Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman sues for 60k after falling - 7 stitches required

• 02-02-2016 11:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭

A DUBLIN HOUSEWIFE, who has climbed in the Himalayas and to base camp on Mount Everest, has sued the Irish National Parks and Wildlife Service for €60,000 damages following a fall on the Wicklow Way.
    Hill walker Teresa Wall (59) of Rathingle Cottages, Swords, said in the Circuit Civil Court that as the result of a laceration to her right knee she can no longer climb or run marathons.
    The woman, who weekly ran a half marathon as a hobby, told her barrister Peter McParland that she had to receive seven stitches in a gash to her knee after falling on a board-walk in the Wicklow Mountains National Park.

http://www.thejournal.ie/walker-sues-park-service-2580500-Feb2016/

People like this parasite is the reason why we can't have anything nice, why areas get made inaccessible to the public. Out for a quick buck on the back of their own idiocy.

60k for 7 stitches is absolutely laughable. I hope she loses and gets lumbered with court costs and the wildlife park fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

In fairness to fall and require 7 stitches is a fairly serious cut and leave a pretty serious scar after it
    And it did affect her lifestyle if she can't run etc after it....I'd say somehow she'd prefer to be able to run etc than get the 60K

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

In fairness to fall and require 7 stitches is a fairly serious cut and leave a pretty serious scar after it
    And it did affect her lifestyle if she can't run etc after it....I'd say somehow she'd prefer to be able to run etc than get the 60K

You must lead a very sheltered life. How does 7 stitches mean she won't be able to run again?

Stupid bint should have been watching where she was walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

In fairness fucck off outta that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

What a bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

As somebody who loves being outdoors, words cannot express my contempt for this woman.

The knockon effect of any decision to pay out here will be felt by thousands who enjoy getting up into the mountains, all because we have another parasite who believes that every little problem means somebody should pay money.

Torricelli wrote: »
    You must lead a very sheltered life. How does 7 stitches mean she won't be able to run again?

"Stupid bint" seriously?

In the article it states that she will no longer be able to climb or trek due to the lacerations she received. Being involved in those activities seemed a huge part of her life.
    Of course I don't know the full details of the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Some aul one got 90 thousand last week for a dislocated thumb after slipping on a pub floor while wearing 4 inch heels and drinking moderately for 5 hours... These judges solicitors and barrister are so far removed from reality that this aul bag could easily win this or have it settled out of court.

Torricelli wrote: »

Did you even read what you linked??

If they had been properly maintained and not left rot.....it's not like she slipped on side of the mountain (her fault then)....it was a man made walkway....it's not unreasonable to expect it to be maintained??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

A cut to the skin on the knee permanently affecting the ability to walk and run sounds more than dubious, tbh. Doubtless those more knowledgable than myself will chip in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I doubt they would be 100% to blame for her fall, it's about time people should take responsibility for their own actions instead of always trying to blame someone else for their own stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

I'm not sure where ye are getting the idea that abusing someone, whether a poster or some lady from a story, is OK. It's not. Cut it out.

"Stupid bint" seriously?

In the article it states that she will no longer be able to climb or trek due to the lacerations she received. Being involved in those activities seemed a huge part of her life.

A) I don't believe her
    B) Even if true, why does that mean she gets a load of money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

"Stupid bint" seriously?

I just don't see how a person with as much hiking experience as she has thinks it's fair to blame others for the fact that she tripped and fell. She's outdoors, she should have known that it it was an uneven landscape that needed caution. It's bad that she happened to fall and that it's affecting her but it's not like they left cable wires hidden in the grass, so I just don't see how it was anyone's fault but her own. Compensation culture :rolleyes:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I doubt they would be 100% to blame for her fall, it's about time people should take responsibility for their own actions instead of always trying to blame someone else for their own stupidity.

I always assumed since it was man made walkway...they'd have to stand over it....same as footpath etc??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Willfarman wrote: »
    Some aul one got 90 thousand last week for a dislocated thumb after slipping on a pub floor while wearing 4 inch heels and drinking moderately for 5 hours...

A 100 year old woman wearing 9 inch heels fell four feet and got charged €90 euro for 5 drinks?

"Stupid bint" seriously?

How is 60k going to fix that?

If they had been properly maintained and not left rot.....it's not like she slipped on side of the mountain (her fault then)....it was a man made walkway....it's not unreasonable to expect it to be maintained??

It's not unreasonable, and had she a broken spine, ligament damage, or some of the multitude of permanently disabling injuries that can occur due to a fall, few would begrudge her. However going on the article she cut her knee.

She can of course sue for 60k.

She can sue for a million. That's a healthy democracy that ensures access to the Courts.

The issue is...will she get it. And if she doesn't, what will happen about costs.

Properly maintained? Its a wooden path in the middle of the bloody mountains, not a manicured garden outside city hall.

To maintain those walkways to a standard that fully protects against golddiggers would cost millions, nobody is going to pay for it and the ones that will suffer are those who once enjoyed using them. All because one woman wanted to get paid. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

A stitch in time saves nine (grand apparently)

A) I don't believe her
    B) Even if true, why does that mean she gets a load of money?

A...it's a doctor to decide

B...lifestyle affected....though whether it's worth 60K is for others to decide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

It's a relatively 'serious' surface cut I'd imagine. I have and many others suffered something of a similar nature (at face value with this type of injury). It's implausible to believe that this injury solely affects her lifestyle in any way. Maybe at 59 a gash like that might be more damaging in comparison to that sustained by a younger person but it doesn't warrant damages sought to that extent.

Willfarman wrote: »
    Some aul one got 90 thousand last week for a dislocated thumb after slipping on a pub floor while wearing 4 inch heels and drinking moderately for 5 hours... These judges solicitors and barrister are so far removed from reality that this aul bag could easily win this or have it settled out of court.

Ahh here. That's like saying "we'll just have the few" of a Sunday evening.

Nodin wrote: »
    It's not unreasonable, and had she a broken spine, ligament damage, or some of the multitude of permanently disabling injuries that can occur due to a fall, few would begrudge her. However going on the article she cut her knee.

Plenty of people broke bones on the same trail and managed to not sue

B...lifestyle affected....though whether it's worth 60K is for others to decide

So her lifestyle is affected, why does that mean society has to give her money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

It is because of people like this, they will probably end up having to put certain sections of it off limits. 60k for cutting her knee on a rusty nail, that's nice.

I always assumed since it was man made walkway...they'd have to stand over it....same as footpath etc??

If they cut a rough track up the mountain isn't that also man made, where do you draw the line? I bet many more people walked over it that day with out falling over themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

How can she possibly win?

Things like this, make me fear for the future. These things are getting worse, will we soon live in a plastic world with terrorist attacks and tabloid newspapers?

In fairness you don't get 7 stitches for any old cut on the knee.....it's not that I agree with her getting a rake of money.....but the wildlife crowd are directing people onto this path deliberately and then leaving it rot??

As if it was a slip from being wet...that's an inherent risk....but leaving it rot to such an extent people's feet are getting stuck in it

*this is assuming article is 100% ture

rawn wrote: »
    Plenty of people broke bones on the same trail and managed to not sue

Bet their sickened now :pac:

It was quite the oversight to be skaking on thin ice like that with a long while??

Bet their sickened now :pac:

It was quite the oversight to be skaking on thin ice like that with a long while??

It is for simple stupid things like this I don't let in people hunt etc on the farm....if they go in with out permission or after being told not to....not my issue afaik
    B

If she can't walk over a few planks without falling she should hang up her walking shoes either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Just on an off-humored note, has anyone imagined the look on her face when she was falling!:). I find that look hilarious when you can pause in your mind's eye..

In fairness you don't get 7 stitches for any old cut on the knee.....it's not that I agree with her getting a rake of money.....but the wildlife crowd are directing people onto this path deliberately and then leaving it rot??

There is no mention of any more serious damage and that's the crux of the matter. She's saying a cut is causing permanent loss of function as regards hill walking and running. If every cut on the knee - stitches or otherwise - resulted in such injury, there would be few runners, few joggers and very few hill walkers with more than a couple of years experience. The rest would be sitting in the pub, remembering their all too short experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

She was told to abide by a specific walkway and adhered to those rules. Then she was injured on that walkway.

She definitely has a fair case here. 60k is a bit ridiculous but I reckon she has a fair claim.

If she was walking through a certain area and there was no official path and got injured then that is just a case of the raw elements of nature.

This is the problem when people increasingly try to beaurocratise nature with pathways, signs and fences.

If she can't walk over a few planks without falling she should hang up her walking shoes either way.
    Leave Pat Kenny out of this!

As if it was a slip from being wet...that's an inherent risk....but leaving it rot to such an extent people's feet are getting stuck in it

*this is assuming article is 100% ture

My brother sliced his knee open on glass playing football, think it was 17 stitches and pretty deep, he's fine! I also got 13 stitches on my baby finger, which is fine, so the number of stitches doesn't necessarily mean anything in regards to severity or even size.

And I know every cut is different but no mention was made of any damaged tendons or ligaments, so we have to assume it was superficial. It also doesn't seem to mention how long ago it was, I'm sure if it's the tightness of the scar that is bothering her it will ease in time.

€60k for tripping on a hiking trail and cutting a knee seems fairly ridiculous.

There is no mention of any more serious damage and that's the crux of the matter. She's saying a cut is causing permanent loss of function as regards hill walking and running. If every cut on the knee - stitches or otherwise - resulted in such injury, there would be few runners, few joggers and very few hill walkers with more than a couple of years experience. The rest would be sitting in the pub, remembering their all too short experiences.
    It will be for doctors to decide....not for bunch of people who have from what I can tell have limited medical expertise to call her a silly bint,stupid bitch or flat out lier to decide

I hope she's lying like and don't get the money....but if her life is after being affected as badly as she says e60K is not much for a preventable through maintenance accident

She was told to abide by a specific walkway and adhered to those rules. Then we was injured on that walkway.

She definitely has a fair case here. 60k od ridiculous but I reckon she has a fair claim.

If was walking through a certain area and there was no official path and got injured then that is just a case of the raw elements of nature.

This is the problem when people increasingly try to beautocratise nature with pathways, signs and fences.

A fair claim for what though? Because unless a detailed explanation appears, I'm rather unconvinced - to put it mildly - that, going on the information in the article, her walking and running are permanently impaired by the injury as described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

As someone who is not a doctor but has been the receiver of stitches and who has a son who has also decided that we need trips to A&E in our lives. Seven stitches is not an awful lot especially on a joint. I wouldn't call her old but at 59 poeple won't heal as fast or as well as a 20yr old. Maybe it was more then stitches non of us know for sure.

Paths need maintenance but something like the Wicklow way is never going to be perfect and the risk of Fecking up you knee are higher then if you are taking a walk in your local park.

My brother sliced his knee open on glass playing football, think it was 17 stitches and pretty deep, he's fine! I also got 13 stitches on my baby finger, which is fine, so the number of stitches doesn't necessarily mean anything in regards to severity or even size.

And I know every cut is different but no mention was made of any damaged tendons or ligaments, so we have to assume it was superficial. It also doesn't seem to mention how long ago it was, I'm sure if it's the tightness of the scar that is bothering her it will ease in time.

€60k for tripping on a hiking trail and cutting a knee seems fairly ridiculous.
    I got 7 stitches to my face and can't smile proper after it and keep getting twitches to my eyes etc after it and left a mark which required regular bio oil to stop flaring up

Faces are full or tiny muscles so that is understandable. And sorry to hear that btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Wall told Mr McParland, who appeared with Shannons Solicitors, that her foot had snagged in a hole in one of a number of old railway sleepers that made up an EU ground conservation boardwalk just below the JB Malone memorial on the Sally Gap to Djouce trail.
    She not see the hole?
    She had fallen forward and lacerated her knee on a rusty nail. Her husband had helped her off the mountain and had brought her to the VHI Swiftcare Clinic in Swords where she had received a tetanus injection and seven stitches.
    So she tripped, and fell. And then the husband brought her to the private clinic.

=-=

Can see entire sections of the Wicklow Way being off limits shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Wall told Mr McParland, who appeared with Shannons Solicitors, that her foot had snagged in a hole in one of a number of old railway sleepers that made up an EU ground conservation boardwalk just below the JB Malone memorial on the Sally Gap to Djouce trail.
    She not see the hole?
    She had fallen forward and lacerated her knee on a rusty nail. Her husband had helped her off the mountain and had brought her to the VHI Swiftcare Clinic in Swords where she had received a tetanus injection and seven stitches.
    So she tripped, and fell. And then the husband brought her to the private clinic. I'm assuming it wasn't gushing blood, however, I do wonder if this will stop her from walking again.

=-=

Can see entire sections of the Wicklow Way being off limits shortly.

Faces are full or tiny muscles so that is understandable. And sorry to hear that btw

It's not as bad as it sounds....you'd not notice it much only in hot weather...just hurts like fcuk :pac:

It will be for doctors to decide....not for bunch of people who have from what I can tell have limited medical expertise to call her a silly bint,stupid bitch or flat out lier to decide

I hope she's lying like and don't get the money....but if her life is after being affected as badly as she says e60K is not much for a preventable through maintenance accident

Tom you said elsewhere that you don't give people permission to come onto your farm but do you know that anyone under 18 can claim even though they trespass onto your property, crazy law.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

As someone who has had a lot more than 7 stitches in my knee, I'd love to know exactly how this small cut is going to impair her life so significantly.

Tom you said elsewhere that you don't give people permission to come onto your farm but do you know that anyone under 18 can claim even though they trespass onto your property, crazy law.

Little fcukers....though tbf it's a very rural area I live and only u18 around are cousins and at that he's only there every second weekend visiting his father (my cousin)....but I do try keep everything safe as possible pto covers,spend prob too much on maintaining tractor brakes and fences etc....

but I'd never live with myself if someone had hurt badly by something that could be prevented here....I hear too many tales through where I work of people mainly kids getting killed/maimed on farms from stupid accidents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

Why are you allowed to sue people for stupid things? Cant the court just throw away all these ridiculous claims or are the solictors/judges etc in it just for the money? Would love to know!

Interesting how her husband got her down off the mountain unless he gave her a piggy back she obviously walked most ways by herself. Then all of a sudden her movement is restricted when someone can be blamed.