Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ah jasus

• 18-02-2016 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

Ye wha?

Bleedin' gimp

Nah wha I mean?

And other delightful Dublin phrases. Please regale ol minty :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

**** the budgie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

gerrupp ouda dat ya muppah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Ya little bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Ask me hairy hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Ah heor, leave eh ou!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Spare euro bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Any heroine bud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Ye wha?

Bleedin' gimp

Nah wha I mean?

Not sure if these are uniquely Dublin

Dirtbird

Geebag

ahh here

Specialun wrote: »
    Any heroine bud

no bud, strung out meself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Daddy's just bought me an aportment in Fawksrawk.

(You didn't specify what part of Dublin the phrases should be from :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Ah heeeeeere leavirou

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Do ya know the five lamps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Stoooooory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Skin and hair flying. (an almighty row)

They'd ate him and bate him.

He'd be et, bet, and thrown up.

We thrung him out!

And my personal favourite, (to be said in a tone of great disdain) -
    "I wouldn't stoop so low to pick up so little!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

My two favourite sayings are

Howya going? and for **** sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

"Ask me bollix"

Said by girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Cock a bleedin' do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ye wha?

Bleedin' gimp

Nah wha I mean?

Those are just phrases, albeit in a Dublin accent, that you'd hear all over Ireland and the UK. And in the case of 'know what I mean' literally everywhere in the English speaking world. GOD OP.

I like the way Dublin say "an' anyways" though, that's cool

Stephens's Day.

Whatever the f*ck that's about.

katemarch wrote: »
    And my personal favourite, (to be said in a tone of great disdain) -
    "I wouldn't stoop so low to pick up so little!"

Best delivered in a disdainful female voice with a fag in one hand, held between the nails as opposed to the fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I love the random and needless 'but' which some Dubliners throw into the ends of their sentences, to the point where I adopted it for a few months.

I'm a middle-class fella from a nice part of South Dublin. I've got no right to say it, but I did because I'm a rebel but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Have yas any gear bud ..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

And other delightful Dublin phrases.

The examples show what a poor language it is. Born of poverty and low levels of education I suppose, but dying out. Fortunately, nothing worth preserving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Have yas any gear bud ..?
    said no Dub ever! jesus , nothing but stereotypes on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

will ye go and ask me swiss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

drink concrete and harden de **** up!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Damnation, how did so many culchies get over the Pale? I thought we'd posted guards at workable intervals?". :pac:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

gerr ou a da garden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

kfallon wrote: »
    Do ya know the five lamps?

You can hang your bollix off it!

Yes, the Gaiety-Panto-accent wears a bit thin, eventually. Especially when it is a mixture of accents - north city, south city, Liberties, north county or south county - being quoted self-consciously in the manner of Ould Misther Brennan (shudder)

There is certainly a number of sayings that are particular to Ringsend, and there's even a distinctive Dun Laoghaire style!

Anyone from Raytown willing to share a few?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Me gaff

Heore! Bud. Heore bud?

Me maaa

Wreckin me head

Wreckin me buzz

Ah heore, take a bleedin chill pill

Waz the stoooory bud?

Alri bud

Im a true dub

ya bleedin culchie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They refer to bookmakers as bewkies.

Inanyway.

Do people still say that?

As in "Na der's no neyid fer you to go to Xtra Fision to bring de fideo back, oi'm goin da way later inanyway."

That's more or less my accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

And what's it? They call the dole, the labour?

Stall it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I like them though, the real Dubliners. I love sitting in a pub listening to them converse with each other. It's almost poetic at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Wife/husband/ should never be referred to by their actual name's, it's always "he" or "she".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

SKY TV is "the pipe".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

If only there was a Dublin forum where the Dubs could have a boards.ie version of Joe Duffy's 'Funny Friday'... as funny as a fire in a children's home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

ich bin ein Dubliner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Get the bleedin boat.

I will in me hole.

I'm tellin' ye.

Scarleh for yer Ma for havin' ye.

Bleedin' deadly.

Are you for serious?

Me Gaf

Me moth

Me fella

Me Oufella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Labour? It's the bleedin' scratcher pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I will in me bleedin' hole

http://youtu.be/z5oS0OKsJHI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Allinanyways

I will in me hoop

How's yer pîss flaps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Don't shoot me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

"I don't mind kissin' ,but I hate DAT!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Going to the "hosdible" in the "ambliance" because you didn't wear your "hemlet" on your bike when you were going to get a pack of "crips"

My girlfriend is from Brazil and I've been coaching her in how to speak Dublinese as per the Foil Arms and Hog sketch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhdXJrGr1iM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Diddies.

I'm not sure if it's strictly just a Dublin word that has sadly fallen out of common use but I still love it and am actively using it whenever the opportunity arises.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.