Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dying

• 09-02-2016 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone ever think about it? What it will feel like when you depart from existence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Gael23 wrote: »
    Does anyone ever think about it? What it will feel like when you depart from existence?

It depends. I would presume sore if you were shot and bled out like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It'll be a hell of a trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nope, can't say I think about it much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

No, trying to make the most of my time here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Bored to death op?
    Doubt you'd feel what its like cause... Well you're dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

bear1 wrote: »
    Bored op?
    No just sharing a thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Hopefully I'll see a light and move towards it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Like falling asleep without dreaming and never waking up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

What was it like before one was alive ? I would imagine a painful death is painful though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I like to think that death isn't the end. The beauty of this is that no swinging dick on planet earth can tell me I'm wrong because not one swinging dick knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I'd say you only think about it if you are told you have X amount of time left to live.

Otherwise it's live your life as normal.

We are all going to die.

In fairness I do wonder about the method of my dying. I have my family prepped to get me morphine by the bucketload and off into the sunset for me.

But not everyone can do that either.

I just do not like to see people suffering. Especially myself. Wish I had a personal switch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm with Iris De Ment

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I like to think that death isn't the end. The beauty of this is that no swinging dick on planet earth can tell me I'm wrong because not one swinging dick knows.

Big swinging mickeys ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Being serious for a second, I usually think that once you die then it probably starts all over again.
    Reincarnation I suppose, just seems hard to believe that there is sweet f all after this.
    But... If enda Kenny is up there at that stage im knocking on satans door :)

I think that if there is a heaven, time is not relevant to it, so when you get there, everyone you know will be there already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I think that if there is a heaven, time is not relevant to it, so when you get there, everyone you know will be there already

It's a lovely taught (never taught too much on it if I'm honest!)...but what about the people you know but can't stand?

We have to suck it up and forgive them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

If there is a 'heaven' the only person I want to see is my old man. I didn't have enough time for him when he was here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

It's not the process of death I think about, it's more that afterwards you cease to exist on this planet.

Oh :(
    This deosnt sound fun anymore...I hope it would be like the Simpsons heaven..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I think about it.

I'll feel rightly cheesed off when it happens.

I think the worst thing would be leaving your young kids. And secondly not having done what you put off doing. And then not having raged at the feckers who drove you nuts while you could get the bsards.

And then not making sure you have enough morphine to see you out on a high and a smile bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Big swinging mickeys ! :D

If those are the requirements I refuse to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Noodles81

But then it wouldn't be heaven? So I guess heaven must be subjective and contains only our personal preferences. My heaven would be filled with dogs, lions and tigers etc that are cuddly not dangerous and David Attenborough narrating my heavenly experiences.

And only people I like that are decent and bit of a laugh get in...

Oh and some eye candy and afternoon delight!! I might be dead but my heaven would have to have lots of lovin*!

*[To make up for the slow years]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I think it's quite interesting that ppl imagine being dead as if they were still alive. So like your alive but just experiencing being dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

The best dreams I ever had, were the ones where I was dead…

It's a different story when you see someone dying and then they actually die when you are there with them.

I have seen my Dad, and my young sister die. It was peaceful but terrifying if you get me.

It puts things into perspective. I don't know, they were so brave. I hope I will have some of their bravery when my time comes. But I want to know there are good drugs out there too to help me on my way aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Not afraid of dying, but hate the thoughts of my family being upset about it. All they will have is memories so I'm spending my living years making damn sure those memories are going to be good ones. As for dying itself I'm almost certain there's no afterlife, no heaven or hell. Just an eternal dreamless sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Death is scary. Eternal life is terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Afterwards I'd say it could be a situation where you choose your next experience, like choosing the next game to play because there's nothing better to do. Life is life an MMO game, you choose the premise but the rest is up to you.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

I hope it isn't painful, going in ur sleep wud be best case scenario.

IMO there's nothing after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Maybe as I got older and had a young family, it has popped into my head more. Maybe also since I started to see people younger than me die.

As for being scared of it, well I'm not. At least I hope its not a slow, painful death. I would love to die in my sleep.

My main worry is for people I would leave behind. I'll be gone, its those left behind who have the pain. I just hope that I live long enough to see my children as adults with their own lives and perhaps kids of their own.

As for whats after? Well, none of us know. I'm not convinced of an afterlife. I would love to think it exists and I'll see my family again, but I just don't think its going to happen. I think we are all just a minute part of the cycle of life on earth, and we simply die, like a dog dies or a plant etc.

I read a line recently that summed it up for me when someone asked "what do you think it will be like when you die". The answer, "exactly as it was before you were born". And I think that'll be it. There's likely nothing after we die, so we will just cease to exist. Memories of us in others minds will be all there is, although nowadays with so many photos and recordings there will likely always be a physical record of us, unlike our great grandparents, who are only names on a page now.

Imagine when you go to bed tonight, you die in your sleep. You'd be none the wiser. A sobering thought, but thats how I think life is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Noodles81 wrote: »
    But then it wouldn't be heaven? So I guess heaven must be subjective and contains only our personal preferences. My heaven would be filled with dogs, lions and tigers etc that are cuddly not dangerous and David Attenborough narrating my heavenly experiences.

And only people I like that are decent and bit of a laugh get in...

Oh and some eye candy and afternoon delight!! I might be dead but my heaven would have to have lots of lovin*!

*[To make up for the slow years]

If heaven exists (it doesn't) then everybody would probably get their own instance of it. Otherwise your irreligious sons or daughters would be in hell and it wouldn't be heaven for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Don't worry or think about what happens when your dead OP, you know why? cause you'll be fuppin dead that's why.
    I think dying is just like when you go under general anaesthetic, boom lights out. Your brain will stop firing and that's all she wrote, just the same as before you were born.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'd hope it would be peaceful tbh, can't imagine dying e.g. in a car accident where you face terrror in your last few minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I want Morphine and Viagra.

I wanna die with a hard on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

To answer the op I think about other peoples deaths now, which wasn't true in my 20's. Parents. Older relatives. It's not that people didn't die in my twenties (two grand parents did) but I suppose I never saw grandparents, unlike parents, as permanent. Now I do not see parents as permanent and deaths of celebs about their age, Bowie etc hit home.

My death? No concern really.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I have a degenerative disease. One of my meds could kill me or leave me badly disabled. Dying doesn't worry me, lingering on does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Holy moly, you just blew my mind. That's a fantastic concept. Unfortunately, I don't believe in an afterlife or anything of the sorts. Would be nice though :)
    I have a degenerative disease. One of my meds could kill me or leave me badly disabled. Dying doesn't worry me, lingering on does.

Sorry to hear that byhookorbycrook.

I think I think of death too much lately. I am not quite sure why. I'm in my early thirties, not that it matters as death does not descriminate. I would like to go with as little pain as possible and not on a flippin' plane.

I imagine that dying when one is happy is more difficult, but I would rather that than dying during a time of sadness, which I think would be much easier to accept.

Man, this thread is deep.

Stheno wrote: »
    I'd hope it would be peaceful tbh, can't imagine dying e.g. in a car accident where you face terrror in your last few minutes

I always taught myself plane crash or drowning would be the worst to go....heard horrible stories of lads who seen people drown/helped recover bodies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I also hope by the time I am ready to check out, the country has decent laws on assisted suicide.

I would hate to be in pain for years and told I have to stick it out til I die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

And I am not frightened of dying. Any time will do, I don't mind. Why should I be frightened of dying? There's no reason for it – you've got to go sometime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Unfortunately I obsessively think about it, and have done for a few years. I've had to go to counselling in the past as a result, but my fear still runs strong... I can't find peace with any of it. I don't want to live forever. I don't want to be "nothing" forever (I know, I know, how can you fear nothing when there's nothing to fear? I've heard it all...), I don't want to enter a cycle of rebirth...

I don't know what would be a good solution. Sometimes I feel like there is a higher purpose, there has to be. I don't like the overly scientific view ie big bang happened, chemicals were in the right place at the right time, life happened, then it finishes, and that's that. I mean it's plausible that that was the case, but the beginning has to have come from somewhere, something... Sometimes I feel like we are God. Every living thing ever, the universe. Just one big consciousness divided into various parts, and that it will all make sense upon our calling. The only difference between us and a plant or a dog is that we know who we are. Otherwise, we are just tiny individual life forms that overall form a collective (human species) that forms another collective (life on Earth) that forms another etc etc...

I'm young yet, mid 20s. I have few wishes. For many parents to die old and peacefully, of course, and for myself and other loved ones to do the same... As I'm sure is the case with everyone. But, I just hope that by the time I am an aul wan (hopefully this is the case) that I'll be ready to leave. Part of my fear might come from the fact I'm young and enjoy life so much now I couldnt fathom not experiencing it. I meditate lots and hope that over the years as I get better at it I can bring myself into deep meditative states and seek some form of personal enlightenment... I'm tired of living in anxiety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Often thought that myself......i mean you dream when your dead and when you die your brain activity is kinda gone but it's hard to believe it just all stops!!

Nobody has ever come back and said what it's like apart from strange religious American nut jobs that hoovers over the drive thru after they died of a super size coke overdose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Noodles81

That's the spirit! Painless with expectations of pleasure...like a deathly weather forecast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Sure once rigor mortis sets in you'll be hard anyway :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

colossus-x wrote: »
    I think it's quite interesting that ppl imagine being dead as if they were still alive. So like your alive but just experiencing being dead.

Exactly people say how they will miss out on x y z .. You're not stuck in a box somewhere thinking "this sucks" .
    Not being alive didn't bother me in the billions of years before I was born , I'm sure it won't in the trillions after...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cork guitar player

Woody Allen nailed it - "I dont mind dying, I just dont wanna be there when it happens"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I think the scariest thing I've ever seen and has effected me deeply was my uncle dying from lung cancer.i didn't mind seeing someone die from cancer which might sound weird but what scared me was his terror. I thought people come to accept their death but he had nightmares.on his second last night,he grab my dad and begged him not to let him die.he had to be sedated he was so hysterical. That shook me to my core.seeing someone begging for their lives in such a helpless situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cork guitar player

Check this out if this death thing spooks you , it has opened this atheists mind to possibilities a bit, to say the least...