Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RAW 29-2-2016

First time in a long time I'm interested in Raw (to see where Shane Taker is going) but knowing WWE, they'll do something to **** it up and have me go back to skiping Raw most weeks.

Bravo WWE!

Hope the crowd **** on Reigns vs HHH at Mania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,541 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Honest to god, that Undertaker segment created more questions than it answered.

You genuinely do have to question the recruitment procedures at WWE creative headquarters. I mean fine, they can't always be expected to turn **** into gold, but they've far too prolific a record at this stage of turning gold into ****.

'Why is Undertaker going up against Shane McMahon? Just cause. That's why, now shut up wth all the questions we have to figure out how to get Roman more over!!!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,342 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

It's really bothering me, this Undertaker thing.

I know logic isn't WWE's strong point at the best of times, but this one is just píssing me off.

There is literally no reason why Taker should be taking this match. Yes, we might have to wait for that answer. I can hear some of you saying 'Just wait for it to play out', and I get that. But if that's what they're doing, it's fúcking stupid IMO. Just tell me Taker's motivation. Why should I care, if I don't know why one of the participants cares?

Moronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I don't really understand why people are still asking why The Undertaker is fighting Shane McMahon? It was spelled out pretty clearly for me last night. Vince McMahon is the boss of the WWE and he has basically told The Undertaker that that's what his match will be. I don't understand what people want to be explained to them on Monday Night Raw but sometimes it's okay to be left with questions going into the next week's edition of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,212 ✭✭✭✭briany

It seems likely at this stage that WWE will try to get Ambrose involved in the main event, somehow. I don't mean as an active participant, but to run interference on Roman's behalf and thus give Roman some second hand face love. That could be why WWE are building this antipathy between Ambrose and HHH in Roman's absence.

Undertaker will likely beat seven shades of s**t out of Shane at WM, only to have a crisis of conscience before pinning him, because of what beating Shane would mean for the WWE, and laying down for Shane instead. Literally pulling Shane's bloody unconscious body on top of him. Shane gets over for having taken the punishment and Taker gets over with an act of sacrifice.

I think it's going to be the other way around, when it comes down to it Vince will regret making the decision and it could turn into a scene where The Undertaker ends up beating the hell out of the McMahon family, and sets up an angle where he's a renegade within the company.
    The main event will be fine if they just keep up the intensity that they had last week and Roman Reigns "brings it" even half as much as he did last year. Everyone thought the match with Brock Lesnar was going to suck and it ended up being pretty good after all.

I think it's going to be the other way around, when it comes down to it Vince will regret making the decision and it could turn into a scene where The Undertaker ends up beating the hell out of the McMahon family, and sets up an angle where he's a renegade within the company.
    The main event will be fine if they just keep up the intensity that they had last week and Roman Reigns "brings it" even half as much as he did last year. Everyone thought the match with Brock Lesnar was going to suck and it ended up being pretty good after all.

'Taker sticking around for an angle with the whole McMahon family, and maybe then HHH also by association, would mean him showing up after WM. Given 'Taker's recent past as a basically one-shot performer, this is hard to envision.

Hard to see HHH/Roman being as intense as last year with Brock. Brock is something else as a performer and was really what sold that main event. Despite recent attempts to position himself as such, HHH is not quite the beast that Lesnar is. He's not such an immovable object and the outcome to the match feels predictable. There is no MITB winner waiting in the wings to cash in this time to swerve the outcome. Roman will likely be crowned champ at WM to a chorus of indifference and it's going to suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I don't have any hopes for that match at all. Hunter works a slow, deliberate style. Basically Reigns is going to sell for 90% of the match, do his boring comeback, and win. It's hilarious that Ambrose is far more suited to that style of match when you think about it.

Brock works a faster pace and his matches break down into brawls.

Gonna stink out the joint. Not the first time a HHH main event has bombed either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

briany wrote: »
    'Taker sticking around for an angle with the whole McMahon family, and maybe then HHH also by association, would mean him showing up after WM. Given 'Taker's recent past as a basically one-shot performer, this is hard to envision.

Hard to see HHH/Roman being as intense as last year with Brock. Brock is something else as a performer and was really what sold that main event. Despite recent attempts to position himself as such, HHH is not quite the beast that Lesnar is. He's not such an immovable object and the outcome to the match feels predictable. There is no MITB winner waiting in the wings to cash in this time to swerve the outcome. Roman will likely be crowned champ at WM to a chorus of indifference and it's going to suck.

You forgot the rock raising his arm with a chorus of indifference and it is going to suck

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

sky88 wrote: »
    You forgot the rock raising his arm with a chorus of indifference and it is going to suck

vf9yld.jpg

It was at that moment the Rock knew this was bad for business.

I don't really understand why people are still asking why The Undertaker is fighting Shane McMahon? It was spelled out pretty clearly for me last night. Vince McMahon is the boss of the WWE and he has basically told The Undertaker that that's what his match will be. I don't understand what people want to be explained to them on Monday Night Raw but sometimes it's okay to be left with questions going into the next week's edition of the show.
    That's fair enough, and it's the general principal on which all matches are made. I'm sure somewhere down the line they kayfabe have to be approved by management, but in terms of storyline development, that being the grounds on which a match is made, it doesn't work. Imagine if Vince just told Dean Ambrose his match at Mania was against Lesnar, and told Reigns his match was against HHH, without all the build and story development (I'm not saying it was all good), it wouldn't make for very high buyrates on PPVs. It's a style of booking that only really works in 'real' fighting like UFC.

Royal Rumble 2015 - You could tell the Rock was a bit rattled after the PPV in this celebratory interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Amazed people still stay up to watch Raw

1DbVQAD.gif

Bualadh bos Vince :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rolllo

Be some craic if Ambrose got the strap before 'mania.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Rolllo wrote: »
    Be some craic if Ambrose got the strap before 'mania.

Ideally...

Ambrose beats HHH for the title
    Reigns returns, says he still has his title shot, but knows there's no point chasing the title until he's dispatched HHH.
    Reigns beats HHH at Mania.
    Ambrose defends title against Brock.
    Next night on Raw, Reigns turns heel on Ambrose, giving out that Dean skipped the line, stabbed him in the back, etc.
    Reigns vs Ambrose, as a program, would have a few months of legs in it, especially when you factor in a face Rollins returning as well. Those three could legit dominate the main event between Mania and Summerslam, with ease.

What will happen...
    HHH beats Ambrose
    Brock beats Ambrose
    Reigns beats HHH
    Reigns vs Cena in a story no one wants.

What level of smarkdom can we expect in Dallas anyway? I know that Wrestlemania has become a pilgrimage of sorts for hardcore fans but when you're looking at, potentially, 100,000 fans, will the casual percentage be enough to drown out any dissent?

briany wrote: »
    What level of smarkdom can we expect in Dallas anyway? I know that Wrestlemania has become a pilgrimage of sorts for hardcore fans but when you're looking at, potentially, 100,000 fans, will the casual percentage be enough to drown out any dissent?

Nope, theres going to be enough people there who are disgruntled with the main event and they will **** on it big time. There is probably no solution for it other than Ambrose walking out with the title. If they've any sense they'll be having it that the winner of Ambrose v Lesnar gets into the title match as a triple threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,280 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Not forgetting that even if they try to drown out the boos at Mania if Reigns wins using fireworks and his music played really loud, they still have the post Mania Raw to deal with.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

CastorTroy wrote: »
    they still have the post Mania Raw to deal with.

They'll try to cover that up by saying "we're in bizarro world tonight"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,220 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Loughc wrote: »

"Ha ha, I love it Maggle!"

Loughc wrote: »

They could say that with some conviction regarding Cena because Cena originally enjoyed a groundswell of support that then soured. Roman has never enjoyed such support. Cole even said something about Roman this week or last to the effect of, "....whether you like him or you don't...", so there could be a begrudging admission on WWE's part that Roman is, in their words, divisive, rather than out and out unpopular. I think WWE's official line in the face of resounding boos, post-WM, will be stony silence.

CSF wrote: »
    That's fair enough, and it's the general principal on which all matches are made. I'm sure somewhere down the line they kayfabe have to be approved by management, but in terms of storyline development, that being the grounds on which a match is made, it doesn't work. Imagine if Vince just told Dean Ambrose his match at Mania was against Lesnar, and told Reigns his match was against HHH, without all the build and story development (I'm not saying it was all good), it wouldn't make for very high buyrates on PPVs. It's a style of booking that only really works in 'real' fighting like UFC.
    I'm not that bothered by it and it makes it seem like a more legitimate sport to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I get the logic behind having Hunter lay out Ambrose since Hunter is supposed to be the heel (although last week he forgot about that) and Ambrose is the most popular guy, but did he really have to bury Ambrose in the fecking promo too? The smirking and laughing when Ambrose said HHH was afraid of facing him was vintage 2003 Hunter resurrected.

Not giving an explanation on Taker's motives was ridiculous. You can say well Vince is the boss and he made the call but this is THE UNDERTAKER. He is not like the usual geeks on Raw that they emasculate and make look like a joke each week. He has stood up to Vince numerous times in the past. Hell, he grabbed him by the throat in that segment. So what's his motivation? Is it that he doesn't give a sh*t who runs Raw since he only turns up about twice every year? At least even saying that would have been an explanation.

And I ranted about this last week but sorry, the psychology is f*cked up here. You've got Taker saying he will do devastating things to Shane and the crowd cheered. They cheered. Because he's The Undertaker and he's beloved. And this was a Nashville crowd, not the home state crowd he will perform in front of at Mania. Then you've got Shane who is supposed to kick off this new joyous fan-friendly era and their big idea to kick it off is to have Shane defeat a hometown legend which may get a tepid reaction at best, at worst might see him get booed. Great logic.

This storyline would work so much better imo with an opponent for Shane that the fans actually hate, like Bray Wyatt. They have been building up the Wyatts for a few months now so there would be a bit of intrigue as people ponder how Shane could get the better of the entire Wyatt Family who would be ringside. But instead we've got this nonsensical storyline where Shane has to defeat probably the most popular guy in the building at Mania. I don't get it.

Also let's be honest HHH and Steph aren't going to be off TV for very long even if Shane wins. How long were they gone when Sting helped Ziggler defeat The Authority in that match? A month? Was it even that?

I find it all underwhelming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I can't see Undertaker versus Shane at Wrestlemania myself. Makes no sense.

Though they could have started this angle after the Royal Rumble and given it time to breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Calling it now, I sense shenanigans in the Shane/Undertaker match at Mania...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,878 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Calling it now, I sense shenanigans in the Shane/Undertaker match at Mania...

Yeah Vince will screw taker out of the win and side with Shane. Vince/Shane vs Steph/tripe h post mania with taker fighting for the authority

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,405 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I skipped loads of the show this week.

Stephanie, then Vince and Taker back to Vince killed off any anticipation I had for the feud with Shane.

First I can't stand the Stephanie character. She makes me fast forward.
    At this stage Taker has no reason to be involved
    Shane wasn't even on the show, not even a snippet of him training or something
    The idea that if Shane won it would lead to a power battle with Stephanie who as I already mentioned makes me fast forward.

AJ and Jericho v New Day is grand, but they have already had two matches and its weeks until Mania.

Ambrose v Triple H is a good way to fill time for both guys while Brock and Reigns are away.

Still have hope that Becky will end up in the title match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,475 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Yeah Vince will screw taker out of the win and side with Shane. Vince/Shane vs Steph/tripe h post mania with taker fighting for the authority

The way the camera stayed focused on Vince's face after his promo last night shows that he might be having second thoughts about feeding Shane to the Undertaker, he looked dissapointed in himself.

I might be giving them too much credit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,280 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Oh and Freebirds, like The Godfather, didn't get a proper video package. Wonder why they stopped. Cost saving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,878 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

martyos121 wrote: »
    The way the camera stayed focused on Vince's face after his promo last night shows that he might be having second thoughts about feeding Shane to the Undertaker, he looked dissapointed in himself.

I might be giving them too much credit though.

Ideal- Vince let's Shane pick a replacement and he picks Cena (prefer sting myslef) but Vince will be the special ref.

Vince's logic- I can also see an angle in which vince puts himself in the Shane/taker match as special ref