Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'This is what misogyny looks like'

• 07-03-2016 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭

Woman speaks out after thug punched her on Dublin street 'for being queer'

This is what misogyny looks like. This is what being a ****** looks like,” Ms Curtis posted alongside an image of herself after the alleged assault.
    “This is what happens [to] women on Saturday nights walking home with their friends.
    “This is what being punched four times in the faces looks like because you're a queer.”
    She continued: “This is what happens when we call them out.
    “This is what will keep happening if we keep ignoring and accepting their behaviour.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/this-is-what-misogyny-looks-like-woman-speaks-out-after-thug-punched-her-on-dublin-street-for-being-queer-34518135.html

In my day it would have been called homophobia. I can't keep up with all the changing definitions of words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

The definitions haven't changed. One of the joys of the English language is we can use different words to express ourselves.

I suspect she's alleging that the skanger in question possibly wouldn't have punched a 6'2" tall gay man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

The definitions haven't changed. One of the joys of the English language is we can use different words to express ourselves.

I suspect she's alleging that the skanger in question possibly wouldn't have punched a 6'2" tall gay man.

no, she's alleging consent courses are needed in colleges because this is Ireland 2016 and all men behave like this unless otherwise told not too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I had the **** kicked out of me as a kid, while having dyke roared at me, because I wasn't attractive or girly. So yeah, it was both misogynistic and homophobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

something tells me that a consent course is not going to stop that scumbag from punching a woman 4 times in the face..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This is what awful journalism looks like. The Indo doesn't even seem to have interviewed her, just taken the information from facebook.

At the end of the day, nobody should be subject to comments like that and nobody should be assaulted on their way home, male or female.

I completely disagree with the assertion that "this is why consent classes are needed".

The kind of troglodyte who assaults someone on the street won't pay a blind bit of notice to "consent classes".

no, she's alleging consent courses are needed in colleges because this is Ireland 2016 and all men behave like this unless otherwise told not too

Some segway there! Good to see there's absolutely no hidden agenda in your post and you're keeping a completely open mind to the forthcoming discussion.

I had the **** kicked out of me as a kid, while having dyke roared at me, because I wasn't attractive or girly. So yeah, it was both misogynistic and homophobic.

and if they beat up a gay man while shouting "queer", where does the misogyny come in to it?

Some segway there! Good to see there's absolutely no hidden agenda in your post and you're keeping a completely open mind to the forthcoming discussion.

did you read the article, i suspect you haven't tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Consent courses? Thats a little bit misguided. The guy who allegedly did this is a wanker, and no amount of college courses would change that. Its also lazy journalism, copy and paste a Facebook post and a few comments and pass it off without any work on their part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

"This is why consent classes are needed in colleges"

So consent classes are going to stop drunken scumbags assaulting people on the streets ( with men much more likely to be assaulted ) ?

Dingbat feminists see misogyny everywhere.

and if they beat up a gay man while shouting "queer", where does the misogyny come in to it?

What? I suppose you could argue that effeminate traits in men being regarded as bad is misogynistic, but why is this relevant to this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

This is what misogyny looks like. This is what being a ****** looks like,” Ms Curtis posted alongside an image of herself after the alleged assault.
    “This is what happens [to] women on Saturday nights walking home with their friends.
    “This is what being punched four times in the faces looks like because you're a queer.”
    “This is what will keep happening if we keep ignoring and accepting their behaviour.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/this-is-what-misogyny-looks-like-woman-speaks-out-after-thug-punched-her-on-dublin-street-for-being-queer-34518135.html

In my day it would have been called homophobia. I can't keep up with all the changing definitions of words.

what's your point?
    Seems like you're having a go at her for her post perhaps not being 100% coherent, which is probably understandable given she was posting about having been punched in the face on a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

keano_afc wrote: »
    Consent courses? Thats a little bit misguided. The guy who allegedly did this is a wanker, and no amount of college courses would change that. Its also lazy journalism, copy and paste a Facebook post and a few comments and pass it off without any work on their part.

Sometimes there's just no cure for being a c*nt.

I read the article and ignored the bit that seemed to be an angry reaction of someone lashing out who's just been assulted. I dealt with your assertion that definitions of words had changed as that's how you framed your question. You then decided to piviot the discussion to what you really wanted to talk about.

Fair enough, if you'd be good enough to clarify your points with words you're sure of the definition of, that'd be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

This is why consent courses are needed in colleges.

FFS. Consent to what, punch someone in the face?

I thought consent classes were for sex, not punching gay people in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Dingbat feminists see misogyny everywhere.

Nice attitude towards someone who's just been assaulted.

Stay classy Tommyboy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

Why would someone who assaulted another person need a "concent course"? Genuine question.
    My understanding of concent course is that someone who sexualy assaulted another would need to be sent there. Not someone who has punched a person for "calling them out"! In my day if you call someone out your literally asking for a fight!
    How did the guy know she was a lesbian in the first place if the group was just walking down the road? Where they holding banners or something to that effect?

What? I suppose you could argue that effeminate traits in men being regarded as bad is misogynistic, but why is this relevant to this thread?

in was in response to your previous post, perhaps it was not relevant to this thread either
    I read the article and ignored the bit that seemed to be an angry reaction of someone lashing out who's just been assulted. I dealt with your assertion that definitions of words had changed as that's how you framed your question. You then decided to piviot the discussion to what you really wanted to talk about.

Fair enough, if you'd be good enough to clarify your points with words you're sure of the definition of, that'd be great.

They could include the definitions in the consent classes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

gumbo1 wrote: »
    Why would someone who assaulted another person need a "concent course"? Genuine question.

I suppose it comes from the fact that he told them to strip and show them their arses first.
    How did the guy know she was a lesbian in the first place if the group was just walking down the road?

He might have made a guess based on how they were dressed? Or perhaps two women were holding hands.

It can be quite easy to guess some people's sexual orientation. But then again I doubt whether this sort of person would care if he was right or not - he was just being a c*nt no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Guessing the consent course would apply to this comment:

Writing on Facebook, Ms Curtis claims she was punched four times by the man after she told him “it wasn’t cool for to tell us to take off our trousers… and show our arses”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Poor woman does not deserve to be treated like that. Consent classes are not needed as would do zero to discourage this behaviour from scumbags. Consent classes simply organise stereotypes.

Isn't there a lot of cctv on Camden street. I'd say there's a good chance the gardai could track down who's responsible.

gumbo1 wrote: »
    How did the guy know she was a lesbian in the first place if the group was just walking down the road? Where they holding banners or something to that effect?

Eh, sometimes the way someone looks can give you a fair idea. Not trying to be smart here, just sayin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Am I bad for saying the pic on facebook just looks like she's a bit 'worse for wear' after a night out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭12Phase

I'm extremely sorry to see this happened and it's a horrible attack and is clearly both homophobic and misogynistic but also just symptomatic of the total lack of consequences for assault here.

The problem isn't some college lads who haven't attended a course, it's about feral scumbags who roam the streets here with total impunity beating the **** out of random strangers with almost no consequences.

It's an issue to do with the judicial process and enforcement of law.

We should be able to walk the streets of any city or town in Ireland without feeling that we're likely to be beaten up for any reason.

Night after night people are being attacked, beaten up, attacked with bottles, syringes, fists, you name it for all sorts of random reasons.

Patrick's Day will roll on and undoubtedly some tourists will get beaten up for no reason. There'll be more random assaults and we'll all wring our hands and call for 'something' to be done but then the system will let people off with suspended and very weak sentences.

The big problem is that : This is walking down an Irish street and being unlucky enough to trigger your local violent thug who senses any kind of difference, weakness or reason to attack.

We shouldn't be putting up with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Sometimes there's just no cure for being a c*nt.

Exactly. Scumbags are scumbags. Chances are the kind of people who feel the need to punch someone, unprovoked, arent the type in 3rd level education. And I dont think thats an unfair generalisation.

in was in response to your previous post, perhaps it was not relevant to this thread either

I was pointing out that it was possible for an assault to be both misogynistic and homophobic at the same time.

You could have called the thread "my excuse to bitch about feminists", it would make it easier to stay on topic in your opinion.

Tombi! wrote: »
    it wasn’t cool for to tell us to take off our trousers… and show our arses”.[/I]

Jaysus, I can't go to mass without being told to take off my trousers.... and show my arse.

Then again, I am an altarboy. :pac:

You could have called the thread "my excuse to bitch about feminists", it would make it easier to stay on topic in your opinion.

No.... that would be misogynistic. These classes could get crowded :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Stay classy Tommyboy.

By calling the person who carried out the assault a "drunken scumbag" I thought it was obvious where my sympathy lay.

But you knew this already.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Aye, but he/she has a point buried under that. Namely that if all you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail. The woman was assaulted by an utter scumbag, likely a homophobic drunken scumbag, little enough to do with misogyny and absolutely nothing to do with consent classes, but since she appears to have bought into these fashionable solutions to completely different issues, she applies it here.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

No.... that would be misogynistic. These classes could get crowded :pac:

So it is about those stupid classes? Why not just say that instead of having a go at a stranger who has been assaulted?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

AH isn't a news-dump.

Read the AH charter please.