Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found wallet

• 19-02-2016 7:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of advice please, people of AH. I found a wallet on my rambles this morning and would like to get it back to its rightful owner. It was long emptied of cash by the time I found it (so there's no point trying to claim it as your own) but there are bank cards, drivers licence, and the like in there. No contact info that I can see.

What's the best way to get it back to them? Drop it to the Gardaí? Call the bank and ask them to call the card holder? Hire a private detective? Team of flying monkeys?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Google, FaceBook, LinkedIN, any work card in it? if that fails probably the bank.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

There's no address on the driving license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

kylith wrote: »
    Bit of advice please, people of AH. I found a wallet on my rambles this morning and would like to get it back to its rightful owner. It was long emptied of cash by the time I found it (so there's no point trying to claim it as your own) but there are bank cards, drivers licence, and the like in there. No contact info that I can see.

What's the best way to get it back to them? Drop it to the Gardaí? Call the bank and ask them to call the card holder? Hire a private detective? Team of flying monkeys?

The bank will find the card holder.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Flying monkeys 100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Graham wrote: »
    There's no address on the driving license?

Are you really the Garda Commissioner and have I broken your secret identity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

This happened to me once. I rang the owner and she came to pick it up, with boyfriend in tow glaring suspiciously at me. I say drop it in to the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Same happened me before, I found 2 wallets within 50 meters of eachother emptied of all cash. I tried facebook, google etc but no luck with either name.

The first had bank cards, library card etc so I called the bank, gave them the details on the card, they had a number on file for the customer and gave her my number. She called me 20 minutes later and was delighted.

The other had a load of cards in it too and one receipt from some electronic shop or something, the "account number" on the receipt for the guy was what looked like a mobile number so I sent a text at 5am when I got home saying I think I found his wallet and to describe it, met him later that day and got some wine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Dard23

cormie wrote:
    The other had a load of cards in it too and one receipt from some electronic shop or something, the "account number" on the receipt for the guy was what looked like a mobile number so I sent a text at 5am when I got home saying I think I found his wallet and to describe it, met him later that day and got some wine

I presume he gave you the wine or are you just filling us in on your activities that day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Send for the Atari Jaguar. More reliable than the flying monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Thanks for the advice folks. I called the bank and got in contact with him that way. I returned it to him tonight. Then I got a message asking if I'd stolen from him. Charming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Thanks for the advice folks. I called the bank and got in contact with him that way. I returned it to him tonight. Then I got a message asking if I'd stolen from him. Charming.

Best thing would be to deny that. If you want to steal more wallets again in future you have to have a good poker face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Found one early december last year in college was completely broke and in debt at the time.There was over 400 in it, didnt give it an exact count, I would be telling a lie if I said I didnt think about keeping it for a split second, handed it in to lost and found, looked the guy up on directory emailed him and nothing never heard any more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

mightyreds wrote: »
    Found one early december last year in college was completely broke and in debt at the time? There was over 400 in it, didnt give it an exact count, I would be telling a lie if I said I didnt think about keeping it for a split second, handed it in to lost and found, looked the guy up on directory emailed him and nothing never heard any more

The fecker, I hope you were lucky after it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

What? You contacted him after searching for him and he accuses you of being the one that stole your wallet? Some people are idiots.

jimd2 wrote: »
    What? You contacted him after searching for him and he accuses you of being the one that stole your wallet? Some people are idiots.

Not of stealing his wallet, but of withdrawing money from his account after I found the wallet. Because that's what thieves do apparently: they spend their lunchbreak on hold with a bank getting in contact with the people we rob from. Then we make two bus journeys to give all the bank cards back instead of selling them on to other criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Please stop stealing people's wallets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

What was he expecting though?

"Did you steal off me?"

"Um, yeah actually. I did. Soz."

Not of stealing his wallet, but of withdrawing money from his account after I found the wallet. Because that's what thieves do apparently: they spend their lunchbreak on hold with a bank getting in contact with the people we rob from. Then we make two bus journeys to give all the bank cards back instead of selling them on to other criminals.

Think I'd be letting them come to me in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Wait, you got the bus to go to him? What an ungrateful bag of horse manure.

Please stop stealing people's wallets.

But then how will I get ill-gotten gains?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

When I used to drive a taxi people would leave stuff in the cab
    Mostly phones, the first time you see a phone you waited till someone rang and answered, brought them the phone and always ended in this kind of crap
    By the third time you threw it in a bin. People have no respect if you'd stolen the cash you'd hardly have tried to meet the owner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Don't they say that no good deed goes unpunished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm definitely sensing sexual chemistry here between the OP and the wallet owner.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

'They' being the 13-year old on the early shift in the motivational poster sweatshop, aye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You should have set fire to it and rang him up making weird chuckling sounds while it burned. Remember that next time. "Oooh, the Precioussss...!!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

I had my wallet taken from my car once. About a week later I had a message from a random lad on Facebook saying he found my license on the side of the road! Saved thirty-ish quid on not having to get a replacement :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

**** that I wouldnt be putting myself to any hassle ,its his wallet let him collect it.
    Best thing to do is leave it into the local cop shop and it can be collected there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭JackieBauer

If I find a wallet and there's money in it - IT'S MINE. I seem to be the first one with the balls to say it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

you know what to do next time now anyway, liffey....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Gotta remember the cash could be the person's only money until they got paid.

Some of the stories of ingratitude you hear of, when wallets are returned though, would make you wish the wallet-owners had been robbed blind. :p

Some people are such unpleasant oddballs. How could a person be anything other than grateful and relieved when someone returns their missing wallet to them.

If I find a wallet and there's money in it - IT'S MINE. I seem to be the first one with the balls to say it

Yes. You're obviously the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭The Ging and I

Wife had her bag snatched in D4 one evening. I got a call from a guy telling me he found it in a lane. Went and collected it, thanked him and left. When I got home i then realised there were the contents of 3 purses belonging to 2 other women including their house keys. Found their contact details and rang both thinking they would both be delighted - the abuse I got ! i rang both back and told them I would drop their bags into Clontarf Garda station the next day on my way to work.
    Give into a Garda station !

And that ladies and gents is the caliber of people nowadays.

Fair enough if theres no id etc but what you are doing is stealing, plain and simple.

Morals went out the window donkeys years ago. I had a 150euro real leather jacket robbed on me and I don't blame whatever prick took it. It's all fair game, I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Glen_Quagmire

I'm really starting to believe that ****

sugarman wrote: »
    Found a wallet in the city centre one night, opened it it have a look.. €30, a student card and a bank card.

Knowing he was a student, the same as myself at the time, and also happened to be in the same college. Id planned on getting it back to him through the college the following week. Thought theyd appreciated not having to shell out for a new student card and be down €30.

I walk about 15mins up the road to grab pizza at the end of my night when I spot the lad whos wallet I had outside the Pizza shop. He was in the midst of an argument with someone that was getting fairly heated, I asked his mate do you know X, who then started on me. Who in turn X joined in.

Happily took the €30 from the wallet to treat myself and friends to free pizza whilst ****ing the wallet on the ground outside where the lads were too busy causing hassle to even notice.

Feck that.

Was the pizza any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm definitely sensing sexual chemistry here between the OP and the wallet owner.....
    I'm sensing it is the kind where the OP wishes he had made contact with a strongly delivered kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Morals went out the window donkeys years ago. I had a 150euro real leather jacket robbed on me and I don't blame whatever prick took it. It's all fair game, I'm afraid

Sounds like they were trying to do you a favour. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Doesn't it say something that it has been cleaned of cash?

So many people out there have no honour, they're just F..ing scumbags.

I was raised better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I can never understand people who find a wallet taking the money but returning the rest because the money is "fair game"
    Um, no, it's not.

yabadabado wrote: »
    **** that I wouldnt be putting myself to any hassle ,its his wallet let him collect it.
    Best thing to do is leave it into the local cop shop and it can be collected there.
    I actually had another lost item to return to someone as well, so it was a kind of two-fer. The other person was more grateful, even thought that item was of lesser monetary value.
    LizT wrote: »
    I can never understand people who find a wallet taking the money but returning the rest because the money is "fair game"
    Um, no, it's not.

Some people seem to see it as a finder's fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I actually had another lost item to return to someone as well, so it was a kind of two-fer. The other person was more grateful, even thought that item was of lesser monetary value.

Some people seem to see it as a finder's fee.

Some people here seem to think it's a treasure hunt.

You really don't know what financial cr*p someone is going through. To spend someone else's money is reprehensible and you're no better than a person who steals a wallet in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

The only time I'd ever keep money is when there's absolutely no chance of finding who it belongs to. I found some money tightly folded together on the floor of a club one night, picked it up and didn't count it until I was in the bathroom alone. Rang the club the next morning and told them I found an amount of money and if anyone enquired to give them my number, but they'd of course need to be able to tell me how much it was and in what denomination. There's no way I'm just handing it into the club or giving it to the Garda, I'd trust myself far more.

Let the raping and pillaging commence so................

cormie wrote: »
    The only time I'd ever keep money is when there's absolutely no chance of finding who it belongs to. I found some money tightly folded together on the floor of a club one night, picked it up and didn't count it until I was in the bathroom alone. Rang the club the next morning and told them I found an amount of money and if anyone enquired to give them my number, but they'd of course need to be able to tell me how much it was and in what denomination. There's no way I'm just handing it into the club or giving it to the Garda, I'd trust myself far more.

You get a reciept and in a year can claim it back, what fool would steal the cash after issuing a reciept???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Had my wallet stolen when I was maybe 15. My first wallet. With about 30 quid in it. I was devastated. That was a lot of money back then. Tramps.

A temporary stop can be put on credit cards but be aware that debit cards must be cancelled as per many bank policies and the user may incur a charge if they have to reorder a new card.

There can also be up to ten working working days of a delay in getting a new card out but its better then fraud at the end of the day i suppose

The two most viable options would be A to ring the bank or B to drop it into the nearest garda station. either way once it is officially reported, the customer will be contacted in particular if there is personal belongings in the wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Slightly off topic but there was a case in Nenagh district court around 2-3 years ago.

A scumbag in his 40s found a Social Welfare card on the streets belonging to another man. He went to the post office and fraudulently withdrew a €100 JSA payment.

The young lad (19) went up to the SWO for a temporary card and when he went to collect his payment it wasn't there.

The scumbag was a long term unemployed alcoholic and on the maximum rate of jobseekers allowance.

Nenagh is a small town I don't know how the staff in the post office didn't know/recognise the man or noticed he was drawing an AGE RELATED (18-24) JSA payment in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Slightly off topic but there was a case in Nenagh district court around 2-3 years ago.

A scumbag in his 40s found a Social Welfare card on the streets belonging to another man. He went to the post office and fraudulently withdrew a €100 JSA payment.

The young lad (19) went up to the SWO for a temporary card and when he went to collect his payment it wasn't there.

The scumbag was a long term unemployed alcoholic and on the maximum rate of jobseekers allowance.

Nenagh is a small town I don't know how the staff in the post office didn't know/recognise the man or noticed he was drawing an AGE RELATED (18-24) JSA payment in the first place.
    Quite off topic indeed, I wouldn't compare the actions of someone with an alcohol addiction being dishonest compared to someone who is just being a thieving b*stard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,426 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Was attending a friends wedding in Washington DC, as it was an evening event I decided to hire a Cessna aircraft and do some sightseeing, I spent a lovely day flying to 5 little airports including one that was on an island. When i got back with the aircraft i discovered that i had lost my wallet with quite a lot of money and all my credit cards. Having called all of the airports we found it at a restaurant on the island, problem was that this was over 150 miles away, so I ended up having to rent the aircraft again, fly to the island, got my wallet and happily gave the finder a $100, then flew back to Reagan International in the middle of Washington DC as i was running late for the wedding, just landing there cost me $250. So with that and the cost of the aircraft it turned into a very expensive day.

Since then I'm paranoid about my wallet :)