Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things your parents used to say

• 09-01-2016 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭

Get that into ya.

It's well for ya.

That's a lovely rig out.

Are you codding me?

The land of the vine jasus christ tonight.

What other things did your parents say to you when you were a kid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

That will put hairs on your chest. I still have no hairs on my chest after all that time.

But ye see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Get out & get a job you waster :pac::pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

Shut your mouth and eat your dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

"Do that again and I'll brain ya!!"

No idea what it meant but it didn't sound good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Get up that yard.

When asking what's for dinner the reply is still "broke up eggs and no milk"

How's she cuttin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Where. Were. You. Until. This. Hour. Of. The. Night.

Look. At. The. State. Of. Your. Good. Clothes.

(Each full stop there is where I'd get a smack)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Kovu wrote: »
    Where. Were. You. Until. This. Hour. Of. The. Night.

Look. At. The. State. Of. Your. Good. Clothes.

(Each full stop there is where I'd get a smack)
    What. Did. I. Tell. You. About. Hitting. Other. People?. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

I'll get the wooden spoon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Malcolm600f

Stoolbend wrote: »
    I'll get the wooden spoon!

Say that now a days and the kid will laugh and say i will get you 10 years...lol..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I don't care who started it, I'll finish it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

"Eat your dinner, don't you know there are starving kids in Leitrim, you don't know how lucky you are!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Mother Ireland is still rearing em

Waste not, want not,

Your eyes are bigger than your belly

Are ya Decent ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

"If you eat another one of them, you will turn into one."

And later in my teens, "turn that fcuking music down"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

If the wind changes your face will stay like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Horseplay always ends in tears.

They were usually right too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Whissssshhttt!! The news is on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

You'll never guess who's dead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

"Eat your dinner, don't you know there are starving kids in Leitrim, you don't know how lucky you are!"

Ahh yes, the emotional blackmail to get you to eat more. It was always Africa in my house though. I'm not sure if Leitrim would have had the same effect. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Go outside and sport yourself on a day like that.

And also, "Jim, Paddy, Martin, Brian (eyes rolling in top of her head now) or, Sean, go and ...."**

(I'm from a big family but she'd often recite all the boys names until she had the right one.)

**not real names. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

'Do that again and I'll wallop you one'

'you got a face on you like a smacked arse'

'you look like you lost a pound and found a penny'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

"You're not going anywhere until all that is eaten!"

"Get up them stairs"

"Don't answer me like that"

"Wait til your father gets home"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

My mum has several very un-PC phrases that she liked to use when we were kids such as:

''Do you think I came down the river in a banana boat??'' - for when she thought we were lying to her.

''You dirty Arab!!'' - This was usually used when we messed the place up.

''This place looks like a Chinese laundry'' - used when there was washing hanging up all over the place.

My parents also use odd phrases and words that no one else has ever heard of and when I was a child I mimicked what they said, I soon found out that that led to unmerciful bullying and I am careful not to repeat any of their odd phrases now though they amuse my OH endlessly :pac:

Later in my teenage years my mother loved to say to me ''you'd get up on a gust of wind!!'' :P

Oh my Grandparents were fond of telling us to ''go out and play with the traffic'' when we were annoying them and telling me that ''you'd forget your head if it wasn't tied onto you''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Medusa22 wrote: »
    My parents also use odd phrases and words that no one else has ever heard of and when I was a child I mimicked what they said, I soon found out that that led to unmerciful bullying and I am careful not to repeat any of their odd phrases now though they amuse my OH endlessly :pac:

Ah go on give us a few......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

Shut up or I'll plant ya

Ya little cur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Stop Cutting holes in yer pyjamas ye little bollix

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

I'm as dry as a drake in a hay loft.

Trans: make me a cup of tea, I'm parched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

(When we're late and it's my fault)
    You have to be more organised - it;s very rude to make other people wait!

(When we're late and it's their fault)
    Ah sure don't worry - these things never start on time.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I'll give ya a good clip around the ear! ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

"Because I said so, that's why"

"Ya little rip" (when I did something I shouldn't have done.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

my grand mother used to call the PlayStation and playboy

on more that one occasion she would shout up the stairs to stop using that playboy you will go blind.
    or stop with that playboy and come downs stairs your neighbour is here

if we were older we would have been very embarrassed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Get that into ya.

It's well for ya.

That's a lovely rig out.

Are you codding me?

The land of the vine jasus christ tonight.

What other things did your parents say to you when you were a kid?

They never referred to us as kids :) Pity everyone have to copy Americans nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

The land of the vine jasus christ tonight

Im pretty sure thats meant to be "The land of Divine", not The land of the vine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

"If you fall off that wall and break both your legs, don't come running to me!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

'Bring that trolley back to Northside...and no you can't keep the money before you ask'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭CJmasgrande

Anytime I ate all my dinner my Ma would say with a stern tone

"Hungers great sauce"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Do what you're Bid ye little Bollix

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"Dad, I can't go to school... my leg is killing me"

"Yeah well, your face is killing me"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

Mother said not to talk bad about Protestants but then my father slandered the loyalists when watching the news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Brendan Grace would love this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Poor auld craythur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

syklops wrote: »
    Im pretty sure thats meant to be "The land of Divine", not The land of the vine.

Yeah I was never quite sure of that one. Most people I heard use it would say "The lant of divine jasus." Or "The lap of divine jasus."

My father would often say to my mother "Be the lap of divine jasus woman."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

The love an honour of Devine Jayzus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

'I'm not angry, I'm just very disappointed'

Well fcuk off giving out to me so if you're not angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Don't call me Len, ya little bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭now online

Will you go upstairs and get the watchamacallit
    Me: what's the watchamacallit?
    Mam:the thingamabob you know what I mean! !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"You don't have to like it, you just have to eat it!"

I've since used it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

smash wrote: »
    "You don't have to like it, you just have to eat it!"

I've since used it myself.

Found myself saying 'Yeah well, life's not fair' to my friend's kid recently. Bleak moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Don't care was made to care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

If you do that again you wont do it a third time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Whenever I hurt myself I'd run to my Dad complaining and he's just say:

"Do it again, I missed it"