Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An A4?

• 11-02-2016 4:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭

Hey guys. So I've been made redundant and I'm gonna spend some of the money changing my car(It's long overdue).

I bought a Golf TDi in the north a few years ago now and it served me very well so I'm thinking of going down the same road again only his time getting an A4 around 2010 a sI have a toddler and another on the way.

I have very little knowledge of audi's so Im just wondering what I should be looking out for??

Im thinking something like this..
    http://www.usedcarsni.com/2010-Audi-A4-1-8-TFSi-S-Line-FANTASTIC-CONDITION-155862560

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

I had one a few years ago, I bought it up north also.
    Great car but it used to blow (light) bulbs almost weekly.
    It turned out the salt they use on the roads up north had corroded some of the earths under the chassis causing the bulbs to blow at random, used to drive me crackers replacing bulbs all the time.
    Apart from that issue I loved it. :D
    Would you consider a diesel model?
    I had a 1.9 tdi
    Fast with good acceleration when you needed it but still economical with 40+mpg.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭shannonman81

Cheers.
    I thought that was a diesel! turns out its not!!:eek:
    Its the diesel I'm looking at really for certain!

Make sure you get a 130bhp, the 110bhp is very sluggish in comparison.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

furiousox wrote: »
    Make sure you get a 130bhp, the 110bhp is very sluggish in comparison.

The 2.0 litre TDI engines in that model A4 which is known as the B8, were 120bhp, 143bhp and 170bhp.

I had mine a while back, it was a 2002 model (old shape.)
    They were 110bhp & 130bhp back then.

CPL 593H

According to the MOT check site below that car (reg number: YL10TGY) had 128k miles on it back in February 2014 when it was tested.

https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk/

Listed as 133k km on the seller's website. Even if it was a typo and km instead of miles that means it's only covered a further 5,000 miles in 2 years since it's last MOT. :rolleyes:

bazz26 wrote: »
    According to the MOT check site below that car (reg number: YL10TGY) had 128k miles on it back in February 2014 when it was tested.

https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk/

Listed as 133k km on the seller's website. Even if it was a typo and km instead of miles that means it's only covered a further 5,000 miles in 2 years since it's last MOT. :rolleyes:

Jaysus...Thanks for that!!
    Highlights the pitfalls really doesn't it!
    :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

That's a beautiful looking petrol in your opening post, if you don't need the diesel through high mileage look at petrol models. I like that car and looks like a good price (without knowing the exact vrt cost).

Ya I'm no tdead against the petrol..

I'm also looking at these...
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-2010-audi-a4-2-0-tdi-se-sat-nav-alpine-w/11398709 Pretty high milage I think and no mention of an NCT

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0-tdi-se-6sp-sat-nav/11208671

What do ye think?

I also mailed the dealer of the audi in my earlier post(the diesel one) and he said the reason therer has been such little milage is that the car has been sitting up but he forgot to advertise it...:eek:

Just bumping this as I'm thinking of traveling next week to see some cars

Forgetting to advertise it explains low mileage? That's a spoof anyway, what else will he spoof about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

What about a Passat CC??? The A4 are very small and not much bigger than a Golf also unless you get a S line they look dull and boring imo.

There are a million A4s for sale, why dwell on one with being sold with a tall tale?

bazz26 wrote: »
    There are a million A4s for sale, why dwell on one with being sold with a tall tale?

well that's it.. I have no interest in that one now.. Guy is clearly a chancer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Truckermal wrote: »
    What about a Passat CC??? The A4 are very small and not much bigger than a Golf also unless you get a S line they look dull and boring imo.

even the ordinary passat would be a better buy than an A4. Same chassis. You get new model / better spec / less km for the same money.

maryishere wrote: »
    even the ordinary passat would be a better buy than an A4. Same chassis. You get new model / better spec / less km for the same money.

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-cc-gt-tdi/11453321

I'm stepping away from the a4 ....so what about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

The 09 and 10 CC models only have two seats in the back, and a rest in between.

I got the 2011 around 6 months ago - would highly recommend. Like yourself shortly, I have two baby seats in the back.

Two minor irritations:

- The design of the car is quite low, so can be a bit awkward getting toddlers into the baby chairs.

- When the car is iced over, it's not possible to open the car without completely defrosting the lining of each door. When you unlock the car, the windows slide down a centimeter in order to open it. If you try open it when frosted over, it won't come down and could potentially be doing some damage to the electronics. Similar to trying to lower a window when frosted.

Apparently, the second issue is a common bugbear:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMCEb1J6iEA

Most coupes will do that as they dont have a door frame up around the window. So it just moves ever so slightly to fit in under the seal. I had it on a 3 series coupe but didnt realise it could be big problem. Just remember to defrost i guess, bit of a pain but it wouldnt rule a car I liked out OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Smiley11

Some nice PCP deals now on Golfs & Passats at the moment. Certain models are 0% & interest rate reduced on more basic models until the end of March I think ;)

I'm traveling tomorrow to look at 2010 a4 high spec with 135,000 miles... Am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I don't think yer mad. It all comes down to the car and the seller and the price.

Ok, you're mad.

I wouldn't.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ok, you're mad.

I wouldn't.

Haha.. You've got to tell me why!

Ok, you're mad.

I wouldn't.

I don't know where to start the Dealer or the car. ...:p

OP you seem fixated on having a badge as opposed to a good car..

Truckermal wrote: »
    I don't know where to start the Dealer or the car. ...:p

OP you seem fixated on having a badge as opposed to a good car..

You might be right... I have never before been able to afford a car that I have wanted, if that makes sense. I completely get that I might be coming across as a douchebag and maybe I'm letting my heart rule my head.
    That's pretty much why I've come on here, to talk to people who know.

I really do value yer opinion. Out of curiosity what's the issue with the dealer?

The issue is with the dealer. There's a few threads on boards but all the juicy stuff has been deleted.

Ok. Well I'm gonna travel tomorrow as they're are a lot of dealers in that area but I'm very worried now about that dealers

If you're up that way, drive it anyway just so you can compare future ones.

Don't let a few bad cars and dealers put you off getting what you want. If you want an Audi get an Audi. Nice cars. Don't let people talk you into going for a vw or a skoda if you want an Audi. Vw and skoda are similar to it but if you buy one you will still have the Audi itch.

Some good advice from knowledgeable people here and they will continue to advise on dealers and cars.

Just an update... I have bought the Passat cc. I looked at a few Audi's and was underwhelmed, I think I had an idea in my head about what I'd feel sitting in one and I didn't feel like that.

The Passat on the other hand I love. Delighted with the car
    Thanks for all your help lads!

Well wear with it. I had a CC myself, lovely car indeed and way nicer and rarer than the A4 imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Nice one op. Good choice.

I was in a few a4s and I really don't understand the love behind it when there are other options for less or Same money.
    For some reason audi a4 became some sort of Irish love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Soulcrew09

Good luck with it (Did you buy local btw) CC is a lovely car, on the lookout myself for one, A4 is also on my shortlist but have the CC and 320 before it.

Soulcrew09 wrote: »
    Good luck with it (Did you buy local btw) CC is a lovely car, on the lookout myself for one, A4 is also on my shortlist but have the CC and 320 before it.

Bought privately locally.. The car seems like it was well looked after. Full service history from western garages.

Best of luck I'm delighted you listened to me the CC is a class car.

If only your wife did :)

I know especially after Sunday as I met Vectra for coffee and the B8 Passat is leagues ahead, I priced a new sline with s tronic and the usual and it came in just north of 50k. ..:eek:

I could have had a new CC from a mate here with all the extras for under 40k..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

CC are a really nice car good choice :D

Re comparisons with A4, it would definitely be a tough choice between an S line A4 and a good spec CC but SE A4s are usually depressing :o