - a known mad bastard - came walking along, later than the rest. A smart remark was passed - yer man laughs, sez something to the effect of "yez are some shower" (jokingly) while making an odd face. He then reaches back , pulls down his strides and - more or less- shits into his hand and throws it at them.

Yes, there was poor girl who wouldn't talk to anyone, no matter how friendly, and would sit alone rocking slightly and sometimes mumbling to herself. I remember several teachers being particularly attentive to her, so I guess they were privy to more of her life than her classmates were. A couple of times the Mean Girls would have at her, but she was so universally recognised as being fragile that they were herded off her by the rest of us. I never saw her parents, in all the time we were in secondary school together. It was like she was all but abandoned.

I really hope things turned out okay for her.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

We had what could be described as an ensemble cast of weirdo's and oddballs in my school.
    There was the guy who looked really sick that didn't have a school bag that locked himself in the toilets during breaks and for about 15 minutes straight after school until the crowds cleared. He used to get abuse shouted at him regularly.
    Looking back now, I realise that he wasn't a weirdo and just had his own sh*t to deal with.
    We also had the guy that used to walk around singing and dancing and talking and talking about how he was going to be famous. He actually went on to be a famous singer.
    There were the few goths that crowded in a corner and chanted to each other, on the outside that would seem weird, but really they were all sound lads.
    There was also someone that took a sh*t in one of the sinks in the bathroom.
    There was the guy that only accepted that he would work for Nasa and paraded around in the nip in the chenging rooms before and after PE.

But at the end of the day, we are all weird and unique in our own ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Some weirdo who one day decided he would only wear tutu's to school.
    Which even in The Netherlands was kind of eccentric as i wasnt in a ballet school.

But to be fair, that entire class was rather weird. Failing the year was done en masse as was the exam year.
    Still friends with a couple of them.

No idea whatever has become of tutu guy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

I was one of them, I don't buy into this idea that everyone who acts differently has some sort of syndrome, quiet and unsociable people like myself are viewed as mentally ill yet all the loud people who never shut their mouths are viewed as perfectly normal, people who spend their weekends in bars and weekend drug users are viewed as normal in modern society too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I was one of the "weird" ones in my school. Like most in Ireland it was a CBS secondary and was all about hurling. I was the guy wearing black clothes with chains and New Rocks. I was the guy who often sat alone, smoking a cigarette and writing songs or poems. I was the guy everyone called a freak, a goth, Marilyn Manson. I loved it. I loved being the outsider, the one people didn't understand so they feared and abused.

I am now the one who can say fvck you all you shower of ignorant pr!cks. For those who took the time to befriend me and know me I was and still am quite a sound guy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Two guys in particular spring to mind, one in me class, very quiet an socially awkward, but super intelligent, and another used to be be uber obsessive about particular shít.

Roll on twenty/thirty years now, and I've kids of me own, and am increasingly seeing kids in their classes, one relative, and one close neighbour that have been diagnosed with aspergers, or being autistic.

You shouldn't assume that people who have a different personality have a mental illness, that is ignorant in my opinion. Not everyone can be the same. It is always the socially awkward people who get stigmatised with this unlike the overly social people who talked all though class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

A class-mate of mine used to masturbate with a Bic biro during lessons. We could see what she was doing under the desk. It was bad enough that she was **** herself in public but what was even worse was the glazed look on her face as she went on. Not pleasure or pain but a weird detached expression on her face. Very disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I was one of the "weird" ones in my school. Like most in Ireland it was a CBS secondary and was all about hurling. I was the guy wearing black clothes with chains and New Rocks. I was the guy who often sat alone, smoking a cigarette and writing songs or poems. I was the guy everyone called a freak, a goth, Marilyn Manson. I loved it. I loved being the outsider, the one people didn't understand so they feared and abused.

I am now the one who can say fvck you all you shower of ignorant pr!cks. For those who took the time to befriend me and know me I was and still am quite a sound guy!

And a rammstein fan?

I was obsessed with Star Trek when I was in school.

Then I became a metal head who didn't dress like a metal head.

Wasn't all that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

DrumSteve wrote: »
    And a rammstein fan?

I was obsessed with Star Trek when I was in school.

Then I became a metal head who didn't dress like a metal head.

Wasn't all that bad.

Rammstein maniac more like :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

When I was around 9 a new girl came to live in my estate and joined our class in school. She was absolutely bonkers. She was a sort of tough guy character from Grease come to life. It was a very sedate ladylike all girls school and having her around was like being in an ongoing episode of Home and Away, we were all fascinated to see what she'd do next. She arrived into school with a box of 20 cigarettes one day claiming to be a regular smoker and lit up, she used really bad language to our teacher leaving us all open mouthed, she had a new boyfriend every few days where none of the local 9 year olds were in that league at all. She was also worryingly well informed on all matters sex related but had a few key details very off kilter so her tales of her exploits were very bizarre indeed. We didn't believe any of it but were enthralled none the less.
    Her thing was stealing from her boyfriends, she would go to their houses and take tokens of their affections for herself. Once she helped herself to one boys mother's ring. His sister was in a class above us and every lunchtime for a week war erupted in the playground at lunch when this girl would demand the ring back and Lorr would play the hysterical ex wife in a dallas-esque bitter divorce roaring about how she had got it when she was in a relationship, she had loved him, now he was gone and by christ he was not breaking her heart AND getting away with the ring.
    She was always having a fight with someone and constantly required an audience for these melodratic showdowns.She was very light fingered and pretty much procured a little something for herself from everyone by the time she breezed back out of town as her family moved abroad. It was definitely a highly entertaining period of 3rd class though while it lasted.

I often wonder what happened to her and I've searched online to find out a few times but she had a very ordinary name so it's impossible to find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

You shouldn't assume that people who have a different personality have a mental illness, that is ignorant in my opinion. Not everyone can be the same. It is always the socially awkward people who get stigmatised with this unlike the overly social people who talked all though class.

While I agree, I also think its fair to say that general public awareness of mental health issues and disorders has been raised over the past couple of decades so in retrospect many of us can look back and realise that there were some kids who needed help or medical intervention but that whatever conditions they had just werent recognised back then.

Of course there were plenty of kids with no mental health issues or disorders and they were a bit on the odd side also and turned out fine.

Certainly I remember we would characterise some people as "a bit slow" when in fact today they would be considered to have one learning disability or another and actually be provided with a lot of help - back then it was sink or swim.

But there were also perfectly ordinary people who later said they were suffering one way or another.

I remember organising a reunion and a quiet type of chap from school who was very nice but just very quiet told me that although he appreciated the invite that his school days had not been happy and he had no good memories of the people or the place so would rather not attend the reunion. I was very surprised. Id had no idea in school that he was unhappy at all.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I don't think there were any weird kids in my school.

Oh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

libelula wrote: »
    There was a kid in my school that brought hummus and crackers and weird-ass vegetables for his lunch.
    Nobody knew what to make of him, with our sangwiches of corned beef on pat the bakers bread with way too much butter.
    His mammy was waaayyyy ahead of her time :D

Or probably more like, she was a witch!!
    The guy who was in to cos-playing and dressing up as cats. In an all-boys school it was pretty far-out.

A lad who was in my class in early primary school, used to think he was Spiderman. Nothing really wrong with that (let children use their imaginations) but he really thought he was Spiderman, not that he was pretending to be him.

By the time he got to secondary school, he was obsessed by Batman. He was a year behind me at that stage (I don't remember when he was kept back) but he was harmless enough and as far as I know, is a fully functioning member of society now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

I went to a primary school in a pretty rough area, and looking back, a lot of people had a lot of heavy stuff to deal with.

There was one guy who I would say now certainly was on the autistic spectrum.
    (My brother is autistic and they pretty much match up) but as kids sure we just knew him as the "weird one".
    He had "tics" and when he got stressed they came out, or he screamed running around a lot. He was rather quiet and done things to "prove" himself to the older boys.
    I do remember I was near him by the red benches one day and he clapped his hands together then started crying (he caught a wasp mid clap - how do you even do that??) :confused:

I think I also was one of the odd kids, mainly just by being ill a lot and being quiet and non sporty.

Plenty of scumbags but now I feel more sorry for their home situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

They were all rounded up into the one class in our primary school, the maula class. At the time everyone was jealous because it appeared that they had to do no work.

Not the weird one, but I was kinda the odd one out in the early years of secondary school. Not popular enough to hang around with the popular kids in the class, but too popular for the nerdy kids to let me hang around with them either. It probably didn't help that I would rather read comics (before they were fashionable) and listen to music than interact with either of them. During transition year and the emphasis on social activities for the class it changed and everyone mingled a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

For a long time in school I was the weird kid. I was very quiet, over weight, hated sports and I was pretty much a "goth". I wasn't really though but apparently wearing Metallica/Megadeth/Slipknot hoodies, badges on my school jumper and being into art made me one. I had a small group of friends and we hung out the far side of the school, away from everyone else. We were content in our weirdness. We'd get hassle from some of the stupid knob heads but majority of the time we were left alone.

However I was dethroned as queen weird kid. This other girl joined the school when I was in fifth year. She was in third year along with my brother and she happened to be in a few of his classes. She started hanging out with us a couple of days of starting into school. My brother found out and used to scold me on it. Apparently there was rumours circulating that she was a schizo and a druggie.

Didn't believe it at first but a couple of weeks went by and she started to go a bit queer in herself. One morning we're walking down the corridor, chatting away. There was one of the boys I knew, big into GAA, minding his own business. As he passes she turns around to him and starts screaming all sorts of abuse at him. Apparently he was supposed to have muttered "****ing whore" at her but I know for a fact he said nothing.

Another morning, she came in with her hair plaited and had a ribbon running through the plait. It looked pretty and a few girls complimented her on it. She freaked out on one girl though and threw her into a bank of lockers over nothing.

One afternoon on lunch break, we were sitting in our usual spot. Over comes herself, and plonks down besides us. We don't take much notice of her. A few minutes later she pulls out a compass from a mathematical set, lifts her skirt and starts carving her thigh open. I caught the compass out of her hand and had a go at her over it. She just started laughing at me, telling me it was harmless. She also proclaimed that she liked the sight of blood and wanted to lick it..

I hate to say it but we started distancing ourselves from her. She was unhinged and she was liable to attack/assault anyone. She ended up getting kicked out of school because a teacher her saw her pull a flick knife from her boot and put it in her locker.

Looking back on it, she did have some major mental health issues.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mozzeltoff wrote: »
    I hate to say it but we started distancing ourselves from her.
    I'd not be in any way ashamed of doing so M. As you said;
    She was unhinged and she was liable to attack/assault anyone.
    That's being naturally self protective. Some people are just dangerous loons and best avoided.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Is being trans sooo weird

wakka12 wrote: »
    Is being trans sooo weird

When? Now, no idea. When I was in school you wouldn't have been allowed in. Had you been allowed in you would have been doomed and nobody would have thought anything wrong as to your fate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

When we were in first year, about six months in, we were out on the football pitches doing laps when a stray dog ran in the gates.

One of the "rougher" lads started laughing, called the dog over and started to **** it off.

Yep, in front of his new schoolmates...he wanked off a dog. Laughing the whole time as if the depraved freak was expecting us to laugh along.

The freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nodin wrote: »
    When? Now, no idea. When I was in school you wouldn't have been allowed in. Had you been allowed in you would have been doomed and nobody would have thought anything wrong as to your fate.

I'd still worry about people transitioning when they're still at school. Firstly because I think they should be over 18 before making such a drastic decision and secondly because of the potential reaction to them from fellow classmates. Children can be absolutely cruel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

There was a kid in my class that decided to become a Muslim when we were in 6th class, he told all of us that everything we knew was false. Imagine that at 12?. I met him about ten years ago and he was still a devoted Muslim. He then proceeded to tell me the earth is flat and God is real and we are in some sort of birdcage.

????

There was a kid in my class that decided to become a Muslim when we were in 6th class, he told all of us that everything we knew was false. Imagine that at 12?. I met him about ten years ago and he was still a devoted Muslim. He then proceeded to tell me the earth is flat and God is real and we are in some sort of birdcage.

????

We were in familiar territory till we heard the last bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The weird kid in secondary school ended up trying to inhale gas where her friend was smoking and ended up in an explosion, she was badly burned and I think she still wears gloves.
    I dunno what she's at now, think it's childcare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Don't think we had any weirdos, small class in primary, smaller again in secondary so everyone had their quirks and got away with them.

Some kid in 1st class alright usd to come to school in shorts and eat flax seed for lunch, or bird seed as we called it, that's the extent of the weirdness really.

Though a guy who was in the same class as us until 6th class later went on to rape his girlfriend/ex girlfriend and did time for it. He was always a quiet fella in class, just the clichéd fell in with the wrong group and went heavy into drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭jony_dols

Nekarsulm wrote: »

I assume he's working alongside the Macedonian government, devising climb-proof fences!

We had a bit of a class divv. As part of our history class in 6th year, we had an NI school down for a week as part of a cross border intergration programme. After studying history for the previous 10 years, we were all pretty well versed on the Plantations ect, and even moreso after the exchange. At the goodbye ceremony, we had a last Q&A with the teachers & students, your man was mute all week and sincerely pipes up: Sir, what did they plant during the Plantations?

I believe that, that line set back the peace process by a decade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

One guy was weird I thought, kept to himself extremely sarcastic and defensive and argued non stop with every teacher. He Becomes millionaire in late twenties!

Another guy I went to school with, not I'm my class but I often played snooker and pool with him had a serious temper, fly off on trivial things and he was very intense at times and you could sense he was suffering mentally. His mental health deteriorated alot over the years and when he was in his early twenties he murdered his girlfriend horrifically painting her name in blood as she lay dying etc. Was national news few year ago.Hes in prison now, sadly she had a toddler from a previous relationship. Never expected him to kill someone as people seen him as "harmless" and he had a very unassuming nature but those that knew him understood there was a warped mind behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

There was a guy in my class in secondary school who I always felt very weird and uncomfortable around. He had an extraordinary interest in all sorts of military weaponry and guns in particular - he even had a local newsagents import "Guns & Ammo" especially for him. He used to talk about Robocop like it was a documentary and would often come to school dressed in full combat gear. He was also huge (average height but built) and a meat head. He had some crazily extreme views for a teenager about killing basically everyone in the world who wasn't on the same page as him. To this day every time there's a mass shooting in the US I genuinely check to see if he's the shooter - not even joking about that. I have no idea what became of him but I would suspect he's either a gun for hire in some sort of private army in a war zone somewhere, a US marine, dead, or an accountant.

I went to secondary school in Galway City by the way!

I think one of the reasons I possibly felt weird around him is I was over 2 years younger than him and in the same class as him. He was at the older extreme of the class age profile where the next youngest after me was a full year older than me. I'm sure a lot of my classmates probably found me to have been very quiet and shy until after I turned 15 though so hey, who am I to judge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I was definitely one of them in primary school, but there was a strong field of contenders for the title. My sister on more than one occasion did things like pulling clumps of her hair out or eat bugs for various reasons (people annoyed her, people dared her, she just felt like it). One girl used to drop to her knees and thank the goddess of the wind when she was overheated from running around, and started a religious war one lunchtime because she got really into Druidism. But I used to pretend to be a shape-shifting fox-person with her, so I won't judge.

I was pretty odd in secondary school and suffered for it for the first few years, I wouldn't say I was bullied but definitely isolated. Really wish I could have maintained the kind of IDGAF weirdness I had up until the age of ten or so, started being very shy and sensitive and basically terrified and hating myself when social pressure started being a thing I paid attention to. I'm twenty seven now and it'd be nice to tell my thirteen year old self that she was a perfectly fine person, she didn't need to be upset over any of that nonsense and she wouldn't give half an absentminded shít about what those people thought pretty soon.