Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have something in place in case you are burgled

• 28-01-2016 4:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Listening to some of my friends, I have realised that if I was woken
    from my sleep by intruders, I would have no clue what to do.:eek:
    And Im wondering do people have a plan, or some way of defending themselves
    should it ever happen ?
    Thanks.

edit does anyone think its a good idea to lock yourself or kids in the bedrooms ?
    Personally I keep all the bedroom doors open so i can hear the kids if they wake .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I had a hurley in the gaff not sure where it is now tho but I'm pretty sure I could annoy them into submission, I'm good at annoying people :o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Chainsaw. And it's electric, Thunderdome really opened my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭.45auto

Ye i have an alarm system wired to 20 pounds of c4 explosive all connected to the load bearing beams of my 2 bed council cottage so if someone breaks in i may die if im in the house but so will they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Before I'd have said I'd hide under the duvet. But now I've two children id just run to their rooms and protect them. Everything else can be replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kfallon wrote: »
    I had a hurley in the gaff not sure where it is now tho but I'm pretty sure I could annoy them into submission, I'm good at annoying people :o
    Useless, get a baseball bat instead, remember how Michael Douglas dealt with the two Mexicans when he wandered onto their pissing ground?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭dollyk

.45auto wrote: »
    Ye i have an alarm system wired to 20 pounds of c4 explosive all connected to the load bearing beams of my 2 bed council cottage so if someone breaks in i may die if im in the house but so will they.

I have an alarm too lol, but one of my friends put cctv around her house, she is obsessed checking the cameras though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Baseball bat and an axe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Mobile phone, call the Gardaí, hide under the bed. There's nothing in my house worth risking my life for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

I have an ornamental Katana though that would be a very bad idea i reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Mobile phone, call the Gardaí, hide under the bed. There's nothing in my house worth risking my life for!

Ffs Jack! You're supposed to say "there's nothing in my house worth taking 3 men's lives with my bare hands over." I would've thought you've been online long enough to know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Have a hurl beside the bed.

dollyk wrote: »
    I have an alarm too lol, but one of my friends put cctv around her house, she is obsessed checking the cameras though.

Ye ive a few too we are with eircom for security but I have an AK bayonet. I dont have the luxuryoif living in a big house. So if my house did get broken into there really would be no way of me not bumping into the offending party

Thats a great answer. Ill put the local Garda station in my mobile now. :)
    Never thought of that. Just 911.

Great, where do you live I want to have a look around :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I have a bokken ( the wooden version of a katana), cctv, and an alarm with a remote panic button. I also have a fullsize bow in the garage and a narky pet rabbit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Padraig Nally in the hotpress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Don't need anything. They'll have to start carrying in before they start carrying out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

I have a comprehensive first aid kit because if the dogs get hold of any burglar they are going to need patching up.

Don't need anything. They'll have to start carrying in before they start carrying out.
    Im a bit like that here too lol.
    It would be more of a case of not being able to defend myself
    or my kids that would worry me.

I have a bokken ( the wooden version of a katana), cctv, and an alarm with a remote panic button. I also have a fullsize bow in the garage and a narky pet rabbit :)

Does the rabbit have BIG teeth :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Keep an old broken hurl(top of the bas came off, would open some scrotes head up good) beside the bed along with handle off an old Arabic sword I was given as a kid as a knuckle duster. Various other implements are about the gaff too, but not immediately visible to an intruder.
    Not paranoid as such but the gaff was broken into before (nothing taken, there's sweet fa of value) but it's a fcukin horrible feeling of violation to know some little thieving cnut was in me gaff.

I thought you'd back away slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Rhea Rose

A place I was renting got broken into a few years ago and I was the only one in the place. Some drunk guy broke in the window on the back door to get in and wandered about a bit before falling asleep on the couch. Turned out he thought it was his own house. I knew none of this at the time though, and I was upstairs sh1tting absolute bricks. I called 112 on my mobile (never thought I'd have to do that) and jammed my wardrobe up against the door of my room as I had no key. He wandered upstairs and went into the room beside mine at one point and I was literally shaking behind my door. It wasn't a great area, so I was sitting there thinking it could have been someone off their head on drugs or anything.

The guards landed about 10/15 min later and made a massive scene about busting into the house - only to find yer man lying conked out on the sofa!!

They gave him a warning and sent him on his way, but it was still scary as fcuk at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭breffni bogballer

I"d meet them on the landing fully naked and erect and shout "come to daddy" then grab the baseball bat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Got an old Mannequin out of a skip and stuck a crash helmet on him, when you come into the Hall you just see the silhouette of him, still frightens the shíte out of me when I've had a few gargles and come in late.

21/25

I"d meet them on the landing fully naked and erect and shout "come to daddy" then grab the baseball bat

No you meet them naked with a knife and say "no need to turn this assault/rape into a rape/murder" works 100% of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

We lock all doors leading to the core of the house i.e. hall and landing, unless actually using that room and leave the key in the door. Guests in the house find it strange that we lock the bathroom doors after using it but it means if someone breaks into the house they cant get from one room to another. Also have panic buttons in each bedroom and core of house. 2 ton sliding gate with notification on my phone each time someone uses it. And 8ft surrounding wall.

Have been the victim of crime on a number of times and it isnt fun but it has never happened in our home.

One of our businesses in a regional town was the scene of a seriouse asault about 2 years ago and when i heard of a murder there yesterday i though to myself 'i wonder was it that particular low life. Ah if only we could be that lucky'. Turns out the scumbag got what he deserved.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

What about your other eye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I worked with a guy "have a golf club beside the bed, if anyone breaks in they will get a hiding"
    Then a friend of his brandishing a golf club chased on intruder.
    All went well until the young intruder took the golf club and started laying into the old guy.
    I didn't hear the "golf club beside the bed" story again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

my3cents wrote: »
    Does the rabbit have BIG teeth :D

And he reeeeally hates knights...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

A shotgun and a vial of Stephen Avery's blood.

Frynge wrote: »
    We lock all doors leading to the core of the house i.e. hall and landing, unless actually using that room and leave the key in the door. Guests in the house find it strange that we lock the bathroom doors after using it but it means if someone breaks into the house they cant get from one room to another. Also have panic buttons in each bedroom and core of house. 2 ton sliding gate with notification on my phone each time someone uses it. And 8ft surrounding wall.

Have been the victim of crime on a number of times and it isnt fun but it has never happened in our home.

One of our businesses in a regional town was the scene of a seriouse asault about 2 years ago and when i heard of a murder there yesterday i though to myself 'i wonder was it that particular low life. Ah if only we could be that lucky'. Turns out the scumbag got what he deserved.

If your not in and all your internal doors are locked its likely every one will be busted open by a burglar thinking something worthwhile is behind the locked door. I can remember this happening in the UK to a neighbor, goods stolen £400 damage done €4,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Do you have something in place in case you are burgled

No money. Lots of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I have Siri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

A plank of wood with a nail in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭SteM

Golf club is the worst idea imo. The only dangerous part of it is the club head. If you connect with it fair enough but if you don't then you'd probably just break the shift. All you're left with then is a pissed off intruder and a piece of metal to poke him with.

Baseball bat is the way to go if you're into home defense imo. Personally, I'd just hide under the bed, insurance can replace anything that's worth taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

If like me you have a long driveway/ lane.
    Neighbours are called. They park a car, van or tractor to close the road and pin in the perps. Gardai are then called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Dog.

He's an idiot and would probably help a burglar - but they don't know that.
    Hoping they will see him and just go next door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Just incase having something in place would mean it was premeditated (you never know with all those claims!) I don't have anything.
    I do have an aluminium baseball bat by my bed ... helps me stretch out the back in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Iv a small axe sharpened to a razor edge in the press so goodbye fingers to anyone breaking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Not me but me stepdad has a gigantic replica of a musket in the living room that would make a very handy bludgeoning weapon should anyone attempt to burgle us. We also have a small but very vocal Jack Russell who thinks she's a Rottweiler so if anyone DID get in, they'd get a few nips at their ankles, to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I think it's rare that there's ever an altercation between the thief and homeowner, most will flee when disturbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I've got "Groove is in the heart" by Deelight on the stero. I'll blast them with a bit of that. I think that piece of horrific tripe would make the most hardened criminal turn and run.

I think it's rare that there's ever an altercation between the thief and homeowner, most will flee when disturbed.
    I like this post the best .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

my3cents wrote: »
    If your not in and all your internal doors are locked its likely every one will be busted open by a burglar thinking something worthwhile is behind the locked door. I can remember this happening in the UK to a neighbor, goods stolen £400 damage done €4,000.

To be honest, thats fine, let them smash away if we are not in. Everything is insured. The idea behind it being that we would have the option of barricading ourselves into the core of the house or making use of one of five escape paths from the core of the house.

If some one broke into the kitchen, we would know about it long before they got into the hall. From the hall we could escape through the front door, side door, conservatory or the garage before having to consider the windows in the other rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

2 large dogs outside for peripheral defence.
    2 noisy ba$tard small dogs to wake me before house is entered (they have done this effectively - twice)
    Various weapons I have decent knowledge of - Nunchucks - Garda Baton (the old solid ones) tazer.
    I Have various hunting knives in my room
    I also have an under and over shotgun in the wardrobe when Im feeling defensively lazy.

Wardrobe beside the door in my room would be easily pulled to the ground to block the door.

Load shotgun - call guards - stay put - shoot if the door handle moves.

I have also thought extensively about how to remove and dispose of the bodies if I could not call the guards. I really dont need the paperwork so I have plans in place for dealing with that. None of this torso's in suitcases for me - body/s could not be found or traced. All could be done without leaving my home site.

Living in the country is fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I shall read from the necronomicon.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 489 ✭✭AngryDiMaria

Screwdriver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

dollyk wrote: »
    Thats a great answer. Ill put the local Garda station in my mobile now. :)
    Never thought of that. Just 911.

Better the local guards than 911... Which wouldn't get you very far unless you live in America ;)

I don't have anything. I really should pick up a hurl or something. I live in a small, ground floor flat, dark/obscured/isolated entrance. One night I was in bed with the bf & dog and heard someone try the door handle (it squeaks). I got up out of bed quietly so as to not wake the bf or dog, went out to the front door, opened it and growled "go f*ck yourself, C*NT" into the darkness outside. Felt very protective of the sleepy pair back in on the bed, and I was filled with rage at the thoughts of someone scaring them.

Hindsight... Pretty stupid move on my part :P do not recommend!