Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

two rads downstairs not working

• 23-01-2016 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭

I got 500 litres oil at the beginning of the week.
    The central heating according to the landlord was never used before so got someone out to fix it.
    Everything was alright until yesterday evening, two rads(hallway and sitting room) aren't heating up.
    I've bleed them, but nothing. The pipe coming into the rads are hot but its not passing through the rads.
    Any ideas what it could be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

are both pipes going into and out of the rad hot.

make sure that the lock shield valve is open a small bit
    when you bleed the rad I presume water came out

is there any heat at the bottom of the rad or at the top

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Turn off one side of the rads that are heating and see what happens.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Wearb wrote: »
    Turn off one side of the rads that are heating and see what happens.

This should really be a sticky

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    This should really be a sticky

Yeah. That and the balance valve.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

Wearb wrote: »
    Yeah. That and the balance valve.

What's a balance valve :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭honda boi

No just the one pipe is hot,the other is cold.
    Ye no air in the rad ,water came out when I bled it.
    It was a little warm on the top of one of the rads .

honda boi wrote: »

Did you do what wearb said?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Did you do what wearb said?

Oh ye sorry.
    Yep turned all the valves that was hot off on the other rads and nothing

Oh ye sorry.
    Yep turned all the valves that was hot off on the other rads and nothing

Do that and also turn off the red wheel valve that's usually located at the cylinder. Post a pic of your hotpress if you need assistance locating it

check to see if your valves are open.
    have you a trv valve if you have turn it up
    if you have a normal valve then turn the one with the cap that's screwed to the valve.
    this should turn on the rad.

if not then take the cap off the other valve and give it a 1/4 turn

if that doesn't work then I would think you have a sludge problem and need a plumber to flush the system

Only got a chance to look at this the other day.
    Did what yous said and turned all the rad's off again and the cyclinder one
    Got heat on the 2 rads :D
    Turned the cylinder back open but not as much as it was,put the rest of the rads on but the bathroom one upstairs isn't getting too hot
    Don't mind that as mainly wanted heating back on downstairs:D
    Thanks lads