Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Act of kindness

• 03-03-2016 12:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭

I came across a page on facebook called Dublin Acts of Kindness and they had a story that was featured on joe duffy yesterday.

It makes a difference to read something nice instead of the miserable shiite we are subjected to everyday.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1043374525724204&id=1020900521304938

I've no personal stories myself, but I have made the decision to try do a good deed every day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Similar story - I needed to attend A&E recently. I was going to ring a taxi, but I'd noticed that a neighbour a couple of doors down was a taxi driver and the taxi was in the driveway at the time, so I decided to knock at his door and ask if he'd bring me to the hospital ... obviously I meant as a paying customer, but he refused to take any money from me for it. Very decent of him, I'd never even spoken to him before this! Some nice people out there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

The amount of times I've been approached at bus stops in Dublin by lads looking for a couple of quid for bus fare to enable them to "visit their sick mammy in hospital". Funnily enough the few times (I'm well wise to it now) I actually fell for their spiel they walked rapidly away from the bus they were apparently anxious to get the fare for. It's nice to know (well as much as you can believe what's on Joe Duffy) that at least one of those sick relative in hospital stories is actually true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

cruais wrote: »
    I came across a page on facebook called Dublin Acts of Kindness and they had a story that was featured on joe duffy yesterday.

It makes a difference to read something nice instead of the miserable shiite we are subjected to everyday.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1043374525724204&id=1020900521304938

I've no personal stories myself, but I have made the decision to try do a good deed every day

Well, you've done just that .......... by posting!

More of these anecdotes will lift the national morale.

Great post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Yeah, its good to hear stories like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Custardpi wrote: »
    The amount of times I've been approached at bus stops in Dublin by lads looking for a couple of quid for bus fare to enable them to "visit their sick mammy in hospital". Funnily enough the few times (I'm well wise to it now) I actually fell for their spiel they walked rapidly away from the bus they were apparently anxious to get the fare for.

That reminded me of one of my run ins from a few months back.

I came out of the local butchers and was putting a bag into the booth when a local traveler walked by. As I closed the booth, I saw him turn and come towards me. He says really quietly that he needs a euro to ring his mother. Odd considering there hasn't been a public phone in the village in years. Anyway I shake my pockets and say I have nothing. But before I have a chance to move, he says that I have some in the car by the gearstick. The snake had peeked in the window while I was filling the booth. I tell him to take a hike anyway.

Later that day, the mother is at Centra and no surprise who she meets. This time, hes starving and needs a euro for some food. Well it was his lucky day, the mother swings open the back door and pulls out a bag of sandwiches and hands them to him. He didn't quite know how to react but certainly got more than what he bargained for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Just before Christmas I was driving home from work and I saw an old lady slip, she was looking after 2 young children, so I immediately pulled over the car in a long line of traffic and went to her aid. two other people joined me and we helped the lady onto her feet and walked her and the kids home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

I was in a FatFace shop just before Xmas, buying pyjamas and outfit for Little Kiwi, an elderly woman approached me and told me that she had a €40 credit note, but didn't like anything in the store, she asked me would I take it from her as they would not give her a refund. I was standing in line waiting to be served with several items, and I assumed she wanted me to buy it from her. Since I was spending that anyway, I agreed and got out the money. She handed me the credit note, refused to take the money off me, said 'Merry Xmas' and walked away before I could stop her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    I was in a FatFace shop just before Xmas, buying pyjamas and outfit for Little Kiwi, an elderly woman approached me and told me that she had a €40 credit note, but didn't like anything in the store, she asked me would I take it from her as they would not give her a refund. I was standing in line waiting to be served with several items, and I assumed she wanted me to buy it from her. Since I was spending that anyway, I agreed and got out the money. She handed me the credit note, refused to take the money off me, said 'Merry Xmas' and walked away before I could stop her.
    That's fantastic. What a sweet lady. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭KingMonkey

oh no,another one of these "do gooders" :pac: :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

kjl wrote: »
    Just before Christmas I was driving home from work and I saw an old lady slip, she was looking after 2 young children, so I immediately pulled over the car in a long line of traffic and went to her aid. two other people joined me and we helped the lady onto her feet and walked her and the kids home.

Thank you for this. I have been a young child in a similar situation and its very scary. My granny was minding me (still too young to be in school) and i knew we had to go collect my brother from the school bus stop. Thinking back it was clear she wasnt feeling the best but as a tiny kid i was more concerned that we wouldnt be there waiting for my brother when he got off the bus (little minds work in funny ways). Anyway on the walk around my granny collapsed on the pavement. There i was about 3 years old left all on my own standing beside her lying on the ground, i was so scared. I tried to wake her but not much a 3year old can do except wait beside her. Eventually a neighbour spotted us and helped out. My next memory of the event is sitting in my grannys house surrounded by neighbours and my mam coming home from work early. No idea what happened to my brother.

Anyway long story short, the relief i felt when i saw the neighbour come help still cant be described. Granny is nearly 90 now and fit as a fiddle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I'm very charitable and helpful so I am thanks.

I saw something really nice the other day. Something really touching.

My act of kindness was not to spread it on Facebook to garner likes. I didn't even take a picture of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

My act of kindness was not to spread it on Facebook to garner likes. I didn't even take a picture of it.

Share the story here then...don't be too cool :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It was an arse, a really nice arse... wasn't it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

When people give you their slip from the parking meter when it still has time on it. Makes me smile every time it happens. So now I've started doing it as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

We talk about bad news enough- no harm to share/spread a little kindness.

Where the story involves any element of identification, names, pics, I think the first act of kindness and thoughtfulness should be to ask all those involved if it's okay to go on the radio or to Facebook with it.

There was a story recently of a bus driver in Cork who helped an elderly passenger in some way or other with a pic of her on the street...my first thought was had anyone asked her did she want her face plastered all over social media with "bewildered vulnerable old dear" stuff.

Or remember this one that went viral...no one really wondered whether the man with special needs wanted to be part of a story doing the rounds. It seemed like he was the afterthought, his family were contacted after someone decided they would use it to harvest "likes"...

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/man-praised-for-holding-hands-with-stranger-with-disabilities-on-the-bus-to-comfort-him-a6689741.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Where the story involves any element of identification, names, pics, I think the first act of kindness and thoughtfulness should be to ask all those involved if it's okay to go on the radio or to Facebook with it.

There was a story recently of a bus driver in Cork who helped an elderly passenger in some way or other with a pic of her on the street...my first thought was had anyone asked her did she want her face plastered all over social media with "bewildered vulnerable old dear" stuff.

Or remember this one that went viral...no one really wondered whether the man with special needs wanted to be part of a story doing the rounds. It seemed like he was the afterthought, his family were contacted after someone decided they would use it to harvest "likes"...

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/man-praised-for-holding-hands-with-stranger-with-disabilities-on-the-bus-to-comfort-him-a6689741.html

I thought that was a lovely story about compassion for disabled people. Since the family confirmed details of his conditions to the newspaper and one of them wrote a note to thank the guy, it seems like they were absolutely fine with it. There's always a negative angle to any story, but you really had to look for it here, it's A heartwarming story, and one can only hope it inspires others to show the same compassion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Then did it really happen?

I thought that was a lovely story about compassion for disabled people. Since the family confirmed details of his conditions to the newspaper and one of them wrote a note to thank the guy, it seems like they were absolutely fine with it...

After the story broke.

At that stage the choice was taken out of their hands.

It looks like there was no effort to check before the person rushed off to Facebook.

If the family turned around and said they wished the privacy of their family member was respected, would it have turned into a bad story?

I'm not saying the stories should not be publicised, but with so many of these it seems that the possible wish of a family or person NOT to be the subject of a story going viral is incidental. It's like the new found social media interest in homeless people in the last 2 or so years, does anyone ask them if they welcome being photoed as the subject of some "pay it forward" Facebook campaign.

Great. A nice thread, about kind acts, and 8 of the 20 replies are negative.

Any chance ye can not drag the thread down and actually post some kind acts? You don't have to name names ;)

My friend is currently fundraising for her seriously disabled daughter, I've never seen so many people rally together to come up with fundraising ideas and to put those ideas into action. My friends is totally overwhelmed with the response.

Great. A nice thread, about kind acts, and 8 of the 20 replies are negative.

Not sure if you're counting mine, but I think respect for privacy and not intruding with a camera is an act of kindness, and positive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Got on the bus once, produced my leap card only to be told it was in negative then rummaged for change for a while and realised I had none. I told the bus driver I had to get off and that I'd get the next one. Some guy from the disabled seats shouts for me to wait, then he comes up to the front and produces his bus pass and says "This allows me to bring someone on the bus with me, he's with me."

I even met him years later and he still remembered my face, shamefully I didn't remember his face but I have that problem in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭justback83

When people give you their slip from the parking meter when it still has time on it. Makes me smile every time it happens. So now I've started doing it as well.

Me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Some people commit these random acts of kindness for the sole purpose of massaging their pathetic egos by plastering it on fb.

Anyway heard a nice one from the other day. A friend of mine is working/living in Dublin however had been commuting up until a couple of months ago. She'd been having trouble with the car the last few weeks so starting taking the bus. Unfortunately for her took the wrong bus one morning and didn't cop on until the last stop when everyone got off. The driver, despite having finished his shift, dropped her off to work. Thought that was really nice and unexpected of a bus driver to go out of his way like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I came off my bike one day and crashed onto the footpath. Fella in the car behind got out to check I was alright, as did a lady on the footpath. Another fella gathered up everything I dropped and handed them to me. Despite my battered body, I felt good. Its the way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I took the dog to the park on Sunday and when I got there I realised my tyre was flat. Anyway, never having changed a tyre before I got to wrestling with the hubcap when a lovely young man on a bicycle stopped and offered to help, even though he had no real clue what to do either. Anyway between the two of us and Wikihow we figured it out and went our separate ways. I wish I'd had something I could give him as a thanks but all I had was dog treats and a half-empty pack of soft mints.

Thank you, mysterious rowing man!

kylith wrote: »
    and a half-empty pack of soft mints.

Did you at least offer him the soft mints?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I flew back to Ireland last week to vote in the general election. On the Saturday night I decided to head into the local town for a pint. During the walk in I met a chap I went to secondary school with. He was with his child - a red-faced boy with the same unfortunate dental issues as his father.

We got chatting anyway. He asked what I was doing now and I told him I work in wealth management for a major European financial institution in Frankfurt. He works in a local medical device factory putting some sort of silicone spring in a device.

He told me his son was 'fierce smart' and that 'twoud be great if he ended up over in Germany buyin' stocks'. I then offered to send him a useful email if he gave me his address.

Flew back into Frankfurt on Sunday and sent the email. It included links to things like the Khan Academy, the Scratch programming language, online tutorials in learning German, advice on how to maximize the effectiveness of study, tips on balancing the academic and sport side of things as sport tends to dominate in schools down the country. Hopefully the father will use it to help his child.

JustShon wrote: »
    Did you at least offer him the soft mints?

He didn't seem keen on them.

Actually, does anyone know if more than one rowing club is in the Memorial Park in Dublin? Maybe I could drop in a cake.

kylith wrote: »
    He didn't seem keen on them.

Actually, does anyone know if more than one rowing club is in the Memorial Park in Dublin? Maybe I could drop in a cake.

A quick google shows that multiple clubs use the memorial park. Maybe you could drop a single soft mint into each club?

JustShon wrote: »
    A quick google shows that multiple clubs use the memorial park. Maybe you could drop a single soft mint into each club?

Good idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

The story that i came across yesterday was already on the radio so it wasnt put up without permission

cruais wrote: »
    The story that i came across yesterday was already on the radio so it wasnt put up without permission

Oh no no, in fairness to you wasn't suggesting that.

It's the person who initially rushes to the www that has me going "hmmmm". But particularly so if they give info (usually a photo) identifying the parties. This was another one where someone was hijacking another person's life for warm and fuzzy feelings and likes...with no evidence that the parties involved consented to the publication of what was a nice but private moment.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwPbeeSnIsQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Was in the shop buying a drink a few years back. I had headphones in.

Walked off after paying, not hearing my purse (with over €600 rent money in it) drop from my bag to the floor.

Rather than nick it, some bloke chased me down to hand it back to me, everything still inside. Wouldn't take €20 when I tried to offer it as a thank you.

Hope the man experienced some good luck for his kindness :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Sweet baby Jesus. :D each time I see AVB has posted I know it's going to be a cracker!!! :D

A few months ago I was around town when this frail old man was shuffling ahead of me. He was huffing and puffing and you could tell it was taking a lot out of him. I walked on and was sitting on a bench when the same old man, now with his son came shuffling towards me. The old man sat down next to me, out of breath and clearly unwell.

The son is trying his best to make him a bit comfortable. I asked the son if his dad was ok or if he needed help but he said no he didn't need help, his dad had cancer and was just a bit light headed.

Now I have a soft spot for most older people, and seeing him so unwell kind of frightened me, so I got up to walk away. I decided id just walk down to the shop, get him something with sugar in it maybe it would help. I picked up some chocolate and walked back to see if they were still there. I felt like such a weirdo giving him the chocolate but just handed it over and walked on.

Didn't wait around to see if he was ok but I hope he got home ok.

After that, just the regular stuff. I'll never give cash to homeless but I'll offer to buy tea/sandwich if I have money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Was in the shop buying a drink a few years back. I had headphones in.

Walked off after paying, not hearing my purse (with over €600 rent money in it) drop from my bag to the floor.

Rather than nick it, some bloke chased me down to hand it back to me, everything still inside. Wouldn't take €20 when I tried to offer it as a thank you.

Hope the man experienced some good luck for his kindness :)
    I think that's a basic moral obligation rather than kindness! And pure luck that it wasn't someone more sinister that picked it up.

armaghlad wrote: »
    I think that's a basic moral obligation rather than kindness! And pure luck that it wasn't someone more sinister that picked it up.

Offering him the €20 was an act of kindness on Penny's part though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I think it's kindness because there's no real recourse if someone picks it up and empties it. He didn't HAVE to give it back to me, he chose to.

I'm lucky he was nice enough to give it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Was having a weekend away with some friends. Anyway was late and us being greedy not wanting the night to be over went looking for somewhere we could aquire more drink. which we got. Heavens opened up. You know that you can barely hear someone beside you talk type downpour.

Walking back could hardly see 10 ft infront of us because of rain. Was then noticed someone lying down on a bus bench. My friend and I looked at each other. I said god damn you mam( because I heard her voice telling me to be nice. not drink related :D ).so we went over. turned out was an older woman. Asked her wtf she will get washed away. she explained she missed her bus home and didn't have any money other than a bus pass. Was a bit strange but getting soaked right about then.

We invited her back to the apartment we had rented for weekend. trying all the while to make her feel comfortable as possible being around 6 guys all pretty wasted. Gave her a towel and made her tea, gave her biscuits. offered her one of the rooms.she insisted she was happy with the pull out bed in the dining area. After chatting with her turned out she was released for the weekend.... What ever that ment.... Didn't want to be rude prying. Although trying not to judge. some of the guys slept with the doors locked :D.

Lady was gone next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭snowgal

Just before Christmas, I had 5 of those Dunnes spend 50 get €10 off vouchers. I had already done my 'big' shop so I went around looking for people with big trolleys and gave them the vouchers to put against the shop.They were delighted! Not that it cost me anything so not pure kindness but the thought that counts!

Me and OH found a wallet on the way home a few months ago (think it was also Christmas actually) alot of money in it. We brought it home (it was 4am) and tried searching for the name on facebook. Rang the credit card ppl to tell them if he rang we had it and not to cancel cards. Eventually got his number through a friend of a friend on facebook! He turned up the next day, muttered 'thanks where was it' and left...

After chatting with her turned out she was released for the weekend.... What ever that ment...

Pretty sure that means mental home (not sure of the politically correct phrase) patient who can be trusted to care for herself for a few hours who was let out for a day of shopping / walking / whatever.

Not like an insane asylum, just people with mental health issues who need professional help more often than can be provided at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

snowgal wrote: »
    Just before Christmas, I had 5 of those Dunnes spend 50 get €10 off vouchers. I had already done my 'big' shop so I went around looking for people with big trolleys and gave them the vouchers to put against the shop.They were delighted! Not that it cost me anything so not pure kindness but the thought that counts!

Me and OH found a wallet on the way home a few months ago (think it was also Christmas actually) alot of money in it. We brought it home (it was 4am) and tried searching for the name on facebook. Rang the credit card ppl to tell them if he rang we had it and not to cancel cards. Eventually got his number through a friend of a friend on facebook! He turned up the next day, muttered 'thanks where was it' and left...

Those vouchers have dates on them though, don't they. So say they send 5 vouchers, each one is valid for a week, for 5 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I was walking along when I noticed a woman on the opposite side of the road drop an envelope.
    I tried shouting over but she didn't hear (had headphones) so I ran over and picked up the envelope.
    It was stuffed full of cash (rent deposit maybe?) and I ran up to her to give it back.
    She turned around as if annoyed, just took the envelope and kept walking.... never even said thanks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

a red-faced boy with the same unfortunate dental issues as his father.
    Sweet baby Jesus. :D each time I see AVB has posted I know it's going to be a cracker!!! :D

It's the little digs that do it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭snowgal

Those vouchers have dates on them though, don't they. So say they send 5 vouchers, each one is valid for a week, for 5 weeks

yea they do but I was giving them to the people to use on their shop that day. People who had big shops so they could use them there and then...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Oh no no, in fairness to you wasn't suggesting that.

It's the person who initially rushes to the www that has me going "hmmmm". But particularly so if they give info (usually a photo) identifying the parties. This was another one where someone was hijacking another person's life for warm and fuzzy feelings and likes...with no evidence that the parties involved consented to the publication of what was a nice but private moment.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwPbeeSnIsQ

Can we just stick to the acts of kindness on this thread please rather than get into how social media/media works. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I applied for a local sprint triathlon last year but due to procrastination I missed the cut off for entries and the race booked out. I speculatively put up a facebook post to see if anyone who couldn't race was willing to transfer their spot (this was allowed by the race organisers). I got a pm from a guy saying that he couldn't make the race due to unforseen circumstances, he contacted the organisers and transferred his spot to me. To top it off, he said to not worry about the race fee (€50) and just enjoy the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Leaving work one day last week, I saw an elderly lady struggling to use her ATM. I think she may have been partially sighted and given that it was dark, wet and the street occasionally gets a few unsavoury characters floating around. She had a wad of cash in her hand, so reluctant to leave here I went over and asked if she was ok. She said she withdrew cash already and explained there's no receipt printed but would like me to check her balance.
    So I pushed her over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Some people commit these random acts of kindness for the sole purpose of massaging their pathetic egos by plastering it on fb.

Does it actually matter why they do it? If the product of narcissism is random acts of kindness, then I think that's pretty much the best you can hope for. People do far, far worse to garner attention.