Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tv licence court summons

• 15-02-2016 3:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭

i have court tomorrow morning @ 10.30 for non payment of tv licence

i have a tv licence now and i'm hoping it will be struck out when i arrive?

also on the pleading guilty or non guilty i'm thinking of pleading not guilty as the inspector changed the name on it to my name from my brothers name which i did not agree to,he just did it himself

what do u think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭KingMonkey

no it was just out of date,but he changed it into my name without my say so.i didn't agree to it he just did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What will probably be asked in court is whether xxx address had a tv licence on xxx date, if you rented or owned the property at that date your likely liable but having a tv licence now will help. An additional voilin story like you were on heroin, came from a broken home, carried fish from the markets aged 6 to feed your extended family of 156 siblings etc etc is unlikely to work.

lol should i plead clemency? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

KingMonkey wrote: »
    thinking of pleading not guilty as the inspector changed the name on it to my name from my brothers name which i did not agree to,he just did it himself

Did he ask your brothers permission to summons him in the first place? No of course he didn't, that would be a stupid system.

So why would he need your permission to amend it?

esforum wrote: »
    Did he ask your brothers permission to summons him in the first place? No of course he didn't, that would be a stupid system.

So why would he need your permission to amend it?

the summons was in my name,not his

but sure he can't just change the name on it without some sort of consent?

i don't care anyway its a meanial charge in this day and age.i don't even have a saorview box and i don't watch any of the trash that does be on rte anyway

they can do whatever they like.you would swear i beat up and mugged an old woman

the summons was in my name,not his

but sure he can't just change the name on it without some sort of consent?

i don't care anyway its a meanial charge in this day and age.i don't even have a saorview box and i don't watch any of the trash that does be on rte anyway

they can do whatever they like.you would swear i beat up and mugged an old woman

Your said in the original post he changed it from your brothers name to yours. My question was, prior to printing the summons in your brothers name had he sought permission to summons your brother. Anyway....

He doesn't need your consent, just the judges on the day. Summons and charges get changed all the time. If a judge thinks its a bit fishy, it will be thrown out which may happen, you never know. Judges are like babies, you never know what made thing they will come out with

Genuine curiosity, why do you have a TV? Android box or just downloads / DVD or whatever?

esforum wrote: »
    Genuine curiosity, why do you have a TV? Android box or just downloads / DVD or whatever?

He doesn't need your consent, just the judges on the day. Summons and charges get changed all the time. If a judge thinks its a bit fishy, it will be thrown out.

have a northern/uk freeview box which doesn't receive any of the rte drivel

think i might get an android box and a big monitor

am going to give the inspector the death stare in the morning

hopefully it will be struck out or a small fine

i'll report back here how it goes after

have a northern/uk freeview box which doesn't receive any of the rte drivel

think i might get an android box and a big monitor

am going to give the inspector the death stare in the morning

hopefully it will be struck out or a small fine

i'll report back here how it goes after

I had a combibox myself. Freeview did grand for me with saorview for the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

OP. I'd talk to a solicitor in the morning about what is the case, as opposed to taking advice which may or may not be accurate, from a random stranger on the Internet. Who may or may not know what they're talking about.

If you didn't have one at the time, you are guilty of the offence. Don't annoy the judge. They don't suffer fools lightly.

endacl wrote: »
    OP. I'd talk to a solicitor in the morning about what is the case, as opposed to taking advice which may or may not be accurate, from a random stranger on the Internet. Who may or may not know what they're talking about.

If you didn't have one at the time, you are guilty of the offence. Don't annoy the judge. They don't suffer fools lightly.

The chat would cost more than the fine!

update on this : showed my licence to court clerk

when my name was called the judge struck out the case

result :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Not having a personal dig , but you admitted the offence, a lot of time was probably spent arranging for you to go to court, a space was booked for an appearance in an overcrowded court schedule and then they just kick it out.

We're a nation of resource wasters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Perhaps but it's hardly the crime of the century. There's far worse crimes that are struck out and a LOT more money wasted (look at all the cases that free legal aid is granted etc).......... OP good to hear your update.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

I know it is not a serious crime, but it is an example of the waste this country puts up with when we have minimal funds. This sort of thing happens all over the place and the money could be used in hospitals & schools.

Think about it. Someone is getting paid to send reminders to get the licence paid, someone else is paid to detect non-payers. Then the admin to pass defaulters to the courts to get a summons issued. The Garda then has to serve the blooming thing and a court slot is booked. To not even hear the case is shameful.

Again, not having a go at you OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I know it is not a serious crime, but it is an example of the waste this country puts up with when we have minimal funds. This sort of thing happens all over the place and the money could be used in hospitals & schools.

Think about it. Someone is getting paid to send reminders to get the licence paid, someone else is paid to detect non-payers. Then the admin to pass defaulters to the courts to get a summons issued. The Garda then has to serve the blooming thing and a court slot is booked. To not even hear the case is shameful.

Again, not having a go at you OP

It's an industry in itself.

People are paid to issue pieces of paper that you must pay for. Other people are paid to ensure that you have paid for this piece of paper. Yet more are paid to detect when you haven't got the piece of paper. Even more are paid to get involved to prosecute you for not having the piece of paper. And in the end, you get thrown in prison for not having the piece of paper at the expense of all the other people who paid for the piece of paper.

The economy would surely collapse if it weren't for this piece of paper.