Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another Season Finished.

• 31-01-2016 5:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

Wel dats it for another year. Jaysus it doesnt be long rolling by.
    Anyone have any interesting stories about the season or things to remember.
    I myself didnt get out too often due to other commitments but was really pleased with my young springer bitch. Shes really startin to find her feet.
    Please do share anything ye hav however big or small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

I am at it 39 years and had a right and left this year on snipe this is nothing to bum about as I have lost count at the number of times I have done this but never before 2 with the first shot and one with the second,just wondering has anyone had simlar .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ericslevin

Best part of the season was getting the young lab out working. She's only 7 months and shot 6 ducks over here. Retrieved them all, no problem. Also getting me first ever gadwall and shoveller was a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭bizidea

Best part of my season was watching my springer dog working it's his third season but he has really shown what a worker he is beating any cover you send him into.flushing woodcock other dogs had past over and a couple of very memorable retrieves he made.definitely can call my dog a woodcock dog.me on the other hand seemed to be always in the wrong place at the wrong time missed a few absolute sitters and on 3 occasions had birds flush perfectly for me when I hadn't the gun loaded but roll on next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Bit of luck the weather won't be half as bad next season. I'd say that messed up a lot of weekends for a lot of lads and the floods aswell.
    Time to hit the foxes hard and the bunnies now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Birds held really well this year, still getting decent bags right up to the end. We released 450 birds and shot 140 (and missed a lot more!).