Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much money to give a child for confirmation

• 01-03-2016 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭

How much do people generally give these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Give em a kick up the arse. I got £5 and a waterstones voucher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

What are they confirming, that I wasn't anywhere near the biscuit tin when all the biscuits went missing or that they didn't see what they thought they saw between me and Aunty Mary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

a set of rosary beads, nice ones. I have a stash of them here ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

Give them a children's Bible OP. Buck the trend and don't go down the money route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I think 20 euro is fair and if you really like them then 40.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Are they nieces nephews, your own children ? depends what you can afford really,twenty euro to fifty ? as i said depends on your circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Depends on your connection to them. I usually give them book vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I give €50 to my godchild / nieces, 20-30 if I know them relatively well, 10 otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Offer to buy their souls for fifty.

A confirmed soul is worth more on the second hand market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

€50 max. Whatever you can afford. It's easy to be principled about these things, but at the same time I can understand people not wanting to look like the stinge, however €20 is plenty for a kid you don't know that well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A tiara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

a shiny sixpence should suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Here, we're not in a recession any more. My godson came over dressed like Conor McGregor. I thought I was gonna get whacked if I gave him any less than €300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

We were always warned that the bishop gives you a smack in the face when he confirms you, but he never really does.

So I give them a smack in the face. Wouldn't want them to miss out.

(20-50 euro sounds right to me too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Give them a pound for an ice cream, especially if your name is Finnbar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

Are they nieces nephews, your own children ? depends what you can afford really,twenty euro to fifty ? as i said depends on your circumstances.

Whoa! Do you have to give your own children money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Nieces nephews or god children, 50 or so. Grandchildren Id say higher, maybe 100 but depends on your financial situation obviously.
    Good friends children, 20-30. Children you don't know well such as neighbours or whatever, maybe 10 as its more of a token than anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Why would you give them money, what have they done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

I would've thought 20euro is plenty! Sounds like it's going to go the way of weddings with giving ridiculous amounts...

wakka12 wrote: »
    Grandchildren Id say higher, maybe 100 but depends on your financial situation obviously.

A few different generations on this thread I suppose. I'd say kids born during or shortly before the Celtic Tiger would consider €20 tuppence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

100 euro minimum. Have they got the limo all set as well? Could pay for that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Give them something useful, give them a copy of The God Delusion or something like that, see if you can rinse that God shíte out of their innocent little heads.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

I think 20 euro is fair and if you really like them then 40.

:eek: Gardai calling over to you as we speak

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Ice Maiden wrote: »

A few different generations on this thread I suppose. I'd say kids born during or shortly before the Celtic Tiger would consider €20 tuppence.

Looking forward to these Recession kids who were brought up on eating the cardboard of cereal boxes and government issued cheese. They'll know what's what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Fella out of my job said his son made over 4K.... Big family. To say I was shocked was an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Jesus christ, this thing is a bloody racket.

Give them something useful, give them a copy of The God Delusion or something like that, see if you can rinse that God shíte out of their innocent little heads.
    As much craic for a 12 or 13-year-old as giving them a bible or prayer book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Jesus christ, this thing is a bloody racket.
    Friend of mine used to be a chef in the Spawell. The stories he told me about some confirmation do's would shock you, one being the girl arriving by helicopter and 2 grand behind the bar for the adults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

A trip to lourdes or knock depending on the price range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Give em a kick up the arse. I got £5 and a waterstones voucher.
    You lucky bastard, all we got was sixpence and even that was taken to buy the dinner. ah and you must've been really posh if ya could read in 6th class!
    mad m wrote: »
    Fella out of my job said his son made over 4K.... Big family. To say I was shocked was an understatement.
    That is just a sign that they all hate each other and are trying to get one up on other family members. the sort of family that are in the pub till closing while the kids are asleep in the corner or playing out in the pub car park.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

1 million dollars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

A copy of Richard Dawkins - The God Delusion. Even if I don't know any children getting their confirmation I stand outside the church with a stack of them and hand them out on the day.

Edit: Just saw someone already said this, note to self: read past the first page before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Money is useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Can I make mine again?

I give a holy bookmark picture/prayer & a tenner - IF I'm good friends with the family, and if its a godchild or particularly special child then its a holy bookmark picture/prayer & a twenty. And the shreds of my motheaten heart that is broken giving that much money away to a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭KingMonkey

i remember when i did mine i got 1 punt note off neighbour whos son was also doing his and in my class

i remember being buzzing about it

these days i give 50 to nieces and nephews ect who are doing theirs

some people might think thats excessive tho idk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭VickieVexed1

Last year my neighbour's daughter (we're not friends, as such) made her confirmation. We dropped in a card (€20 inside). The look on the kid's face said she was expecting €50. I wanted to punch her in the face, but apparently that's frowned upon if said child is about to be confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Don't give them any money, how about giving them a bit of your time though and taking them to the cinema or to McDonalds or something like that in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Seriously, why is money required? It's a religious event, what's money got to do with it. A pat on the back is enough.

FatherTed wrote: »
    Seriously, why is money required? It's a religious event, what's money got to do with it. A pat on the back is enough.

sorry for your loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

FatherTed wrote: »

Since when is religion not about money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

I think €20 is enough tbh. So many kids in our family it's kind of the agreed amount.

Have a godson have him €70. Same lad ended up with over €700 by the time he was finished getting cards. Madness.

when my nephew made his communion i bought him 4 bullocks

now he owns his own company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

XR3i wrote: »

A wise gift. Did you turn up at the church with them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

XR3i wrote: »

4 bullocks! Conservatively and without knowing the stats they'd have a value of 2k+!
    Do you want to be my uncle?

La.de.da wrote: »
    A wise gift. Did you turn up at the church with them :D

no unfortunately i was out foreign at the time,

my uncle done the cattle deal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Got a PS2 in 2002 with my confirmation money.

My nephew and neice are years away from this sort of thing. When the time comes I'll prob get them something physical (sports Jersey, concert ticket etc)

If I was giving money to any kid I knw 10/20 is enough.

All this stories about princess party's, carages, open bars etc would shock u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

If I become born again. Can I make my communion and confirmation again?