Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate the pigs mentality

• 10-01-2016 12:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭

The fact that some people believe that Ireland would be better off without police is a ridiculous view!

Are these people for real? In certain parts of South Africa a woman or girl is raped every 26 seconds and why, because these area are not patrolled by any form of police!

A big drugs bust happened today and more Heroin is now off the streets but are they happy oh god no!

One person quoted "sure they were probably going to the shop for doughnuts and they ran into the drug dealer" :rolleyes: very mature!!

So yea lets have our kids sexually assaulted and murdered just so we wont get stopped for tax or ask why we were driving pissed!!!

Do we really have that "their all pigs mentality" do we really believe our kids can walk the street safely with no police presence? Just imagine the Gardai were gone tomorrow and all the Rapist and Murders and paedophiles were released, would you really feel safe?

How dare the do a big drugs bust when poor Miss Houlahans house was robbed at 3:30 on Sunday morning, 57 miles from the nearest town. I mean why didn't they have the armed response unit and police helicopter sitting there waiting to pounce??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The fact that some people believe that Ireland would be better off without police is a ridiculous view!

Are these people for real? In certain parts of South Africa a woman or girl is raped every 26 seconds and why, because these area are not patrolled by any form of police!

A big drugs bust happened today and more Heroin is now off the streets but are they happy oh god no!

One person quoted "sure they were probably going to the shop for doughnuts and they ran into the drug dealer" :rolleyes: very mature!!

So yea lets have our kids sexually assaulted and murdered just so we wont get stopped for tax or ask why we were driving pissed!!!

Do we really have that "their all pigs mentality" do we really believe our kids can walk the street safely with no police presence? Just imagine the Gardai were gone tomorrow and all the Rapist and Murders and paedophiles were released, would you really feel safe?

How dare the do a big drugs bust when poor Miss Houlahans house was robbed at 3:30 on Sunday morning, 57 miles from the nearest town. I mean why didn't they have the armed response unit and police helicopter sitting there waiting to pounce??

I have a feeling those people are a tiny tiny minority.Probably around 0.000001% of our population.

No point really bothering about opinions shared by so few people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

What if Muslims say it...because there not allowed eat pig meat??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Love the avatar there chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Love the avatar there chief.

Actually stems from a biker forum nickname I was given. Before you ask no, I'm not a Guard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Pity "the pigs" didn't confiscate your cocaine before I had to read that rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Never ever heard anybody say that.

If somebody did say it, I'd immediately think they were a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

This may blow that delicate construct you call a mind OP, but there are more reasons to people not going out rampantly raping each other than the fact we have a police force in this country.

Pity "the pigs" didn't confiscate your cocaine before I had to read that rant.

Well one I get drug tested on a regular basis so I don't do drugs ans 2 why are you saying I do?
    osarusan wrote: »
    Never ever heard anybody say that.

If they did, I'd immediately think they were a moron.

Ah yes but we do have these morons amongst us, to many for my liking as I have just found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Who believes this? Where are these quotes from? Who is this poor woman raped every 26 seconds?

This may blow that delicate construct you call a mind OP, but there are more reasons to people not going out rampantly raping each other than the fact we have a police force in this country.

It was a reference and we'd be to busy drink driving and filling up with green in this country but I'm pretty sure it would not be a nice place without the Gardai.

But sure all they do is drink tea and kill water protesters so maybe we should sack them all!

Cienciano wrote: »
    Who believes this? Where are these quotes from? Who is this poor woman raped every 26 seconds?

Rant on a news papers FB page which has since being removed. Apparently the Gardai should not being doing drug busts, stopping for tax or checking for speeding.

So maybe they should be helping old ladies cross the road and cutting grass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Well, the bikers have gone to ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'm guessing you read that sh1te on Face book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

I wouldnt go to far with that. THeres plenty of examples around the world where the removal of policing and legal consequences resulted in mass rape and murder.

Rwanda being the very first that pops up.

According to various stats, a woman is raped in Africa every 17 seconds to 6 minutes, depending on the nation and research criteria.

In general I find these types of statements to be from the vocal minority that are just making the most noise as opposed to a genuinely held belief within society.

Well, the bikers have gone to ****.

Well my lid is a bit tight after the holidays and when I went to the garage yesterday to check on her she was cold and had a flat battery so I'm in a fragile place at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

I don't think anyone thinks the place would be better off without police, just better for them if the police let them do whatever they wanted.

And because they can't do whatever they want, the police are scumbags out to ruin their lives instead of "catching the real criminals".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Well my lid is a bit tight after the holidays and when I went to the garage yesterday to check on her she was cold and had a flat battery so I'm in a fragile place at the moment.

Maybe she lost the will to live when a biker went online to complain about people using the term pigs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

A random person on Facebook had a stupid opinion so another random person on the internet flew off the handle and gave a lecture to some other random people on the internet.

What have we learned today children?

Maybe she lost the will to live when a biker went online to complain about people using the term pigs...

Where did I moan about people staying pigs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

esforum wrote: »

According to various stats, a woman is raped in Africa every 17 seconds to 6 minutes, depending on the nation and research criteria.

Hate to be that woman. She must be cursed.

A random person on Facebook had a stupid opinion so another random person on the internet flew off the handle and gave a lecture to some other random people on the internet.

Well it was actually several people and judging by there profile pics they looked to be of a mature age to actually know better and to realised that they Gardai are not big bad men out to arrest them because their car tax is out!

So why are you so worked up about it? Like, who cares what they think? It's not like it was the taoiseach (wait, was it?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Not everyone deserves a soapbox

Excellent. I would also have accepted "not a fcuking thing".

What's a Soapbox? Is it as complicated as a tracker mortgage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Genuinely disappointed this is not about actual pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If you hate the pigs mentality and want to discuss it then surely you have to actually tell us what the pigs mentality is in the first place...? I don't know any and have no idea what they think.

(I also think it's a bit harsh calling them pigs and then standing up for them in your opening post)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

If you hate the pigs mentality and want to discuss it then surely you have to actually tell us what the pigs mentality is in the first place...? I don't know any and have no idea what they think.

(I also think it's a bit harsh calling them pigs and then standing up for them in your opening post)

Well say I am one of these people who hate the police, I simply think that I should be able to do whatever I like, whenever and to whom I like and if the Gardai get in my way their all pigs, **** and doughnut eating scum and how dare they uphold the law by arresting me instead of arresting criminals and when they arrest criminals how are they not arrest my neighbour for breach of the peace for mowing his lawn at 8:30pm!!

And my title has the word "pigs" as that is generally the word used by these morons so it is an eye catching reference and not my personal belief.

Thank you

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

I hate the way they have so much time for playing the ps4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Well say I am one of these people who hate the police, I simply think that I should be able to do whatever I like, whenever and to whom I like

That's a hell of a flip-flop in less than an hour!

Still not sure whose, or what, mentality it is you're trying to highlight at this point.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

People who refer to the police as pigs are always a boar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

That some people will still actually make rape jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

?

The person was obviously a teenager. The donut stereotype is an American one.

If I'm online and it read it said about an Irish context, I would just assume that it's a teenager with very little outdoors play time.

As many have said, a minority think it.. Most countries would be very happy to have the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

And therein probably lies the contention.
    Legalise drugs tomorrow and I suspect a vast amount of cop hate would evaporate overnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I am so confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

The gardai are the new nurses. Saints one and all.

They are just doing a job. A fairly poorly paid one at that.

Of course the country would be significantly worse off if the state didn't provide a police force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

ElleEm wrote: »
    I am so confused.

Its simple. Some people hate the police and think that we would be better off without them.
    Except no one knows any of these people.
    And there are drugs that should be legalised to make people love the police and someone got raped every 26 seconds. On facebook. In south africa. I think.

I think most people realize that the Gardaí do an incredible job, when someone needs them the most. In fairness to them, they do a fantastic job at catching murderers. They don't do a great job at other stuff, but 99% of police forces around the world would be the exact same. I mean, at least ours haven't killed around a thousand innocent people in one year ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

The minute i saw facebook quouted i tuned out.

Oh dear, facebook...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Menas wrote: »
    Its simple. Some people hate the police and think that we would be better off without them.
    Except no one knows any of these people.
    And there are drugs that should be legalised to make people love the police and someone got raped every 26 seconds. On facebook. In south africa. I think.

And car tax.

Now I get it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

The person was obviously a teenager. The donut stereotype is an American one.

If I'm online and it read it said about an Irish context, I would just assume that it's a teenager with very little outdoors play time.

Should have gone with breakfast roll.
    And therein probably lies the contention.
    Legalise drugs tomorrow and I suspect a vast amount of cop hate would evaporate overnight.

No it wouldn't. It's just an excuse. At the heart of the issue it's a problem with authority. If it wasn't drugs it'd be drink, or car tax, or insurance. Many people just don't like when someone else has authority over them. They don't like being told what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have a feeling those people are a tiny tiny minority.Probably around 0.000001% of our population.

No point really bothering about opinions shared by so few people.

I think it's a considerably larger percentage than that. Ireland has developed a bunch of haters who actually have no reason to hate but jump on the bandwagon as many of them haven't the intellect to make their own opinions and simply follow others who have even lower levels of intelligence. The Internet and social media can be partly blamed but successive governments pandering to Europe and every minority group that raises a voice is the biggest cause. The Gardai then are blamed when these minorities are told no, you can't have what you want.

No it wouldn't. It's just an excuse. At the heart of the issue it's a problem with authority. If it wasn't drugs it'd be drink, or car tax, or insurance. Many people just don't like when someone else has authority over them. They don't like being told what to do.

And here in a nutshell is where the hatred for the Guards comes from. Instead of thinking that they are there to protect us they believe that they have authority over us.

Gardaí do have authority over people. That's just a fact. It's enshrined in legislation. Is this something you dispute? Would you like me to post the various pieces of legislation which gives Gardaí authority to require people to do things?

Why you think that protecting people and having authority over people are mutually exclusive is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'd be one of those people, but I think it's safe enough to say that there is now a fairly firm majority which does not believe in victimless crime, and as such believes that arrests for the possession of drugs for personal use is absolute bullsh!t.

Most people I know who have issues with police have issues with them for this reason and this reason alone. It's pretty unfair in my view, it's successive governments who should be blamed for legislating this and not the Gardai who have no choice but to enforce it.

As Turk said, the Gardai are here to protect us - giving people sh!t for smoking a joint or shooting up does not fall under that banner. Again, I don't agree with attacking the Gardai over that, it's ultimately the government's fault, but that is where most anti-Garda sentiment I've seen comes from. "F*ckin' pigs took my cans / 50 bag". The fact that it's DCC who legislated against drinking outdoors, and the national government who legislated against drug possession, doesn't seem to register.

Gardaí do have authority over people. That's just a fact. It's enshrined in legislation. Is this something you dispute? Would you like me to post the various pieces of legislation which gives Gardaí authority to require people to do things?

Why you think that protecting people and having authority over people are mutually exclusive is beyond me.

And this misplaced authority is the reason for peoples ambivalence towards our police force.
    I have lived in New York and the respect that the people have for the police is unbelievable compared to this country.
    And it goes both ways as well. The police genuinely get on with the citizens. If they issue an order it is adhered to.
    That doesn't happen through fear or "authority" it comes from respect which unfortunately the people of Ireland don't have for our police force.

I'd be one of those people, but I think it's safe enough to say that there is now a fairly firm majority which does not believe in victimless crime, and as such believes that arrests for the possession of drugs for personal use is absolute bullsh!t.

Most people I know who have issues with police have issues with them for this reason and this reason alone. It's pretty unfair in my view, it's successive governments who should be blamed for legislating this and not the Gardai who have no choice but to enforce it.

As Turk said, the Gardai are here to protect us - giving people sh!t for smoking a joint or shooting up does not fall under that banner. Again, I don't agree with attacking the Gardai over that, it's ultimately the government's fault, but that is where most anti-Garda sentiment I've seen comes from. "F*ckin' pigs took my cans / 50 bag". The fact that it's DCC who legislated against drinking outdoors, and the national government who legislated against drug possession, doesn't seem to register.

People don't agree with victimless crimes when they commit them. There's plenty of victimless crimes would have very few defenders.

In any case, people get upset about the Gardaí taking their weed or booze but if you think that's where the hostility comes from I think you are mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Stop reading thejournal OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

And this misplaced authority is the reason for peoples ambivalence towards our police force.
    I have lived in New York and the respect that the people have for the police is unbelievable compared to this country.
    And it goes both ways as well. The police genuinely get on with the citizens. If they issue an order it is adhered to.
    That doesn't happen through fear or "authority" it comes from respect which unfortunately the people of Ireland don't have for our police force.

'Some people', would be a more accurate assessment. More people have great respect for the Gardai and they do great work with community groups, schools, volunteer organisations amongst others.

People don't particularly give two fcuks about some idiot who gives the Gardaí grief, who will be the same idiot crying for the protection of the Gardaí when it's them is on the receiving end - the people who want their own way both ways.

You're right - respect really isn't just a one way street.