Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you take a dump ?

• 30-01-2016 9:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭

I know that there is another poo-centric thread on here, but this is a bit different. I got talking to my buddies last night, and one of them told me that he goes to the jacks for a sit down once a week. I was shocked. I go every morning before my shower....but rarely twice....unless I have been drinking and eating rubbish. Is once a week more normal than once a day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Man11

Something wrong there if its once , every morning before my shower too.
    Tell him to get checked . Defo not normal

The acceptable range is once every 9 days, or 9 times a day. Outside that, get help.

Wait, no, that's masturbation.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

2 - 3 times a day depending how my intestines are feeling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

My company makes a dollar while I make a dime, that's why I poop on company time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Stoned Since 2011

I scour 9 times a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Why are my bowel movements of interest to the net? Slow night for the NSA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

2 is the magic number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

Once a day, unless I've had very little to eat (I just don't get hungry if I stay inside all day, meaning no poop) or if I've had a coffee (laxative!).

Sounds like your friends is up **** creek OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I gave up the fags on the 1st of January and now taking more regular dumps than I used too.usually once a day where before it could be every two or 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Ever since I've had haemorroids, my dumps are considerably smaller in size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I can go a week - I told the doc and he says "sure if thats what ye do thats what ye do" - But normally 3/5 days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,607 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Fleawuss wrote: »
    Why are my bowel movements of interest to the net? Slow night for the NSA?

Whats the NSA?
    National Shîtters association?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ardinn wrote: »
    I can go a week - I told the doc and he says "sure if thats what ye do thats what ye do" - But normally 3/5 days!!

Eat some vegetables ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Once a week????

Fibre people, fibre, what the hell are these people eating?
    Also drink enough water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There used to be a man on here years ago who was very well versed on this particular subject. His insight is sorely missed on threads like this.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Twice a day, like clockwork. After brekkie, after dinner. Ever day. Just like my dad. I try to get to the jacks before him, otherwise it's a bit stinky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Whenever my Camilla Parkers come calling, Im like clockwork in the morning when I get up though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

There used to be a man on here years ago who was very well versed on this particular subject. His insight is sorely missed on threads like this.
    Good ole Flut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I know that there is another poo-centric thread on here, but this is a bit different. I got talking to my buddies last night, and one of them told me that he goes to the jacks for a sit down once a week. I was shocked. I go every morning before my shower....but rarely twice....unless I have been drinking and eating rubbish. Is once a week more normal than once a day ?

He's full of sh*t either way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭JackieBauer

BOOM BOOM POO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Does your poo go grey when you get old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Depends how much **** I eat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Always once a day, sometimes twice. But rarely at the same time each day.

I got a serious bout of constipation 2 years ago which nearly landed me in hospital so if I don't have movement daily ever since, I take something to make sure I do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

blade1 wrote: »
    Whats the NSA?
    National Shîtters association?

Yes.

Your sh1t goes white if you eat bone marrow, and it goes black if you are taking iron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Wow, two sh*t threads in AH today :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

Your sh1t goes white if you eat bone marrow, and it goes black if you are taking iron

That's why you sometimes come across white dog poo. But, it was more common years ago.

Wow, two sh*t threads in AH today :P

Yeah. Sh1t happens. And I am watching poo inspections on Big Brother too, taped from last night

Just managed a shwank there.

What in god's name is that ?

Its only for grown ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

I give birth to a monster every other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

I'm a twice a day type. Might manage three, sometimes.

First off, I always have a good old purge at 08:00. Regular as clockwork. That's nasty. Because I don't get up till 09:00. (Yeah. That old one. At least it's out of the way now ;))

But, yes, that first mug of tea sends me running. Sometimes I'll revisit well within the hour. If not? I'll generally sneak back between dinner and bed time.

Surely anyone who doesn't go for days on end should be questioning that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

, and it goes black if you are taking iron

Or if you have a few pints of the black stuff the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Every 24-36 hours as a rule, something that is clear is that the "worse" your diet the less often you'll empty your bowels. Bran (and bran flakes), prunes, cooked apple are all helpful as is nothing more exciting than a tall glass of water every day.

I find if I go a day or more without a dump I almost always manage a ghostie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I find if I go a day or more without a dump I almost always manage a ghostie.

Ghostie?

Ghostie?

Do the youth of today not know anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What's the difference between poo and diarrhoea?

Answer: Embarrassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

It's like a blumpkin only carried out solo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ghostie?

I actually googled this! Its the perfect poo - the one that leaves no trace on your hole. The almost wipe-free evacuation. I can't believe this is a thread. Standards are terrible! :p

And no need to flush either as it has so much momentum it goes through the u bend. With the water charges now this needs to become part of school criteria.

It's like a blumpkin only carried out solo.

Ha ha ha. I know what a blumpkin is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Twice a day on weekdays when I am working. Stress and all that pushes things along I suppose.

Weekends can be odd, haven't been to the crapper since yesterday afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Twice a day usually. :D Sometimes more, sometimes less but always everyday. Once a week? Jaysus, I'd be backed up. I eat all the things.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Twice a day type here too. A week? I'd be calling a foookin ambulance.
    I gave up the fags on the 1st of January and now taking more regular dumps than I used too.usually once a day where before it could be every two or 3 days.
    Funny enough I was the opposite. When I gave up the fags I bound up ta… for a couple of months.
    RobertKK wrote: »
    Once a week????

Fibre people, fibre, what the hell are these people eating?
    Also drink enough water.
    +1. I have the diet profile of a near pure carnivore and I'm rocking the twice, even thrice a day. Something's very wrong if it goes less than once per day for any length of time. Actually when I went near vegan for a time my guts suffered and I went from oh god, is this dysentery to I have a growing hard packed poo baby growing inside me. Flesh is my fibre it seems.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Adorable

Twice a day, sometimes thrice a day.
    Is once a week more normal than once a day ?

Definitely not. I would be incredibly worried if I was only defecating once a week. Your friend must have an extremely poor diet and/or is not exercising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

I pop 4 - 5 senokot first thing every single morning to keep me regular, and the 1 more before bed time. I sh1t by them.. I mean swear by them.

4-5 senokot would make you poop more watery than piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Minimum 3, usually 4 times a day.

Herself is comfortable at once ever 3-4 days, it confounds me how anyone could be comfortable with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Bad, bad, bad, bad idea. You will ruin your digestive system by doing this. Get enough water and fibre and talk to your GP about an osmotic laxative if you must. Stimulant laxatives will cause you misery in the long term.