Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cycling in county Meath - dogs outside gates- MOD WARNING post #45

• 14-02-2016 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭

Dear cyclists,

I wonder if I'm the only one worrying about some dogs here and there living with their owners in their houses, but that for some reason the gates are left open.
    The dogs come outside and they bark, and I don't know what are their intentions.
    I admit I am scared of dogs and I'm not a very fast cyclist. It has happened a couple of times that some dogs ran and followed me, I cycled as fast as I could, I could feel my heart beating in my throath. I shouted 'keep your dogs in', but I'm not sure that the owners were at home and that they could hear me. Fortunately the dogs gave up at some stage, but I was really scared.
    I tried another road, but this is much longer for me to go to hill of Tara, beside almost on the top of the hill... there was another dog outside waiting for me!
    Thank you for advising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

If you can't outrun the dog, stop and face the dog (with you bike between you and the dog) the dog will retreat (most of the time).

If it's a really big dog, just cycle fast enough to stay a few feet ahead of the dog...the dog will stop before you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Spray a water bottle in their face works as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Contact local authority to tip off the dog warden. Will pay them a visit, explain that they are personally liable for any harm their dog causes. Usually addresses the issue.
    Agree with above re facing them down. Most will just back off. Easy for me to say though, not so easy if you have a fear of dogs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Might seem counter intuitive, but cycle slower. The dogs only chase you because you're going fast. I cycle past a house with an Alsatian and he always would run after me, so I slowed down. He kind if comes out and has a look, but doesn't run after me know.
    If you cycle past the same dogs a lot, you might stop and get to know them. Seriously! But slowing down will work, going past as fast as possible will only get them to chase you. I know its an old chestnut, but if you don't worry about the dogs, they won't worry about you. Its all about approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

There's a stretch of road between Walterstown and Garlow X, in Co. Meath, and I think,every dog in Ireland lives on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

Most dogs are only out for a bit of fun and to chase the "enemy" away from their territory. They're not out to attack you at all. Dogs that bite people don't survive for long in Ireland.
    It helps to eye up the dogs, threaten them in an angry voice and even lift your leg from the pedal, as if you're going to kick them. They will still bark and chase a bit to show that they protected their master but they don't do any more than give you a shock. I'm not sure I agree with stopping and confronting the dog.
    Calling the dog warden is a massive over-reaction in my opinion. If the dogs are really dangerous you can be sure that the people who live in the area will have had it dealt with at an early stage. The countryside is full of dogs, most of them roaming freely around their farms and houses, and we're very lucky that we can be 100% sure they don't have rabies here.
    It's important to evolve a strategy to deal with your fear of dogs though because wherever you cycle in the countryside there will be dogs and calling a warden afterwards is no good to you at the time it actually happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I empathise with you OP.

Most of the replies here are idiotic. The dogs are not out for a bit of fun. And their actions can lead to considerable injury to a cyclist.

Round my way I successfully managed to boot one in its nose and head with my steel toe work runners which I wore after it came after me the day before. These are too heavy for normal cycling though. Plus on really big dogs there no guarantee it will break his nose.

The only long term solution is for the dog to be kept inside the fence or put down.
    Do you know anyone who can cycle behind you in a car once or twice and run it over when it goes for you?

Pkiernan wrote: »
    I empathise with you OP.

Most of the replies here are idiotic. The dogs are not out for a bit of fun. And their actions can lead to considerable injury to a cyclist.

Round my way I successfully managed to boot one in its nose and head with my steel toe work runners which I wore after it came after me the day before. These are too heavy for normal cycling though. Plus on really big dogs there no guarantee it won't break his nose.

The only long term solution is for the dog to be kept inside the fence or put down.
    Do you know anyone who can cycle behind you in a car once or twice and run it over when it goes for you?

I've cycled on country roads most of my life and never been bit by a dog. In fact, I don't know anyone who has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

OP - I cycle a lot in Wicklow and rarely encounter dogs but they seem to be everywhere in Co Meath. I hate dogs myself and would generally be afraid of them. I usually only cycle in Co Meath when in a group where it doesn't seem so bad. Otherwise I stick to busier main roads.

The bottle trick works well if you can see the dog in advance and the surface is reasonable to allow cycling with one hand while squirting with the other. Dogs won't continue to pursue you - once you pass 'their' property they'll retreat.
    Eamonnator wrote: »
    There's a stretch of road between Walterstown and Garlow X, in Co. Meath, and I think,every dog in Ireland lives on it.
    Have you ever tried Dunsink lane in Finglas? I've never encountered so may dogs on such a short stretch of road.

I've cycled on country roads most of my life and never been bit by a dog. In fact, I don't know anyone who has been.
    Have you never had a dog trying to rip a overshoe off? Presumably if the overshoe or shoe itself wasn't there it would be one's ankle that would be ripped.

I find it hard to believe that you don't know anyone who has been bitten by a dog? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Have you ever tried Dunsink lane in Finglas? I've never encountered so may dags on such a short stretch of road.

FYP.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

I empathise with you OP.

Round my way I successfully managed to boot one in its nose and head with my steel toe work runners which I wore after it came after me the day before. These are too heavy for normal cycling though. Plus on really big dogs there no guarantee it will break his nose.

:D:D:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭bitethebullet

This is a problem around Bellewstown also. Nearly went under a car last summer when a dog viciously went for me. Got a fright tbh and nearly came off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Luxman

We were in a group (about 12) last Nov from Drumree to Dunsany and a dog bolted from a house and hit the guy on the inside, he didn't come off but to say they only want a chase is not correct. The water on the nose trick does work well and can give the dog enough of a fright to stall and allow you to get away. To be honest its the fright that gets me when they gallop along side you without barking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

OP - I cycle a lot in Wicklow and rarely encounter dogs but they seem to be everywhere in Co Meath.

Houses in Meath appear to be built closer to the road with smaller gardens. They seem to be relatively new build houses too - boom time etc. Down in Wicklow, it looks like more dwellings are set back from the road on more land. Perhaps that's a reason, I don't know.

There's a bastard of a dog on the way out of Donadea forest on toward Timahoe in Kildare. He doesn't give up! For a time too, there was a dog either side of Athgoe hill near Newcastle, South Co. Dublin. The dog on the Newcastle side would lay buried in the long grass and wait till the last moment to make his move. He appeared to be old and is probably no longer around. He could mess up your heart rate approaching that steep climb first time round, for sure!

velo.2010 wrote: »
    ..He could mess up your heart rate approaching that steep climb first time round, for sure!
    Reminds me of that bloody dog on the last homestead on the way up Priest's Leap (Cork Side). As if trying to deal with a 20%+ gradient wasn't enough!

Have you never had a dog trying to rip a overshoe off? Presumably if the overshoe or shoe itself wasn't there it would be one's ankle that would be ripped.

I find it hard to believe that you don't know anyone who has been bitten by a dog? :confused:

Sorry, meant while out cycling. I was bitten a nice few times as a youth but not for a while tbtf.
    Everytime a dog comes near me i lift the foot on that side as if to (and sometimes intending to) kick it inna face. So therefore no ripping. Admittedly this does take a second but you can usually predict where dogs might be lurking anyway and be half-prepped for them.
    The shock factor and subsequent evasive swerves are the biggest danger I think, although I've never come across a dog bowling into a bike like Luxman describes above so ye might be better of ignoring me. You'd figure Darwinism would get rid of those types soon enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I empathise with you OP.

You kicked a dog in its nose and head with steel toe boots. Were you trying to kill it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭baba_bear

Pkiernan wrote:

@ Pkiernan, you should be ashamed of yourself. Cruelty to animals is not something that one should boast about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,572 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

good few years ago now sheepdog put two nice holes in my calf reported it to the garda dogs kept in mainly after that

PucaMama wrote: »
    You kicked a dog in its nose and head with steel toe boots. Were you trying to kill it??

They weren't steel toed boots. They were steel toed runners.
    I was trying to stop it from attacking me. I was successful.

baba_bear wrote: »
    @ Pkiernan, you should be ashamed of yourself. Cruelty to animals is not something that one should boast about.
    Where was I boasting?

You're the type who would rather see a cyclist injured and possibly killed than a rogue dog taught a lesson.

You should be ashamed of yourself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

baba_bear wrote: »
    Perhaps you should cycle elsewhere. I'm sick and tired of groups of cyclists congregating on the road where I live in County Meath. These cyclists find it perfectly acceptable to urinate and spit outside my house. Furthermore, they block up the roads by cycling two and three abreast. Residential areas are not designed to be cycling tracks for your pleasure.

This forum is for cycling take your ranting else where.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

OP, I would go the Dog warden/Council route. Rural dwellers seem to think its ok for their dogs to roam free. Take note of how many dogs chase you and from what house they came from. After a few weeks of evidence, bring it to the wardens attention. A friendly chat from the warden should have the owners cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

Apologies :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

As a cyclist, motorist and owner of two dogs, I'm pretty taken aback at the vitriol here. I don't agree with dogs running loose as they're a hazard to all road users but kicking them? Just keep cycling and they'll give up. However if they bite you, then all bets are off. If either of my two dogs chased a cyclist or car, then they'd get locked in the dog run. If they bit someone, then they'd be put down.

It all comes down to personal responsibility and having consideration for others, no matter if you're a dog owner, a motorist or a cyclist. We all have to live on this rock so just keep your dogs under control, drive safely and don't cycle so you block a car behind you. Problem solved

good few years ago now sheepdog put two nice holes in my calf reported it to the garda dogs kept in mainly after that

Ok fair enough!
    But from the way you describe it it sounds like it was very exceptional in your cycling lifetime - once? Don't get me wrong once is enough but I'd like to think that 99% of dog chases don't involve biting.

As for kicking the dogs, if they get too close then I think a kick is a valuable lesson. Putting steel caps on to kick an animal in the face is a bit chilling though.

A dog tried to bite the front wheel of my bike once......he lost a tooth! I doubt he ever tried that again! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭tigerboon

I don't think I have ever been out for a spin where I wasn't chased by dogs. In fairness a dog is a must have in the country for security. I wouldn't normally do anything different. Just keep plodding along, it will chase you for a little and when you get to the next dog's territory he will take over. Maybe go for early spins before the mutts are let out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

My dog chases cyclists, but he stays on the ditch and just runs alongs it and barks, and goes into our field along side the house, but he is as big as a dinosaur as he is a newfoundland cross. It is hilarious to see the face on anyone cycling past when they hear him. If anyone comes in the gate he won't be long turning them around. Can't be without a dog in the countryside, they let you know when the boys selling gates and power tools are coming round, and hunt them off just as quick.

Most dogs just want to either chase, or bite the spinny things, like tyres or feet, if you stop pedaling they won't go for you feet, I've never come across a dog that was genuinely hostile, most of the time I just use it as a test to see how fast the dog can run. Puppies will probably bite you,but that doesn't really hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

My 3 dogs love nothing more than to chase, they are harmless but it can put the ****s up the best of people to see a dog running along side you
    A strong loud tsch sound will usually distract them. (see Ceaser Milan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

JBokeh wrote: »

Most dogs just want to either chase, or bite the spinny things, like tyres or feet, if you stop pedaling they won't go for you feet, I've never come across a dog that was genuinely hostile, most of the time I just use it as a test to see how fast the dog can run. Puppies will probably bite you,but that doesn't really hurt

Only once have I had to face down a dog. It was while walking on the R132 just north of the Coachmans. As I was walking it came out of the hedge barking like fcuk. As with most dogs it was probably expecting me to run so it could give chase but instead I turned on it and let an almighty roar of "FCUK OFF YA C***" as I turned and faced it. I think the fact that it's intended chase had been terminated caused confusion for the dog and it barked at me once over it's shoulder then walked away and I carried on with my walk.

Don't get me wrong, I'm no expert in facing down a dog and the above was just a kind of reflex reaction rather than anything I had planned or thought about.

Although, there is a dog (whose tied up) on Blackrock Hill in Wicklow near Blessington Lake that looks like a dangerous ba$tard. I doubt I'd face that one down! I remember bringing a mate up that way and warning him about a vicious roaming dog but I didn't tell him that it was tied up. ;) My mate lashed out some serious watts when he heard the barking. I nearly fell off the bike laughing. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

If a dog chases you get off your bike and place the bike in front of you. Ring the Gardaí and they will come to your aid. Wise to keep a stick or umbrella or a pump to use as a weapon if the dog proves to be unfriendly. Most dogs are friendly that does not mean all dogs in this country are nice and warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭sushmita

Thank you for your contributions.
    So far I've understood that I have to report it to the local authorities.
    I don't know if I'd have the courage to confront the dog.
    Has anybody ever tried an ultrasonic whistle?

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    ... Ring the Gardaí and they will come to your aid...
    Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

JBokeh wrote: »
    My dog chases cyclists, but he stays on the ditch and just runs alongs it and barks, and goes into our field along side the house, but he is as big as a dinosaur as he is a newfoundland cross. It is hilarious to see the face on anyone cycling past when they hear him. If anyone comes in the gate he won't be long turning them around. Can't be without a dog in the countryside, they let you know when the boys selling gates and power tools are coming round, and hunt them off just as quick.

This wouldn't bother me at all as a cyclist or runner.

I understand why dogs chase and when I go for my night time run I get chased every time by a small eager terrier, it's gas, he thinks he chases me away from his property every night. I'd be slightly concerned if my dog chased, especially a big athletic dog. I'd be worried that the dog would be reported to the Gardai or the Warden. I'd also be worried about over zealous cyclists or dog nervous cyclist would panic and take matters in to their own hand or worse, fall off the bike at speed.

Just saying! Not everyone understands dogs.

Dya like dags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Only one I have had honest to god hostility from and its here 53.457695, -6.457722 Two boxers in the garden with the gate open and I would have been bitten but for a jeep driving a short distance behind me had a go at him.

Rang the Gardai and they informed me they had received about 4 or 5 complaints from people and had passed it along to the County Council

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Where was I boasting?

You're the type who would rather see a cyclist injured and possibly killed than a rogue dog taught a lesson.

You should be ashamed of yourself.

FFS, people are being killed all over the country by, or via the actions of,.dogs are they?

Don't be such a Maude Flanders and dial back the hyperbole.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Take out your bidon, squirt water at the dog, job done.

It's all just harmless fun really....

http://youtu.be/p8uP-dxllKQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Jesus Christ! :eek

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MOD VOICE: Several posts have already been carded and/or deleted. This forum does not tolerate cruelty to animals, nor blanket stereotyping of cyclists in a negative fashion. By the volume of reported posts, the next person to advocate either, will receive a red card without further warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

People are entitled to use the roads without fear of a dog chasing them.
    I'm in Slovakia at the moment, everyone in the village has a large dog for security. In all my years coming here I've never seen a dog chase a cyclist or car.
    People know how to keep their animals under control.
    Unfortunately in Ireland we don't have that same knowledge and think it's a bit of fun the dog chasing someone.
    The only answer is to report them to the police for being out of control and sue the owner in the event of damage .

Buzwaldo wrote: »
    Contact local authority to tip off the dog warden. Will pay them a visit, explain that they are personally liable for any harm their dog causes. Usually addresses the issue.
    Agree with above re facing them down. Most will just back off. Easy for me to say though, not so easy if you have a fear of dogs.

Over reaction! The dogs were probably in this area long before you started cycling around their front doors ! Best advice is ignore them, if you act afraid dogs pick this up. Or spray them from water bottle.

You will seriously annoy dog wardens with this kind of complaint . Not on !

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    If a dog chases you get off your bike and place the bike in front of you. Ring the Gardaí and they will come to your aid. Wise to keep a stick or umbrella or a pump to use as a weapon if the dog proves to be unfriendly. Most dogs are friendly that does not mean all dogs in this country are nice and warm.

Ring the guards and they will come to your aid ???? FFS is that a joke?

If the owner of the Regency hotel couldn't get an answer to his call about the shootings last week the local Garda (where there is no station ) is hardly going to come to your aid because a dog is barking at you on your sunday cycle!

This is not what we need or Gardai for. Many people who have dogs in the country is because they have been burgled and there are no longer Gardai to come to your aid!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

People are entitled to use the roads without fear of a dog chasing them.
    I'm in Slovakia at the moment, everyone in the village has a large dog for security. In all my years coming here I've never seen a dog chase a cyclist or car.
    People know how to keep their animals under control.
    Unfortunately in Ireland we don't have that same knowledge and think it's a bit of fun the dog chasing someone.
    The only answer is to report them to the police for being out of control and sue the owner in the event of damage .

Isn't this eastern Europe somewhere ?

This 'only in Ireland' bull**** really is tiresome. Just because you have seen something in Ireland but not in another country does not mean it only happens in Ireland.

last time I came across a dog was near Bellewstown. It was standing outside a house watching me approach. As I got closer it ran towards me barking. I stopped, got off my bike and barked back! The dog stopped and tilted its head in that confused dog look. I then got back on my bike and started to cycle towards the dog (while "barking" at it!). the dog turned and ran back into a garden. I stopped at the garden and continued to Bark at the dog, which was by now trying to hide under a car parked in the driveway. At this point another group of cyclists came along the road and saw me standing at the side of the road barking like a dog! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ThisRegard wrote:
    Isn't this eastern Europe somewhere ?

Sounds like a Kerry accent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

07Lapierre wrote:
    last time I came across a dog was near Bellewstown. It was standing outside a house watching me approach. As I got closer it ran towards me barking. I stopped, got off my bike and barked back! The dog stopped and tilted its head in that confused dog look. I then got back on my bike and started to cycle towards the dog (while "barking" at it!). the dog turned and ran back into a garden. I stopped at the garden and continued to Bark at the dog, which was by now trying to hide under a car parked in the driveway. At this point another group of cyclists came along the road and saw me standing at the side of the road barking like a dog!

There's people that can help you with that!