Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

google self driving car - no driving license needed

• 11-02-2016 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-alphabet-autos-selfdriving-exclusive-idUSKCN0VJ00H

Looks like the last major hurdle for self-driving cars has been crossed.

"U.S. vehicle safety regulators have said the artificial intelligence system piloting a self-driving Google car could be considered the driver under federal law, a major step toward ultimately winning approval for autonomous vehicles on the roads."

I am looking forward to having a self-driving car as it would be great
    for when booze is involved but its also going to put a lot of people out of work.

Are you excited about it or think its too terminator like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

And skynet creeps ever closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If it kills someone who gets sued?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You'll be waiting a while.

If there's self driving cars with no human at the controls on public highways in Ireland in the next thirty years I'll eat my hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Maybe in 54 years it will be available in Ireland as the roads are just never going to be up to standard for these self-driving-cars here. I wish they were already available here though it would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Nothing could posybly go wrong oh I mean possibly......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

From reading about it it would appear that google will have a division of
    alphabet the holding company that will take responsibility for the software
    so I guess they are...

I guess they are trying to sell it like an auto-part failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

If there's self driving cars with no human at the controls on public highways in Ireland in the next thirty years I'll eat my hat.

Ha, I will buy one and have it drive around just to get you to eat this hat :D

I'll have the grandkids keep an eye out for you.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

But what happens when these google cars sensor numerous pot-holes ? it might cop on to one but will it be able to function when it sees 20 of them up ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Johnny Cab is coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Has Google programmed these fecking smart arse cars to drive on the wee narrow 1.2 car width Irish country roads?. Will they know to quickly pull in towards the gate at the entrance to a field, then flash the lights to allow the other car past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Mourinho

From what I see they are electric, so will face the exact same issues as current electric cars. How far will a charge get you and the lack of charging points in general. It's essentially taking current electric cars and giving them the ability to self drive.

Unless battery tech sees a serious improvement or the world really makes a genuine push for Electic cars with charging points being as common as petrol stations you will be waiting, it will be as much a niche market compared to petrol/desiel cars as current electric cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It's probably safer an AI controlled car than a person that failed their test controlling one.

Mourinho wrote: »
    From what I see they are electric, so will face the exact same issues as current electric cars. How far will a charge get you and the lack of charging points in general. It's essentially taking current electric cars and giving them the ability to self drive.

Unless battery tech sees a serious improvement or the world really makes a genuine push for Electic cars with charging points being as common as petrol stations you will be waiting, it will be as much a niche market compared to petrol/desiel cars as current electric cars.

If, and I still think it's a big if, I ever live to see the day they are a reality, they will be operating in dedicated corridors where other forms of mass transit should also have improved dramatically, eg Dublin Airport to Dublin City Centre.

Testing a car on a road that has every millimetre of its surface mapped twice a day and putting it on a country road that hasn't seen a barrowful of tarmac, never mind a 3D survey, in forty years are two very different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Johnny Cab is coming

Johnny Cab would be a massive improvement over some of the **** driving taxis now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

There was a programme on a while back with James May in either a Nissan or a Toyota factory.Anyway he asked the head of development when self drive cars would arrive,she reackoned about twenty years.

Johnny Cab is coming

Johnny got ya covered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

kneemos wrote: »
    There was a programme on a while back with James May in either a Nissan or a Toyota factory.Anyway he asked the head of development when self drive cars would arrive,she reackoned about twenty years.

It wasn't Toyota anyway, they have said they hope to have the first self drive Toyota available to the public in 4 years.

I would think within the next 10 years they will be widely available, but their price might be out of the range of most people. Even if it's the price of a high spec Mercedes, how many people can afford a new one of those?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Eat it. They'll be here in less than 8 years. Mark my words for lest you forget I made a series of predictions on this a forum a couple of years ago all of which came true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

There's a self drive bus in Greece being trialled right now. Compare tech from 1986 to now and the difference is far more significant than from 1956 to 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Maybe in 54 years it will be available in Ireland as the roads are just never going to be up to standard for these self-driving-cars here. I wish they were already available here though it would be great.
    They don't need good standard roads. You're vastly underestimating the effectiveness of mapping and visual algorithms.

They won't be perfect, but they'll be 99.99% reliable compared to humans who are closer to 50%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Google it?

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Eat it. They'll be here in less than 8 years. Mark my words for lest you forget I made a series of predictions on this a forum a couple of years ago all of which came true.

What about flying cars will we be getting those as the sky isn't congested....

It be mad to see driverless cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Forget about self driving cars, what about taxis being driven remotely by a call centre in India? Surprised that is not available yet. The technology and internet speeds are ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

seamus wrote: »
    They don't need good standard roads. You're vastly underestimating the effectiveness of mapping and visual algorithms.

They won't be perfect, but they'll be 99.99% reliable compared to humans who are closer to 50%.

Or they will only operate where the roads are good initially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

seamus wrote: »

Lads I was sitting in a tractor last summer as the driver came out of the headland (edge of the field) in what I thought was pretty much spot on for his next run. He let go of the steering wheel tractor immeadiately made a sharp right turn to change the line by a couple of metres then an immediate left and proceeded up the field. The field edge was close and was a long way from straight. As the tractor was moving up the field you could hear and see the spread pattern of the fertiliser spreader adjusting to the various bends in the headland.

Mapping software like this has been available in various forms for decades to the extent that there's a fairly common standard to allow different machines communicate with different tractors.

John Deere combines have had the capability to "call" John Deere tractors when the combines hopper needed to be unloaded for a couple of years now. The tractor will move alongside the combine a it's trailer will be filled. If you think an Irish road has a lot of variables it's nothing compared to Irish fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Mint Aero wrote: »

For sure - Mercedes are way ahead, doesn't look like a giant toaster gone wrong and comes with it's own cute android too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'd say the driver will be responsible and have to be able to take control of the car at first, health and safety nuts will have a field day. But when the technology gets established, it's benefits will be clear.
    Pub trade will be delighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

What about flying cars will we be getting those as the sky isn't congested....

It be mad to see driverless cars.

The skies are congested. Mad? Sure wouldn't it be mad to allow yourself to be propelled by a machine. No give me a horse any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Search: pothole
    Google car: did you mean fu%king crater.
    Initiate reverse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I would like to show this to the Gardai :)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Computer_Driving_Licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Presuming I live long enough, will be handy when I am in my 80s and my driving license gets revoked...