Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'Arcy-Jesus Wept

• 23-01-2016 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭

Dear RTE,
    Next time you have a chance to interview someone as interesting as Dean Strang, don't let D'arcy within an ass's roar of it.
    Absolutely awful, awful interview.
    Such a flippant, condescending gob****e

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

He needs an ounce. Minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Football Friend

Dear RTE,
    Next time you have a chance to interview someone as interesting as Dean Strang, don't let D'arcy within an ass's roar of it.
    Absolutely awful, awful interview.
    Such a flippant, condescending gob****e

Spot on. Sex symbol nonsense, not fully researched and daily mail style questions and then the clincher at the end...'do you think he's guilty' lazy interviewing at it's finest.

Was actually looking forward to hearing strang too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

It's getting fairly slated on the TV forum alright

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057552106&page=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭jv2000

That was embarrassing, what a disappointment. All the possibilities for questions.... wasted. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Believe it or not, RTE has commissioned a second series of the Ray D'Arcy Show.

The most telling line in that article:

"But RTE has invested so much money in bringing in Ray in from Today FM, the bosses who brought him over would face heavy criticism if they axed his show after one season."

The Irish establishment mentality summed up in one sentence. Make a massive cock-up with public money, but ignore the massive cock-up because acknowledging the massive cock-up would affect the reputations of the lads who made the massive cock-up. And we can't have that. Sure it's only public money anyway.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

D'Arcy was perfect as the bewildered gormless kid who wandered into the Den to be confronted by Zig and Zag. He was an audience substitute when the audience(save for stoned students) was eight year olds. How someone came to the conclusion that he would be a good face for mid day radio was a mystery. A mystery up there with the purpose of the universe is how someone else reckoned this superannuated toddler would be a great face for television. But reckon they did. Then again this is RTE after all. Gormless gobshítes are gleefully promoted over the last two decades. One would wonder who's banging whom and more, who has the negatives.
    RayM wrote:
    The Irish establishment mentality summed up in one sentence. Make a massive cock-up with public money, but ignore the massive cock-up because acknowledging the massive cock-up would affect the reputations of the lads who made the massive cock-up. And we can't have that. Sure it's only public money anyway.
    This Ray nails it and brings the faith back for all Ray's everywhere. :D

TBH half the time I think much of our public moneyed publicly employed are examples of an employment scheme for gombeen men and women, that would otherwise clutter up the dole queues. TBH even more, I'm sorry I didn't get on board early. I spout enough shíte and I've yet to hit my peak oil/bullshíte point. Sadly I'm from Dublin and Joe Duffy already fills that rarified quota.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

Feel sorry for people like celebrities that have to travel to places like Ireland for promotional purposes and end up enduring some of the shi!test interviewers we have available. Cringeworthy sh!t

Imagine being one of the actors doing promotional work for their movie or show and going from being interviewed by the likes of Jimmy Fallon and Graham Norton and then having to stop off in Ireland to go on the late late show with Ryan Tubridy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Bring back Brendan O'Conner, or give the gig to the Ray Foley show lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

warpdrive wrote: »
    Feel sorry for people like celebrities that have to travel to places like Ireland for promotional purposes and end up enduring some of the shi!test interviewers we have available. Cringeworthy sh!t

They're celebrities.

They've done absolutely nothing to warrant the exposure they receive.

They deserve all the sh!te that comes their way.

But even D'Arcy is probably more than those gormless nothings deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

He is an awful presenter. Tries to come off as an intellectual and sophisticated person, but just appears to be a giant turd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Job for life.
    Why can't they get somebody that fills basic criteria such as some level of wit,intelligence and being able to engage with their guests rather than just ask questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

find myself lookng for a forum after watching that tripe and one of the few times i wished tubridy was there instead
    dean strang will never meet another ray d'arcy on tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Nah, he really was no better. Awkward, property bubble/Fianna Faíl cheerleader and is an RTE insider through his wife anyway. He's already been promoted way beyond his abilities. Works for two loss making organisations and it doesn't seem to matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I think David McCullagh has a great interview style and would have been ideal for this, but I suppose he's stuck with Primetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Marty Whelan would do a better job

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

raymond isn't as ignorant as he looks,

his bank a/c goes up 500,000 every year,

and if you don't pay his wages you go to jail

(spits in disgust)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

I think Rays problem( although he'll probably disagree) is that he spent a great deal of air time on Today fm having the craic and playing up to a younger audience who appreciated style over substance. I don't think he has the journalistic savvy to conduct the interview he attempted tonight.
    I blame RTE for giving him this interview as much as I blame him for his approach to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Ray actually went a whole 7 minutes into the interview before mentioning his wife! It's a wonder he didn't start doing press ups in the middle of interview to show that even though he looks like an auld lad he is fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

This is one of the nicer pg-13 comments on twitter about it.

Dean Strang sits through weeks of tedious courtroom deliberations.

10 minutes with Ray Darcy and he looks like a broken man

This is one of the nicer pg-13 comments on twitter about it.

Dean Strang sits through weeks of tedious courtroom deliberations.

10 minutes with Ray Darcy and he looks like a broken man

Link to interview on rte player. Only available in the ROI and no ad blockers allowed.
    http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/the-ray-darcy-show-extras-30003588/10520557/

Link to interview on rte player. Only available in the ROI and no ad blockers allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭saltsun

My heart rose when I heard Dean Strang would be interviewed on Irish TV, and sank just as quickly when I heard who would be conducting the interview, or "the ordeal" as turned out to be the case. Having found the Making a Murderer series so interesting, the interview presented a real opportunity to ask some in depth interesting questions, but the interviewer has the depth of a tea cup saucer. I had read how bad "that show" could be, tonight was my first experience of it, isn't it typically Irish how impressive failure is met with impressive reward, from politicians to TV "personalities" to some in State employment. A National embarrassment right up there with sending a stuffed puppet to the Eurovision.

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

More Ray Darcy bashing, isn't there a tv forum for this crap?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

More Ray Darcy bashing, isn't there a tv forum for this crap?
    Oh oh, his wife has found the interwebs. Close it down, switch off all modems and put up a test card.

*if we're very very quiet children, she'll go away…*

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

It was a great booking, fair play to the production team for getting him.

Horrible, horrible interview though. In Strang's own words "This is a moment that will pass, I hope very quickly".

(That was 13 minutes into the 20min interview :o)

ken wrote: »

Are all his interviews stuttering like that?
    Good talk show hosts have the ability to relate to their guests.Might as well get them to fill in a questionaire if all you're going to do is ask questions.

kneemos wrote: »
    Good talk show hosts have the ability to relate to their guests.Might as well get them to fill in a questionaire if all you're going to do is ask questions.

Angling for the job, kneemos? :D

EDIT: The more I think about it, the more I am convinced this is a genius idea.

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

Wibbs wrote: »
    Oh oh, his wife has found the interwebs. Close it down, switch off all modems and put up a test card.

*if we're very very quiet children, she'll go away…*

Dial it in there fairly lively.

kneemos wrote: »

I honestly couldn't tell you kneemos. I haven't heard Ray's voice since his last day on Today FM. I just went looking for it on the player. I do know that his radio interviews were very like that. Talking over people,shoehorning his family in to a chat at every opportunity.

I liked his radio show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

If Darcy says he'll leave the country if Kenny gets a second term as Taosiach, then I might just vote FG. Then again he might say that but we all know he's so full of ****e he squeaks when he goes around corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Whatever about Darcy, I find him out of his depth as an interviewer but pretty harmless all the same as there is a lot worse presenters clogging up the airwaves. But what's with people talking about Dean Strang as if he's some sort of rock star that people have known for years and should be treated with some sort of exceptional interviewing standard, he's been on a popular documentary for a few months and some are acting as if they known him or about him for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

We might all laugh and joke and get on high horses and all that jazz, but guys, after hours aside, do you actually realise the damage this will do to Ireland's reputation?

That was f#cking beyond embarrassing. Beyond it. Ray, you seriously need to go. That was appalling stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

myshirt wrote: »
    We might all laugh and joke and get on high horses and all that jazz, but guys, after hours aside, do you actually realise the damage this will do to Ireland's reputation?

That was f#cking beyond embarrassing. Beyond it. Ray, you seriously need to go. That was appalling stuff.

Are you being ironic :eek:

Is this when TV-land thinks it is way too important.

The X-Factor was Big once, Big Brother too.

250,000 have died in Syrian Civil War.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

griffin100 wrote: »
    If Darcy says he'll leave the country if Kenny gets a second term as Taosiach, then I might just vote FG. Then again he might say that but we all know he's so full of ****e he squeaks when he goes around corners.

Yes didn't he say he would leave before. .............

But in fairness, as Irish - we should understand hyperbole ?

I think Irish people disliking or taking people as being accurate when speaking hyperbole - are being dishonest about their opinions....

It is even worse - if they don't get that sometimes, Irish people exaggerate for attention or to make a point they go outside the norm,,,,,,,,.

I've no issue with Ray - he is a professional broadcaster - has done good and bad, outstanding in his career

Only issue - I would have, is this idea, that they can earn over 200,000 euro (some of them) - they are not that good and at real risk of over thinking they are that good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

maudgonner wrote: »
    It was a great booking, fair play to the production team for getting him.

Horrible, horrible interview though. In Strang's own words "This is a moment that will pass, I hope very quickly".

(That was 13 minutes into the 20min interview :o)

That's why he poached (one of many from todayfm) Siobhan, as she done the booking there & i remember Mairead Farrell saying on Siobhan's last day there, Ray called her a 'Rottweiler' as she never let go, pestering to get guests on the show!
    ken wrote: »

Ray gives his unique insight into a case :D
    he certainly did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

I was so glad when I heard he'd be on as I thought he showed astounding compassion and understanding throughout the series.

Didn't really dig any deeper than just giving the facts we all saw in the documentary. Most annoying I thought was how at the end Ray made it seem like Strang's position was insanely bizarre: "So you think he's innocent, but you hope he's guilty?" Ray said in bewilderment. The context of Strang's statement is completely lost by this idiocy. Darcy really is as bad as they come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

the snotty nosed little ****er

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Just watched the interview to see what you were all raving about - it wasn't a good interview by any stretch of the imagination, but it was just meh - not bad enough to warrant either all this condemnation or a laugh/cringe :-/

What questions were AHers looking for answers to? (in a less 'hoppy' fashion than Ray offered, perhaps)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

D'arcy going back to RTE was a fantastic investment. It means that I can listen to today FM from 9-12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Socially inept pr1ck

It was the laughing at the start and slapping the table when he got confused over his birthday that was the weirdest part.And then the audience joined in,presumably because some stage manager was furiously waving them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I actually found the Police interviewing Brendan Dassey more comfortable than Ray Darcy interviewing Strang!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

They're celebrities.

They've done absolutely nothing to warrant the exposure they receive.

They deserve all the sh!te that comes their way.

But even D'Arcy is probably more than those gormless nothings deserve.

Slightly sweeping statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Another reason I'm glad I haven't paid the tv licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

RayM wrote: »
    Believe it or not, RTE has commissioned a second series of the Ray D'Arcy Show.

The most telling line in that article:

"But RTE has invested so much money in bringing in Ray in from Today FM, the bosses who brought him over would face heavy criticism if they axed his show after one season."

He's already getting heavy critism because he's so shyte.

Just axe the show. It can't get any worse.

I have never watched the Ray Darcy show until last night and never again. I was interested in seeing Dean Strang.

A recap of the documentary followed by a question on the statue and his Irish connections.

Ray is an embarrassment to TV.

Dial it in there fairly lively.
    Oh oh, now I've wandered onto the set of Eastenders.
    I've no issue with Ray - he is a professional broadcaster - has done good and bad, outstanding in his career
    Professional in the sense he gets paid and the only thing he's been outstanding in are the hallways of Montrose. He really is quite below par. His peak level of operation is background muzak for shopgirls. Which is fine and dandy, but the fact he gets national television airtime and on the taxpayers euro is really quite depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He questions people like a garda would in an interview room

No style or grace just wants facts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

He questions people like a garda would in an interview room

With all due respect to the Gardai, they get enough of a casual hard time from members of the public without you making such a nasty and toxic link to the little man who was supposed to leave the country 5 years ago.
    Perhaps you'll reconsider your claim?