Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coveney will lose 10000 votes for FG over GLAS

• 28-01-2016 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Coveney had promised 13000 places for GLAS 2, but today it emerged that only 11,500 places will be honoured. 2500 farmers are denied a place. Crazy when you consider the vast underspent in RDP schemes. I was a floating voter but I now certainly won't be voting FG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

We can apply again for GLAS3 end of year but will have to get into tier2 at least to have any chance of getting in then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭eorna

Lost my vote anyway..
    Why would you promise 13000 and only allow 11.500?
    Pure joke, too lazy to score tier 3 in my opinion.
    I'd like to see the ifa's reaction too as they might loose my subscription money as well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

Look at all the empty promises he made. Applications for national reserve closed in may 2015. Payments were due to be made in December 2015 and still a lot of people have to been paid or contacted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Coveney had promised 13000 places for GLAS 2, but today it emerged that only 11,500 places will be honoured. 2500 farmers are denied a place. Crazy when you consider the vast underspent in RDP schemes. I was a floating voter but I now certainly won't be voting FG

where are you getting your figures, firstly 10,000 votes in your title, secondly
    13000 minus 11500 is 1500 he's achieved 90% , not bad for civil service, and you know how ineficient they are, I think he deserves a medal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

yeah, a medal from goodman for been the best boy in the class!
    rangler1 wrote: »
    where are you getting your figures, firstly 10,000 votes in your title, secondly
    13000 minus 11500 is 1500 he's achieved 90% , not bad for civil service, and you know how ineficient they are, I think he deserves a medal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

He has lost a lot more votes than that how many farmers have been left waiting for payments the last couple of years
    Personality I have never had as much trouble with the department and payments as during the term of this government
    Not to mention a lot of farmers in the west of Ireland feel he couldn't give two hoots about them and I voted fine gale last time round because we needed a change from ff .
    Don't know who I will vote for this time but probably not ff fg or labour.
    That leaves the independent alliance sf or renua or a stand alone independent.
    I wouldn't mind seeing eamon o ciave as ag minister though to see if he would back up what he is saying with actions.

djmc wrote: »
    He has lost a lot more votes than that how many farmers have been left waiting for payments the last couple of years
    Personality I have never had as much trouble with the department and payments as during the term of this government
    Not to mention a lot of farmers in the west of Ireland feel he couldn't give two hoots about them and I voted fine gale last time round because we needed a change from ff .
    I wouldn't mind seeing eamon o ciave as ag minister though to see if he would back up what he is saying with actions.

Could've been worse, he could've hired Irish Water to process farm payments.
    O'Cuiv bankrupted REPs (the best scheme ever for farmers) by enabling the big dairy farmers to draw it , a bit ironic now and he coming across as anti big farmers or worse, anti big entitlement farmer......hypocritical or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What's the alternative? We will be forever paying for Fianna fails mistakes. Sinn fein are full of promises that they will never fulfil.

O'Cuiv bankrupted REPs (the best scheme ever for farmers) by enabling the big dairy farmers to draw it , a bit ironic now and he coming across as anti big farmers or worse, anti big entitlement farmer......hypocritical or what

I thought it was the banker's that bankrupt reps along with disadvantaged area payments and almost everything else in the country.
    FF had a lot to do with it as well to be fair and people should remember them for it.
    There will always be Promise's before elections and broken shortly afterwards.
    I'd say we will probably end up with some kind of rainbow coalition again before sf or independents will be left in charge.
    I think sf Martin Ferris or Jason Fitzgerald from north cork for renua would make good ag ministers as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

viztopia wrote: »
    Look at all the empty promises he made. Applications for national reserve closed in may 2015. Payments were due to be made in December 2015 and still a lot of people have to been paid or contacted.

The last 18 months for convey(and the dept) has been a mess!
    There has to be a lack of communication from the bottom to the top, or the other way round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

rangler1 wrote:
    where are you getting your figures, firstly 10,000 votes in your title, secondly 13000 minus 11500 is 1500 he's achieved 90% , not bad for civil service, and you know how ineficient they are, I think he deserves a medal

If you were still waiting on payments you would not be saying that, a total disaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Now that gave me s good laugh. Young Dev would shyte his breeches if he got the job. All talk and no trousers as he proved when in government

Because of Dev Og I got double Reps as am in partnership and was in derrogation. That's why Reps died.
    He's an incompetent.

I thought it was the banker's that bankrupt reps along with disadvantaged area payments and almost everything else in the country.
    FF had a lot to do with it as well to be fair and people should remember them for it.
    I'd say we will probably end up with some kind of rainbow coalition again before sf or independents will be left in charge.
    I think sf Martin Ferris or Jason Fitzgerald from north cork for renua would make good ag ministers as well.

Ferris, are you for real?

FG will cruise and the only question is who'll be there junior partners?

Lab I hope not a disparate crowd of independents. We need stability.

Ferris is their ag spokesman he seems to talk a lot of since on the radio on any interviews he has done and hasn't held his seat in north Kerry for the past twenty years or more for no reason.
    People keep voting for him because he delivers or tries to on what he says.
    The good Friday agreement was around 18 years ago at this stage which he was part of and I haven't heard of them being in trouble since so why shouldn't he be given a chance.
    I wouldn't be a republican either just judge people as I see them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

It would be selling up farm lock stock and barrel and emigrate if SF had balance of power in next govt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

FG will cruise and the only question is who'll be there junior partners?

Lab I hope not a disparate crowd of independents. We need stability.

Unfortunately stability in irish politics brings complacency and corruption. I agree a motley crew of independants wouldn't be a good thing. It is a pity that there is no alternative party with a ghost of a chance at the minute.

Ferris is their ag spokesman he seems to talk a lot of since on the radio on any interviews he has done and hasn't held his seat in north Kerry for the past twenty years or more for no reason.
    The good Friday agreement was around 18 years ago at this stage which he was part of and I haven't heard of them being in trouble since so why shouldn't he be given a chance.

Doesn't accept our judicial system
    Slab Murphy, good republican

Prime candidate for Government. That and much more aside the shinners won't go into Government as it'd be too easy to be found out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

He could collect Garda killers from prison with the ministerial Mercedes sure.

Willfarman wrote: »
    Unfortunately stability in irish politics brings complacency and corruption. I agree a motley crew of independants wouldn't be a good thing. It is a pity that there is no alternative party with a ghost of a chance at the minute.

Wholeheartedly agree

Who else would ye pick as a minister for ag not suggesting any political party just judging on their merits.
    If the independents got in would fitzmarice have a shot.
    Be interested to know of choices around the rest of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The closeness of FG and certain farming organisations is pretty obvious these days. IF your happy with that as a farmer regarding this governments approach to CAP etc. then the current government is your man. I think the farming vote will reflect the deepening divisions between different categories of farmer with regards to this governments agri policies.

I would rather see any politician keep highlighting the issues facing rural Ireland and agriculture than the ones who just keep quiet and keep their heads down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Who else would ye pick as a minister for ag not suggesting any political party just judging on their merits.
    If the independents got in would fitzmarice have a shot.
    Be interested to know of choices around the rest of the country.
    No independent would ever get a ministerial job. Likely to be FG again but coveney will want a bigger portfolio next so we might get someone else.

I happened to hear a green candidate from mullingar/Longford on the radio on the way home. All I gleaned from it was he was anti beef.

I doubt my local fg td will be re-elected...but then again he's shatter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

croot wrote: »
    No independent would ever get a ministerial job. Likely to be FG again but coveney will want a bigger portfolio next so we might get someone else.

Simon Harris maybe? But coveney has a big enough portfolio atm with ag and defence. Only bigger would be finance or Taoiseach.

The way I would be thinking labour could well loose seats and fg might also loose a few
    If they haven't the majority who will they bring in to form the government and what will their demands be to come in.
    I don't think the greens will carry much weight this time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Partick Thistle

Just to explain the figures used in title of this thread, there were 14000 applicatons for GLAS2. Coveney had promised 13000 places. It was expected that the extra 1000 would be accepted especially in the light of the upcoming election and the underspend on environmental schemes in the last 2 years.
    So we have 2500 disappointed farmers that didn't make the cut. It would be fair to assume that the farmers wife and perhaps an average of 2 children would also have to reconsider their vote. Add onto this add on 400 planners and their families. Planners will find it difficult to get paid by the unlucky farmers. That totals at least a loss of 10000 votes for FG
    I was not anti-Coveney, he is quite intelligent and overall was quite a good minister. Its a pity that the above debacle will be a stain on his legacy,especially when it could easily have been avoided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

The bookies don't usually be far wrong. When they poll they ask the question differently. Who do you think will form the next government as opposed to who will you vote for in the election. Gets a more reliable result.

https://m.ladbrokes.com/en-gb/#!event_details?id=219508264

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

The elections not even called and I,m sick of hearing about "how bad this lot are" "there's no other choices our there".. Can ye not wait till its called, a month of this will be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Partick Thistle

Fair point. I think FG, Labour, and the FG genepool of independents should have enough. However they are prone to gaffes especially from Kenny and now Coveney. Its theirs to lose.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Simon Harris maybe? But coveney has a big enough portfolio atm with ag and defence. Only bigger would be finance or Taoiseach.

Andy Young was mentioned at the start of the gov, but he might be too close to the ifa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Depends on what happens to labour. Environment would be considered bigger as would foreign affairs and smoozing with the elite would suit him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Who does Coveneys brother work for again?
    Oh yes, Goodman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

croot wrote: »
    Depends on what happens to labour. Environment would be considered bigger as would foreign affairs and smoozing with the elite would suit him.

What about Joan Burtons job in social protection too. He'll want an economic portfolio if he wants to be taoiseach some day.
    Enda says he's going to do one more term and retire. Surely he's going to try to annoint a successor and noonans been there done that and will probably retire with Enda.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Oh yes, Goodman

You have to have a bit of family loyalty, they're both clever enough not to do anything that'll upset simons vote,
    I was listening to retiring Roscommon politician on radio this evening and the life he and his family were getting.....can't be much fun being related to a minister..never mind a TD

ganmo wrote: »
    Andy Young was mentioned at the start of the gov, but he might be too close to the ifa

Who's that, or do you mean andy doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

Oh yes, Goodman

Thought it was Greencore?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

Lads honestly I don't think its going to make a hell of a lot of difference who's in power and the reality is if Coveney was to put all farmers in a concentration camp, he's running Cork south central, so the farming vote is practically irrelevant to him.

Yes FF presided over the big mess we found ourselves in. Now the economy is supposed to being doing a bit better under FG and Labour, using pretty much the same policies as FF. The only thing that has really changed is that interest rates are at a historic low and the euro has been devalued hugely. All things that are totally outside the control of the irish government. I hope I'm wrong but who ever wins the next election could be in for a right demolition in the election after that, if this Chinese thing plays out wrong.

Honestly Kenny going around europe as if he was superman is getting a bit tired.
    He looked like a right ejit when he was challenged by that Nobel prize winning economist over in Davos and Its not that long ago since his gaff about the army at the ATMs when clearly what he was saying couldn't have happened.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Oh yes, Goodman
    MIKEKC wrote: »
    Thought it was Greencore?

ABP supplied the meat to Greencore.

Off topic, while I am not in favour of a revolution, I'd be happy to see Larry Goodman first against the wall if it comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

farmerjj wrote: »
    The elections not even called and I,m sick of hearing about "how bad this lot are" "there's no other choices our there".. Can ye not wait till its called, a month of this will be enough.

It's on Friday 26th Feb......venues booked,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

alps wrote: »
    It's on Friday 26th Feb......venues booked,
    no school that day so:cool: thats not far away are you sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Fuxake

Jason Fitzgerald! Are you serious?? As for Martin Ferris kinda find it hard to trust a man who collected the killers of Detective Jerry McCabe when they were being let outta jail. Sending out a very clear and calculated signal that these were "good republicans" and "decent men". Do you think that is nothing compared to Coveney's evils? Just in case anyone has any illusions, one of these heroes recently was convicted of stabbing his Mrs 18 times and convinced that he had finished her off dragged their terrified kids down to see her lying in a pool of blood to say goodbye to her! So this psychopathic scumbag is a mate of Martin Ferris and you think that he has sound judgement? By the way, under our joke of a judicial system he will be let out within five years! Coveney has been guilty of a lot of bad decisions but jeez at least he knows a psychopath when he sees one.

Who's that, or do you mean andy doyle

That's the one! Knew it didn't seem right

Fuxake wrote: »
    Jason Fitzgerald! Are you serious?? As for Martin Ferris kinda find it hard to trust a man who collected the killers of Detective Jerry McCabe when they were being let outta jail. Sending out a very clear and calculated signal that these were "good republicans" and "decent men". Do you think that is nothing compared to Coveney's evils? Just in case anyone has any illusions, one of these heroes recently was convicted of stabbing his Mrs 18 times and convinced that he had finished her off dragged their terrified kids down to see her lying in a pool of blood to say goodbye to her! So this psychopathic scumbag is a mate of Martin Ferris and you think that he has sound judgement? By the way, under our joke of a judicial system he will be let out within five years! Coveney has been guilty of a lot of bad decisions but jeez at least he knows a psychopath when he sees one.

Jason is a dairy farmer from north cork so I cant vote for him outside my area
    but i would if I could because I have seen the work he has done for farmers in hen harrier areas taking on the job himself when our politicians and IFA
    would do nothing because of the small number of farmers involved.
    He set up IFDL and while people said he wouldn't get anywhere he contacted press highlighted issues organised meetings rallied support lobbied government went out to europe and raised issues there and delivered results.
    In doing so the man has earned my respect.

As for ferris he has taken over the FF seat in north kerry and keeps getting reelected his daughter got mayor of kerry and they continually keep their seats whether you like their past or not they are somewhat respected in their
    area and speaks up for agriculture and rural affairs.

Like the late jackey healy rae in south kerry many people up the country disliked him but he kept getting reelected because he worked for the people that put him there and spoke up for issues while others remained silent and didnt give one dam in the wide earthly world what anyone else thought about it.

They are all getting their advice from a fairly small elite group. I honestly think it makes no difference who's in power. Apart from maybe the likes of Shane Ross, I don't see anyone with the cop on to try and do things differently. If Enda was brave enough to engage with the prize winning economist over in Davos. Im guessing what he would have told him is, we were acting on advice.

The bizarre thing is the people giving them the advice were the same people who had been advising Anglo all along while they were getting themselves in a right mess. So in our wisdom the government get Anglos advisers to advise them how to get out of the mess! It could only happen in Ireland! No wonder the prize winning economist wasn't impressed!

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/financial-services/banks-wanted-anglo-inbs-taken-out-on-night-of-guarantee-1.2287277

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Any indication on when farmers will know whether they actually made the cut to get into Glas 2??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Coveney has been a good minister but not a good minister for agriculture for farmers ,his priority is promotion. He set out to protect and create jobs in agriculture by favouring processors which is not unreasonable particularly as his brother runs one such company.
    He also initially set out to cut expenditure in his department which he done very effectively by cutting schemes for farmers while protecting jobs within the department.
    In the last couple of years as the election has come closer and the economy improved he has introduced more expenditure but has been blunted by his department.
    He has alienated a large proportion of farmers particularly small part time men in the west but it is debatable if this will impact electorally.
    He is in a good position within the cabinet poised for promotion while his main competitor languishes in Health (angola) having done what was expected of him for the last 5 years