Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My arse on show, Galway city

• 03-02-2016 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭

Ok well this happened a few weeks back, I was initially mortified by the incident but after getting over the embarrassment I quite naturally thought to myself: eureka! just the type of thing to post about in AH!

So I'm walking along a city street, sunny day, early afternoonish, on my way to run some errands, quite pleased with the world in general and with myself in particular, carrying my trusted big aul rain poncho (if you know anything about Galway weather, you know why) slung over my arm.

When all of a sudden, there's a toot to my right in the road, and a van has stopped beside me and the man in the passenger seat is addressing me for some reason. Possibly asking for directions? So I saunter over in a helpful manner, all ready to issue directions etc. But no. What the man actually says, very mannerly and very casually, is this: "excuse me, er, but your skirt was lifted up. By your coat, I think" or something in a very similar vein.

The rain poncho I carry with me has a lot of loops and hooks on it. One strappy thingy had caught on my skirt in the general area of my behind and had lifted it all the way up. All the way. Thank god for the cold of the winter time and my trusty big aul 90 den black tights! - although it was probably that extra layer that stopped me having to feel some extra cold on me arse and copping on to what had happened.

Now, I am extraordinarily mortified. I could probably pass for Mrs Tomatohead. While immediately attending to my uncovered arse, I simultaneously thank the man in the van profusely for alerting me to the ongoing disaster and am in my head already counting how many people have possibly seen the spectacle since I left home or thereabouts.

The men in the van, though , thank you. :) True gents. Off they went then.

What happens next, while I'm still standing there, just struggling to mentally readjust to my sudden fall from grace and loss of dignity, and helping myself in the endeavour by repeatedly smoothing the skirt over my bum, is: a youngish fella passes me from behind (of course), with a huge grin on his face and an enthusiastic and animated wave of both his hands in the manner of "best thing ever!!" And exclaiming excitedly to me: "I saw that!" Yes, thank you, young man. Wholly appropriate and infinitely helpful, many, many thanks for that. ( well, at least he didn't say "I saw YOUR ARSE - in truth, what a whopper!" or "I saw that - great craic!" - so thank heaven for small mercies etc.)

Ah the men of Galway... They're the best :)

I carry my rain poncho strictly scrunched up in a ball, or safely tucked away in a plastic bag these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Ye sluh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

OP, your name is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Greet story, appropriate username....yep, it all checks out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Tombi! wrote: »
    OP, your name is spot on.

Damn you! *shakes fist*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

but of course, they all have lovely bottoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

Thanks guys, but I dunno about the appropriate username bit... I mean, I've seen a good deal of life that's for sure, but I've never properly seen my arse. Has anyone? :) ( edit: has anyone seen their own I mean! We've already established everyone has seen mine)

I'd say you'd have to be into yoga or gymnastics and quite supple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Sunny, in Galway, in January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I hear it's going to be the subject of the Macnas parade this year! :pac:

(I'd say it was the highlight of the year for any Galway man that saw it OP, fair play for sharing it for our amusement!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

A real Galway girl...

I took a stroll down the old long walk
    Of the day I-ay-I-ay
    I met a little girl and we stopped to talk
    On a grand soft day I-ay

And I ask you friends, what's a fella to do?
    Because her hair was black and her eyes were blue
    And I knew right then, I'd be takin a whirl
    Down the Salthill Prom with a Galway Girl

We're halfway there when the rain came down
    On the day I-ay-I-ay
    And she took me up to her flat downtown
    On a grand soft day I-ay

And I ask you friends, what's a fella to do?
    Because her hair was black and her eyes were blue
    So I took her hand, and I gave her a twirl
    And I lost my heart to a Galway Girl

When I woke up I was all alone
    With a broken heart and a ticket home
    And I ask you friend, what would you do?
    If her hair was black and her eyes were blue

See I've travelled around, I've been all over the world
    Boys
    I've never seen nothin like a Galway girl - Hey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

Somethig similar happened to me before OP, I was at a petrol station after pumping petrol into the car and gone into the shop, queued and paid for it, all with a rip in the arse of my trousers. The mortification!

Luckily I live a good bit away from that petrol station that its not my local one. When I realised I just burst out laughing. Ive never had a rip in my trousers before then or since!

snubbleste wrote: »
    Sunny, in Galway, in January?

You know well enough that the sun pokes through now and then ;)

This happened sometime in December though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

8 Bit Girl wrote: »
    Somethig similar happened to me before OP, I was at a petrol station after pumping petrol into the car and gone into the shop, queued and paid for it, all with a rip in the arse of my trousers. The mortification!

I once sat in a meeting where I was the only woman, and one of the blokes had ripped the crotch of his trousers and not realised.

He spent the entire meeting sitting there with his legs spread and his delightful red satin boxers showing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Galway is a city?:confused:

8 Bit Girl wrote: »

Luckily I live a good bit away from that petrol station that its not my local one. When I realised I just burst out laughing. Ive never had a rip in my trousers before then or since!

Oh no, that actually sounds bad! I hope it wasn't a crotch/crack rip at least :) that'd be the worst, but the problem is that's where the seams are so bound to go first...

Actually, a mate of mine went dressed as Dorothy from Wizard of Oz.
    Decided on a nice short skirt.
    Nobody thought to tell him that it might not the smartest thing since it was a bit breezy. Thank **** he had boxers on though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Right, its only fair that we get to see it also OP.

Purely for research and intellectual reasons of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

seenitall wrote: »
    The rain poncho I carry with me has a lot of loops and hooks on it. One strappy thingy had caught on my skirt in the general area of my behind and had lifted it all the way up. All the way. Thank god for the cold of the winter time and my trusty big aul 90 den black tights! - although it was probably that extra layer that stopped me having to feel some extra cold on me arse and copping on to what had happened.

It's too late; I've seen everything.

Right, its only fair that we get to see it also OP.

Purely for research and intellectual reasons of course.

Haha, me arse you will! :D

Nice try, though. Original and all ;)

Haha, me arse you will! :D

Nice try, though. Original and all ;)
    We'll see your arse?
    We already saw it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

RainyDay wrote:
    Strange that police couldn't or wouldn't use mobile phone history tracking to prove that people were at a certain location at a certain time.

Any chance of proper location time and date op?
    So I can check the cctv tapes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Thread needs pics

Mech1 wrote: »
    Any chance of proper location time and date op?
    So I can check the cctv tapes.

Fr. Griffin rd area. Blind spot for cctv. Thank god :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Fr. Griffin rd area. Blind spot for cctv. Thank god :)

I betcha a google drone was scanning at the time and we'll see your posterior displayed for posterity on Google maps :D

smash wrote: »
    Thread needs pics

I've provided verbal content; feel free to provide some pictorial one ;)

Of your arse?

That's up to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭redbel05

Reminds me of a couple of years ago when I was at a family wedding. Heel caught in the hem of my skirt when I stood up at mass. Elasticated waist on skirt came down to mid thigh giving the whole congregation a nice view of my undies. Mortified!

Will you be passing by the same street in about 15 minutes? I can get there in 15 minutes,

smash wrote: »
    Of your arse?

That's up to you!

Why does it have to be of my arse? How about the lovely Galway city, or a nice white van (it actually was white, what of it? :o ) or some very useful rain ponchos..?

Look, the thread is about your arse. Everything else is just filler for the story. Make with the arse pics!

Tombi! wrote: »
    Will you be passing by the same street in about 15 minutes? I can get there in 15 minutes,

Deal. So, don't forget to bring the camera! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

What happens next, while I'm still standing there, just struggling to mentally readjust to my sudden fall from grace and loss of dignity, and helping myself in the endeavour by repeatedly smoothing the skirt over my bum, is: a youngish fella passes me from behind (of course), with a huge grin on his face and an enthusiastic and animated wave of both his hands in the manner of "best thing ever!!" And exclaiming excitedly to me: "I saw that!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Happened to me, was working on site and ripped the arse pocket outta the work jeans. Like completely, never noticed it(the lads did though) cue walking into the packed pub at 6.30 of a Friday evening to everyone breaking their holes laughing and a hefty amount of abuse.

Didn't leave mind you... It was Guinness time on Friday, fcuk was I leaving. Was also bear arsed jocked in a busy, more respectable pub at Christmas time, that was a fun night tbh, went home with a lass that liked what she saw ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

The fellows in my school PE class used to pull down eachothers shorts, one fellow also tickled my hairy nipple.

What wholesome imagery, Daniel, truly you spoil us :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Apt username. :) Glad you could see the funny side of it. When is your bottoms next appearance? :D

Ruu wrote: »
    Apt username. :) Glad you could see the funny side of it. When is your bottoms next appearance? :D

Haha... Hopefully from now on, strictly for private shows only! And rigorously pre-selected audience :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I saw it.

2/10 tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,433 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It happens to me quite a bit that if the crotch of my pants doesn't burst, it probably means I've forgotten to do up my zip. I'm not sure which is worse :o

Happened a few weeks back too -

Also quite annoyed right now that I just took off the plaster from donating blood the other night too (split the crotch in my trousers, still hopped up on the table, not too sure the guy across from me with the birds eye view was all that grateful :pac:), and there's quite a nice little bruise at the injection site with some discoloration. I know it'll wear off but still, annoyingly trivial! :p

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I saw it.

2/10 tbh

Uh, tell me about it :( it's a bit flat isn't it?

I've always thought it fairly looked like I could be a flat arse (completely aside from being a shortarse as well) and now - I am finally about to get the one god honest confirmation of all my worst fears...

The Doom has come upon me *runs away in floods of tears*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

PM me a pic, I'll give it an honest assessment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Id say the lad behind took a clip with his smartphone. Hopefully he's on boards :)

kfallon wrote: »

PM sent :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Stheno wrote: »
    I betcha a google drone was scanning at the time and we'll see your posterior displayed for posterity on Google maps :D

For posteriority!

kfallon wrote: »

Forward it on there like a good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

On the hole,I enjoyed that story. My minds eye is still smiling.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

You're famous now OP...or rather your arse is...

Wait until the Galway Advertiser get a hold of this story!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

"that's a lovely but... Of course they ALL have lovely bums"

*good man Ted, ye saved it! *

I'm sure your ass is fantastic (hey at least two people noticed and let you know, and one was complimentary, waving hands etc!)

I got my ass pinched twice on Sunday night in a club, was delighted (I have no ass but 501's are my friend. First time in 10 yr wearing them out, make my non-existent ass look great, but cut the balls off me. Swings and roundabouts I suppose)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I thought this might have been the title of the latest exhibition in the museum / gallery. Shame.

Whyohwhy? wrote: »
    "that's a lovely but... Of course they ALL have lovely bums"

*good man Ted, ye saved it! *

I'm sure your ass is fantastic (hey at least two people noticed and let you know, and one was complimentary, waving hands etc!)

I got my ass pinched twice on Sunday night in a club, was delighted (I have no ass but 501's are my friend. First time in 10 yr wearing them out, make my non-existent ass look great, but cut the balls off me. Swings and roundabouts I suppose)

Sir, Thank you kindly.

It curiously took until page 5 for my ambitions for this thread to start getting recognised: getting compliments on my bottom, (sight unseen), getting slotted for the appearance in the local paper of prominence :p and being celebrated as a work of art. Quite a prospect for a lowly posterior.

Next step : world domination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

You will sit and watch the moon rise over Claddagh, and watch the sun go down on Gakway Bay.