Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Herd Health Plan

• 08-01-2016 9:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭

What are vets charging for drafting these up? How comphrensive are they? Been asking my vet to do one for ages. They are getting a fair few grand a year out of me in vet fees/meds as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

The one I did for my Ag course took 45minutes at most so should be a vet's half an hour.

I'm sure they could do month by month as well which would be better, big page like this didn't allow for much detail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    I'm sure they could do month by month as well which would be better, big page like this didn't allow for much detail.

Nice page, I've mine on a yearly planner and put the treatments in that way. Sorry for being nosey but just looking at your page it says bvd and lepto testing. What does that entail?

browned wrote: »
    Nice page, I've mine on a yearly planner and put the treatments in that way. Sorry for being nosey but just looking at your page it says bvd and lepto testing. What does that entail?

Think the BVD is done that month by Fonterra from a bulk milk sample. If positive then we'd probably get the cow / cows narrowed down in the next herd test if she's not clinical.

Lepto testing is done every four years here I believe, just to fill some space on the page you know.

If I was paying to get it done I'd want extra pages like a Mastitis Health Plan and Disease/Illness plan especially if you have staff, get a few copies. Putting them up on the wall of the shed looks very pro haha

Think the BVD is done that month by Fonterra from a bulk milk sample. If positive then we'd probably get the cow / cows narrowed down in the next herd test if she's not clinical.

Lepto testing is done every four years here I believe, just to fill some space on the page you know.

If I was paying to get it done I'd want extra pages like a Mastitis Health Plan and Disease/Illness plan especially if you have staff, get a few copies. Putting them up on the wall of the shed looks very pro haha

Herd test is the milking recording isn't it. Why so much focus at the end of the season. Here the advisors puts more focus on having it earlier in the season.

Can ye get individual bvd tests on each cow from a milk recording?
    I agree. Read the samm book once. Was pretty good

browned wrote: »
    Herd test is the milking recording isn't it. Why so much focus at the end of the season. Here the advisors puts more focus on having it earlier in the season.

Can ye get individual bvd tests on each cow from a milk recording?
    I agree. Read the samm book once. Was pretty good

I just put them there to fill up space in the quieter months. We have four to six milk recordings over the year, major pain in the hole in a 40 unit parlour. The BVD is 2Nd month of milking I think. I think you can get samples tested for BVD, not 100% though.

Just bulk done 2-3 times a year here along with the calf testing. Yeah herd tested before over there 500 cows throu a 44 unit. Painful isn't the word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Thanks lads;

This looks bloody useful; shame no use to me with sucklers

http://www.delaval.com/en/-/Product-Information1/Management/Systems/herdnavigator/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Lizard_Moon

barnaman wrote: »
    What are vets charging for drafting these up? How comphrensive are they? Been asking my vet to do one for ages. They are getting a fair few grand a year out of me in vet fees/meds as it is.

Depends upon what you want and how much time YOU are going to put into it and whether you will pay the vet for their time. We are basically coming up with a HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) type plan for your farm.

A proper herd health plan is not something your vet can scribble down on a piece of paper in 2 mins. Well except for the sheet people were wanting signed a couple of years ago as part of their discussion groups.

No two herd health plans are the same. The first year takes longer to setup.
    Ideally first there is a discussion about the farmer's aims and aspirations for the farm; problems/concerns on farm; records are analysed; targets decided upon; a walk around facilities; investigations needed both of housing and animals etc
    Also included can be a calendar for the year; disease treatment protocols; management critical control points.
    Records are essential.
    Some people want everything included some just want a problem based one, eg a plan to prevent/control respiratory disease in calves

Ideally then each year the results of the previous year are analysed, targets set and plans installed.

Herd health is a continuous process and not just an A4 piece of paper taken out of the drawer once a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Thanks Lizard sounds you do comprehenive plan I am after.

Spoke vet about this for a couple years; drafting a proper plan. Says will take an hour or so to draft up but when comes to do it always chasing either at factory or out; fully expect to pay for it. I currently blood test the cattle to show mineral/vit deficencies; take faecal samples and have a pretty comp vacc plan BVD, Lepto, Pneu, Redwater, Blackleg etc.

Very strict on disinfection and entry points . Any abortions go to DVO for autopsy. Keep a decent record of meds and try and change switch fluke meds so tolerance not build up and of course dose for both stomach and lung.

Health plan for me might address am I dosing too much ? Suspect I am as in with proper field rotation etc, and no fluke eggs in samples or evidence at factory may not be an issue; or I could be I am doing it correctly and thats why no probs with fluke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Lizard_Moon

barnaman wrote: »
    Thanks Lizard sounds you do comprehenive plan I am after.

Spoke vet about this for a couple years; drafting a proper plan. Says will take an hour or so to draft up but when comes to do it always chasing either at factory or out; fully expect to pay for it. I currently blood test the cattle to show mineral/vit deficencies; take faecal samples and have a pretty comp vacc plan BVD, Lepto, Pneu, Redwater, Blackleg etc.

Very strict on disinfection and entry points . Any abortions go to DVO for autopsy. Keep a decent record of meds and try and change switch fluke meds so tolerance not build up and of course dose for both stomach and lung.

Health plan for me might address am I dosing too much ? Suspect I am as in with proper field rotation etc, and no fluke eggs in samples or evidence at factory may not be an issue; or I could be I am doing it correctly and thats why no probs with fluke!

Sounds like you are doing a good job youself!
    Regarding dosing AHI do some excellent guides and worth checking out
    http://www.animalhealthireland.ie/page.php?id=37
    Consider Faecal Egg reduction tests to check for wormer resistance.
    The only problem usually in fluke is dosing with the wrong product at the wrong time, no reported resistance.

What I find important is samples to the lab early in any problem- eg milk in mastitis, faecal samples in scoury calves. No point in waiting until the problem becomes established and hopefully you will save money by getting an early diagnosis.

Some vets, including myself, can find it hard to get the time to do up a plan so keep at them. I always ask people to remind me in a month or so if I don't get back to them as I can get overwhelmed at certain times of the year. I don't mean to not do it but procrastination can be a problem :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I've ours up on the wall of the cow shed. It's written on an 8*4 sheet left here after a farm walk.

If someone can tell me how to post a pic I'll stick it up