Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smartphones in the cinema

• 24-02-2016 6:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭

This is becoming an epidemic lads. People shining their torches when you're trying to immerse yourself in a film.

I'm not a confrontational person by any means but I've had to confront four or five different people over this.

Today was the worst though. I asked a girl beside me to stop looking at her phone and she just looked at me like I had two heads and continued. I asked cinema staff to sort it out. They popped their head into the screen but anytime they came in she didn't have the phone out. There was nothing else I could do other than attempt to strangle the b1tch.

What can we do about this lads? Maybe write to the cinema to ask them to mention it before films? It's a real pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

It is mentioned, several times. Dunno what it would take to get through to people who do it. I don't think it's uniquely Irish but the idea that 'those rules apply to everyone but me' seems to be a lot more prevalent in Irish society than others. If the cinemas actually acted on it by sending in someone of authority rather than some teenager who doesn't care/want the hassle, and had some actual consequences it might be a step in the right direction.

Mentioned it in the thread about the movie but when I went to see Deadpool there was a guy sitting a row or two in front with an e-cigarette, wasn't distracting for me but I reckon it was for those around him, couldn't help but think what an attention seeking dickhead.

Also had someone take out their phone at the end of the movie and record the after credits scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

I remember for several years many cinemas had a small trailer beforehand telling people not to talk, eat loudly, kick seats and so on but I've never noticed one mentioning the actual light on the phone.

I know smartphones are still fairly new so it's a new phenomenon but it's actually ruining the cinema for me. Plus it's a lose lose as for me the tension caused by the confrontation distracts me from the rest of the film anyway.

I'm guessing that maybe the clientele of a cinema like the Lighthouse may be better behaved but I've only been there a handful of times so it's just an assumption.

The cinemas could definitely do more but I guess it's a dilemma for them. They need the money of the masses to keep in business and typically the masses aren't cinephiles or people who care about good cinema etiquette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

They did some of those 'don't use your phone' adverts before Ted 2 right? I haven't seen those ads telling people to be more considerate in ages otherwise. Its a tough break OP. You start banning phones in the screen, or enforcing it anyway, and people will start slagging the cinema off and maybe stop going to it. Sucks but what can you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Towards the end of a movie recently a woman sitting a few rows down from me but directly in my line of sight started looking at her smartphone, making it very distracting for me to concentrate on the cinema screen. After about 30 seconds the guy sitting next to her (presuming it was a bf/husband) put his hand over her screen and she quickly stopped looking at it and put it away. One of the greatest moments I've ever experienced in a cinema. Faith restored in humanity. Enjoyed the rest of the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm waiting for the moment when I see someone in a theatre watching a pirated version of the very film we're in the cinema to see on their smartphone.

Then I'll know we've crossed the line and we can safely push the button and wipe out the species.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Fakman87 wrote: »
    There was nothing else I could do other than attempt to strangle the b1tch

Talk about sending someone where the smartphones don't shine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

6 knackers, deliberately kept sitting in the wrong chairs. proceeded to take their shoes off and put their smelly feet up on the seats in front, halfway during the film one of them answered a call, not a text, not checking the time, having a conversation.

Had a massive arguement with them and I got ****ed out as well!

and they wonder why cinema attendance is down. I bet its not down at This cinema in Texas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm waiting for the moment when I see someone in a theatre watching a pirated version of the very film we're in the cinema to see on their smartphone.

Then I'll know we've crossed the line and we can safely push the button and wipe out the species.

How about seeing a girl Snapchat and possibly Facebook a photo of the new Star Wars, taken during the movie she actually doesn't give a flying feck about?

That's annoying on a few levels. I was close to complaining but why should I have to miss a chunk of the movie over someone else? Like someone else said, it will be on your mind for the rest of the movie and hinder your enjoyment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I use Cineworld and they always have one of those public service announcement type things before the trailers. Usually it's actually a pseudo trailer for a movie masquerading as the announcement, the latest one is for Zooopolis for example.
    Tends to work well.

Get the occasional person checking the time or whatever but you'd only notice it if they're in front.

Having said that I'm probably overdue a loud talker now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Have to say, it never really bothers me, I'm good at zoning things out thanks to having 3 small children. :)

The thing with being in the public domain (cinema, restaurants, trains etc.) is that people will inevitably do things that may annoy you (not intentionally, usually) and there's not much you can do about it so why let it bother you? It's pointless.

You have to weigh up it up ......... which is greater, the enjoyment of eating out or the annoyance of the twat at the next table slurping his soup?

My wife hates the sound of people munching their popcorn ........ she prefers to watch movies at home.

The cinema staff can't really do anything about people using their smartphones during a movie, even if they wanted to, as the offending person would need to be doing it in front of a staff member .......... even then the staff member would have to weigh up is it worth distracting the whole audience by confronting someone in the middle of a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Fakman87 wrote: »
    I remember for several years many cinemas had a small trailer beforehand telling people not to talk, eat loudly, kick seats and so on but I've never noticed one mentioning the actual light on the phone.

I know smartphones are still fairly new so it's a new phenomenon but it's actually ruining the cinema for me. Plus it's a lose lose as for me the tension caused by the confrontation distracts me from the rest of the film anyway.

I'm guessing that maybe the clientele of a cinema like the Lighthouse may be better behaved but I've only been there a handful of times so it's just an assumption.

The cinemas could definitely do more but I guess it's a dilemma for them. They need the money of the masses to keep in business and typically the masses aren't cinephiles or people who care about good cinema etiquette.

Pretty sure either IFI or Lighthouse have pre movie ad about bright smartphones being rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

One of the reasons I gave up going to the cinema and just wait for blu ray in comfort of own home :rolleyes:

I only rarely go these day, too many problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Pretty sure either IFI or Lighthouse have pre movie ad about bright smartphones being rude.
    Lighthouse don't (although they should) but it is frowned upon by the staff there.

Funnily enough the only ever outright confrontation I've had with a phone user was in the IFI. Guess it was especially egregious to me there of all places.

e_e wrote: »
    Lighthouse don't (although they should) but it is frowned upon by the staff there.

Good thing about the Lighthouse is I find my signal goes when I go into the screens because they're underground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

In fairness the people who go to the Lighthouse probably don't have to told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

e_e wrote:
    Guess it was especially egregious.

Real IFI word there!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Funnily enough the only ever outright confrontation I've had with a phone user was in the IFI. Guess it was especially egregious to me there of all places.

Was it during a regular screening or at a festival showing? The reason I ask is because I had a few run-ins with idiots at the horror film festival a few years back over using phones in screens.

Don't think I've ever seen someone use a smartphone in a regular IFI or Lighthouse show.

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    Was it during a regular screening or at a festival showing? The reason I ask is because I had a few run-ins with idiots at the horror film festival a few years back over using phones in screens.

Don't think I've ever seen someone use a smartphone in a regular IFI or Lighthouse show.
    Bingo!

Somebody was on their phone through half of Short Term 12 too, this was after they added their warning about phones too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Some of my worst experiences have been at festival screenings. A couple of years ago at DIFF I got stuck in front of a bunch of dude-bros during a Japanese film who violently kicked and rocked the row every time something funny happened.

The audience at festival screenings very much depends on the film.

Some of my worst experiences have been at festival screenings. A couple of years ago at DIFF I got stuck in front of a bunch of dude-bros during a Japanese film who violently kicked and rocked the row every time something funny happened.

Guy during Sing Street (the festival's gala premiere this year) looking at his phone the whole way through.

This will sound petty but sometimes festival audiences can get annoying because they are laughing too hard, really trying to show everyone else that they totally 'get it'.

I've been at screenings of average enough 'smart' comedies at festivals but judging by some people's reaction we were watching classic Marx Brothers' stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Also had someone take out their phone at the end of the movie and record the after credits scene.

Why the hell would someone decide to record a part of the movie? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

They had one of those "turn off your phones" messages when I was in the Odeon (?) in Stillorgan back in October. Being bossed around by someone speaking in an English accent wouldn't do much for my cooperation if I was inclined to be disruptive ...

As it happens, I've always preferred to sit in one of the first few rows, so the opportunity to be annoyed by the antics of third-parties in front is limited. :)

It's a different story in the Concert Hall/equivalent. Not the kind of place you get smelly-footed scumbags, but feckin-eejitery is found in all classes where smartphones are concerned. :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    This will sound petty but sometimes festival audiences can get annoying because they are laughing too hard, really trying to show everyone else that they totally 'get it'.

I've been at screenings of average enough 'smart' comedies at festivals but judging by some people's reaction we were watching classic Marx Brothers' stuff.

I don't think that laughter is necessarily artificial or for anyone else's benefits. Festival audiences can just be a little over enthusiastic. During Sing Street this year parts of the audience laughed all the way through the serious scenes.

The festival audience definitely helped when I saw The Grand Budapest Hotel and Hail Caesar. Saw the former in a multiplex again when it officially came out and tumbleweeds could have blown through the screen with how unenthused and indifferent the audience was. Can imagine Hail Caesar's very specific humor of Hollywood and politics of the 1950s having people scratch their heads too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Tuesday at about 2pm you have your own Cinema.

Its my prefered time of choice means half day and if you do after a movie has launched your grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

buy a VR setup and you have your own personal cinema, just make your own popcorn