Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you pretend to be a transwoman to get Olympic glory.

• 28-01-2016 2:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20

I think a lot of men would.

So if you are pretty good at a sport but not great would you claim to be a woman to rake it in.

Olympic medal winner sponsorship/money/adulation/everyone hanging on your word like Caitlin Jenner
    No surgery required at all.
    No legal requirement to declare as a woman or change your name
    No need to wear a dress- You can be a jeans/t-shirt/Trainers sort of lesbian. You don't even need to shave.
    You might (or might not) need to take tablets to lower your testosterone to the Low end of normal for 12 months before the Olympics and for the 2 weeks of the games.
    Nobody will say anything mean in public because they would be a transphobic bigot
    You can tell your family/Girlfriend the truth
    YoY can stop after Olympcs (if you want) sell the book/movie rights and blame it on whoever you like that you are once again a full blooded male

Apparently the IOC have changed the rules, so if you fancy your chances then this is it.

And lastly would I? No I think, but I'd definitely tell a friend to go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I wouldn't because if you don't win gold in said event, or fail to secure a podium finish even, you'd have to commit suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'd definitely have the balls to do it anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Yeah, but who would want to see me squeeze in to a bikini just to play in the Irish Beach Volley Ball team?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Only if they promise to make a documentary out of it with a montage scene with me injecting oestrogen to 'push it to the limit'

Well, thats not a loaded question posed provocatively at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

So if you are pretty good at a sport but not great would you claim to be a woman to rake it in.

Olympic medal winner sponsorship/money/adulation/everyone hanging on your word like Caitlin Jenner
    No surgery required at all.
    No legal requirement to declare as a woman or change your name
    No need to wear a dress- You can be a jeans/t-shirt/Trainers sort of lesbian. You don't even need to shave.
    You might (or might not) need to take tablets to lower your testosterone to the Low end of normal for 12 months before the Olympics and for the 2 weeks of the games.
    Nobody will say anything mean in public because they would be a transphobic bigot
    You can tell your family/Girlfriend the truth
    YoY can stop after Olympcs (if you want) sell the book/movie rights and blame it on whoever you like that you are once again a full blooded male

Apparently the IOC have changed the rules, so if you fancy your chances then this is it.

There's so much wrong and crassly ignorant with this that it doesn't even seem worth analysing. In brief: OP is wrong to a spectacular degree.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,519 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No. You'd still need insane amounts of training and dedication aside from the primary ethical reason.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 M Anonymous

I wasn't trying to be provocative. Obviously you would have to go out and compete, possibly against other transwomen.

I was imagining what I would say to the man that this isn't hypothetical for.

Menas, I bet loads of people would want you to wear the Irsih Beach Volleyball bikini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Definitely not in synchronised swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

There's no drug test to catch Anabollick steroids as yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

OP implying that you can just automatically get Olympic glory by being "pretty good at sport". Being pretty good at sport just doesn't quite cut the mustard, it takes a lifetime of dedicated training and sacrifice to reach that level, and even then, you might not win anything.

Do you remember the whole debacle with Caster Semenya a few years ago? That'll say how well this could be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Women competing against other women - fair.
    Transwomen competing against other transwomen - fair.
    Transwomen competing against women - unfair.

Think the IOC have bigger fish to fry TBH.

Ok. No synchronised Swimming. How do you fancy your chances in weight lifting, or boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Ah yeah, sure any man who's "pretty good at a sport, but not great" would be a match for a female Olympian. Be easy.

Entropi, sort of fair point. But how many Irish men can run 100 m faster than the women's gold medallist at the London Olympics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Women competing against other women - fair.
    Transwomen competing against other transwomen - fair.
    Transwomen competing against women - unfair.

Think the IOC have bigger fish to fry TBH.

The IOC have already sanctioned transwomen to compete in the women's events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I like the implication that by virtue of being a man I could beat female olympic athletes! As if Jessica Ennis or somebody like that couldn't literally run laps around me all day long, or that a punch from Katie Taylor wouldn't hurt like balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Chances are I'd be stripped of my Olympic Glory once they see my 'Morning Glory' :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

So you wouldn't go for it yourself, but you think a lot of other men would, and you'd definitely tell a friend to go for it...

Makes about as much sense as your opening post that does.

Ah yeah, sure any man who's "pretty good at a sport, but not great" would be a match for a female Olympian. Be easy.
    I'd reckon any top 500 male tennis player would easily be top 10 female and win slams.

Yeah Jessica Ennis could run laps around us keyboard warriors. But would she beat (and apologies to him) the Irish decathlon winner/podium placer who does train a lot, is **** off fit but is not good enough to get inside the top thirty in the Olympics?

Or looking at Katie Taylor, if the guy who won in London decides he is actually a woman, would you tell Katie it's all right, and she'll be grand in the ring against him.

I like the implication that by virtue of being a man I could beat female olympic athletes! As if Jessica Ennis or somebody like that couldn't literally run laps around me all day long, or that a punch from Katie Taylor wouldn't hurt like balls.

Most men would puck Katie Taylor around the gaf; not because they're better athletes or boxers, but because they're more than likely a lot bigger than her and size matters.

I'd reckon any top 500 male tennis player would easily be top 10 female and win slams.

A top 500 tennis player is not merely 'pretty good' at tennis.
    Hammer89 wrote: »
    Most men would puck Katie Taylor around the gaf; not because they're better athletes or boxers, but because they're more than likely a lot bigger than her and size matters.

lol.

The IOC have already sanctioned transwomen to compete in the women's events.
    Completely idiotic IMO, and a potential can of worms waiting to be opened.

kfallon wrote: »
    Chances are I'd be stripped of my Olympic Glory once they see my 'Morning Glory' :(

No you wouldn't that's the point.

So you wouldn't go for it yourself, but you think a lot of other men would, and you'd definitely tell a friend to go for it...

Makes about as much sense as your opening post that does.

My opening post gives an accurate view of the position of transwomen in the Olympics.

A top 500 tennis player is not merely 'pretty good' at tennis.
    No, but it does illustrate the gulf at elite level sport between men and women. Especially those which require high levels of muscular strength. You can change your "gender", you cannot change your biology.

Nobody (aside from the odd idiot) is arguing that your average park jogger would be a match for Olympic sportswomen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

If they're 20 stone and land a haymaker then fair enough but boxing goes by weight classes and I'd say Katie Taylor would puck the head off most men who'd fall into her weight class. She weighs 60kg/1.65m by the way. A fairly small man. Good luck if you fancy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Entropi, sort of fair point. But how many Irish men can run 100 m faster than the women's gold medallist at the London Olympics?
    Seven below from last season, with one equalling it. Not a very large amount, and I've seen four of those compete. Here's the list
    Most men wouldn't even get to finish throwing that punch before she's dodged and countered it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Fcuk it just do what Johnny knoxville did in the "ringer", pretend your mentally handicapped if you want the easiest route to tmOlympic gold. For true authenticity, give yourself a few belts in the head with a lump hammer (I suspect you may have already gone down this route, ye did start this stupid thread after all...)

gramar wrote: »
    If they're 20 stone and land a haymaker then fair enough but boxing goes by weight classes and I'd say Katie Taylor would puck the head off most men who'd fall into her weight class. She weighs 60kg/1.65m by the way. A fairly small man. Good luck if you fancy it.

She absolutely would, but there's not many blokes around who are 5'5 and eight stone which is why I said 'most men' would bash her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Except boxing is done by weight, so they wouldn't be heavier than her. The skeletons of men give them a slight advantage if they're a perfect specimen, men tend to have narrower hips and wider shoulders which help, but when it comes to muscle there's nothing about male muscles that makes them stronger on a pound for pound comparison. So in theory Katie Taylor fighting a man of similar weight should be a fair fight. There's probably more to it than that though. The male form has been specialised for physicality, the female body has been specialised for having children. Boxing is a martial art though, technique can trump all.

gramar wrote: »

I'm 76kg, so a few weight classes above her, and a man. And I have no illusions - she'd knock 70 shades of shite out me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There's so much wrong with the OP. On my mobile so can't report it but just wanted to point out how messed up the OP's logic is. If you think being a man automatically overrides any sporting talent a woman has, you're very much mistaken.

Not to mention how offensive this thread is to women, men and transgender people. I know "it's just AH" but this is quite easily one of the worst threads I've ever seen on boards.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Except boxing is done by weight, so they wouldn't be heavier than her. The skeletons of men give them a slight advantage if they're a perfect specimen, men tend to have narrower hips and wider shoulders which help, but when it comes to muscle there's nothing about male muscles that makes them stronger on a pound for pound comparison. So in theory Katie Taylor fighting a man of similar weight should be a fair fight. There's probably more to it than that though. The male form has been specialised for physicality, the female body has been specialised for having children. Boxing is a martial art though, technique can trump all.

Again, I said most men. I'm well aware of weight classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

My opening post gives an accurate view of the position of transwomen in the Olympics.

It really doesn't! I was willing to pass it off as naivety at first, but if you're insistent that your opening post is an accurate view of the position of trans women in the Olympics, then your opinion is based on ignorance of the stringent conditions under which trans women athletes are allowed to, or even qualified to, compete in the Olympics.

I really don't know where you came up with the idea that a lot of men would be so stupid as to attempt such a thing either for the adulation or the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'm 76kg, so a few weight classes above her, and a man. And I have no illusions - she'd knock 70 shades of shite out me.

I'd be begging her to stop at 7 shades...if I could still talk!

How tall are you? If you're taller than 5'5, you can throw punches from further away because your arms are longer than hers. I'm 6'4 so I'd be like Dhalsim compared to her :p

Also, she'd find it very hard to knock you out because you can't generate the same power when punching up at a target. It's different punching downwards though.

How tall are you? If you're taller than 5'5, you can throw punches from further away because your arms are longer than hers. I'm 6'4 so I'd be like Dhalsim compared to her :p

Also, she'd find it very hard to knock you out because you can't generate the same power when punching up at a target. It's different punching downwards though.

She'd be used to getting hit much harder than I'd be able to hit her, if I could even land a punch. She also wouldn't need to knock me out because after a couple in the kidneys I'd be begging her to stop.

Yes admittedly I overlooked body shots, which is a fair point.

entropi wrote: »
    Seven below from last season, with one equalling it. Not a very large amount, and I've seen four of those compete. Here's the list

Most men wouldn't even get to finish throwing that punch before she's dodged and countered it.

SEVEN IRISH MEN. And how many would you expect there to be worldwide? If we are 7 from 4.5 million then that is around 10 thousand, and how many of those will be Trans? 10?20?. That says the London winner would be a semi-final loser assuming she even made her country team at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There's actually an Olympic sport where the sexes are separated because women are better than men - Shooting.

There was an American girl that narrowly missed out on qualifying for the men's Olympic squad last time out too, would have been interesting if she made it.

In the controlled conditions of a lightweight amateur boxing match obviously Katie Taylor is going to beat a male non boxer of similar weight. We're not taking about a no holds barred brawl here, where the man could just overpower her. There are very strict rules in boxing.

entropi wrote: »
    Most men - yes. Most male club level boxers in her weight category - I wouldn't be so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

As has been pointed out, if they are a lot bigger they won't be in her weight class at the Olympics, same as the women who are a lot bigger than her aren't.

I'm well aware of the importance of weight in fighting, but I'm twice the size of Taylor and pretty muscular and I'd still be very wary about facing her, if she catches me in the right place I'm could be going down like it or not.
    But would she beat (and apologies to him) the Irish decathlon winner/podium placer who does train a lot, is **** off fit but is not good enough to get inside the top thirty in the Olympics?

Thats hardly what you said in the OP, as in "good at a sport but not great". The Irish decathlon winner is probably better than good at his sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Again, I said most men. I'm well aware of weight classes.
    But you could make the same argument about Conor McGregor, fighters above his weight class could probably knock him around the place too. Maybe not in a straight up boxing match but in an MMA fight he'd be in real trouble fighting someone a lot bigger and heavier than him..

She's got too much experience for any man that's not also an olympian.

Most men - yes. Most male club level boxers in her weight category - I wouldn't be so sure.

She used to spar with the boys when she was coming up. Probably be well able for a club boxer in her weightclass.

There's so much wrong with the OP. On my mobile so can't report it but just wanted to point out how messed up the OP's logic is. If you think being a man automatically overrides any sporting talent a woman has, you're very much mistaken.

Not to mention how offensive this thread is to women, men and transgender people. I know "it's just AH" but this is quite easily one of the worst threads I've ever seen on boards.

Don't you think that the new IOC guidelines (not rules of course) are offensive to women?

Basically, for the Olympics the definition of a woman is "Any individual who says they are a woman and who has had serum testosterone results below 10 nmol/ml for 12 months"
    9.9 nmol is within the normal range for a man.

The IOC were leaned on by transactivists and caved. More than one Transwomen who were not great professionals as men are now winning on the women's pro circuits.

ScumLord wrote: »
    But you could make the same argument about Conor McGregor, fighters above his weight class could probably knock him around the place too. Maybe not in a straight up boxing match but in an MMA fight he'd be in real trouble fighting someone a lot bigger and heavier than him.

Absolutely mate. I'm not saying this only applies to women or women boxers. That's why there's weight classes in MMA too. Not only are mismatches totally unfair for the smaller person, it's a piss poor spectacle.